Lukey McGuane! [2012 Thread]

He's becoming more and more important. I wonder if the addition of Edwards and Knights has affected his mindset... Knowing there are 2 players ready to slot straight into his position.

kudos to Dimma for giving him first crack, and so far he is doing enough.

with jack playing way up the ground a lot of the time it really was luke and ty as key forwards. very pleased with all 3 of them. 0 goals from jack will have him itching for a bag this week, and not sure if the Jack strategy was specifically for Carlton or if he play like through the season.

Had a good chat to Lukey yesterday. Was in a very happy mood. Great bloke

You-have-my-attention.jpg

I was thinking the same thing...
A brilliant football ploy by Lukey to keep the ball locked up in our forward line...
Kick a goal and the ball goes back for a center bounce and another chance for goal by the Blues...they were running hot then...
Kick a point and we are still in front with the ball locked in our forward line using up valuable time...
That must have part of our pre-season training learning how to soak up time when the game was at its closest with seconds to go...
It Worked...:p:D..

Clown:D

LOL - You say that with comparison to his Usual out put, But when we play the good teams his usual will be back on stage.

Laidler is considered by 90% of carlton supporters to be 1 of their best defenders, A Edwards kicked 4 on him in the coburg game, If that was McGoof you would of been talking him up !!

Lets see what he does when the going gets tough against the better teams in the game, If he does well - trust me i will say i was wrong and he is better player than he was ( as i have with Jake King ) But he hasnt done anything that has changed my mind about him yet and I have no doubt all of Astbury,Elton,O'Hanlon & Griffiths will pass him in the next 12 months

So you are basically saying with that post you will continue to try and find reasons to rubbish Mcguns game a nit pick irelevant situations like you did with the laidler example..... your opinion really means nothing.. as your opinion on King showed us all.

Before anyone goes pass Mcgun they need to show the same willingness to compete... none of those players have shown any where near the fight that Mcguane has shown.

I'll will say that dimma has just invented a new position that other clubs will follow, and its the upgrade of the small defensive forward onto the tall defensive forward. Dimma will not give up Mcguanes roll for a young KPP that refuses to do the hard stuff.
You may as well get used to Mcguane on our forwardline now because he will be there for a few more years... I'll back my footy knowledge over yours anyday.

So you are basically saying with that post you will continue to try and find reasons to rubbish Mcguns game a nit pick irelevant situations like you did with the laidler example..... your opinion really means nothing.. as your opinion on King showed us all.
You knew nothing of my opinion !! I as well as 90% of tiger supporters were well and truly wrong about king & basically its his leadership on the ground that has changed my mind about him as well as his relentless desire to make the richmond football club competative

Before anyone goes pass Mcgun they need to show the same willingness to compete... none of those players have shown any where near the fight that Mcguane has shown.
LOL this is where your complete argument breaks down tragically - The players that i mentioned and that you are stating are all under 22 and have been in the system 2-3 years and are all kpp which take some time to develop !! How can you state that the they havn't shown anywhere near the fight ? - all of vickery,Elton ,O'Hanlon, Griffiths have shown more in 1 year than McGuane has shown in 9 years - Your comments are ridiculous

I'll will say that dimma has just invented a new position that other clubs will follow, and its the upgrade of the small defensive forward onto the tall defensive forward. Dimma will not give up Mcguanes roll for a young KPP that refuses to do the hard stuff.
WRONG AGAIN !! - Dimma knows atm the players that i have mentioned will have up/down games and he is at a stage in his coaching career that he needs to get results, He is useing McGuane as a stop gap untill the other boys get some consistency and will take over when they are more developed

You may as well get used to Mcguane on our forwardline now because he will be there for a few more years... I'll back my footy knowledge over yours anyday.

You know SFA about my football knowledge or my football backround, But im more than happy to meet up with you and compare our football backrounds and knowledge - I can guarantee you and more than happy to BET you what ever you like on this - But im sure that yours is only verbal diarrhea at best,

If he'd kicked that last one straight, we'd be in the 8.

If the whole team had kicked straighter for goal...
We would now be in the 8...possibly higher than 8...rather than leaving it all up for Lukey to do in that frenetic last quarter...

You know SFA about my football knowledge or my football backround, But im more than happy to meet up with you and compare our football backrounds and knowledge - I can guarantee you and more than happy to BET you what ever you like on this - But im sure that yours is only verbal diarrhea at best,

The fact that you can't acknowledge the form Mcguane is in proves it.

This key position players may have shown more talent than Mcgaune .... Its a bit like LRT played in a premiership last season ... Buddy did not. Thank god Dimma is rewarding players who are prepared to compete hard and put their bodies on the line. As king did before Mcgaune they set the bar, it's upto the youngsters with more talent to push the bar harder.

