Looking to the 2011 draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Gazza_11

Re: Looking to the 2012 draft

Look all i know is that Wayne Carey said if he had a couple of months to work on some technical things he noticed him doing wrong, he could turn him into a gun forward, so unless Hawkins has a hot missus and Carey wants to do some 1 on 1, im gonna trust his judgement

Great player doesn't mean a great coach, just look at Voss.

I'd rather overpay Mitch Clark $600,000 a season than go get Tom Hawkins.

Great player doesn't mean a great coach, just look at Voss.

I'd rather overpay Mitch Clark $600,000 a season than go get Tom Hawkins.

Voss is doing a fine job, they were in front against the cats at 3qtr time, they were within 18 pts at the final siren against collingwood, and they nearly knocked off west coast last night

Id rather us overpay to get butcher, its all pissing in the wind theyd never let hawkins go anyway

I'd love to get John Butcher to Melbourne, the club also wanted to pick him in the 2009 draft, as BP has stated with pick 11. He was just gone by then.

If there's one area Butcher excels in, it's his contested marking. The only tall forward that comes close on our list is Watts. But he is more damaging as a lead-up player (or mobile CHF - think Reiwoldt). Someone needs to fill in the space left by Watts and provide the contest/option to kick to into our forward line.

Sure we have Cook, but i believe once he puts on some size, he could be a very good option for us at CHB, rotating forward when needed. We need a FF who stays pretty close to goal and doesn't go out too far beyond our attacking 50. A successful big-bodied presence has been lacking in our forward line has been lacking since Neita retired. We need a traditional FF.

If we're willing to take a punt, I reckon Anthony Tipungwuti from the NT is a must selection in this draft for us.

Very talented small forward, can do some crazy things even in heavy packs up in the forward 50. Unfortunately looks very much overweight and unfit but that could easily be sorted out via a preseason at AAMI Park. Would need to do some interviews to assess his work ethic given the physical conditioning training he'll need to go through but is a freakish talent. Worth a look in the second or third round, especially given it's a weak, compromised draft.

Coniglio chooses AFL over cricket

I guess this at least bumps every other draftee down a spot so we have 1 extra player to chose from at our respective picks.

Doesn't change much as he was already being talked up as a top-3 GWS pick.
Fair enough.

I thought there was still a little uncertainty whether he'd nominate or not.

With Tom gone there is no doubt we will look at a midfielder;

My nomination is Elliot Kavanagh.

Watch it unfold.

Nathan Carrol played on him IIRC. nuff said....

Dont like agreeing with Dez cause i like it when he gets upset, but, Hawkins is terrible. Seriously terrible. Mitch Brown if you want to talk KPF's from Geelong.

do you still think that way about hawkins? I think he has shown a fair bit in the final couple of games!

The Paine guy looks interesting. Couple of things:

- We have not one but two midfielders in the offing. There's JV of course, but don't forget Billy Stretch who is hugely rated for a 15 year old. He's going to be in the draft in 2013.
- I like the idea of everyone freaking out about Watts, and I think sides are already starting to struggle with him to be honest, he's getting dangerous as hell.
- KPDs we are okay with Chip, Garland, Rivers, McDonald, Davis

Small forwards are the lacking area for sure.

Apparently Greg Healy's son is a gun too.

Any comments on Anthony Tipungwuti?

See my post above. Highly talented small forward.

Healy does have a son, said to be a gun.

I've posted it on the draft & trading board before in a father son thread, I got it from 'Ology or 'land.

I've tried to find out more info before, but can't find squat, when you google Greg it's all about gerard or Ian Does Gerard have twitter? Maybe someone who on it should ask if his nephew is a gun?

I can tell you that Greg is CEO of Quiksilver & today is his 46 birthday. Happy birthday Greg.:p

So sick of blokes talking about Viney like he's going to be the next Ablett half of you have obviously never seen this kid play and are just running off the hype of Melb big footy forums.

Obviously he has the potential in him somewhere but there have been a million kids dominating at the TAC level and then come into AFL and just turn to spuds. Keep it in your pants and step back.

The kid that we are looking for is Toby Greene, played high school footy with this kid at Wesley and this guy is a deadset skull cracker who has the finesse to go with it.

http://www.contestedfooty.com/2011/07/toby-greene-2011-afl-draft-prospect/

Get around this kid, has the potential to go top 10 but will almost certainly be between 10-18.

Haha disclaimer btw, this kids a family friend.

So sick of blokes talking about Viney like he's going to be the next Ablett half of you have obviously never seen this kid play and are just running off the hype of Melb big footy forums.

Obviously he has the potential in him somewhere but there have been a million kids dominating at the TAC level and then come into AFL and just turn to spuds. Keep it in your pants and step back.

The kid that we are looking for is Toby Greene, played high school footy with this kid at Wesley and this guy is a deadset skull cracker who has the finesse to go with it.

http://www.contestedfooty.com/2011/07/toby-greene-2011-afl-draft-prospect/

Get around this kid, has the potential to go top 10 but will almost certainly be between 10-18.

Haha disclaimer btw, this kids a family friend.

Why don't you give your mate a hug, kiss and a lick while you're at it? :rolleyes:

Jack Viney

Daylight

More daylight

Even more daylight

You're mate. Fact.

And disclaimer, Viney is my brother's, cleaners, uncles, milk maids, prostitues, lawyers next door neighbour. How lucky am I?

Why don't you give your mate a hug, kiss and a lick while you're at it? :rolleyes:

Jack Viney

Daylight

More daylight

Even more daylight

You're mate. Fact.

And disclaimer, Viney is my brother's, cleaners, uncles, milk maids, prostitues, lawyers next door neighbour. How lucky am I?

Flogs belong in the Richmond forums

So sick of blokes talking about Viney like he's going to be the next Ablett half of you have obviously never seen this kid play and are just running off the hype of ...
this kids a family friend.

Says the bloke who's name is 'Peterd4Brownlow'...

Says the bloke who thinks he's a dees supporter and has spelt Petterd incorrectly and is trying to give me stick about it.

flipping wow

Just a bit of a joke mate. Thought it was ironic, the nature of your post and your screen name being a bit conflicting...

Sorry for spelling his name wrong, was out at the pub posting from iPhone - it can be troublesome, I won't let it happen again!

Interesting times for the Dees.

Haven't quite got my head around the position of the compo picks but if I'm correct in saying that activating them next year will net us higher picks, in a stronger draft, then lets keep our powder dry.

As to the type of player this year, while a sure-fire KP forward would be nice, I still wouldn't mind the club looking laterally for a trade/state league that will land us a strong-bodied forward for the purposes of structure.

I think this year's Finals shows you don't really need a great class of tall forward to be successful. For all our talent, I don't think I'm being harsh in saying we don't have a huge number of mids with 9/10 potential. That to me (along with the execution of the press... okay and a ton of other things) is what separates us from those top 5 teams.

We've all seen some great signs from the boys on our list, but with the loss of 'he who shall not be named' I think I'd support taking the the best pacy mid available.

Could a mod please change the thread title to 2011?