• Keiran Jack

Votes: 19 46.3%
  • Jack Maibaum

Votes: 3 7.3%

James Rose: How he was even still on our list was a mystery

Jarrad McVeigh: Keep, had a great season

Dan Hannebery: Tradebait. While he still has currency, look to move on to get a live first round selection, anything less and we keep.

Isaac Heeney: Does need to work at getting his footskills back but had a great year

Jordan Foote: Terrible- hope he's not here in 2019

Harry Cunningham: Despite limitations he improved in 2018.

Will Hayward: Fastest to 50 goals he's staying long-term.

Zak Jones: Drives me nuts but he is one of the few that offers us drive.

Tom Papley: Play him forward.

Josh Kennedy: Sore and tired from carrying the whole midfield.

Oliver Florent: Impressive improvement continues. Gun.

Callum Mills: Injured. Better play midfield in 2019.

Keiran Jack: I really wish he wasn't under contract in 2019, looked very cooked.

Gary Rohan: Trade him for whatever, don't care what we get for him.

Darcy Cameron: Questionable whether he's AFL quality but can't fault the effort.

Callum Sinclair: Most important player in 2018.

Matthew Ling: Give him time

Sam Reid: Over him unfortunately contracted.

Jack Maibaum: Should play games in 219.

Dean Towers: Might be delisted. Tough year for Dean.

Lance Franklin: Too good to have to play for Horse.

Dane Rampe: Critical for our side.

Luke Parker: Average final I thought but overall he had a wonderful year and will take out our Player of the Year.

Daniel Robinson: Trade to GC hopefully. We can do better.

Nic Newman: Odd season, some very good games coupled with some diabolical ones.

George Hewett: Good year but needs to find the ball more in 2019.

Tom McCartin: This bloke could be anything.

Harrison Marsh: . Will remain a depth player if he stays.

Ryley Stoddart: Only got a taste but liked what I saw.

Jordan Dawson: Play him in the midfield please

Sam Naismith: Contract extended so we assume he’s our #1 ruck next year.

Lewis Mellican: Sorely missed his defensive work and stability.

Aliir Aliir: Hate to know how bad we'd have been in the last month without him.

Heath Grundy: Very handy for depth at worst in 2019.

Nick Smith: We saw how much he is needed against GWS.

Jake Lloyd: Lloyd can be criticized for getting cheap possessions, but the fact is he can kick, we need more.

Colin O'Riordan: Was rewarded with a few senior games and didn’t look bad. Watch for 2019.

Rookie List.

Alex Johnson: Some people will hate this, but cut him. Enough is enough. If he comes back, support him and then perhaps re-rookie him in 2020.

Ben Ronke: comfortably best 22. A fast, goal kicking forward, with strong defensive skills = asset.

James Bell: Didn’t see much of him.

Jake Brown: See Bell.

Robbie Fox: Worth persisting with a little longer to see if there is a position

Angus Styles: Delist

Joel Amartey: Give him another year.

Toby Pink: Delist

Here is my relatively uninformed take.

James Rose: List clogger for mine - delist/trade away. Hope he can finally jag a NEAFL premiership on the weekend. Just never consistently convinced me that he will ever take the step up to be a consistent AFL player, though has done some good stuff in the NEAFL. May get a chance somewhere else, but can't see him ever being a consistent member of our best 22 at the swans.

Jarrad McVeigh: Had a fine renaissance in 2018 and definitely deserves to go around again in 2019.

Dan Hannebery: I'm 99.95% sure in my mind he won't be with us next year - just hope a change of pastures will do him good and he can get back to somewhere near his better footy (not when playing us). While he still can get plenty of the pill, has had for large chunks of the season that 'looking for one second too much' feeling that has meant his disposal and use of the ball has in general been terrible.

Isaac Heeney: Asked to be a jack of all trades, and did most things well. But I feel he should have more influence at times on games then he manages to do at some times - that isn't helped by having to play a variety of roles. Continues to develop, but we need him to become a midfield star I feel going forward. Sometimes has a tendency to try a bit too much for the speccy or the difficult option then to look for the % play as well.

Jordan Foote: Fringe player, and I'm not sure he can take any more steps up as needed to become a permanent senior player.

Harry Cunningham: I felt he had a really good year. Vastly improved and seems to have found a real role within the team. His work under pressure has developed as well. A lot to like about where he improved this year.

Will Hayward: Tired as the season went on, but again a lot to like in season 2018. Will keep improving and has real potential to become a very classy player.

Zak Jones: A frustrating player. Need to find a way to better channel his angry man antics - perhaps in midfield, as I'm not entirely convinced by his defensive qualities. A good player no doubt, but needs to strike a better balance between aggression and getting the job done.

Tom Papley: A mixed year - had some good games of course, but always looks better as a small forward, but spent plenty of time going through the midfield, where while sometimes effective, I feel is not really a natural fit.

Josh Kennedy: Needs a new back, after trying to carry our broken down V4 Datsun midfield of 2018 on his back. Needs help, but did well, especially as the season rolled on.

