rancidpants13

souths, grimsby fc
I have admitted on another thread to being one of his staunchest defenders
I just want to know if I'm blinded by my faith but I thought he was one of our better four-quarter players last night
yet others are once again questioning why he even plays
i know he's not the most conventional player, has a gangly running style, but i just can't believe he's often the first player to cop it
actually, i thought he was triffic last night when the likes of richards, barry (both way down), even c bolton and kennelly were awful early against the weagles

i'll agree to never praise him again if others want to come on here and explain to me why i got it so wrong about his performance last night

From where I was, he played alright, gave away one soft goal to Seaby (IIRC) by standing wwaaaaaayyyy too far off him but provided some good run out of defense.

I just want to know if I'm blinded by my faith but I thought he was one of our better four-quarter players last night
i know he's not the most conventional player, has a gangly running style, but i just can't believe he's often the first player to cop it
actually, i thought he was triffic last night when the likes of richards, barry (both way down), even c bolton and kennelly were awful early against the weagles

i'll agree to never praise him again if others want to come on here and explain to me why i got it so wrong about his performance last night

I backed you on the other thread rancid and I'll back you here, I thought he did well last night (Though I thought Teddy was better except for the last kick).
Roosy has been proven right with his support of Bevan and McVeigh and he's right about Lewie.
Barlow on the other hand...........

I backed you on the other thread rancid and I'll back you here, I thought he did well last night (Though I thought Teddy was better except for the last kick).
Roosy has been proven right with his support of Bevan and McVeigh and he's right about Lewie.
Barlow on the other hand...........

cheers
i thought richards was poor in the first quarter, but not robinson crusoe
barlow looked badly out of his depth, and made me really regret the decision to "rest" bird
but we know barlow's way better than that

LRT is solid. Thought he was robbed of the Norm Smith medal in the 05 GF, but that's just me.

it's me too
although i thought either of LRT, amon or fossie deserved it ahead of judd
i thought giving it to judd was a disgraceful token gesture

i hate some of the things he did last night but he stepped up during that last quarter i though he ran well 2 good 15-30 meters at sometimes

and what about his pass to mcveigh, after another long bouncing run
lrt's kicking has improved enormously

and mcveigh kicked the ripper goal
the two of them and bevan were very important and have been great this year

it's me too
although i thought either of LRT, amon or fossie deserved it ahead of judd
i thought giving it to judd was a disgraceful token gesture
And 06 kirky should have got it,no one will ever remember embley possibly the worst norm smith medalist.
LRT had his worst game for some time

I thought LRT worked hard to present as an option, but made some ordinary decisions with his disposals. Got found out during the brief period he was on Lynch, but don't think that match up was ever going to do him any favours.

I thought Ted was our standout defender in the first half. Surprised that others are saying he was poor.

I thought LRT worked hard to present as an option, but made some ordinary decisions with his disposals. Got found out during the brief period he was on Lynch, but don't think that match up was ever going to do him any favours.

I thought Ted was our standout defender in the first half. Surprised that others are saying he was poor.
I think two pieces of play stuck in the mind that overwrote everything else that Ted did. The high floater back to Mattner with 30 seconds left, and the punch that fell short to Staker who goaled.

For me Lrt,is starting to find his feet. I call him an honest workhorse,perhaps gangly,at times. But has started to hit targets with his kicking, and his decision making has improved. His marking ability has also improved heaps!
Lately he seems to know when to stand up for the team!

Damn - I just wrote quite a lengthy reply and lost it, got logged out.....anyway, I'm not going to rewrite it all, but in a nutshell:

Good points:

- has the size to defend opposition key forwards and is versatile around the ground
- always puts in 100% effort
- hard at the ball/contest
- improving kicking skills

Bad points:

- like a deer in the headlights whenever he gets the ball (the only other player who makes me quite as anxious is Leo - please stop taking on defenders and get rid of the ball!!)
- though, as I've said above, his kicking is improving, I still think his skills are rather poor for an AFL footballer
- Shows a lack of awareness of how play is unfolding around him/makes poor decisions, is often slow with his disposal
- isn't a natural footballer (though he can't be blamed for this obviously!) and so lacks good instincts/composure
- can be exposed by good forwards, e.g. caught out of position, too easily worked under the ball etc.....

