Looking to the draft...

Agree Bockchoy, Toby would have been a nice addition, but I think Crouch has him covered ;)

No doubt. Toby is a great talent but Crouch is an exceptional one. You'd take Crouch any day of the week and boy is it good for the club to finally get their hands on a genuine elite junior mid.

Still would've loved Toby. It's going to sting just like seeing him in the GWS jumper, just like it stung seeing Dion for the Suns this year.

I just get too attached. :p

I still want Prestia....bloody expansion crap. At least next year there won't be 'so much' of a monopoly, but it will be 5 years until the compo picks will all be gone.

We will delist Cook, giving us only 2 picks in the draft. 27 and 41.

Making the 46 and 64 we got for Gunston pointless. Or are there other delistings I can't see?

Will be interesting to see if anyone can do a McKernan/Harper and slide to 27. I have my doubts, just don't think the top-end quality extends itself enough for such players to slide.

Would love a Crozier, Smith, Forster, etc to make it to our pick but it's unlikely. Will likely need to look outside for some 'hidden' gems - blokes who didn't play in the champs, mature players in state leagues, etc. We've recently drafted blokes like Lyons, Cunston and Shaw who didn't play champs but were quality players. Would really like to see us dig deep and pull out an obscure bloke with real upside.

No doubt. Toby is a great talent but Crouch is an exceptional one. You'd take Crouch any day of the week and boy is it good for the club to finally get their hands on a genuine elite junior mid.

Still would've loved Toby. It's going to sting just like seeing him in the GWS jumper, just like it stung seeing Dion for the Suns this year.

I just get too attached. :p

Yeah, I know :o

I wonder if Taylor Adams is even a remote possibility to slide that far? WALL-e??

Will be interesting to see if anyone can do a McKernan/Harper and slide to 27. I have my doubts, just don't think the top-end quality extends itself enough for such players to slide.

Would love a Crozier, Devon, Forster, etc to make it to our pick but it's unlikely. Will likely need to look outside for some 'hidden' gems - blokes who didn't play in the champs, state leagues, etc. We've recently drafted blokes like Lyons, Cunston and Shaw who didn't play champs but were quality players. Would really like to see us dig deep and pull out an obscure bloke with real upside.
Yeah that would be 'nice'.....but you know. :)

I agree, we may look to an obscure pick. Though after pick 15, anything could happen. Most clubs will have something similar on their mind as well, which will make things a bit harder.

GWS have plenty of room for the talented speculative players will all their picks, so there's no reason why they would let them slide. GC sme thing at their picks, they can afford to stockpile. Makes it increasingly unlikely we'll see a Crozier slide, though that would be nice.

We don't really have a big presence in the NT,QLD, NSW or country WA so it's unlikely we'll see that. My tip is a private school footy player who has been left out of the champs and is a late bloomer. But we'll see.

Yeah, I know :o

I wonder if Taylor Adams is even a remote possibility to slide that far? WALL-e??

Don't count on it.
.....:)

May have to get yourself a new pair of favorites Stabreagous.

Those who 'slide' are sliding for a reason. In this draft teams (especially GWS and GC) will snap up a talent who's underperformed thus far (Crozier) or anyone with upside.

Your 'sliders' in this years draft could be Grigg, or someone along those lines. Couple of standout features, but missing a fair few AFL tools.

I wouldn't mind wagering most people haven't heard of out 1st selection.

Yeah that would be 'nice'.....but you know. :)

A man can dream mate. ;)

I rate this draft higher than most it seems, but 27 doesn't really work in our favour. As you said, GWS get the guns and the speculative picks, while the other clubs pick up the scraps along the way. By the time it gets to our pick, the obvious ones will be long gone and genuine sliders, if there are any, won't last till 27 anyway.

There will still be quality avaliable with that first pick though. Whether it's an obscure pick or not, I'm confident we can get a pretty decent player with that pick. There's a few Country blokes that I rate who should be hovering around those picks. I'm also pretty optimistic about the mature-age talent at state level, so our second pick should turn out alright too.

But I can't see us pulling out a McKernan/Sloane this year. Just don't think we will have the chance. But you never know - who thought this time last year Conca would shoot to no.6?

I guess there are a couple of ways you can look at us trading out 24. Either Rendell has identified somebody who he would have taken at 24, that he thinks will definitely still be around at 27 and possibly somebody who he thinks could slide to 41. Or, we really just don't give a shit about this draft and needed 31 to get the Jenkins deal through, while retaining a top 30 pick.

I'm with WALL-e though, I'd put money on most never having heard of who we pick first, myself included.

Despite the near impossibility of it happening, fingers crossed for Sloane Mk II. :D

The fact that GWS have so many early picks means that they will let a number of good players slide.

