Lukey McGuane! [2012 Thread]

IMO Mcguane has suffered a lot from where he was played and when. It would not have been easy to play an unsupported role in defense when we were getting smashed by 10+ goals every week a few years ago on the likes of Fevola. He is not overly skilled, we know that, and being thrown into the position he was obviously uncomfortable with didnt help him improve. If he came into the AFL system now with his strength and physicality he could make a good 3rd defender or 3rd tall forward. Im sure if he was just starting out now the club would give him a lot more direction about when and how to use the ball and to play within his limitations and he would be able to grow a lot as a player.

I for one have seen the very bad Luke has done and the very good. It's just a shame he was not given the best opportunity to reach his potential but maybe he will now. Who knows. He did some great stuff last year and he has always attempted to fill gaps in the team and given his all. Hopefully he really steps up and plays within limitations like Tucky does and give huge amounts to the side or is eventually phased out. Either one is a positive.

We will never be a serious threat whilst he is on our list, let alone the ridiculous proposition that some here think he is in our best 22.

Hasn't Luke ever never been an automatic selection?

If that wording makes sense.

Hasn't Luke ever never been an automatic selection?

If that wording makes sense.

He was years ago in the back line when he was roar . The problem is that he is still roar after 9 years. Could surprise a few though if he gets disciplined and plays a role. Elton and Astbury will be breathing down his neck next year. Griffiths could take it in a heart beat if they didn't want him down back.

Luke has a body that can stand up to the week in week out rigours of AFL footy and that's why he has been given this opportunity. He's gotta get the skill level right so I'm sure he's training hard.

IMO Mcguane has suffered a lot from where he was played and when. It would not have been easy to play an unsupported role in defense when we were getting smashed by 10+ goals every week a few years ago on the likes of Fevola. He is not overly skilled, we know that, and being thrown into the position he was obviously uncomfortable with didnt help him improve. If he came into the AFL system now with his strength and physicality he could make a good 3rd defender or 3rd tall forward. Im sure if he was just starting out now the club would give him a lot more direction about when and how to use the ball and to play within his limitations and he would be able to grow a lot as a player.

I for one have seen the very bad Luke has done and the very good. It's just a shame he was not given the best opportunity to reach his potential but maybe he will now. Who knows. He did some great stuff last year and he has always attempted to fill gaps in the team and given his all. Hopefully he really steps up and plays within limitations like Tucky does and give huge amounts to the side or is eventually phased out. Either one is a positive.

Lets not make excuses for him by saying he played on the big fowards at a bad time etc etc etc .

He played in a reasonable defence with no support upfield but he was never our number 1 defender, He was always the 3rd defender that wasnt exposed as Thursfield & Kel Moore were

Call a spade a spade

We will never be a serious threat whilst he is on our list, let alone the ridiculous proposition that some here think he is in our best 22.
Agree with you here. Last year he was available to any club and there were no takers. Do people think a top level club would entertain having McGuane on their list? I think not. So if we aim to be a top level club, this guy must go. No more game time should be invested on the bloke. McGuane makes the sort of mistakes RFC would be reluctant to accept from a first or second year player.

How the hell is one McGuane a beloved and respected figure at one club and another (his second cousin or nephew whatever the relation) is such a spud?

Fans love to hate McGuane, not fair based on his most recent output. I wonder, if McGuane were a state league player we'd recruited last year as an insurance forward, what would people think of him? Point is, his (forgettable) past as a defender is done with, I think he deserves a solid shot at making himself into a forward now into the future, as he was originally recruited. Seems like he's far better suited to that end of the ground.

It's almost like people want to see him fail, why? He's a tiger, get around him. Go Lukey! Kick a bag against the baggers!

Mate, If u think players like McGuane have what it takes to get us to the next level then you & everyone out there who thinks he's suddenly a good player because he moved up fwd & happened score a couple of goals against sh1t temas are kidding themselves

He was years ago in the back line when he was roar . The problem is that he is still roar after 9 years. Could surprise a few though if he gets disciplined and plays a role. Elton and Astbury will be breathing down his neck next year. Griffiths could take it in a heart beat if they didn't want him down back.

Luke has a body that can stand up to the week in week out rigours of AFL footy and that's why he has been given this opportunity. He's gotta get the skill level right so I'm sure he's training hard.

LOL well that comments just sums it all up

Mate, If u think players like McGuane have what it takes to get us to the next level then you & everyone out there who thinks he's suddenly a good player because he moved up fwd & happened score a couple of goals against sh1t temas are kidding themselves

We've seen him up forward for half a season. My point is he's had a pretty limited opportunity to play there, despite being far more suited to the forward half than the back. Forget about all the other junk he produced. It's a new era for McGuane, and I wouldn't be surprised if he made you and a few others eat your words to be honest.

Do you honestly believe he is the type of player to take to the next level? let alone have us play finals this yr?

Lol, I'm getting flashbacks of the Morris thread.

I think he's a good 3rd or 4th forward. Give him a chance to settle into the role. He'll be pretty good at it. I'm quite sure he's in direct competition with A Edwards for the 3rd forward spot, which can only be a good thing. I'm all for whichever of those two is the best option, and if the coaches deem McGuane to be that man, then cool, good on him. Why hate on him so much? If he's the best option we have?

