Lowest point since 2004/05

• Thread starter Thread starter Adz

Pies fans are spoilt if this is our lowest point in a decade!!

We have a % of 110 for fecks sake, we finished last year with a % of 94, we have improved this season.

Plenty of great signs and young players showing improvement, we may end up with a % similar to that of 2008 this year. Close losses have hurt us this season, but last year we were getting belted by the likes of Hawthorn and Fremantle.

The good news is that recent history shows that if a team misses the finals with a % above 110 that the next season sees them climb the ladder.

2012 - Richmond finished in 12th with 10wins and 111%, in 2013 they had 15 wins and just missed top4.
2013 - North finished with 10win and 119%, in 2014 they had 14 wins and made PF.
2014 - WCE finished with 11wins and 116%, in 2015 they are on track for 15+ wins and top4.

We are travelling fine, we are already back on the upward trend, and we only dropped to mid table instead of suffering through multiple bottom four seasons like other clubs have to.

The only question is how far can this team rise?? Is our ceiling a PF like it appears to be for teams like North or can we push back to real heavyweight premiership contender status again??

We're back to the dark days. I fear for the future.

So you are saying we will win the 2020 flag? A little later than I had hoped but will take it.

It's pretty obvious that the players knew they weren't going to make the finals 7-8 weeks ago when they organised tonight's "players function" (mad monday rehearsal)! To plan a night of getting hammered together 3 weeks out from what should have been a finals campaign and sell tickets to it for the past 6 weeks is pretty poor leadership from the leadership group. Doesn't send a message of 3 weeks out from finals we are seriously working our butts off to make sure we get as deep into the finals as possible to the rest of the squad. This it the type of "function" you have in the mid season break if you need to have one, not 3 weeks out from finals.
Now having said that it doesn't matter they are having it tonight because there are no finals, so good luck, enjoy the night guys! But finals were well and truly on the radar when this function was planned and booked!

This is disappointing to hear. I understand the pressure players are under, and the need for some release during the season, but a pre-arranged night on the grog three weeks out from September doesnt tally with the messages we hear out of the club.

Would have been nice to win at least 3 of the 6 we've lost by 3 goals or less. Oh well, what do you do. Hopefully we're on the other side of the ledger next year. Got murdered on the counter attack tonight and the mids got sliced up AGAIN out of the centre. Midfield needs to be addressed big time.

Get Treloar
Get Aish
Get Dangerfield
Get Freeman right
Get anyone else you can get because our midfield is bottom 4 standard at the minute. I can't think of a side who HASN'T beaten us handily in there.

It's pretty obvious that the players knew they weren't going to make the finals 7-8 weeks ago when they organised tonight's "players function" (mad monday rehearsal)! To plan a night of getting hammered together 3 weeks out from what should have been a finals campaign and sell tickets to it for the past 6 weeks is pretty poor leadership from the leadership group. Doesn't send a message of 3 weeks out from finals we are seriously working our butts off to make sure we get as deep into the finals as possible to the rest of the squad. This it the type of "function" you have in the mid season break if you need to have one, not 3 weeks out from finals.
Now having said that it doesn't matter they are having it tonight because there are no finals, so good luck, enjoy the night guys! But finals were well and truly on the radar when this function was planned and booked!

It would be nice if our Players/Club could learn the definition of SACRIFICE.

Maybe then we would stop accepting mediocrity.

Thank Christ I am on holidays from this week so I don't have to sit through the next two games......if this function is true sounds like the players have started their holidays early also!!!!

Before the start of this season i thought we were a 7-12 team.
Our start made me more optimistic but the last two months have proven where we really are as a team.
Our list is young and has plenty of upside.
I'd like to see us land a big fish for once.

How much darker does it get from here? Essendon dark? or Carlton dark?

Essendon are an on-field and off-field rabble. 20 goal losses, the saga still hanging over their heads, coach in denial, supporters jumping off ship.

Carlton find themselves in the exact same position as they did exactly one decade ago, with nothing in between. They've wasted 10 years and have nothing to show for it. Gibbs and Murphy are going to go down as 'servants' of the Carlton Football Club, meanwhile we have a guy named Jarryd Blair with about half the talent and could retire now with a CV that stacks up to two guys who have wasted their careers at Carlton.

Dark days? Spare me. I have nothing but excitement for the future despite missing finals for consecutive years. It's not the be all and end all. We're in a better position that at least 50% of the competition.

