Local Cricket

nah no idea where he will end up he is a good bowler though, Brad Jones was always going to go back to Mt Ev thats where he is from and where he wanted to finish, although im not sold that he has left just yet

Brads committed to Mt Ev as I understand it after a couple of fruitless years as coach. While Stuey has approached a club up the road but has been told no thanks. Can anyone confirm this?

yeah herd west could play abit, and just cause the YVCA doesnt spend shit loads there best 11 would go ok against the ftgca and rdca best 11 for sure, i here they were stiff not to be going up to div 2 in the country week...

i think brad will go back to mt ev also, but he is leaving on good terms, nah sorry finger cant help ya out with whos stewys contacted just cause i dnt know

Heard a few of you are looking else where at YJ after a continued lack of sucess and off field dramas are you included? A couple are alraedy talking to the mob up the road Ive heard.

You've got not the faintest clue who the finger is do you. Ill give you a hint its not Plug, heres some clues for you. The Finger: Played country week, played for Junction, has played first divison yvmdfl and has possible close family ties with a recruit from seville, do you need someone to join the dots for you. Get a clue and stop having cheap shots at a bloke who doesnt read the forum.

yeah hoddles did pay for piggot, and he was the closest thing hoddles got to a country week representive due to the fact he came and watched, turns out hes a pretty good bloke, there are alot of good ppl at hoddles but whoever you are nevertheless u are a muppet dnt have a go at ppl u no nothing about, and a few facts from the fact man.... 1- plugs was 2nd in the drummond with 3 rounds to go he finished top 10, so there must of been some talent left over... 2- hoddles havent played a final in straughn shield

Heard a few of you are looking else where at YJ after a continued lack of sucess and off field dramas are you included? A couple are alraedy talking to the mob up the road Ive heard.
define success, 5 senior sides (most in the yvca) juniors at all levels good committee meals thursdays and saturdays, 30-50 back every sat night and over 120 to presentation night, pretty successful id say, havent seen finals in straughn shield for 3 years ill admitt its not ideal, but around the valley we are one of the strongest clubs going, who are you affiliated with finger?

Havnt won a A Grade flag in close to 60 years that's the yardstick.

Piggot is a ripper bloke. Good enough to play 1s, and the captain doesnt always have to be the best player in the side.

Its a social game cricket, getting the off field stuff right, having good juniors ect makes up about 60 or 70% of i would define success for a cricket club in the YV. Finger has a point though, A grade premierships are what all clubs should be aiming for and is what earns clubs respect. Hoddles are on the right track, but i reckon they might need a bit more depth at least a b grade side to get the standard of their fringe players up.

Wandin is a good example of a club that put money into their A grade side, but didnt have the offield stuff right and were unable to maintain success.

Seville is at the other end of the spectrum, great club off the field for years but just couldnt bring home the A grade flags. Turned it around because they started to use some of the money they have accumulated over the years on a few decent players. Not as much money as what finger would proably think, but enough to ensure they got the job done and still turned over a profit. Thats where you want to be...

Played A grade finals 3 times in 30 years. Not a great record and have probably the worst on field culture of any YVCA team. Off field issues that has lead to players walking out while others have been sacked.

Were is the success?:thumbsdown:

I know it's early, But are any clubs going to be chasing/Signing big players this year? I remember the Seville boys telling us they are after another Sri Lankan. Would make them even better. Johnny is a huge pickup as well. Hopefully he can get back into some of the form he was in last season. One of the better batsmen going around

Have heard that its apparently Vaas, how true that is I dont know.

Why dont Hoddles chase Stuey Thompson Nevertheless hes looking for a new club and would be a great pick up:eek:

Just wanna say boys surely this Forum is about talking cricket! Not giving grief to fellas u play against! Just wanted to touch on the plugger comment about him getting the dreggs..I have played against plugger many times not only is he a good bat he also bowls now!! Something people forget is he kept aswell and had sum of the best hands ive seen up to the stumps!

Matt Tilney awesome effort in the grand final this year!

Another subject not touched on. Team of the year? Anyone not happy with any selections? No Spinner in the team? Also didn't see the Healseville bloke winning the Drummond coming at all.

The Team of the Year was a little odd to say the least. Barny only kept in the finals and was named keeper. Although Hymie as Captain was a very good choice:thumbsu:

Steve James winning it was very strange really when Gibbo told us we didnt believe him.

Once again the best two umpires werent given A Grade its happened for ten years now I cant understand why there has to be a rotation. Surely best two A Grade then next two BGrade and so on . Its not hard.

I know it's early, But are any clubs going to be chasing/Signing big players this year? I remember the Seville boys telling us they are after another Sri Lankan. Would make them even better. Johnny is a huge pickup as well. Hopefully he can get back into some of the form he was in last season. One of the better batsmen going around

Aumann great pickup for seville. Get a bit of training into him and his confidence back up and he will be up their best bats again. Plus his keeping is probably the best in the valley since kenny corken!

Coldy has adams coaching, very handy. Plus johnny pig assitant and apparently starky going back. Have heaps of local talent coldy, if they can get some of them to come out of the woodwork they will be a contender.

Aumann great pickup for seville. Get a bit of training into him and his confidence back up and he will be up their best bats again. Plus his keeping is probably the best in the valley since kenny corken!

Coldy has adams coaching, very handy. Plus johnny pig assitant and apparently starky going back. Have heaps of local talent coldy, if they can get some of them to come out of the woodwork they will be a contender.

Geoff Sharp Rexy Kramer and Kenny are the three best keepers the YV has had over the last twenty years. Blain and Hewitt were very good also.

Stark staying at Silvan or going back to Coldstream?

Kenny Corken was a superstar keeper the best ever in the valley by a mile!! Hes not the best keeper/bat but on pure keeping ability this bloke pretty much gave u 3 wickets a game, and his talk was unbelievable!!
Now does wicket keeping coaching down at healesville for any young fella interested!!

Local Cricket