List Mgmt. List Management Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter 1990crow

Taylor and Pedlar first 2 on chopping block

When you look at who is out of the team and considered in our best 23 the below are currently missing

Fogarty
Curtin
Dawson
Keane
Draper
Ah Chee
Soligo

Out :

Taylor
Pedlar
Maley
Bond
Butts
Nankervis
Berry or Edwards

Unless we are willing to put TT into the ruck, I think we need one of Maley or T Murray as second ruck.

McAndrew averages around 70% TOG from memory.

No we haven't. We've developed him well and now given him an opportunity at the highest level.
So playing someone like Murphy and Smith last year ahead of him can have no foreseeable consequences end of this year?

Bring Tyson Stengle back given what's happening at Geelong?

View attachment 2589599
averaging 10 disposals / game and a goal a game. i have always found his output very underwhelming

This is a situation where just looking at the stat sheet is not really super relevant.

Taylor plays small/medium forward and is behind Rankine, Rachele, ANB, Keays, Pedlar and Ah Chee on the depth chart in that position.

He has played 66%, 76%, 75% and 67% game time. His job is not to have high numbers. He is there to fill a role.

Taylor is clean, has good skills and makes good decisions with ball in hand.

Some added context to those stats are that despite the low possession numbers he averages 2.8 inside 50s going at 75% disposal efficiency and 73% kicking efficiency. Of his average 10 disposals, 4.3 of those are score involvements. Nearly half the time he gets the footy, we score.

I would like to see him up his tackle numbers and pressure acts, but even then, he’s not terribly low.

For a guy who is a depth player, his output is actually quite good.

Whether or not he gets another contract depends on who we bring in at the end of the year, but there is certainly no need to replace him in the MSD.

Does any of our half forwards ever get more than that though?
It seems to be the graveyard spot for anyone we can’t fit in elsewhere.

It’s the same at every club.

Look at the numbers of Lincoln McCarthy for example. Very good player, doesn’t get much more than 12 touches, nor does he need to.

Kade Chandler?

We have made overtures to Kade Chandler in the past when he nearing coming out of contract and he's shown no interest at all. Seems to like it in Melbourne and apparently he's in the unofficial leadership group under Max Gawn and Jack Viney

It’s the same at every club.

Look at the numbers of Lincoln McCarthy for example. Very good player, doesn’t get much more than 12 touches, nor does he need to.
So long as they impact when it's their turn - whether that's scoring or pressure - it's fine

Taylor I feel is actually very good at this. His disposal is excellent and he tends to nail scoring opportunities. He's not a big tackler though and doesn't get heaps in the forward line

Contrast that to Murphy who'd run around like a headless chook, miss goals and his disposal was pretty poor

Bring Tyson Stengle back given what's happening at Geelong?

Does put to rest the myth that Geelong are any better at “fixing” guys than other clubs.

They’re just better at sweeping shit under the carpet so that guys are free to get a few touches on the weekend.

Looking at you Bazlenka

Talk of Mitch McGovern keen for another contract which hasn't yet arrived. 31yo atm.

We are in the premiership window. Tex will need even more rests even if he plays on next year. Fog will almost certainly never reach the heights of Tex and is too unfit to change role. Marsh, Ludowyke, Welsh unlikely to meaningfully contribute for another couple years. Maley and T Murray extremely raw and only good for cameos.

McGovern offers a different type of forward and has the added bonus of being a legitimate swingman which none of our other options are. Only needs to cover 2 years. Shouldn't cost much.

Does put to rest the myth that Geelong are any better at “fixing” guys than other clubs.

They’re just better at sweeping shit under the carpet so that guys are free to get a few touches on the weekend.

Looking at you Bazlenka
They managed to fix Stengle for 2-3 years, won a premiership and became AA so they are better.

No we haven't. We've developed him well and now given him an opportunity at the highest level.
Here we go

'' he was developed just in time to play a great game ''

'' gee the club is magnificent ''

Here we go

'' he was developed just in time to play a great game ''

'' gee the club is magnificent ''
Charlie didn't scream pick me last year when he was mostly playing in defence in the SANFL but he certainly did in the 2026 preseason trial games and the 2026 SANFL early rounds....PLAYING MIDFIELD.

My question to the coaches why TF was he not playing midfield last year and for that matter in his 1st season given Hamish clearly drafted him as future AFL midfielder? Why play top ups in the midfield ahead of lads we've obviously drafted as future AFL mids.

So long as they impact when it's their turn - whether that's scoring or pressure - it's fine

Taylor I feel is actually very good at this. His disposal is excellent and he tends to nail scoring opportunities. He's not a big tackler though and doesn't get heaps in the forward line

Contrast that to Murphy who'd run around like a headless chook, miss goals and his disposal was pretty poor

i just dont see him as a scoring threat which surely needs to be a KEY kpi? has kicked 12 goals in 30 games. 2 games contribute half of that :

2026 round 3 vs cats - decent effort but first goal virtually all by himself running into goal and fed after peds brilliantly evaded multiple cats in the middle of the ground. other 2 goals no cats paying close attention to him relative to our other targets and he takes uncontested marks (after leading cleverly) and converts

2024 last minor round vs swans - all 3 goals in this pre-season feeling game were him in acres of space by himself. the lowest intensity game i can remember in recent years

take out these 6 goals and it leaves 6 goals in 28 games. no where near good enough esp as tackles arent overly impressive either

Talk of Mitch McGovern keen for another contract which hasn't yet arrived. 31yo atm.

We are in the premiership window. Tex will need even more rests even if he plays on next year. Fog will almost certainly never reach the heights of Tex and is too unfit to change role. Marsh, Ludowyke, Welsh unlikely to meaningfully contribute for another couple years. Maley and T Murray extremely raw and only good for cameos.

McGovern offers a different type of forward and has the added bonus of being a legitimate swingman which none of our other options are. Only needs to cover 2 years. Shouldn't cost much.
i have always liked brackets. still looks dangerous this year and has always been an excellent swingman. i would happily take him on a 1+1 type deal at a reasonable cost

he has been injury prone though but the last 3 yrs averaged 19 games per season

i just dont see him as a scoring threat which surely needs to be a KEY kpi? has kicked 12 goals in 30 games. 2 games contribute half of that :

2026 round 3 vs cats - decent effort but first goal virtually all by himself running into goal and fed after peds brilliantly evaded multiple cats in the middle of the ground. other 2 goals no cats paying close attention to him relative to our other targets and he takes uncontested marks (after leading cleverly) and converts

2024 last minor round vs swans - all 3 goals in this pre-season feeling game were him in acres of space by himself. the lowest intensity game i can remember in recent years

take out these 6 goals and it leaves 6 goals in 28 games. no where near good enough esp as tackles arent overly impressive either
5 of those games as activated sub and twice subbed off and limited T.O.G. in a lot of the others. I can't see why when we're struggling in the midfield why he isn't given more squirts on ball where his elite clean hands can be pivotal in setting up effective clearances. IMO he's another where we don't use his best skills to our advantage nearly enough.

he is certainly a clever footballer who generally makes good decision and executes well if given time and space. but time and space is the real issue here.

zac seems glacial slow to me. no spark. our midfield and forward line needs more elite pace and rankine and draper will hopefully add this. but theres already too many core slow ish types like soligo and dawson. my view is zac is the slowest of them all

i think there is a reason he was only given a one year extension. its because he is a very marginal afl player imo. i understand this forum rates some players like zac - and nank - that i dont. i hope i am wrong