Lol, I'm getting flashbacks of the Morris thread.

I think he's a good 3rd or 4th forward. Give him a chance to settle into the role. He'll be pretty good at it. I'm quite sure he's in direct competition with A Edwards for the 3rd forward spot, which can only be a good thing. I'm all for whichever of those two is the best option, and if the coaches deem McGuane to be that man, then cool, good on him. Why hate on him so much? If he's the best option we have?

Its not about hating him but acknowlodging himfor what he is... a sub par afl player. Just because he was moved up fwd & kicked a few goals on sh1t teams, everyone (Mcguan lovers) expects me to suddenly think he's turned into a player. Give me a break.
Its something about us Tiger fans, time after time we seem to cream ourselves at slight glimpses of form or a patch of games where an ordinary player has shown something & then think he's turned a corner... even if they are 25 friggin' yrs old. This is BS. If u aint made it after 5 yrs on a list why would you expect a further 5 yrs would be any different

No one is honestly saying he'll be our next B&F or win the Coleman, but he's support. If all our kids come on then he'll be gone, if not then he'll offer some valuable depth in the forward line. I laugh at him dropping the ball in the Freo game but to be fair, every single player has made mistakes, just not many have done it as spectacularly. People talk about how much Edwards has come in this year but because he's a young player there's more room for him, because McGuane was there in our bad years all that history is being put at his feet and there's supposedly no room for him to become a better player? Dimma has done well with McGuane, shouldn't that be everyone's focus? A player has improved under our coaching staff, go club.

Rate McGuane's 2012 season and tell me if it was a failure or not.

Why do people keeping bringing up Post? He is gone. This discussion is about our( posters) opinion of the worth of McGuane! Pity he is not gone. I would rather of kept post for he was only at the club for four years, however, happy he has gone. Will be far more happy when McGoof has departed. Playing him will only rob a young player of valuable experience.

They should give Jayden Post a run of 6-7 games in the seniors to gain confidence and experience so he can deliver on his potential. Get with the program dude, the legend of jayden is firmly enshrined in tiger folklore. ;)

Its not about hating him but acknowlodging himfor what he is... a sub par afl player. Just because he was moved up fwd & kicked a few goals on sh1t teams, everyone (Mcguan lovers) expects me to suddenly think he's turned into a player. Give me a break.
Its something about us Tiger fans, time after time we seem to cream ourselves at slight glimpses of form or a patch of games where an ordinary player has shown something & then think he's turned a corner... even if they are 25 friggin' yrs old. This is BS. If u aint made it after 5 yrs on a list why would you expect a further 5 yrs would be any different

What gets me though is that fans like you will still judge his current performances based on his previous output. If he comes out and kicks 30 goals this year, a respectable tally and certainly achievable for him, then he'll still be called a dud and a list clogger by the McGuane haters because he's still, afterall, Luke McGuane. It's prejudiced really. McGuanist! ;)

Just judge him on what he produces from here, is all I'm saying. Forget the past.

What gets me though is that fans like you will still judge his current performances based on his previous output. If he comes out and kicks 30 goals this year, a respectable tally and certainly achievable for him, then he'll still be called a dud and a list clogger by the McGuane haters because he's still, afterall, Luke McGuane. It's prejudiced really. McGuanist! ;)

Just judge him on what he produces from here, is all I'm saying. Forget the past.

I understand by and large where you are coming from dude. But you need to understand that the present becomes the past and the fans that judge him on the past, were at the time judging him on the present and only he can change that with what he does in the future. For me? He has served the tigers well, in terms of being a member of a defence that would be hit with a tsunami week in week out...The ****ing great wall of china would have crumbled in our defence in the past..

I understand by and large where you are coming from dude. But you need to understand that the present becomes the past and the fans that judge him on the past, were at the time judging him on the present and only he can change that with what he does in the future. For me? He has served the tigers well, in terms of being a member of a defence that would be hit with a tsunami week in week out...The ******* great wall of china would have crumbled in our defence in the past..

Agreed, that's essentially what I'm saying. But people need to give him a chance to. He's fighting an awful uphill battle to win over some fans here, who still don't acknowledge that he had a pretty good year last year, and he'll be handy for us if he continues to play like that. They won't acknowledge his pros, because he's Luke McGuane

Im judging him on what he's produced to date, including last yr. So he kicked a few goals.. still doesnt mean he's suddenly a good kick... or co-ordinated for that matter.

Agreed, that's essentially what I'm saying. But people need to give him a chance to. He's fighting an awful uphill battle to win over some fans here, who still don't acknowledge that he had a pretty good year last year, and he'll be handy for us if he continues to play like that. They won't acknowledge his pros, because he's Luke McGuane

Its not because its McGuan... its because he's a player who has had 8 or so yrs on the list & the cons still far, far, far outways the pros..

I judge a 90 game player on how he performs under pressure and his efforts at the end of last year were not good enough.
The 3 big games he played in when our season was on the line and against other desperate to win teams were
Fremantle ...
He was poor in all three.

A second year player might impress if they kicked a few against Brissy and Bulldogs when the season is over. But a 90 gamer needs to be stepping up and matching it against the clubs that are fair dinkum and playing for finals otherwise I just can't see the point.