Either way...Lukey iced the game...it was his all important tackle that helped put us into such a winning position...
At that stage the clock was still counting down as Lukey was taking his own sweet time lining up his shot on goal...
And i was looking for the MCG security...they were already in position on their haunches around the ground...
Either way it was going to make it harder for Carltoon to win...a point we lock it up in our forward line...a goal we are 10 points up...all time wasters...

man, if Bootsma gets clear and taking into consideration what was unfolding up the ground when the tankers broke out of defence we were about to have another Brock Mcclean moment, HAD LUKE NOT STUCK THAT TACKLE.
I dont know WTF everyone is going on about, all I know is that it slots in in the match winning dept in my book.

Yeah its a little different, but we can roll it back to the day Sam Mitchell stopped Tuck in his tracks when he was about to put us in front in the last few seconds of that game.

I'll will say that dimma has just invented a new position that other clubs will follow, and its the upgrade of the small defensive forward onto the tall defensive forward.

Steady on, nut, Hardwick was still playing when guys like Hamill and Rooke were filling that role and there's quite a few other examples from decades ago.

Either way, it's a role which was invented before Hardwick even started coaching.

Steady on, nut, Hardwick was still playing when guys like Hamill and Rooke were filling that role and there's quite a few other examples from decades ago.

Either way, it's a role which was invented before Hardwick even started coaching.

thats on the money Erayzorhead and can I suggest it for you, seeing as you didnt, TW invented it and the others copied. ;)

It's the same as rolling zones were first put in place by Geesham at Freo but they didn't have the skills to implement it. Clarkson got it right before others copied.
Hamil was about the same size as Martin sob hardly a tall.
Dimma has basically spent the last 3 years making Jack more defensive. With Mcguane he has exactly what he wants defensively. I think Mcguanes roll will be a trademark of Dimmas reign. And so far it's working.

Interesting insight there Nut...I'll buy the Hamill one...Rooke to be honest i'm not so sure about...
Yeah I reckon Gerard Neesham has a lot to answer for in regards to AFL footy tactics...busted them wide open with his innovative rolling zone...made quiet a few people in the game sit up and take notice of this young upstart from nowhere with his new ideas on how to play footy...
Took the simple game of footy right away from the players and made it a Coaches/Administrators game...tactics...interchange...mauls...floods...rule changes..
Then some smart alec reckoned while that was all going on their was money to be made being an AFL Commissioner ala TV rights and endorsements...
Before we all knew it...their is as much footy news being made off the ground as previously was made on the footy field by the players...
So next we have salary caps...Player Drafts...gambling and new manufactured AFL clubs...apparel sales...blockbuster games...trips to Arizona...
All this because Hardwick improved upon a previous footy tactic of having a defensive tall forward...
I say...McGuane what have you done now...:eek: :p ...

Interesting insight there Nut...I'll buy the Hamill one...Rooke to be honest i'm not so sure about...
Yeah I reckon Gerard Neesham has a lot to answer for in regards to AFL footy tactics...busted them wide open with his innovative rolling zone...made quiet a few people in the game sit up and take notice of this young upstart from nowhere with his new ideas on how to play footy...
Took the simple game of footy right away from the players and maBde it a Coaches/Administrators game...tactics...interchange...mauls...floods...rule changes..
Then some smart alec reckoned while that was all going on their was money to be made being an AFL Commissioner ala TV rights and endorsements...
Before we all knew it...their is as much footy news being made off the ground as previously was made on the footy field by the players...
So next we have salary caps...Player Drafts...gambling and new manufactured AFL clubs...apparel sales...blockbuster games...trips to Arizona...
All this because Hardwick improved upon a previous footy tactic of having a defensive tall forward...
I say...McGuane what have you done now...:eek: :p ...
Never mentioned rooke

Am I the only one who picked McGun as their favourite player when completing membership details early this year? Either way, I think he appreciated the vote of confidence. I doubt he's ever got one before. I still think this board should have sponsored him.

I missed out on sponsorship. I'd actually be super keen to sponsor Lukey. Probably too late but put me down for next year

I can't wait until Friday... I'm really hoping McGun finds another level with the confidence he will have gained from the win.

Lets not get to carried away here. I am on the McJet bandwagon as well, but I will tend to be hoping he doesnt find previous levels and just sticks to the R1 level for now..After how long? 9 years, a man has to know his limitations and play the game with those in mind..it cancels out the ridiculous errors. ;)

THE_GUN = 76gamer?

Sorry mate I am just stirring :)