Lloyd gone.

Re: Brian Taylor on Matty Lloyd

i feel they have only got the chance due to it being 22 v's 20 in the 2nd half yesterday so can thus consider themselves very lucky.

Forgetting that we outplayed you by 45 points in round 7 after half time with Buddy and Roughead playing? Missing Hille, Dempsey, Reimers and Davey and had numerous players playing after recovering from serious injury and no-preseason.

The unsociable team has all of a sudden become sociable. I didn't like Lloyd's bump at all - it was reckless and aimed at a player with his head over the ball - but the reaction of the Hawthorn players after the incident was to go the man and then dummy spit after the match. It seemed as if they were more hell-bent on revenge than actually winning the game of football. Alistair Clarkson should have sprayed his team after the match rather than having his little rant against Lloyd.

absolute tripe. God almighty could you be any more biased?

Poor angelic buddy was just protecting himself, Lloyd "ran through him".

Not only complete hypocrisy, but also completely and utterly incorrect
learn to read dude.

it's a coincidence that the buddy hit happened last week.

comparing buddy and lloyd, as you have done, is irrelevant.

byron pickett would be a better comparison to lloyd.

Anyone who thinks that bump was worthy of suspension has lost touch with the once great game of AFL footy. Go and follow basketball you twats.

That was such a great bump from Lloydy.

And Cambell Brown you have to the the biggest f-ing moron in the history of the AFL, you are a true moron. You are infact the dirtiest C*** in the game, Lloydy wouldnt wash his ass with a moron like yourself.

Clarkson you need to shut your stupid pie hole too, you idiotic hawks cant have your cake and eat it too you bunch of pathetic whining sooks.

He said those exact words about an hour ago you twat

He may have meant they were similar in one sense but not another.

The contact was very different. Buddy got Cousins in the side and then Cousins head hit Franklin's shoulder.

Cousins himself said the bump was fine.

Lloyd apologised to Sewell, and rightly so.

what a load of horseshit.

Talk about make people laugh.

All last week you bleat about the death of the bump, then when it happens against one of your mob, Lloyd is a sniper?

The two bumps aren't comparable :rolleyes: So Hawthorn bumps are ok, bumps on Hawthorn aren't.

Hypocrite
You're spot on.

The other thing is Hawthorn supporters (in their own minds) NEED to find a point of difference, if they couldn't they would, by definition, have to come out and say Lloyd shouldn't be suspended.
So to get a case against Lloyd they say that they are not similar, when all thinking people can clearly see they are

Just for my own curiosity I've just reviewed it again.

Lloyd and Sewell were both going for the ball. Sewell took clear possession around 1 to 1.5m before Lloyd got there. Up until that point, because Sewell didn't have clean possession, Lloyd didn't have the option to tackle it was purely a contested ball situation.

With Lloyd travelling forward at a pretty decent clip and Sewell also moving forward towards Lloyd, how much time would Lloyd have had to react before making contact with Sewell once Sewell had taken possession?

I would say well less than 0.2 of a second.

A batsman in cricket when facing an express bowler has approximately 0.3 of a second to react and they are prepared. They know that a little, round, hard projectile is coming in their direction at 150+kmh.

What hope did Lloyd have to do anything different?

For people to say that Lloyd took off from the line to deliberately target a Hawk is just silly. From the camera shot coming from behind the centre square looking towards the Essendon end you can clearly see that Lloyd was looking at and moving towards the ball.

Yes Lloyd did make high contact but I think a lot of the argument might actually be the distance between Sewell and Lloyd when Sewell had actually taken possession. It was bugger all, up until then it was a ball in dispute.

absolute tripe. God almighty could you be any more biased?

Poor angelic buddy was just protecting himself, Lloyd "ran through him".

Not only complete hypocrisy, but also completely and utterly incorrect

C'mon mate. You seriously think the bumps are comparable?

It was a take a player out bump, Sewell with his head over the ball, whereas Buddy's was more reactive.

