Brothers of Destruction
Great effort by someone who people have dubbed 'McGone'.

He plays the forward line a little like Jay Schultz. Very un-co but effective.

He kicked 2.2 yesterday, gave one off to Grigg and could have really kicked four.

What was really pleasing was his defensive pressure inside 50. Loved a tackle, contested very well in packs and even plucked a few. Overall that was the best game McGuane's played in a long long time. It was the first time that McGuane played right in the forward line. That's where he played as a junior.

Do you think he deserves a game next week? Because if this question was asked before the match lots of people would automatically want him sacked, however, he's only 25 and certainly offers more right now than Brad Miller and Jayden Post!

Maybe I'm writing too much into one performance, but I REALLY like the way he played yesterday. McGuane's an often maligned player so I think this praise is well justified.

I'm one who had confidence in him, certainly repaid the faith. Hopefully he can be a consistent HFF or CHF:thumbsu:

Great effort. Plucked some great grabs up forward.

If he can play how he played yesterday for the rest of the season, I think he deserves another year. Or, at least until we can find someone to play the role better.

At least he gives us an option besides Riewoldt which is borderline ridiculous.

I also think we were a little lucky with his kicking for goal. His kicking may be something which will kill us in the future.

HE'S GOING INTO HIS PRIME!!!! lol
in all seriousness he did a good job yesterday with forward pressure, marking and leading

Could be an effective 3rd tall up forward in coming years if he can keep up solid displays like that. Makes a contest, quick, can take a grab and can tackle!
Probably will have to be a makeshift CHF for the rest of the year while Vickery is out.
Well done Luke:thumbsu: Certainly a forward

Yep, not sure if there is a spot for him in the 1sts when a fit and firing Tyrone is around, but held his own yesterday - very good performance for his first game of the year at the other end of the ground!

What was pleasing about yesterday was that blokes like White and McGuane came back in for their first full games of the year and held their own - there were still those moments that made you remember why they dont play every week, but the ability for us to cover injury and suspension with hardened, experienced players was great. The depth is building :thumbsu:

He kicked 2.2, both of his goals came from contested marks. One was a test of strength and other a small fly at the ball. He missed an easy goal and a snap in general play from a pocket. He handed 1 goal to grigg which he could have kicked himself, He gave 1 off to Riewoltd who tride to do to much and got caught. Handed one off to Deledio who handed off to White for a goal. He could have had 5-6 goals if he wasnt so unselfish. You could tell he was just pumped to be in the team... Have a think yourself and if you were in his position where your playing for your career would you just kick the easy goal or give the cheapie to a team mate.... Its a different attitude to our big FF who has constantly burnt team mates

He also hit Jack and Lids lace out with good passes. On my recall he had one bad kick which was the missed goal, gave away very little if any free kicks. Created pressure in the forward line and actually led up the ground, and tackled.

IMO showed more in 1 game of footy than most of Vickery and Miller had all year.

If he can sort out his kicking I don't see any reason why he can't be a decent CHF option this year with the view to being a good 3rd tall next year. He doesn't look very big but I have heard Richo say in past seasons hes the strongest guy at the club, holds the bench press records even when Richo was there. I think David King also mentioned this during the game.

It's fair to say i told the Rusty Trombone to have a good hard look at himself after Lukes effort yesterday!!!!
I never doubted you Luke.

It's fair to say i told the Rusty Trombone to have a good hard look at himself after Lukes effort yesterday!!!!
I never doubted you Luke.

I think everyone doubted him when he was a defender. lol

I had him pencilled in as no chance to play this year but that was a really solid display. He took more contested marks than Miller has all year.

Needs to back it up a few times before we start drawing up contracts for him but it was a great first step.

He kicked 2.2, both of his goals came from contested marks. One was a test of strength and other a small fly at the ball. He missed an easy goal and a snap in general play from a pocket. He handed 1 goal to grigg which he could have kicked himself, He gave 1 off to Riewoltd who tride to do to much and got caught. Handed one off to Deledio who handed off to White for a goal. He could have had 5-6 goals if he wasnt so unselfish. You could tell he was just pumped to be in the team... Have a think yourself and if you were in his position where your playing for your career would you just kick the easy goal or give the cheapie to a team mate.... Its a different attitude to our big FF who has constantly burnt team mates

He also hit Jack and Lids lace out with good passes. On my recall he had one bad kick which was the missed goal, gave away very little if any free kicks. Created pressure in the forward line and actually led up the ground, and tackled.

