• Thread starter Thread starter Zeke

yeah
threatened...

did anyone else see last time hawks played bombers and matthew lloyd tried to rip it with cyril rioli?

(Preface: I thought Franklin shouldn't have been suspended last week, and I think in general Lloyd is a sniping diver).

The 'hit' was pretty marginal IMHO. I think there has to be some doubt about:

1. whether he even intended to hit Sewell or whether he was just putting in a serious contest for the ball

2. whether it was the contact from Lloyd or the subsequent hit into Ryder's shoulder that knocked him out

You have to remember that these things happen at high speed, and it's not like Lloyd had weeks to plot his dastardly deed - it was a combination of factors including where he was, where Sewell was, where the ball bounced and ended up, the relative heights of the two players at the moment they collided, etc.

However with the AFL's idiotic rule you'd expect that he'll get at least a week or two.

As for how it should be - it was a clash in the heat of battle where unfortunately one guy came off second best. It is part of the game and should be left alone. So if the rules were up to me - no suspension for that.

Based on the awful Buddy precedent Lloyd will be lucky not to get 6.

Lloyd not only went the bump, but unlike Cousins, Sewell had his head down over the ball, if you look at it, it is 2 weeks for electing to bump and based on guys like Pickett who did the same thing, 6 weeks for the hit itself is not out of the question.

I hate it, I hate Lloyd, if it wasn't for Fletcher he would be my most hated player in the league, but that was a good hard hit, high bump, free kick and play on for me, but if he gets less than a month I would be shocked.

AFL has gone to the shits.

he is gone, i thought buddy would go, think about your first reaction if it was "thats trouble" its a good indicator. On another note, Campbell Brown gave Lloyd a whack on Radio after the game, and Gus Monfries just whacked Brown back on before the game, the bad blood between these two clubs keeps boiling, Lloyd will prob get offered 3, Ryder 2 or 1, Lonergan Might be up and Bateman might also get looked at.

If Ryder gets two, then the guy who elbowed him in the face, causing Ryder to retaliate, by punching the guy in the jaw, should also get two.

don't be ridiculous
lloyd only snipes when players have their head over the ball

in his defence and mine i dont think lloyd is a sniper and that is the opinion of others

at first glance i thought he might be right.. but the more i watch it the more i reckon he'll get weeks. probably 3.

sewell was slightly crouched over as he collected the ball, loyd came from front on and gave him the shirt front, and it wasn't as sewell was grabbing the ball. he had the ball at this stage. if it wasnt front on id say he might be alright but the afl dont look to kindly on front on contact when the head is involved.

(Preface: I thought Franklin shouldn't have been suspended last week, and I think in general Lloyd is a sniping diver).

The 'hit' was pretty marginal IMHO. I think there has to be some doubt about:

1. whether he even intended to hit Sewell or whether he was just putting in a serious contest for the ball

Well Sewell had his head over the ball and Lloyd never got low enough to win it, so that doesn't wash.

2. whether it was the contact from Lloyd or the subsequent hit into Ryder's shoulder that knocked him out

Check the youTube footage. He was out cold before he reached Ryder. Ryder practically guided him to the turf.

You have to remember that these things happen at high speed, and it's not like Lloyd had weeks to plot his dastardly deed - it was a combination of factors including where he was, where Sewell was, where the ball bounced and ended up, the relative heights of the two players at the moment they collided, etc.

They never do. But this sounds eerily familiar. Oh yeah, last week.

However with the AFL's idiotic rule you'd expect that he'll get at least a week or two.

As for how it should be - it was a clash in the heat of battle where unfortunately one guy came off second best. It is part of the game and should be left alone. So if the rules were up to me - no suspension for that.

I agree, but we are through the looking glass. He has to have the book thrown at him.

Check the youTube footage. He was out cold before he reached Ryder. Ryder practically guided him to the turf.
I did watch it quite a few times - his head his Ryder's shoulder hard and bounces off it quite dramatically. It's more apparent from the second camera angle they show.

don't be ridiculous
lloyd only snipes when players have their head over the ball

Exactly its piss weak.

If he wants to be a tough man he should be hitting blokes coming off the ground while in the arms of the trainers. Or maybe wait until a couple of team mates have a guy pinned then come over the top and lay into him.

From watching the youtube footage I think what might reduce lloyd's sentence is the fact that Sewell was originally going 1 way but changed direction and went to spin the other way and as a result lloyds shoulder hit him square on the jaw.

I don't think there was any malice in the bump as lloyd was actually coming at him front on until sewell turned.

WIll hodge get a couple of weeks for running up a belting lloyd a couple of times?

Re: Matthew Loyd Gone

I cant believe peanuts like you and others are on here saying that all you gonna remember lloyd as a thug and diver. Just shows that you no sweet fa about footy. He has kicked over 900 goals. Tossers

Does it hurt when you think? :thumbsu:

He is a fraud that dives. Now add coward to his resume and all the Essendon flogs can jump up and down and tell us all he is a champion but he misses out on that title.

Exactly its piss weak.

If he wants to be a tough man he should be hitting blokes coming off the ground while in the arms of the trainers. Or maybe wait until a couple of team mates have a guy pinned then come over the top and lay into him.

why would he do that...
he would look like a thug hawthorn player if he did that

If Buddy got 2, then Lloyd has to get at least 4 weeks. Given he raised his arms pretending nothings wrong afterwards, i'd slap another 4 on, so then he can have something to really sook about.

He is a fraud that dives. Now add coward to his resume and all the Essendon flogs can jump up and down and tell us all he is a champion but he misses out on that title.
>900 goals, in the top 10 of all time, 2 time Coleman Medallist, Premiership player, Club Captain.

But oh noes, people on "teh interwebs" think he's a diver. However will he cope?

From watching the youtube footage I think what might reduce lloyd's sentence is the fact that Sewell was originally going 1 way but changed direction and went to spin the other way and as a result lloyds shoulder hit him square on the jaw.

I don't think there was any malice in the bump as lloyd was actually coming at him front on until sewell turned.

WIll hodge get a couple of weeks for running up a belting lloyd a couple of times?

Exactly, Lloyd should get off, unfortunate, and Lloyd was just as open as Sewell. Both players were front on to each other, Buddy was side on(though he should have got off as well). Move on.

Lloyd will get 3 weeks after any good behaviour bonuses or whatever else the AFL can come up with. Whilst his hit on Sewell was good hard aggressive stuff, it was clumsy with a high risk of very serious injury.

Must go for at LEAST 3 weeks. Good hard footy is one thing, but if it risks seriously injuring someone you have to be prepared to be punished.

>900 goals, in the top 10 of all time, 2 time Coleman Medallist, Premiership player, Club Captain.

But oh noes, people on "teh interwebs" think he's a diver. However will he cope?

i heard hes continuing his acting career

Lloyd is hardly the first AFL player in the twilight of their career to turn to thuggery because they can no longer help their team purely through skill.

Byron Pickett, Alastair Lynch, there are lots more examples out there.

Vandenberg.

Anyone got the footage of Kennett having a tanty? Would very much like to see.

Why are people even comparing lloyd's bump with buddy's bump

2 completely different scenario's

franklin's

counsins gets ball
both player's go in hard
franklins shoulder hits cousin's
after effect of bump see's cousins head fling onto buddys shoulder
cousins KO

lloyd's

centre bounce
sewells eye's on the ball lloyd's eyes on sewell
sewell goe's for ball
lloyd goes for man
shoulder directly to the head
KO sewell

[YOUTUBE]<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/zQiz0cXYbzo&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zQiz0cXYbzo&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>[/YOUTUBE]