Lloyd gone.

The comments about it being a snipe are a joke. How was it so much different to Buddy? .

The only similariity is was that their opponents got concussed. In all other aspects they are totally different.

1. Lloyd was running at high speed while Franklin was stationary.
2. Sewell had his head over the ball while Cousins had the ball in his possession and was running.
3. Franklin made full body contact on Cousins including incidental head high contact. It was a bump. Lloyd made no body contact at all on Sewell except to the head. It was not a bump. It was a charge. They wont even be reported for the same offence.
4. Franklin had a split second to decide what to do. Lloyd made a premeditated decision to charge in at the centre bounce and cause some damage, not unlike Yeats on Brereton.

Perhaps you could be our arbiter of truth then, Jeff.

Let me guess, FREE MATTY.

Like I've said before I reckon he'll go because someone got hurt.

IMO though both him & Buddy didn't do anything wrong. But the morons running this comp will probably see both are suspended.

It's embarrassing how much tripe Hawthorn supporters are carrying on about this incident. To call Lloyd a sniper is laughable (embarrassing really).

Re: Brian Taylor on Matty Lloyd

definateley. the double standards of hawthron are amazing.
brown is the biggest sniper, and clarkson during his career was renowned as one.
As BT said. buddy did it last week, but as soon as it happens to them, they whinge

summed it up perfectly, could not think of a more glowing case of double standards.

Gee a real good effort on your behalf, 1966.

Haha, good club those Saints, 26 spoons is it?:D:eek:

For a guy who supports a club that has been perennial under performers you certainly have a lot to say about the performances of other clubs.

I'm not often a fan of JD's work, but honestly...this is a thread about Lloyd, in a game against Hawthorn. Harping on about St. Kilda's lack of premiership success is not only irrelevant, it smacks of resorting to childish insults because you have nothing better to offer.

20 year old!
Campbell Brown was all of 21 at the time.

Second time I've seen Brown's age mounted as defence for hitting an already concussed player being helped off the ground by trainers...wouldn't matter if he was 4 or 40, hitting a guy that's already concussed and who is trying to get off the ground is a gutless act.

As for the thread topic, Lloyd might well go for the contact. I thought it looked unintentional but unintentional doesn't always fly with the MRP/tribunal. It looks to me like there was some element of a push from Schoenmaker but that might not be enough to save him.

As for anyone who said he 'came charging off the line at the bounce to hit a Hawk'....there was 8 seconds between the bounce and the contact. He may be no Olympic sprinter but even I could make more ground than Lloyd did in 8 seconds if I really wanted to 'charge off the line'. Last time I seriously ran 100m I did it in 14 seconds...that puts me 50-60 metres from my starting point at the 8 second mark. Lloyd made it what...15 metres from his starting point? What a charge!

The simple fact that he made the contest, albeit perhaps a second too late indicates to me that his intent was for the ball. You can argue clumsiness or poor decision making (and neither of those will get him off) but sniper? You've got to be joking.

Haven't seen any vision that Lloyd set out to hit him from 50m away, but perhaps that was the perception at the time.

Needless to say in the wake of last weeks "Bumpgate", he will be looking at 3 minimum given Sewell had his head over the ball contesting it and Lloyd had other options.

Now on intent, lets look at the available frames at the point of impact:

lloydhead2.jpg

lloydhead.jpg

looks like a headclash to me.

hardly the intent of a sniper, trying to come off the line to take out a player. :rolleyes:

They key for Lloyd is to downgrade the reckless part.

I think there is evidence to support this, even if Hawthorn supporters refuse to believe what their eyes are showing them.

Look at the position of Lloyd, at the point of impact.

His HEAD is infront of his shoulder/arm.

This is the evidence which backs up the push - thats what happens when you are pushed.

Nobody, trying to hit someone, runs with their head forward infront of their body. nobody.

They clashed heads, sure Sewell got the ball and Lloyd will go.

But the hysterics are laughable, especially after all the tears of last week.

And the very best of British to them. I don't believe the footage demonstrates any substantial force from Schoenmakers. In fact you could just as plausibly argue that his arms went out and he lost contact because Lloyd accelerated to the contest with Sewell. What is certain is that at the point of contact, Schoenmakers wasn't touching Lloyd.

Now if the sum of your counter is that I am blind, I hope you go to the tribunal and represent Lloyd.

Yep. Bloke knocked out cold by Lloyd. Compelling footage too.

What we know is that intent is not nearly as important as outcome.