Ride the waves, footy ebb's and flows. Either support, or **** off.

I know for a fact it's true but if you are in any doubt mate just check through their instagram posts from the weekend… try @nathanfreeman21 or @tom_langdon1 or @patrickkarnezis or @benkennedy7 or … (if you want to check the fact it was on and there were plenty of drinks to be had!)
Some of the "leaders" were certainly taking their "leadership roles" seriously!

I believe you drafted hawk...........it is pathetic really!

I am glad they have got their priorities right!

Culture is great at Collingwood.........but on the plus side we have a bright future! :drunk:

I know for a fact it's true but if you are in any doubt mate just check through their instagram posts from the weekend… try @nathanfreeman21 or @tom_langdon1 or @patrickkarnezis or @benkennedy7 or … (if you want to check the fact it was on and there were plenty of drinks to be had!)
Some of the "leaders" were certainly taking their "leadership roles" seriously!
That's disgraceful

The most pathetic part is that this "function" was over 6 weeks in the planning …. ( you know, back when finals were still well and truly on the radar!) makes me laugh when people say that Buckley has cleaned up the "culture" and that "leading teams" is successful!

Luckily with time and games experience everything will just fall into place! I'm sure that was Hawthorn and Sydney and Geelong and Fremantle's approach. Funny that being a "young / inexperienced" side hasn't seem to have meant the Bulldogs have had to sit in the bottom half of the ladder this year! :drunk:

Is it a Mad Monday rehearsal as your first said or a function?

Worst Thread Ever! Experts that have commented about the Pies.
Alastair Clarkson "unfortunately they are coming" - what an endorsement by the best coach in the league.
Leigh Matthews "they have a bright future" LEIGH EFING MATTHEWS said that.
Tim Watson - "one word, patience, Collingwood supporters need patience, the future is bright"

Reading the tread makes me shake my head at people's IGNORANCE and STUPIDITY.

We have a very good YOUNG team that will be dominant in a few seasons. PATIENCE PEOPLE.

Pies fans are spoilt if this is our lowest point in a decade!!

We have a % of 110 for fecks sake, we finished last year with a % of 94, we have improved this season.

Plenty of great signs and young players showing improvement, we may end up with a % similar to that of 2008 this year. Close losses have hurt us this season, but last year we were getting belted by the likes of Hawthorn and Fremantle.

The good news is that recent history shows that if a team misses the finals with a % above 110 that the next season sees them climb the ladder.

2012 - Richmond finished in 12th with 10wins and 111%, in 2013 they had 15 wins and just missed top4.
2013 - North finished with 10win and 119%, in 2014 they had 14 wins and made PF.
2014 - WCE finished with 11wins and 116%, in 2015 they are on track for 15+ wins and top4.

We are travelling fine, we are already back on the upward trend, and we only dropped to mid table instead of suffering through multiple bottom four seasons like other clubs have to.

The only question is how far can this team rise?? Is our ceiling a PF like it appears to be for teams like North or can we push back to real heavyweight premiership contender status again??
No, hawthorn and Geelong fans are spoilt with their lowest points in a decade.

Does a man good to blow the cobwebs out once in awhile. The 1990 boys got smashed in the week leading up to the grand final. I reckon you might see the boys pull out something very special on Saturday afternoon.

I'd assume that if they're posting pictures that the club would have been well aware of the 'function' before it happened.
If it was club sanctioned, I have no issues about a bunch of young men having a big night out with some fans.

As long as it's not a weekly thing I'm not sure what the issue is. You don't want a bunch of piss heads running around, but at the same time you don't want them to be robots either.

This is disappointing to hear. I understand the pressure players are under, and the need for some release during the season, but a pre-arranged night on the grog three weeks out from September doesnt tally with the messages we hear out of the club.
There may have been 2 bookings to cover both contingencies, a practicality given the numbers and no crystal ball

People flew in from interstate for the function! There certainly wasn't any chance it was being cancelled or that there were ever any contingencies in place.
Mathematically we can still make the 8 and if that were to happen (million to one I know) I'm guessing there would be a huge chance of a cancellation

Or are we going to forfeit the finals because we got good reservations? o_O

The night already happened on Saturday night...
nope, billion to one but it's still there.. and you are avoiding the obvious.. of course cancellations can happen if things change so why wouldn't we cover a few bases