List Mgmt. List management thread.

Don't hate this idea. Lucas might be one of the softest players going around, but he was a high draft pick and surely there is some potential there if he is used correctly. Plus imagine if he played in a Pies premiership or went AA with us. Worth the risk just to laugh at the Blues.
**cough cough** Jordan Russell **cough cough**

I wouldn't invest in Lucas.

He hasn't improved since getting drafted. Doesn't win enough contested ball. Uninterested tackler who rarely tackles and when he does it gets broken too easily. Despite being an outside player he's a poor kick who does no damage and misses too many targets.

He's one of many players on the Carlton list who belong on VFL lists. Not AFL lists.

I assume Lucas' name came up because of his career high 33 disposals, 8 marks against us last year. Don't be fooled. It was an outlier game and his only career 30+ disposal game.

I wouldn't invest in Lucas.

He hasn't improved since getting drafted. Doesn't win enough contested ball. Uninterested tackler who rarely tackles and when he does it gets broken too easily. Despite being an outside player he's a poor kick who does no damage and misses too many targets.

He's one of many players on the Carlton list who belong on VFL lists. Not AFL lists.

I assume Lucas' name came up because of his career high 33 disposals, 8 marks against us last year. Don't be fooled. It was an outlier game and his only career 30+ disposal game.

Well Duds normally can have a Career game against us

Would we have the Fire Power without a 1st Round Pick?
Dave, im not sure mate.
Perhaps bundling up our second rounder along with blair and something else? I love Blair but unless he takes the next step, he will fall out of favor with Kenno, Freeman and Broomy dominating the VFL.

Dave, im not sure mate.
Perhaps bundling up our second rounder along with blair and something else? I love Blair but unless he takes the next step, he will fall out of favor with Kenno, Freeman and Broomy dominating the VFL.

They would want more then 2nd Rounder and Blair for those 2

I love Blair but unless he takes the next step, he will fall out of favor with Kenno, Freeman and Broomy dominating the VFL.
In fairness, none of that has actually happened yet. Kennedy to a certain extent...

I'm guessing with the Broadbent mention that you saw the game the other week where he roosted that goal from the centre square?

He has a long kick on him and covered the ground well and is a penetrator with some height.

I'll watch him with interest this season and he's captured my attention also but I'm not yet 100% convinced. Down back he can be prone to losing 1v1s and his footskills I'm not convinced with either as someone who can be prone to the odd ugly turnover.

Not quite. My man crush on him was slowly gathering speed until round 14 2013 when it hit critical mass. He was massive against us that week and I've been a massive fan ever since.

Hinkley using him as the sub in round 1 raised my eyebrows so I'd like to see if he's gettable come years end. It's as much to get someone out of the Port Adelaide system as anything else because they're churning out very impressive footballers of late who seem to play a very sustainable brand of football that doesn't rely upon any sort of tactical brilliance.

They are what they are and back themselves in every week to beat you up with their system.

Heard he was still a lot longer than 2-3 weeks away from VFL but starting training next week would be excellent.

He was placed on the LTI the Wednesday before round 1 so he still has another 4 weeks minimum to sit on the sidelines.

I don't expect that he'll play VFL until mid May at the earliest and wouldn't be surprised or disappointed if that pushes out to the start of June because 6 weeks at reserve level from that point still leaves him with the last 6 weeks of the season at AFL level if he's up to it.

IMO we will need another ruck next year with Huddo retiring. We need to know this year if Witts can make it and if he can successfully ruck in tandem with Brodie. If not we should trade him for a ready made replacement that won't break the bank. My choice would be Giles (GWS) he is 26/27, 200cm, 103 Kg, can ruck and play forward (kicked 4 last week) and will probably be squeezed out by their young guns. He would be handy to help out in the next few years until Grundy, Moore and/or Witts mature.

Not quite. My man crush on him was slowly gathering speed until round 14 2013 when it hit critical mass. He was massive against us that week and I've been a massive fan ever since.

Hinkley using him as the sub in round 1 raised my eyebrows so I'd like to see if he's gettable come years end. It's as much to get someone out of the Port Adelaide system as anything else because they're churning out very impressive footballers of late who seem to play a very sustainable brand of football that doesn't rely upon any sort of tactical brilliance.

They are what they are and back themselves in every week to beat you up with their system.

Port Adelaide are doing some excellent things and they're an intriguing club right now. They've got my attention. Ken Hinkley is an excellent coach and Darren Burgess as fitness coach is the best in the business. They really move the ball easily and at pace and their running game and ability to run out games is off the charts.

My feel is Broadbent is somewhere around list position 20 on their list. I will certainly be tracking him this season to see if he is a list fit.

IMO we will need another ruck next year with Huddo retiring. We need to know this year if Witts can make it and if he can successfully ruck in tandem with Brodie. If not we should trade him for a ready made replacement that won't break the bank. My choice would be Giles (GWS) he is 26/27, 200cm, 103 Kg, can ruck and play forward (kicked 4 last week) and will probably be squeezed out by their young guns. He would be handy to help out in the next few years until Grundy, Moore and/or Witts mature.
I did i write up about Giles and how impressive his statistics are when he was paired up in a 50:50 ruck ratio with Dean Brogan in 2012-2013. He a impressive ruckman forward who can kick 1-2+ goals and have 15-20 hitouts a game. Grimley is another someone else mentioned and i mentioned Ben Griffiths who has played good consistent footy in 2014.

I remember on Draft Day I read we where very keen on Sam Grimley but the Hawks picked him before we did:(

I felt the same way about Ben Brown Dave, i rated him highly and i was keen on him with our pick 65. Glad we picked up Langdon though.

I been keen on Ben Brown the last 3 years but He is at north now

Definitely need another ruck, but probably another Hudson type who is just a backup. Witts and Grundy will be another year into their development.

That is why I think we look at the State League or De-Listed one

In fairness, none of that has actually happened yet. Kennedy to a certain extent...

Did you watch Kennedy's highlights on CFC against the AIS team? how they said Armstrong was BOG is mind boggling.

Watch the 2 and you tell me who's was more impressive...

Armstrong was playing loose and most of his kicks were of the 25m sideways types rarely damaging just possession retention.

Kennedy killed it, hit in hard, extracted the footy, ran hard to tackle, kicked goals, set up play kid was in everything.

I reckon people who do the bests almost give out BOG encouragement awards!

I reckon we should be targeting anyone with top skills. We already have Scharenberg, Ramsay, Broomhead, Seedsman, Oxley, Williams etc. etc. as rebounding defenders, so while you can never have too many guys with top skills, I don't know why rebounding defenders would be the priority.

If anything, to me it's our forward entries that need a lot more polish.

We don't have overtly skilled mids in the art of kicking to advantage, yes we have some great players in the field but their kicking skills as a grp are only average.

Did you watch Kennedy's highlights on CFC against the AIS team? how they said Armstrong was BOG is mind boggling.

Watch the 2 and you tell me who's was more impressive...

Armstrong was playing loose and most of his kicks were of the 25m sideways types rarely damaging just possession retention.

Kennedy killed it, hit in hard, extracted the footy, ran hard to tackle, kicked goals, set up play kid was in everything.

I reckon people who do the bests almost give out BOG encouragement awards!

It's what they do. TAC Cup particularly it's obvious that it runs like an encouragement award when you see the names who get among the BOG. VFL same story, not to the same extent but it happens too frequently to ignore.

Yeah that's how I'd go. Along with a project type draft pick as a rookie or something.

Then get one of the African American's that come to the Draft Combine