M.Allan out for 10 weeks.

• Thread starter Thread starter Olmy

I'm no Carlton supporter (I hate 'em), but this is a real shame.

M.Allan is a top player (one of the best, most dynamic rucks going round IMO, and a fair player too), and to miss 10 weeks is an absolute tradgedy.

It's also a tradgedy to one of my "Australian Footy Competition" teams.

yes, and apparently porter is schizenhaus. the only reason fevola got a touch is that he came on when porter got benched.

Originally posted by rickster:
yes, and apparently porter is schizenhaus. the only reason fevola got a touch is that he came on when porter got benched.

Nah, Porter is alright. I remember back, even as late as '97 people were saying M.Allan was no good, still under the shaddow of J.Madden.

I reckon it's the same with Porter. He's pretty big, can play the ruck pretty well, and does alright around the ground too.

He might not be as good as M.Allan, but I reckon he could surprise a few opposition rucks.

it is a shame- all we need is for sos to be out injured as well and then the excuses will come flooding in from Carlton fans.

RE Porter, he is actually a pretty decent player IMO - can take a strong mark and kick goals from outside 50M.

I actually thought Porter did alright in the middle against the Hawks on Saturday. He wasn't as effective as Allen up forward but he was at least as good, if not better, in the ruck.

------------------
Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.

Originally posted by elt:
I actually thought Porter did alright in the middle against the Hawks on Saturday. He wasn't as effective as Allen up forward but he was at least as good, if not better, in the ruck.

The loss of Allan is a blessing in disguise as it free's up Hotton to play on the ball more ,rotating with Porter.

i think carltons a good club, and allans a good player. i think its a big loss to both the club, and him.
hope he gets better soon!

GO DEES!!!

------------------
I luv shane woewodin. and the mighty dees whether or not you like it!!!

Originally posted by Worm4:
The loss of Allan is a blessing in disguise as it free's up Hotton to play on the ball more ,rotating with Porter.

I have posted this on the Blues board tonight but while I'm in here....

Big call Worm, Allan is definitely a better player than Porter and Hotton. I also think that Porter has struggled in the ruck so far this season. But.....we are struggling for team balance. Our system is failing us and we can't pinpoint the problem. Sometimes, an injury does seem to balance the team and provide openings. I look forward to seeing Hotton back to his better form from 2000.

Bring Back Harry Madden!

Seriously, I do feel sorry for Carlton supporters with Allan out for half the season. Hopes Porter steps up in his place.

Originally posted by The Old Dark Navy's:
I have posted this on the Blues board tonight but while I'm in here....

Big call Worm, Allan is definitely a better player than Porter and Hotton. I also think that Porter has struggled in the ruck so far this season. But.....we are struggling for team balance. Our system is failing us and we can't pinpoint the problem. Sometimes, an injury does seem to balance the team and provide openings. I look forward to seeing Hotton back to his better form from 2000.

The problem is that we have become more predictable with the loss of Hamill up forward and Murphy in the centre. We haven't covered these positions players of the same calibre and serioudly doubt that we will until the likes of Fevola start getting Hopoate's finger out of their own backsides and stop believing in thier own hype. One more thing.....Lance Whitnall is currently running around like a chook with no head. What the heck is happening there ??? Does he miss his daily course of pies and chips ?

It's a shame to see a good player out for half a season. Porter took his chance last year and played well. He was far from being the worst player on the ground last week. I think he'll improve with more games. Carlton baffled me last week, I thought they were going to trash the Hawks in the first 15 minutes.

Originally posted by rickster:

CARE TO CHANGE YOUR OPINION OF MARK PORTER ?

He made Barnes and Alessio look stupid out there tonight !