Of course he wasn't touching Lloyd, he had pushed him already. Watch the video.

Yep, he was KO'd - by a headclash!

And if you dont understand the importance of intent, you shouldn't be in this conversation.

Like I've said before I reckon he'll go because someone got hurt.

IMO though both him & Buddy didn't do anything wrong. But the morons running this comp will probably see both are suspended.

It's embarrassing how much tripe Hawthorn supporters are carrying on about this incident. To call Lloyd a sniper is laughable (embarrassing really).

amen to that!! Exemplary post :thumbsu:

Sorry mate my bad.

In short:

That the Hawks are whinging, matty Lloyd's hit is completely different case to buddy's, and clarkson and Brown should get into major trouble for there comments

Thanks for that. :thumbsu:

I agree with BT. Hawthorn have just rounded off a dud year nicely.

Clashed heads?

Thats hilarious. Have you conveniently erased the footage from your memory and are going to go with selecting two frames that argue your biased opinion?

i'm confused as to why saints fans are so staunchly on the bandwagon defending lloyd? not many cats fans around - they learnt karma the hard way last year. i think st kilda are a bit afraid right now.

the video or pictures do not support that at all.

Actually, if you look at the 2nd pic, Lloyd is actually bracing for impact, he isnt in the position of actively hitting someone. His head is IN FRONT of his shoulder. That is not the way any players bumps/shirt fronts.

It does need to be watched to get a better idea, but if anyone argues he wasnt pushed, I will argue you are blind.

I've watched it so many times from all the angles they have and my eyes are starting to glaze over.

I 'aint blind and no, he wasn't pushed.

What did Clarkson say?

I would assume he must have said something outside of the innocuous stuff on the AFL website wherein he largely just rehashes the same broad claim he's been pushing for weeks now, about side's not really deserving to play finals football when they lose more games than they win?

Do people take BT seriously? He's all about ratings. Tries to be controversial on every situation.

Clashed heads?

Thats hilarious. Have you conveniently erased the footage from your memory and are going to go with selecting two frames that argue your biased opinion?

yes, and if you watch the vision the angle they keep showing isnt from the correct side.

Now, it was a shoulder/head clash, but only because of the height of the two.

This is in relation to intent, Lloyd was not trying to KO him with his arm/shoulder, that is what I am getting at.

The intent from Lloyd is pretty low, as far as I can see.

He is going to go, there is no doubt about it.

i'm confused as to why saints fans are so staunchly on the bandwagon defending lloyd? not many cats fans around - they learnt karma the hard way last year. i think st kilda are a bit afraid right now.

I think you've lost the plot.

1) I'm commenting because I was watching the game
2) Geelong were playing at the same time so I doubt many were watching it (or care)
3) I've bagged Lloyd often in the past and I'm no fan
4) I thought Hawthorn's piss poor capitualtion was embarrassing for a team that prides themselves on being tough.
5) I couldn't care less if Lloyd plays next week or not.
6) I reckon most Essendon supporters agree with point (5)

Sewelly had his head over the ball... that is the reason why Lloyd will go for 4 weeks.. If the ball had been in dispute or Sewell was running through traffic then the Buddy penalty would have been applied.

Exactly. This incident is exactly why the rule was modified. If go for the bump when a player's bent over going for the footy and make high contact, then you're in a lot of trouble and rightly so.

Franklin's on the other hand was a classic shirt front. Shouldn't have been reported for being taller than Cousins.

BT is spot on.
Also, how God damn hypocritical is "rent a thug" Brown for calling Lloyd a sniper when Chance Bateman without a doubt targeted and sniped Lloyd. Very average Hawks, take a look at yourself before making allegations you can't back up.

He'll go but FFS the hypocrisy is ridiculous. Brown, Clarkson etc are making absolute fools out of themselves.
You have a good argument relative to Brown and Clarkson.

You have no aergument relative to Hypocrisy.

Hawk fans could only be hypocritical if the incidents were the same/similar.

Simple fact is that the buddy/lloyd incidents were not similar, thus making hypocrisy irrelevant and impossible.

As long as Lloyd gets rubbed out, I think Hawthorn fans can live with the idea that the rule are similarly inequitable.

If you think we'll be hoping Lloyd gets off subsequent to Buddy being rubbed out, you are having a major lend of yourself.

But him getting off is for the good of the game.

Surely with the noble reasoning of Hawthorn fans in regard to the Franklin incident last week you'd want Lloyd to get off?