Lukey McGuane! [2012 Thread]

Mc_Gun needs to kick 50-60 goals a season now to prove his value to the side...
The goal posts keep being changed for Lukey by his distractors...so much and so regularly...
Mc_Gun will be lucky to kick any score soon....:p:D...
selective quote there mate !
15 goals from 9 games last year and 7 from 3 this year = 16 goals from 12 games
Surely McGun can kick 40-45 goals with having the crap 3rd defender playing on him if he plays all 22 games
Aaron Edwards
Josh kennedy
luke bruest
eddie betts
jack gunston
Michael walters
stephen Milne
lindsey thomas
All the above players averaged 2 goals a game last year,For a 3rd foward taking the average defender should be expected to average 2 goals

I am with you on this issue Livonski...
The general understanding is that whilst sarcasm is the 'lowest form of wit' its expression still manages to raise a laugh...
Clearly the so called Mc_Gun sarcasm posted here failed to even raise a feeble chuckle in response...
No wonder you and others were so rightly confused...
This so called sarcasm is what it is...poorly constructed Mc_Gun bashing...
Dont take this inability to heart...even the great Sheldo Cooper of The Big Bang has trouble detecting sarcasm and if he cant pick it what hope have the rest of us then...:eek::p...

So how many will he kick guys? I reckon when our Luke finishes the year on 40 goals we'll be tres happy
I have been McGuanes biggest critic, however, I have to acknowledge that he has exceeded my expectations of what he could deliver so far.

Now to determine what is an acceptable return from Luke for the season as a forward. I don't care what he gets against the easy-beat sides. If he can get 20+ goals against sides in the top 10 averaging close to 2 per game. Then he is real value. I doubt it but hope he can do it.

With a forward line of three talls it is the wronf thing to be looking at individual outputs. What we want is for the combo of the three to give us 7/8 goals each week, the small forwards to give us 4ish goals each week and another and midfeild/others 5 goals - that's 16-17 each week and should be putting us in winning positions.

Thus, don't care if Luke gets 0,1,2,3 or god forbid sets a PB with 4 as long as the three talls total output is right and the structures are run he has done his job.

With a forward line of three talls it is the wronf thing to be looking at individual outputs. What we want is for the combo of the three to give us 7/8 goals each week, the small forwards to give us 4ish goals each week and another and midfeild/others 5 goals - that's 16-17 each week and should be putting us in winning positions.

Thus, don't care if Luke gets 0,1,2,3 or god forbid sets a PB with 4 as long as the three talls total output is right and the structures are run he has done his job.
spot on
No point using goals as the sole KPI for McGuane.. Off the ball work is vital for him. Dimma places huge emphasis on defensive work right across the ground. Kingy, Tucky and Morris would never be judged in such simple terms.
For me multiple goals from McGuane are a pleasant bonus given the forward team pressure his hard work is contributing to.

his leading and marking was great last week...hoping to see a lot of that during the season....and speaking of goal kicking. loved knights' kick for goal.

Playing McGuane in the team reminds me of Stuart Edwards back in 94/95. Back then we had Richo Benny and Stuart in the forward line and it actually worked well. Too hard to match up on, and double teaming Riewoldt leaves room for our third tall to clunk them. I like it.

But within 1-2 years we are going to have better skilled players that will take his spot that are bigger/faster/smarter than luke McGuane .... McBean , Elton , Griffiths , O'Hanlon are all upgrades on McGuane

We Dont Want Any Richmond Player To Fail
I hope your right. Right now though, all the players you mention are way behind McGuane. In fact if he kicks 35+ and keeps the work rate up I can see it being extremely difficult for anyone to take his place.

Even if it turns out he has less scoreboard impact against the top sides, it will be as a result of a good defender sitting on him. That alone is a bonus for Jack and TV. You won't find his man peeling off him to be third man up as often as has happened in our forward line in the past. He has shown he is a threat if given opportunity.

This thread is hilarious.... We could win 5 flags in a row and there would still be people bitching about something.

Facts (IMO;))
McGuane has played good footy since he started playing as a forward in the senior side. It is almost without doubt that his best football has been in the last 3 weeks

His mistakes which are often calamitous, were a massive problem when he played in the backline, rendering him at times useless. Now they are a nuisance which still should be drummed out of him (I'm talking about the 50mtr penalties and snap kick practice and the careless high tackles).

His attack on the ball and general competitiveness (read intensity) are miles ahead of anyone not in the side who can play his position. Skillwise, everybody at Coburg who could play the role is and will be ahead of him. Until they can play with his intensity, they won't get a crack (unless he is injured/suspended). This is the challenge for Astbury/Elton/McBean/Griff/Edwards (A)....

McGun and Harmichael just flat out don't like him, probably because he has hurt them by stuffing up numerous games as a defender (I can sympathise with that)....

Many other people are prepared to just acknowledge his good football and realise that he needs to (as does anybody else in the team) continue to play good football to stay in the team, they just don't think that every comment needs to have that said (it's a given-for all our players.... play good football or you are out).

Has become more disciplined and is a leading machine , great game on the weekend against the bully's and I hope he can start having that sort of an impact against top 8 sides. If he does it will be reward for effort that's for sure.

I hope he keeps it up .

Somebody commented last week on his ability to mark the ball out in front of him at top speed when the ball is travelling like a rocket, and I couldn't agree more. Watch the one from last week that he marks before he runs into the boundary fence. Honestly that ball was supersonic. An exceptional mark.

Playing McGuane in the team reminds me of Stuart Edwards back in 94/95. Back then we had Richo Benny and Stuart in the forward line and it actually worked well. Too hard to match up on, and double teaming Riewoldt leaves room for our third tall to clunk them. I like it.

Did it work that well? Maybe for a few games but I can't remember it being a huge success. Jurica was around at the time too.

Stuart Edwards was quite good in 94 and 95 I thought. I think he kicked 6 in a game against North in 95. Actually I think he kicked 5 on debut against Hawthorn back in about 91. He was more of a true full forward and shared it with Richo (Benny at that stage was still playing CHF).

The way I remember it Jurica was more of a CHF and I think he played his first game in 94. At this stage Edwards had already been in the system a few years so was getting games ahead of Jurica.

Eventually Edwards started getting injured and in any case Richo was going great guns so we kind of did away with the 3-man key forward setup by the time we got Walls. I think we ended up trading Edwards to Melbourne.

I just love the way he is hurts the opponents when he crashs the packs we haven't had anyone do this for a long long long time.p/s i was a critic only when he played back luv him up forward...

We went 8-1 with it in 95 until Richo did his knee.... I think you could say that is a success. I don't remember it in 94 tbh. We had Justin Murphy playing out the goal square a bit during 94.... Richo got dropped for a few games and came back in the Melb game during our 6 game streak in the middle of the year.... I can't remember Edwards even playing much that season (but it was 19 years ago)... Jurica came in as Richo's replacement and played well in a few games, kicking some of the worst goals anyone has ever kicked.....valuable but terrible kicking action!