Lloyd gone.

They just discussed it on TFS.

The panel don't agree with you, Smokin.

great argument!

didnt see it, but it is impossible to state that Lloyd was not, at least, touched/pushed/shoved to some extent from behind.

There can be no dispute. If they dispute this, good luck to em. They are wrong.

Essendon will present this, the tribunal will have to take it into consideration, at the very least.

The pictures show the FACTS though, he was touched. Therefore, in some way, he had to have been impacted.

Re: Brian Taylor on Matty Lloyd

definateley. the double standards of hawthron are amazing.
brown is the biggest sniper, and clarkson during his career was renowned as one.
As BT said. buddy did it last week, but as soon as it happens to them, they whinge
Although I found Browns comments quite amusing, I feel that he and Clarko probably shouyld have kept their traps shut.

Dont, however, go comparing the Buddy/Lloyd incidents. Poles apart.
99% of all footy fans thoughts on Buddy were that it was a good bump that unluckily got Cousins high.
Lloyds was never a good bump. He may not have intended to get him high, but he intended to hurt (which is fine) so long as you dont hit the head.
Buddy may have intended to hurt, but it was far more to the point of knocking the ball carrier over due to there being little chance of sticking the tackle.
Cannot be compared with charging in at full pace off the line at the start of a qtr when your team is under the pump. The recklessness and duty of care factor are in no way similar.

Off topic. The bombers deserve their 8th spot more so than us insofar as the season goes, however, i feel they have only got the chance due to it being 22 v's 20 in the 2nd half yesterday so can thus consider themselves very lucky.

I'm looking forward to our game/s next year, as I'm sure you are. If we play twice I hope they are both at the G.
Although our colors are much derided, I think there is nothing better than the black, red, gold and brown out on the green grass of the G without a roof. Great spectacle.

IMO there was no push. Schoenmakers hands slid off Lloyds back and Lloyd moved forward.

A voice of reason as always, a rare commodity amongst Bomber posters.

Schoenmakers had his arms out to keep contact with Lloyd and he lost contact with him as Lloyd accelerated towards Sewell. He made no attempt to contest the ball nor did he drop low enough to have any reasonable chance of making legal body contact. More importantly he did not check his speed. He was more than happy to attack Sewell at full momentum.

There is no doubt he will go. but i think 2 weeks is fair.
hit head knocked out.
Same as buddy's.

they both didnt mean to knock them out etc, but need consistency

How do you know Lloyd did not mean to knock him out? Unless you can get into the head of a coward your guessing what his intent was. People may not like Brown but at least he had the courage to come out and say what most people in football think about Lloyd - sniping coward.

Protect himself from what?

A guy with his head over the ball:rolleyes:

Lloyd has a history of "protecting himself" by raising his arms before contact.
Trying to prevent contact. He didn't brace for contact like he was going the bump. Clear as day. If he ran off the line to collect Sewell, then he would have approached him with arms tucked, ready to lay the hit. Clearly doesn't happen there.

I cant believe the heat on Lloyd that wasnt a sniper what Bateman did to Lloyd was a sniper act

I also love how the biggest sniper in the league Lewis was no where to be seen when the players were all in only wants to hit somebody when they have there back to him

lloydhawfirst.jpg

lloydhaw2.jpg

If that doesnt show a push, dunno what does.

Looks much worse in the video of course, however if people are going to cry blind, sometimes absolute proof is needed.

How about you include the frames in between those two :rolleyes:

Although I found Browns comments quite amusing, I feel that he and Clarko probably shouyld have kept their traps shut.

Dont, however, go comparing the Buddy/Lloyd incidents. Poles apart.
99% of all footy fans thoughts on Buddy were that it was a good bump that unluckily got Cousins high.
Lloyds was never a good bump. He may not have intended to get him high, but he intended to hurt (which is fine) so long as you dont hit the head.
Buddy may have intended to hurt, but it was far more to the point of knocking the ball carrier over due to there being little chance of sticking the tackle.
Cannot be compared with charging in at full pace off the line at the start of a qtr when your team is under the pump. The recklessness and duty of care factor are in no way similar.