Lloyd should gets weeks cause his intent was to hurt, there's no doubt about that.

Bomber fans should be proud of his actions, I'm old enough to have seen many Hawk players do many similar things.

How does Lloyd going in for a bump (which is a part of Australian Rules Football) make him a weak dog, just because he connected with Sewell's head? :rolleyes:

You want to talk about weak dogs, look at Campbell Brown, all huff and puff who knows he doesn't have the skill to influence a game of football so is forced to resort to trying to appear tough through interviews in the media. Yeah a real big man.

He ran straight at somone with there head over the ball. If he had the courage he would have got low and also went for the ball. It is not brave to ping a bloke that is not looking at you - it is a weak act and a slur that will follow him into an over due retirement.

Personally I reckon Lloyd is Hawthorn's scapegoat for an embarrassing performance yesterday and that's the motivation behind all this sooking.

Couldn't believe the tripe I read on the Hawthorn board about them being proud of their performance yesterday.

Hawthorn went weak at the knees yesterday and I'm not just talking Sewell. They'd have difficulty intimidating a school girl after yesterday's performance.

See this is where the hypocrisy comes in, they are both very similar incidents, but your refusal to accept that is hypocritical, but your not on your own, most other Hawks supporters are the same.

You don't want to believe they are similar, because if you did, you would have to come and say Lloyd shouldn't be suspended just as you with Franklin.

Try honesty for a change
Buddy
Upright player with ball, hip and shoulder, accidental/inidental high contact. New rules technically puts him (buddy) out. Stiff luck.
Lloyd
Player with head over ball. No vision of Lloyd arriving in a sprint from the line. Llloyd (all 6ft 5 and 105kgs) arrives at full pace and slams into Sewell's head and breaks his jaw.

If Buddy's incident did not happen last week there would be no discussion of hypocrisy, no comparisons etc etc The discussion would just be "how many weeks for Lloyd"

A large section of Bomber fans and the footy community at large know and expect Lloyd will go. Not because Buddy went, just because!!

Last week a huge amount of the footy community were hoping Buddy would not go because they knew in their heart that Buddy did bugger all wrong apart from grow 8 inches taller than Cousins.

If you think this is a dishonest and hypocritical response it's because that's what you want to believe.:thumbsdown:

You're spot on.

The other thing is Hawthorn supporters (in their own minds) NEED to find a point of difference, if they couldn't they would, by definition, have to come out and say Lloyd shouldn't be suspended.
So to get a case against Lloyd they say that they are not similar, when all thinking people can clearly see they are

This :thumbsu:

They truly are grasping and it is embarrassing stuff.

If Shane Crawford, a legend of the Hawthorn football club can remove his emotion and make a rational assessment regarding the similarities of the two incidents then you'd imagine the Hawthorn supporting, arm-chair experts on bigfooty could do the same. Sadly not.

You absolute F***ING PATHETIC MORONS.

The 2 bumps are so comparable how in the hell can you foolish Hawthorn supports say otherwise. You knobs are so stupid, man the f*** up and admit it was a bloody great bump, ala Buddy Franklin.

Fair dinkum what is wrong you you people, you and your team are like a bunch of school kids. Brown and Clarkson= little crying sooks, SEE CAMBELL BROWN HAVING A CRY IN THE PAPER TODAY.

Matthew Lloyd is a physical player and never shirked the issue yesterday, he laid the bump of the year and won his team the game, and conducted himself in a great manner. HodgePodge you moron how do you know Lloydy apologized, he just asked if he was ok, he didnt say sorry because Brad Sewell should have known he was playing AFL and should have known to expect contact. You idiot.

Anyone who thinks that bump was worthy of suspension has lost touch with the once great game of AFL footy. Go and follow basketball you twats.

That was such a great bump from Lloydy.

And Cambell Brown you have to the the biggest f-ing moron in the history of the AFL, you are a true moron. You are infact the dirtiest C*** in the game, Lloydy wouldnt wash his ass with a moron like yourself.