IMO showed more in 1 game of footy than most of Vickery and Miller had all year.

as odd as this may sound...he damn well did and good on the lad...he's as courageous as all get out...and that was right about weight lifting record at the club...would love to see him really rip it up as a second tall in the back half of the season with hands like a steel trap and an appetite for the contest, there's an opportunity for the lad to really make his mark on punt Rd right now:thumbsu:

He gave 1 off to Riewoltd who tride to do to much and got caught.

While i thought he was alright that was a shocking decision to handball to reiwoldt who had no choice but to try and do too much. Hardwick even noted it in his press conference that it was a poor error in judgement by Luke.

There were one or two other brain fades but he could be handy up there especially with all his years as a defender he could be a good defensive forward. Plus his brain fades don't hurt as badly in our 50.

While i thought he was alright that was a shocking decision to handball to reiwoldt who had no choice but to try and do too much. Hardwick even noted it in his press conference that it was a poor error in judgement by Luke.

There were one or two other brain fades but he could be handy up there especially with all his years as a defender he could be a good defensive forward. Plus his brain fades don't hurt as badly in our 50.
Yes they do! Costs a goal whether you're back or forward.
That first shot...I just shook my head, slowly, and slumped in my seat. Imagine if we're playing Norf for a spot in the 8 and he does that at the start. And that handball to JR was just stupid.
So let's not sugar coat brainfades just because they happen up forward.
Having said that, yes, I thought he competed really well, pressured, jumped, marked and kicked two good goals. So a keeper on that effort, but I think we need to keep in perspective. (it was against the Dees)

Was very serviceable yesterday. Hope he strings the rest of the year together. Is clearly an upgrade on miller and is younger depending on his performances for the rest of the year 1-2 year extension. Could be a good 3rd tall or back up tall. He was good yesterday hope he keeps it up or even improves. Can see him kicking 4-6 vs the suns.

He's a forward who can't kick, make no mistake the reality of that will soon set in and the gloss will wear off. He can definitely take a grab, but he isn't the long term answer. He's a quick fix and I'm happy for him to play a role, but I'd still move him on at the end of the year.

Great effort by someone who people have dubbed 'McGone'.

hehe McGone ...... I like it :thumbsu:

I am one that thinks he is a dud and still do, yeah he did well up forward yesterday but he isnt the answer to all our prayers either. Would hate for him to have the ball if we are behind by a kick for the win.

Will fill a hole until opposition teams actually pay him some attention.

Yes they do! Costs a goal whether you're back or forward.
That first shot...I just shook my head, slowly, and slumped in my seat. Imagine if we're playing Norf for a spot in the 8 and he does that at the start. And that handball to JR was just stupid.
So let's not sugar coat brainfades just because they happen up forward.
Having said that, yes, I thought he competed really well, pressured, jumped, marked and kicked two good goals. So a keeper on that effort, but I think we need to keep in perspective. (it was against the Dees)

The difference is though, in the forward line, he's the one getting his hands on the ball and helping create the opportunities that he then stuffs up. In the backline, he's creating goals for the opposition. Would much rather a couple of brain fades in our forward 50 to our back.

Might sound harsh, but guys like McGuane and White have always looked ok at VFL level... and that's about what the Dee's were yesterday (and we weren't a whole lot better). I reckon they'll get found out when we start playing the better teams.

as odd as this may sound...he damn well did and good on the lad...he's as courageous as all get out...and that was right about weight lifting record at the club...would love to see him really rip it up as a second tall in the back half of the season with hands like a steel trap and an appetite for the contest, there's an opportunity for the lad to really make his mark on punt Rd right now:thumbsu:
As i texted you yesterday Pal , first picked all week for mine .

Was always going to crack in and give us a contest . Did all that was required of him .

He'll get away with things against the bottom sides but im under nó illusions as to his long term future , but with our list in the shape it is in with so many doubts and injuries floating around , we need him in the short term and hell ... the carrot is there for him to maybe jag another 12 month contract if he truelly exceeds expectations .

Want to see him maintain the intensity against the suns this week , him and 21 others for that matter