lloyd not interested

• Thread starter Thread starter tockley

Essendon were playing pretty well last season under Sheeds so not sure he is the problem. Technically u have a better list this year than last year as all your young players have had an extra years development.

As an opposition supporter I think Sheeds was simply amazing.

Technically we have a better list?

Shows how much you know about us buddy.

We lost hundreds of games of experience and have introduced players who have barely played 10 games. How is that a better list? A younger list yes, but not better - yet.

I dont understand how Knights has caused Lloyd to lose form.

Lloyd is an older player and eventually they lose form.

Unfortunately, it has happended to LLoyd faster than what EFC expected.

My mail is mostly on the money the mail is lloyd has fallen out with knights over a few things no excuses for lloyd but our skills and game plan are just plain awful so that dosent help.Our club is at its lowest in over 30 years very ordinary football admin,crap coaching staff ,crap president,and awful list.Some players seem not interested and there skills are totally fu__ed

You're like a pesky wart that wont go away.

i agree with the support lloyd gets. he set a massive standard for himself with playing such great footy early on in his career. It used to be the Lloyd, hird, fletcher show. Times have changed and as we saw in 2006 u take lloyd out of our forward line and it looks terrible. Lucas is a star but u need 2 good forwards working together. As an essendon fan im behind lloyd as a fan. Knights on the other hand has done nothing for me to want to renew my membership next year. People say he is stuck in sheedy's mess. Once again bagging a great player. Essendon fans should be ashamed that we are attacking these people who brought great history to the club. The short of it is, Sheedy was building towards something eg. 2004 loss semi to geelong, 2005 just missed finals, 2006 finished second last, 2007 where on track to make finals before hird and davey got injured. We bag wat sheedy did but the fact of it is he was moving towards something. Knights has jumped into the middle of it changed and confused the players. So now its going to be from a list that nearly made finals last year to a list that is going to get the wooden spoon.

I totally disagree with your remarks regarding Sheedy's handling of the list management. The list we currently have is no closer to winning a premiership than the list from 2003 and 2004 where we had no chance of winning the premiership. Sometimes it's better not to make the finals for the benefit of future seasons. Sheedy's top-up players that were way past their best is exactly what was wrong with Sheedy in his latter stages, he could not see that the list he had was simply not good enough, not well enough skilled or well enough drilled, the players did not have the heart and most importantly didn't have pride in the Essendon jumper. John Barnes was arguably Sheedy's ONLY success when redrafting washed up players- special mention to Tim Watson.

What you say is true , you can not argue with that. However he has struggled to really give us anything really inspirational on the field as a captain. I was not drunk or clouded and as it was eluded to part of the response equated to the fact that he "may" have had a falling out with the coach already.
Lloyd has had a couple of games where he has delived in a quarter or a half as captain but thats about it. His numbers are still reasonably good goal wise but he has simply struggled to lead out on the ground. Has been fantastic off field and around the club.
His form is down. His confiedence is down and i think the best thing for him is to hand up the captains role and concentrate on getting a bit of form back without any other worries.
Ant, honestly who in this side has given us anything inspirational on the field ? You may say spike, but thats it, who else has given us more than a quarter and a half of inspirational leadership?

I don't think we have any other players in the side with the leadership qualities to take over as captain at this point in time. I would suggest to hold on to Lloyd as captain until the end of '09 and hand the reigns over to David Myers.

Ant, honestly who in this side has given us anything inspirational on the field ? You may say spike, but thats it, who else has given us more than a quarter and a half of inspirational leadership?

I think Hille has on many occasions this year, not last night of course.

The problem is he still suffers from inconsistency, although not as bad as he was, but he has no help.

I think he really has led from the front this year.

Lloyd has probably done that twice.

I don't think we have any other players in the side with the leadership qualities to take over as captain at this point in time. I would suggest to hold on to Lloyd as captain until the end of '09 and hand the reigns over to David Myers.

Donners - I would love nothing more than David Myers to develop into a player who will be able to do this.. but this is a heck of an early call

i can't believe that every week I have to come in here and defend lloyd.. seriously.. what more do you want the guy to do..??!!

i thought the game was a perfect example of the difference.. buddy was often one out with paddy.. ball weighted to give buddy the maximum advantage possible.. vs the other end.. ball would come in slow, high, fast, low.. on the half volley, 10 mts to the left or 20 to the right.. and lloyd would never have less than two hawks contesting the mark with a third nearby to take away the crumbs..

to you ant.. I agree with almost 100% of what you say on here.. but i think lloyd is doing all he can as captain.. he just has nothing to work with.. i'm not convinced ff is a great spot for a captain and in time I hope someone steps up to take the mantle but as of today.. i don't know who could fill the void.

lloyd is quite possible going to kick 50-60 goals this year, AGAIN,in a team that finishes in the bottom 4 AGAIN.. you can ask no more from a forward in my humble opinion. It is intersting watching geelong forwards, i have watched geelong closely for the last 10 years.. and when the cats were struggling it was always.. we have no forwards etc etc.. mooney should be dropped and so on.. now with ablett, bartell, enright, corey et al they have one of the most potent attacks in the league.. that is why i get excited when mcveigh gets the ball, he is one of the few bombers who knows how to spot up lloyd consistently.. if we can develop some skilled mids and have a game plan.. lloyd with kick 80-90 if we don't.. well i just don't like to think about it..

Donners - I would love nothing more than David Myers to develop into a player who will be able to do this.. but this is a heck of an early call

It is a very early call I'll grant that. From everything off field I've heard or seen about him he just oozes captaincy material apart from the fact he was drafted with those qualities in mind... all we need is for him to reach his potential on the field. It may never happen, we don't know, I just think he's being groomed as the next in line and I don't believe 2010 is too early, nothing wrong with a 20-21 year old captain particularly when our average age won't be any higher than that with the iminent departures of Michael, Fletcher, Lloyd and Lucas. Obviously he and Gumbleton were our highest draft choices from their respective years so lets hope we finally bear some fruit of our labour.