Look, I know Roosy is throwing him into the fire against good opponents but I just think that other teams look at him as a matchup they can exploit.....anyway, we've all sesn a lot of games and some players just don't appeal to some supporters and vice versa.....e.g. I've always like Jude Bolton but not Buchanan - which I gather is in contrast to a few people on here.

It's all good though - I hope he goes well because I hope everyone in the team does, I just wouldn't pick him, that's all and I'm happy to cheer him on, just as I'm happy to curse at the TV screen or field when he stuffs up (and he's not the only one!).....no one can convince me he's a good player, just as I won't convince anyone he is terrible - the Hyphenator will continue to divide Swans fans everywhere!!

Sorry LRT fans but I still hate him. As much as I am loathe to admit it, he is improving, and I don't have many rational reasons left for my hatred, so I will just say that I hate him and I will refrain from posting further in this thread...! :D

Just awful. Terrible kick, slow runner, can't get to a contest against the power forwards that are monsterous on a lead ie. Lucas, Lynch. Just can't see where the lot of you are coming from. Maybe I'm wrong but I can't see him being anything other than dead weight in a side that is completely allrounded like ours.

Sorry LRT fans but I still hate him. As much as I am loathe to admit it, he is improving, and I don't have many rational reasons left for my hatred, so I will just say that I hate him and I will refrain from posting further in this thread...! :D
I wouldn't say 'hate', I hate the way he plays but I dont hate him.

Just awful. Terrible kick, slow runner, can't get to a contest against the power forwards that are monsterous on a lead ie. Lucas, Lynch. Just can't see where the lot of you are coming from. Maybe I'm wrong but I can't see him being anything other than dead weight in a side that is completely allrounded like ours.

I'm sorry SS and I'm not saying this to be rude or a smart arse or anything else, but you, of all people saying that someone is a dead weight in our side!
We all obviously see different things in different players - What I, rancid and others see in Lewie, you see in Benny.

But we all know for me that I'll just defend Ben no matter what cause he's related to me. I know he's not that flash and he probably doesn't deserve to be in the best 22 but I'll still defend him and keep supporting him cause he's my cousin and we're very close (fair few BOGs in the ressies recently btw :p).

He is an honest footy player who gives 100% and gets his job done.

Shows great courage backing into the space in front of leading big forwards.

he has always been a good mark (due to his RU 2nd row background).

He has always been an ordinary kick, that is now markedly improved.

He is still a poor decision maker when under the pump and needs to improve this area of his game.

As a package; he is a very effective tall defender (not something we have an abbundance of) so provides a very valuable match up. He always gives it a red hot go, shows great courage and does what he is asked to do week in week out.

We need him and miss him when he does not play

He is not Adam Goodes and cannot be expected to be, i doubt Goodsey would be able to do his role frankly. Players have different roles and he provides a very good one.

LRT was not that great. But in saying that the whole team was pretty pathetic for the first half.

People single him out because he is an easy target. They overlook all the good things he's done (eg the pass to mcveigh which lead to a goal, the numerous occassions where he selflessly ran to space to provide an option to get out of defence which sometimes hurt him when the ball was rebounded). Whenever he makes a mistake there'll be those waiting in the wings to bring him down.

Ultimately LRT deserves his spot in the side, because he's got the job done week after week.

He is an honest footy player who gives 100% and gets his job done.

Shows great courage backing into the space in front of leading big forwards.

he has always been a good mark (due to his RU 2nd row background).

He has always been an ordinary kick, that is now markedly improved.

He is still a poor decision maker when under the pump and needs to improve this area of his game.

As a package; he is a very effective tall defender (not something we have an abbundance of) so provides a very valuable match up. He always gives it a red hot go, shows great courage and does what he is asked to do week in week out.

We need him and miss him when he does not play

He is not Adam Goodes and cannot be expected to be, i doubt Goodsey would be able to do his role frankly. Players have different roles and he provides a very good one.
I agree