Oliver Florent: I like this kid a lot. Will be interesting to see where he ultimately settles down. For mine could be the player to replace McVeigh or Lloyd in the quarterback style role for the team. Oozes a bit of class that not many have - just need to work out how best to use and develop him going forward.

Callum Mills: We have missed his composure and cool head since that silly accident. I want to see him more in midfield in season 2019, given just how good he was in there in junior footy. I think many have understated how much we have missed him.

Keiran Jack: Seems to have hit the wall somewhat this year. Showed some better signs late in the season, but needs to be fully fit I feel to command a place in the 22 consistently in 2019. As others have said, I don't think there isn't a clear obvious role for him in the team now. Though with a good pre-season and being fully fit, he can of course yet surprise.

Gary Rohan: Will be interesting to see what happens. As explosive and influential as he occasionally is, too many games pass him by. Has been a tough year for him of course off the park, and will trust the club to do what is best for all, but would not surprise me if we at least explore options of trading him and giving him a new start. We look better when he is playing well, but look like we are playing 1 down when he is not.

Darcy Cameron: I hope we manage to hang on to him, as I feel he can offer something in terms of being a genuine goalkicking ruck/forward that neither Naismith or Sinclair can provide. I'm sure a few will be sniffing around after how good his season has been in reserves. Hope he can cap it off by helping the NEAFL team win the flag on Sunday.

Callum Sinclair: Fantastic season in a thankless role with little support. Tired a bit towards the end, but no suprise there. But went about his business with utmost professionalism all season long, and won more battles than he lost. A quality clubman to have around the place, though will be interesting what we choose to do with him, Naismith and Cameron all wanting senior footy (assuming of course they are all fit).

Matthew Ling: Season stuffed by injury. Lets see what happens next year.

Sam Reid: Oh Sammy, oh Sammy, where are thou' Sammy. How we missed him this year :(

Jack Maibaum: Still 50/50 for mine whether he is going to develop enough to be an AFL quality defender, but have seen him do some good things when he has been on the park in reserves. Next year a make or break year for mine.

Dean Towers: Delist/trade. Did well early in the year, got injured and hasn't had a look in since. Can't wait forever, and I can't see us offering a new contract.

Lance Franklin: Injuries plagued his year sadly - still was fantastic for us however. We will need to carefully manage his workload over the last 4 years of hte contract, or sadly what we saw on Saturday night will become closer to the norm than the exception. 17-18 quality games a year from Buddy, with the occasional 'general soreness' is likely to be far more productive then 22-25 games carrying a bunch of niggling injuries.

Dane Rampe: Has struggled at times playing almost as a key position defender, but still another solid season. Need to get him back to being the 3rd defender so to allow him to exploit the other side of his game where he can be more damaging. Maybe a chance to spend more time in midfield next year too.

Luke Parker: Another very good year - now arguably the leader of our midfield in front of Kennedy. Good chance to win the Skilton Medal again, and did his best in a tough role given our struggles in the middle. Good season.

Daniel Robinson: Fringe level AFL player at best. Effort never in question, but just doesn't look like to have an extra few gears to really become a solid AFL player. But would be on next to nothing and is ok as a depth player.

Nic Newman: Just hasn't stepped up from NEAFL to AFL level for mine as we all hoped. Had some glimpses and a couple of good games, but I'm far from convinced. Not good enough as a defender at AFL level, and not damaging enough off the half back line to command a place there. If we got a reasonable offer for him, I wouldn't be too unhappy if we took it. Could still make it, but just have a nagging feeling he is not far from his ceiling as a fringe player and that's it.

George Hewett: A very good year for mine, and would not suprise me if he finishes in the top 5 or 6 in the Skilton. Some super tagging efforts, and as the year went on some very good performances more broadly. Get him into the core midfield group permanently next year and play to his strengths - he is ready to take the next steps and help fill the giant holes in the midfield group.

Tom McCartin: Stats don't tell the story. Struggled the last 6 or 8 weeks of the season for mine, but that is not suprising at all. I feel we really did mismanage him, and should have given Cameron more time in a similar role. But the potential of this kid was clear to see - decent field kick, very good contested mark despite being very under-developed compared to his opponents. Pre-season needs to be all about getting some bulk on him, and practicing and improving his goalkicking. Has a serious amount of potential to become a very fine player.

Harrison Marsh: A depth player at best - but does a role reasonably well when he has played. Playing close to as well as he will at AFL level, so will be only ever a depth player - but happy for him to stick around if that's what the Club chooses.

Ryley Stoddart: Has shown some promise, but a lot of work to do yet. Only time will tell if he is good enough to make it at AFL level.

Jordan Dawson: Next year is a big year for him. Injury really curtailed his season, and stopped him finally getting a good run in seniors to show what he can do. I'm not as convinced as others about him being a midfielder at AFL level, but I think he could make a very decent HF player that does spend some time rotating through there. He is a lovely kick of the footy and we need to work out how best to utilise that skill.