Off topic. The bombers deserve their 8th spot more so than us insofar as the season goes, however, i feel they have only got the chance due to it being 22 v's 20 in the 2nd half yesterday so can thus consider themselves very lucky.

I'm looking forward to our game/s next year, as I'm sure you are. If we play twice I hope they are both at the G.
Although our colors are much derided, I think there is nothing better than the black, red, gold and brown out on the green grass of the G without a roof. Great spectacle.

I think Lloyds is going to be scrutinised alot more.
Minor shove from schoenmakers or whoever, and they reckon he braced for contact then actually bumping.

But I think 2 weeks is fair.

Hawks-Bombers, Pies-Bombers, the two biggest rivalries now.

Look I believe he should be rubbed out cause he hit him high and knocked him out. But Brown and clarkson are idiots and going to get themselves in major trouble.
BT's comments are 100% true though

Hey nimrod ...

If you are going to start a thread called 'Brian Taylor on Matty Lloyd', how about you post the comments he made so that everyone knows what he said ??

FFS, if there isn't already enough Lloyd V Sewell threads going, you have to start another with no additional facts to back up your thoughts.

How do you know Lloyd did not mean to knock him out? Unless you can get into the head of a coward your guessing what his intent was. People may not like Brown but at least he had the courage to come out and say what most people in football think about Lloyd - sniping coward.

How do you know it was?

Would also agree with this. Didn't want the ball, just wanted to take our best midfielder out. Sniper attack.

then you're a fool.

Zeke is a hysterical old washer-woman in real life, I'm sure of it. Bigfooty's biggest sniper accusing a footy player of it. Amazing :rolleyes: You want a tissue Zeke? Maybe a hug from your mum?

Anyone who thinks that was a 'sniper' attack is fair dinkum sook & should start following basketball.

Trying to prevent contact. He didn't brace for contact like he was going the bump. Clear as day. If he ran off the line to collect Sewell, then he would have approached him with arms tucked, ready to lay the hit. Clearly doesn't happen there.

I don't buy into arguments about what Lloyds intent was, I am not not a mind reader like alot of Hawk and Essendon supporters seem to be.

Intent has nothing to do with it.

It's the result that matters, and the result was a hit flush to the head that knoecked Sewell out cold.

I am not to sure why there is so much argument about it:confused:

Very important difference between the two incidents. Franklin partly hit the head of a player standing up while Lloyd ran through a guy with his head over the ball which players have been told not to do long before Franklin hit Cousins.

Hahaha, oh the irony.

You can use that -"Unless you can get into the head of a coward your guessing what his intent was"
Benefit of doubt always applies unless 100% certain

Sewelly had his head over the ball... that is the reason why Lloyd will go for 4 weeks.. If the ball had been in dispute or Sewell was running through traffic then the Buddy penalty would have been applied.

Given that it was the first few seconds of the 2nd half the consipiracy theorist in me finds it hard to believe that Lloyd (who had no impact in the first half) was "imposing himself" which in my view makes it a dog act..

im liking the comments of neutral fans in this thread..spot on

Although a fair bit of what Mervyn Beasley said was also true, Lloyd should get 2 reduced to 1..it will come down to the impact rating

Exhibition game in London, the Battle of Britain Clarko?.. king hit from behind.. the most cowardly act in football.. you'd be the last midget in Australia to lecture anyone on a code of ethics.

didnt see it, but it is impossible to state that Lloyd was not, at least, touched/pushed/shoved to some extent from behind.

There can be no dispute. If they dispute this, good luck to em. They are wrong.

Essendon will present this, the tribunal will have to take it into consideration, at the very least.

And the very best of British to them. I don't believe the footage demonstrates any substantial force from Schoenmakers. In fact you could just as plausibly argue that his arms went out and he lost contact because Lloyd accelerated to the contest with Sewell. What is certain is that at the point of contact, Schoenmakers wasn't touching Lloyd.

Now if the sum of your counter is that I am blind, I hope you go to the tribunal and represent Lloyd.

The pictures show the FACTS though, he was touched. Therefore, in some way, he had to have been impacted.

Yep. Bloke knocked out cold by Lloyd. Compelling footage too.

I don't buy into arguments about what Lloyds intent

What we know is that intent is not nearly as important as outcome.