List Mgmt. List Management Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter 1990crow

G'day lads, I come in peace. Looking forward to seeing a big performance in the showdown

Saw that Nick Murray was omitted from the team this week. Just wanted to ask what's wrong with his game at the moment? I've always viewed him as a really good 1v1 defender so quite surprised to see him dropped

And while I'm at it, what are your thoughts on Rachele's CBA prospects going forward with Rankine back to full fitness? Is he still any chance to maybe have >50% CBAs per game or is he gonna be more of a 70/30 forward now?

Cheers

G'day lads, I come in peace. Looking forward to seeing a big performance in the showdown

Saw that Nick Murray was omitted from the team this week. Just wanted to ask what's wrong with his game at the moment? I've always viewed him as a really good 1v1 defender so quite surprised to see him dropped

And while I'm at it, what are your thoughts on Rachele's CBA prospects going forward with Rankine back to full fitness? Is he still any chance to maybe have >50% CBAs per game or is he gonna be more of a 70/30 forward now?

Cheers
Murray has been low on confidence and a mile off his best form, while Borlase was very good in the AFL games he played and outstanding in the ressies. While Murray has a much higher ceiling ability wise, Borlase is probably playing the better footy right now so I am sure selection integrity would have mentioned in the selection meeting.

As for Rachele, the coaching group seem convinced that they cannot play Rankine and Rachele in at the same CSB. So it’s either one or the other in there. Soligo back in the side now, likely to be joined by Dawson again next week in the rotations. Not sure he will get to 70% forward numbers, but his midfield minutes have dropped from what they were earlier in the season. If Fantasy football related, re-assessing on the bye seems like solid advice.

Murray has been low on confidence and a mile off his best form, while Borlase was very good in the AFL games he played and outstanding in the ressies. While Murray has a much higher ceiling ability wise, Borlase is probably playing the better footy right now so I am sure selection integrity would have mentioned in the selection meeting.

As for Rachele, the coaching group seem convinced that they cannot play Rankine and Rachele in at the same CSB. So it’s either one or the other in there. Soligo back in the side now, likely to be joined by Dawson again next week in the rotations. Not sure he will get to 70% forward numbers, but his midfield minutes have dropped from what they were earlier in the season. If Fantasy football related, re-assessing on the bye seems like solid advice.
Appreciate the response

If you don't mind:

On Murray, is there any chance Borlase replaces him in the b23 going forward and he's left on the outer especially with Keane to return?

And on Rachele, who do you reckon Nicks would prioritise between he and Rankine? Last week it seemed like Rankine pushed Rachele out a bit. Is this a week-to-week assessment or is Rankine in the midfield seen as more optimal?

I might be jumping at shadows but I've got a weird Charlie Edwards going back to Melbourne feeling.

His post match interview, Nicks post match presser and the baulderstone post match interview all left me with a doubt about his future as a Crow.

Thoughts anyone?

I think he’ll get a Jarryd Lyonsesque low offer and be tempted elsewhere. Whether he goes is another matter. I’m not sure which other clubs he’d be a midfield lock at.

Because enjoying your job is a massive factor in whether to change jobs

If you're already a high income earner, there is a strong incentive to stay at the current job you like, with all your current mates, rather than take a bigger offer at a potentially less enjoyable workplace.

Remember, if he stayed he'd be earning at least $6 million at Brisbane

Now if we sack Nicks, start winning, start playing fun football or whatever - we become a more attractive destination
Nicks has enough runs on the board regarding creating a supportive and positive environment to enjoy playing at the club, and his coaching last year would be enough for any player to think he's a good enough coach for it to be a non-factor - certainly not a negative.

Sacking Nicks is the most destabilising thing we could do - it's doesn't guarentee your chain of events, i.e. "sack Nicks, start winning, start playing fun football or whatever - we become a more attractive destination" - that's just made up.

I'm not saying he's the man to take us past this year, but to think it would get Bailey into the club is not logical.

I think he’ll get a Jarryd Lyonsesque low offer and be tempted elsewhere. Whether he goes is another matter. I’m not sure which other clubs he’d be a midfield lock at.
There were quite a few clubs that had interest in Charlie's draft year especially after his move into the midfield for the Sandringham Dragons during and post the Nationals. Several clubs actually tried to have him upgraded from the Vic State Combine to the National Combine after his excellent late season form so you'd think they would have closely monitored his development since. 191cm big bodied mids with a good burst of speed and a good tank are keenly sought by AFL club's.

Cheers

Nicks was desperate to drop a senior player, to send a message but didn’t want to drop Keays or cumming

Not sure Lyons is the right comparison. Lyons was racking up big numbers in the SANFL every week iirc, and was pretty good on the rare occasions he get minutes at AFL level. Edwards is not at that level yet, but I think is a couple of years younger than Lyons was?

Appreciate the response

If you don't mind:

On Murray, is there any chance Borlase replaces him in the b23 going forward and he's left on the outer especially with Keane to return?

And on Rachele, who do you reckon Nicks would prioritise between he and Rankine? Last week it seemed like Rankine pushed Rachele out a bit. Is this a week-to-week assessment or is Rankine in the midfield seen as more optimal?
That’s a good question. I would suggest it wouldn’t take much for Murray to regain form at the lower level and look a million bucks again, and for Borlase to get a bit of a touch up against a good forward, along with our mids getting touched up and the ball coming into our backline fast and direct also doing him no favours, which would see Murray get his spot back.

As for Rachele, based on form from this year, you would think he would get priority to spend more time in the middle, but they can also use it to try get a spark out of Rankine and get him involved. And then if he is up and going on you would want to want to keep him in there. He has weapons few others possess. So like you say very much a week to week proposition.

That’s a good question. I would suggest it wouldn’t take much for Murray to regain form at the lower level and look a million bucks again, and for Borlase to get a bit of a touch up against a good forward, along with our mids getting touched up and the ball coming into our backline fast and direct also doing him no favours, which would see Murray get his spot back.

As for Rachele, based on form from this year, you would think he would get priority to spend more time in the middle, but they can also use it to try get a spark out of Rankine and get him involved. And then if he is up and going on you would want to want to keep him in there. He has weapons few others possess. So like you say very much a week to week proposition.
Its been a little while since Borlase got beaten by anyone.

He'll play on Whitlock tonight and should do his usual solid job.

Thanks for the responses guys. Best of luck for tonight and beyond - have enjoyed watching this team this season so hopefully the showdown doesn't disappoint!

We had some interest last year , wonder if we look at Elijah Tsatas ?

Dumbfounded he got dropped by Essendon

Won't cost us much either

There were quite a few clubs that had interest in Charlie's draft year especially after his move into the midfield for the Sandringham Dragons during and post the Nationals. Several clubs actually tried to have him upgraded from the Vic State Combine to the National Combine after his excellent late season form so you'd think they would have closely monitored his development since. 191cm big bodied mids with a good burst of speed and a good tank are keenly sought by AFL club's.

I am not surprised and I don’t disagree at all. But which club, outside Eagles, do you reckon he would be confident of getting decent midfield time?

I think we put a pen through Butts long term , his body is just not durable

A few options

Nick Cox (Essendon )
Highly rated but Essendon can’t get him in the park consistently

Cal Wilkie
Throw a huge offer and force him out of St.Kilda

Will McCabe
Also one to throw a decent contract at

Other positions where we can add depth
Dodson another

Walker retiring , Maley isn’t the answer Max Gruzewski worth enquiring about