Donners.. i heard that is why we went with myers rather than palmer (who is ripping it up as expected) because of the leadership potential.. do you know anything about that?

thats a bit harsh "awful list" id say developing list, and as for lloyd, he is struggling, but the ball isnt exactly coming in well to him.

developing into an awful list i reckon. once micheal & fletcher retire at seasons end your defence will be shite, 2 main forwards are getting on & lloyd is never going to be anywhere near where he was.

you'll struggle for some time yet with a mediocre list & wont go forward until its cleaned out.

ctacp

curlier than a catoggio pube

We should do what Hawthorn did with Buddy, only have Lloyd in the forward line and maybe Lucas

I think Hille has on many occasions this year, not last night of course.

The problem is he still suffers from inconsistency, although not as bad as he was, but he has no help.

I think he really has led from the front this year.

Lloyd has probably done that twice.

Hille has on many occasions, Just not last night? And he suffers from inconsistency? And Lloyd has only led from the front twice? Merv you are contradicting yourself something silly. I just don't think we have a better captain in our midst than Lloyd.

I don't get some of the people on this board. One week you say we are crap and we are getting nowhere but the next week you say our future looks good and we have good talent.

I say that in a few years, we are going to be GREAT! We are finally heading the right direction and our future looks bright.

As for Lloyd, I don't think he will ever get back into form week in-week out but he will still have some good matches here and there. Lucas will have a good year next year (if the right deal is made) and then hopefully everything goes well with the other Scotty and lives up to his hype.

Hille has on many occasions, Just not last night? And he suffers from inconsistency? And Lloyd has only led from the front twice? Merv you are contradicting yourself something silly. I just don't think we have a better captain in our midst than Lloyd.

I don't see the contradiction.

He has on many occasions but he didn't last night.

He had suffered from inconsistency in the past but has improved a lot in that area this year and while he still has an issue there, eg: last night, he is well on the way to eradicating it.

I think Lloyd is an average captain, in the wrong position for a captain, at the wrong stage of his career.

Donners.. i heard that is why we went with myers rather than palmer (who is ripping it up as expected) because of the leadership potential.. do you know anything about that?

If you remember Knights speaking after the draft, he was talking as though he'd just drafted our future captain, a man after his own heart. That's the impression I got and I'm sure many others such as yourself.

Lloyd is one of the best FF's of the past ten years. Sure his body doesnt have the capacity to dominate the modern game like he once did, but his expertise and experience will be invaluable for the developing of Neagle and Gumbleton. Much the same for Lucas.

Expect Lloyd to play until the end of '09.

I don't get some of the people on this board. One week you say we are crap and we are getting nowhere but the next week you say our future looks good and we have good talent.

I say that in a few years, we are going to be GREAT! We are finally heading the right direction and our future looks bright.

As for Lloyd, I don't think he will ever get back into form week in-week out but he will still have some good matches here and there. Lucas will have a good year next year (if the right deal is made) and then hopefully everything goes well with the other Scotty and lives up to his hype.

You have answered your own question about LLoyd.

What happens to elite players ( such as Lloyd ) is that the gap between good games and poor games is too large, whereas the gap between good games and poor games is far less when at the peak of their form.

Lloyd has played two very good games this year, 1 good games and 7 below average games.

The difference between his good games and poor games is to large for him to remain Captain and to remain as a player at EFC.

For the betterment of the club, Essendon should seek out a new captain for 2009.

I don't think that will happen though, so hopefully it happens for 2010.

McVeigh is obviously the stand-out candidate. I hope he gets it because he truly deserves it.

It is not a scientificc formula but observations from watching football for over 30 years.

When players are ' past their best ' it is their consistency that fails them.

Unfortunately, Lloyd is at a time in his career where he may play the occasional good game but his average games are ' very ordinary'.

i can't believe that every week I have to come in here and defend lloyd.. seriously.. what more do you want the guy to do..??!!

i thought the game was a perfect example of the difference.. buddy was often one out with paddy.. ball weighted to give buddy the maximum advantage possible.. vs the other end.. ball would come in slow, high, fast, low.. on the half volley, 10 mts to the left or 20 to the right.. and lloyd would never have less than two hawks contesting the mark with a third nearby to take away the crumbs..

to you ant.. I agree with almost 100% of what you say on here.. but i think lloyd is doing all he can as captain.. he just has nothing to work with.. i'm not convinced ff is a great spot for a captain and in time I hope someone steps up to take the mantle but as of today.. i don't know who could fill the void.

lloyd is quite possible going to kick 50-60 goals this year, AGAIN,in a team that finishes in the bottom 4 AGAIN.. you can ask no more from a forward in my humble opinion. It is intersting watching geelong forwards, i have watched geelong closely for the last 10 years.. and when the cats were struggling it was always.. we have no forwards etc etc.. mooney should be dropped and so on.. now with ablett, bartell, enright, corey et al they have one of the most potent attacks in the league.. that is why i get excited when mcveigh gets the ball, he is one of the few bombers who knows how to spot up lloyd consistently.. if we can develop some skilled mids and have a game plan.. lloyd with kick 80-90 if we don't.. well i just don't like to think about it..
Sometimes it is not about how many you kick mate. Check his 1% 'ers over his career and you will see why people are fed up with him. When he was up and firing there was no time to tackle, smother etc. If you have ever played the game you will know that you can always do something to help the team, not just look for the personal glory. Thats leadership (refer one Terry Daniher)