Luke Ryan

• Thread starter Thread starter Redgum

Good to see Lukey getting some well deserved recognition.

http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/2018-06-21/freos-quiet-achiever

Nothing annoys me more when the commentators talk about Wilson and Cerra/SHill and don't talk about Luke Ryan.

Ratio of "Luke"s to "gun in backline" is strong at Freo.

I am really not the least bit surprised about the ranking points. I believe he has had a better season than Wilson, and his kicking is a thing of beauty. The commentators just show their ignorance by leaving him out of discussions on our improved ball movement from the backline.

Quietly putting together an AA season i think. Not that he will be close. Probably some geelong spud will get the nod
Playing fantastic footy no doubt. Sicily (very similar attributes just 30 games more) plays a very similar role and will IMO deservedly get the AA nod.

Sicily's impact on games is massive, I think Lukey will be just as good in a season or two.

Playing fantastic footy no doubt. Sicily (very similar attributes just 30 games more) plays a very similar role and will IMO deservedly get the AA nod.

Sicily's impact on games is massive, I think Lukey will be just as good in a season or two.
Sicily is better in the air but Luke is a better defender IMO. Pretty sure if their teams were reversed so to would be the hype.

I don't care though because Luke doesn't seem to be the type to worry about the East Coast circle jerk.

Can anyone shed any light on his last 2 weeks? Missed the dockers last two. Well down on touches, tackles and marks. maybe carrying something? or getting tired towards the end of the year. hopefully he can return to previous form he's great to watch and very underrated!

Honestly the whole team has been a bit slow / down since the bye and particularly last week the defense collective were pretty poor. I'm sure it's a combination of that and his body trying to get through a full AFL season. Has played every game so far this year (15) despite only playing 11 last year. He's a great character / player - hopefully he closes out the rest of the season in good form and unscathed.

We haven't had much slow ball movement out of defense. It's been hacks forward to get it out of danger so his marks in the switch of play are down.

Loved how animated he was during the Nyhuis incident too. Can we make him a Docker for life now?

Strong correlation between Ryan and Fremantle playing well. Most important player in our backline. Top 5 most important on the ground for us. And only in his 2nd year! Lock in him and his best mate Cox for the next decade please.

Killer draft that one.

Strong correlation between Ryan and Fremantle playing well. Most important player in our backline. Top 5 most important on the ground for us. And only in his 2nd year! Lock in him and his best mate Cox for the next decade please.
Ryan is gun but I reckon that correlation is actually between pressure upfield and us playing well.

If the midfield gives him a chance, he dominates. When they don't turn up, he is not as influential. Gov and Rance are exactly the same.

Ryan is gun but I reckon that correlation is actually between pressure upfield and us playing well.

If the midfield gives him a chance, he dominates. When they don't turn up, he is not as influential. Gov and Rance are exactly the same.
Of course, that's the same with all defenders. But even with good pressure, without a good interceptor and distributor we struggle to create scoring opportunities from it (the stats about our scores from intercepts supports this). We used to rely on Ibbotson and Duffield. We get Ryan able to play both roles and get an upgrade on Clancee/Danyle/etc with Wilson. It's only going to get better as they all gel and Alex Pearce builds and develops as a player. Alex is someone to build around but I'd argue Ryan is the key to the backline becoming one of the best.

What I mean is if we don't have the midfield pressure the defense doesn't have a chance regardless of who is down there.

I agree that Ryan is probably our most important defender and will be our best (if he isn't already).