Clarkson you need to shut your stupid pie hole too, you idiotic hawks cant have your cake and eat it too you bunch of pathetic whining sooks.

:D:D:D:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:.

He may have meant they were similar in one sense but not another.

The contact was very different. Buddy got Cousins in the side and then Cousins head hit Franklin's shoulder.

Cousins himself said the bump was fine.

Lloyd apologised to Sewell, and rightly so.

oh dear god, so you didn't see what Crawf said, and even though he said exactly that...you're choosing to re-interpret and tell us what he really meant.

Dude, you are making such a fool of yourself. I'm embarrassed for you :eek:

BT is absolutely spot on the money. Dead right.

Lloyd will go under the rules, but this and the Franklin incident show that intention must return as the deciding factor in a physical clash

Intention IS taken into account. That is why there are the categories of deliberate, reckless or negligent.

However you can't say that a player should get off entirely because they didn't mean to hit high as it is too hard to prove it was intentional all the time. Nobody would ever get rubbed out. Players need to get rubbed out if the AFL is to be able to limit the head high contact. If there is no penalty, there will be no effort on the behalf of players to avoid it. There still will be head high contact though with the rules as they are (as this year has proven), it is just that kind of game.

The bump will live on with the current rules in place!

He ran straight at somone with there head over the ball. If he had the courage he would have got low and also went for the ball. It is not brave to ping a bloke that is not looking at you - it is a weak act and a slur that will follow him into an over due retirement.

It is not Lloyds fault Sewell was not looking you knuckle head. Since when does a player have to be looking at the man who is about to crunch him for it to be fair. Off to follow the netball for yourself you girl. Ps have a look at Lloyds legs it was basically impossible for him to get any lower.

Morons like yourself have no idea about the game of football, it is a high contact sport. Buddys was fair, Lloyds was far. The only issue is Cuz and Sewell were knocked out, but they should have known.

Pathetic you are.

Intention IS taken into account. That is why there are the categories of deliberate, reckless or negligent.

However you can't say that a player should get off entirely because they didn't mean to hit high as it is too hard to prove it was intentional all the time. Nobody would ever get rubbed out. Players need to get rubbed out if the AFL is to be able to limit the head high contact. If there is no penalty, there will be no effort on the behalf of players to avoid it. There still will be head high contact though with the rules as they are (as this year has proven), it is just that kind of game.

The bump will live on with the current rules in place!

Intention isn't taken into account if there is head high contact. If a player intends to bump fairly, but the oncoming player drops his head, the bumper is penalised as though he meant it.

The rule explicitly says it doesn't matter what was intended, only the results count when it comes to the head.

I agree you need to penalise blatant head high contact, but let's not throw the baby out w the bathwater

There is no doubt he will go. but i think 2 weeks is fair.
hit head knocked out.
Same as buddy's.

they both didnt mean to knock them out etc, but need consistency
Not the same.

Sewell was playing the ball and returning to an upright position. It's not like the Cousins / McGinnity bumps with accidental head contact from bumps to fully upright players.

For mine, it was midway between a Byron Pickett special (6+weeks) and an accidental head clash bump (2 weeks with 1 week early please...should be zero).

4 weeks, 3 with early. Fair result.

The Official Neutral Lloyd/Sewell Thread

To all neutral supporters, I'm more interested in your views on the incident than the biased opinions of myself and other hawthorn or essendon supporters.

The critical questions in regard to this incident are:

1) Did Lloyd intentionally injure Sewell?
2) Is there a difference between the Buddy incident and the Lloyd incident
3) Essendon are arguing that Lloyd was pushed - what are your thoughts?
4) How many weeks do you think Lloyd will get
5) How many weeks do you think Lloyd should get

Hawk and Bomber supporters - try not to clog up this thread with mud slinging "Yor A HiPPoCrit CampBELL PoO Brown LOLZ" crap. In fact, try not to post at all - we're inherently biased.