Sam Naismith: We missed him somewhat, but maybe less than expected with the excellent form of Sinclair. We need him fit and firing next year - though I don't know how we will manage to keep all of him, Sinclair and Cameron relatively happy, especially if its a 1 ruck approach again next year.

Lewis Melican: We missed him a lot this season. Hope he can get his body right and a full pre-season, as him and Aliir are in my mind clearly our first choice pairing of key defenders going forward.

Aliir Aliir: Did some superb stuff, had a stinker against the Hawks, but was one of our best in the dismal finals game. I like his development and want him in the top 22 next season from Rd 1, with full confidence behind him that he can make mistakes and not be thrown on the scrapheap immediately if he does. Needs to really work however on his second efforts - 2 or 3 times on Saturday night got badly burned when the initial contest was inconclusive and the ball was there to be won - but he will improve, and is potentially a very fine player in the making.

Heath Grundy: Rightly rewarded with another year I feel - may well end up not playing much senior footy in 2019, but an asset to have around the club and mentoring the younger guys at very least, but still able to contribute when needed at the top level.

Nick Smith: Many only notice just how good he is by noticing how much we miss him when he is out. Still has at least 1 season in him at the senior level, possibly more. As others have said - how we could of used him against Kung Fu Greene.

Jake Lloyd: I think he will walk for the huge offer he will get elsewhere (Perhaps Gold Coast). Gets a lot of the footy and generally uses it well, but not necessarily as damaging as he should be when using the ball. Good luck to him if he goes - I hope we keep him, but I expect the $$$ will talk at the end of the day.

Colin O'Riordan: I thought he did well overall in his senior appearances. With a big pre-season can definitely be in the 22 from Rd 1 next year, and with confidence can quickly make a spot in the team his own. Has some x-factor that we are really missing about his game.

Rookie List.

Alex Johnson: I think we will keep him on the rookie list. From triumph to despair within a week, the effort to make it back was remarkable in itself. But for it to come to a grinding halt so quickly was so very sad.

Ben Ronke: Upgrade to Senior List. Obvious surprise packet, but did so much good stuff. Want to see him not getting dragged up the park as much to fill other gaps next year and more playing as a little guy at Buddy's feet please. But a huge talent and with massive potential.

James Bell: Has his moments and I like his approach, but he drifts in and out of games a lot in the NEAFL matches I watched. Worth persevering with.

Jake Brown: Not convinced at all by him to be honest. A tough nut but I don't think likely to make the grade - but may well get another year in the system to see how he develops.

Robbie Fox: Maintain as a rookie (I assume we can?). I'm not as sold on him as others, but he has done some good stuff at times. Happy for him to be upgraded to the senior list if need be.

Angus Styles: Don't know to be honest.

Joel Amartey: Keep - he has had his moments and will time and patience we can develop him as a project player.

Toby Pink: Delist - sadly hasn't barely got on the park this year, but to be honest I didn't see a lot to like last year either.

so far, 33.3% agree that johnson should be delisted.

so, RW, is it still trolling to say it or are you just incredibly bias?

Didn’t mean your post per say sorry

Just seems to be a few still don’t rate him much?

But I think anyone is traceable for the right price
FYI, its 'per se' not per say :eek:

:D:D:D:D:D:D

Is it piss off or piddle off?
No worries, grumble bum... who was it that was explaining the spelling of c'mon to me again... oh, that's right! you!

I thought we were bantering :p

Haven’t been called grumble bum in years since my mum used to call me that

I thought we were bantering :p

Haven’t been called grumble bum in years since my mum used to call me that
How often do you reckon I use the term grumble bum when not bantering? And yep, I used it on my kids who i reckon are a year or two older than you!!

Kids swans fans?

They were as youngsters, but not any more. One is computer nerd (who'd a thought????) and the other works in the mines and is into fishing & surfing. Neither follow any sports at the moment. Must take after their dad.

I have two little girls and ones a swan but the others a crow :(

At least one has sided with you! It's great isn't it! I used to love it, we'd sing the song and cheer! Both mine dropped out for a while, and when they got it back together, it was no longer on their agenda.

PS. We're gonna get in trouble... wrong thread... shhhh

At least one has sided with you! It's great isn't it! I used to love it, we'd sing the song and cheer! Both mine dropped out for a while, and when they got it back together, it was no longer on their agenda.

PS. We're gonna get in trouble... wrong thread... shhhh

RW loves it, he can move us to the bar

I'm going to miss watching Gaz's sporadic moments of brilliance.. honestly thought he was going to be a Goodes like player for us but just hasn't worked out sadly.
Hanners has to leave. He looks done to me. To bashed up. Legend of the club but just going to be more of same for us.
Newman handy, but replaceable and dare I say it Lloyd might be the same.
I'm excited to see Mills take Hanner's spot in the middle. I reckon Dawson would be superb of the HBF with his pace and boot. I'm sweating on Reid to finally get right in the forward line, but if not Sinclair forward with his pace/mark and kick leaving Naismith in the ruck. I reckon James Bell could be something too....