Let's say Adelaide had the same picks GWS had in 2007, a similarly poor draft, Rendell would have picked:

1. Kreuzer
2. Cotchin
3. Dangerfield
4. Myers
5. Morton
6. Masten
7. Henderson
8. J Grant
9. Ebert
10. S.Selwood
11. Rance
12. Palmer
13. Lobbe

Fair to say, that's an average group, from an average draft. (Although the picks that Rendell passed on were also pretty bad considering they were taken even higher in the real thing!) Players to slide from the 13 include: McEvoy, Vez and Rioli. Although its hard to quanitfy the affect, it is fair to say that having one club take an over-supply of early draft picks, they will not utilize these picks as effectively. Whereas, when picks are shared more scarcely, they will be used more efficiently and therefore the actual value of drafted players is generally better represented at the top end. I think its fair to say that some of GC's early picks last year bolted because of this over-concentration of early picks in their hands, and I expect GWS to do the same, but arguably worse with a greater over-concentration and a a shittier draft at the top end.

The fact that GWS have so many early picks means that they will let a number of good players slide.

Let's say Adelaide had the same picks GWS had in 2007, a similarly poor draft, Rendell would have picked:

1. Kreuzer
2. Cotchin
3. Dangerfield
4. Myers
5. Morton
6. Masten
7. Henderson
8. J Grant
9. Ebert
10. S.Selwood
11. Rance
12. Palmer
13. Lobbe

Fair to say, that's an average group, from an average draft. (Although the picks that Rendell passed on were also pretty bad considering they were taken even higher in the real thing!) Players to slide from the 13 include: McEvoy, Vez and Rioli. Although its hard to quanitfy the affect, it is fair to say that having one club take an over-supply of early draft picks, they will not utilize these picks as effectively. Whereas, when picks are shared more scarcely, they will be used more efficiently and therefore the actual value of drafted players is generally better represented at the top end. I think its fair to say that some of GC's early picks last year bolted because of this over-concentration of early picks in their hands, and I expect GWS to do the same, but arguably worse with a greater over-concentration and a a shittier draft at the top end.

If we had that many first round picks that year we would have picked Rioli and done our best to try and keep him no doubt.

Hoping for Mckenzie (slide please), Grigg (has already slid due to his combine testing), or Waldhuter (more of a second rounder but our next is third rounder pretty much will be reaching to get him). All the non SA lads I wanted are rated too highly and probably wont slide down far enough.

I reckon this is our strategy going into the draft:

Pick 24 - Pick the best available kid
Pick 41 - Pick the best kid but if we don't think any are worth a pick, go for a "mature" age recruit from the state league in the 20-25 age group
Pick 46 - "Mature Age" recruit from the state league in the 20-25 age group.

I reckon there is a strong chance that we will draft a mature aged recruit and would not be surprised if one of those picks is Pfeiffer (if he is not snatched up earlier).

I looked up highlights of Josh Waldhuter and all I saw was a guy tackling like a machine, lol. What are his skills like? Any other outstanding attributes? Looks like a good inside midfielder.

I hope we delist more than just one player, and i think we will.Sellar or Craig could be in line. Jenkins will be better than both them, if not already..mark my words. I stoked he is at the AFC.

Gavin Urquhart just de-listed by North any interest? haven't seen to much of him, but from what little I know is a good kick, fits the bill of Sando's plan.

Toby Greene's not lasting to our pick. I'd e shocked if he lasts past 15, but that's my take.
Urqhuart may be worth a rookie spot. Strong body, raking leg and quick, just not polished. Hood depth player for a young team to have. More damaging than a Symes.

Toby Greene's not lasting to our pick. I'd e shocked if he lasts past 15, but that's my take.
Urqhuart may be worth a rookie spot. Strong body, raking leg and quick, just not polished. Hood depth player for a young team to have. More damaging than a Symes.

In the rising star highlights video. He was like a mad greyhound chasing down ray from like 20m away. Always a favourite of mine.

Also, who do you think we'll pick up with our PSD pick Wall-e? The only person I can think of is Sumner.

I would be shocked to. I nearly fell over when I saw Chris 25 mock.

In the rising star highlights video. He was like a mad greyhound chasing down ray from like 20m away. Always a favourite of mine.

Also, who do you think we'll pick up with our PSD pick Wall-e? The only person I can think of is Sumner.

He's a Pit Bull. He'll chase down the loose footy, feed it out with quick hands and then slap his opponent in the face for good measure. Very easy bloke to enjoy watching.

As for the PSD....not sure. Nobes mentioned a ruck. Maybe GWS have plans to de-list Giles.

I would be shocked to. I nearly fell over when I saw Chris 25 mock.

Some don' have him as high as he wasn't on the radar as much early. His games from the middle of the year for School and his champ games are top notch.