doggies

Old Xavs FC
rumours of him being traded...
what about him at CHF, darcy at FF, minson in the ruck???
sounds pretty good to me.
yes, he has injury problems, but i believe that is only from ruck work, which he can ovrcome if he doesnt play there any more.

doggies said:
rumours of him being traded...
what about him at CHF, darcy at FF, minson in the ruck???
sounds pretty good to me.
yes, he has injury problems, but i believe that is only from ruck work, which he can ovrcome if he doesnt play there any more.

We haven't really been playing him in the ruck though. We've had Cox doing most of the ruck work, with Seaby as back-up.

A great footballer on his day, but way too injury prone. I don't think he would take too many contested marks either, which is what we are after.

Palace03 said:
A great footballer on his day, but way too injury prone. I don't think he would take too many contested marks either, which is what we are after.
He can. Just watch the first quaters against Saits and Tigers. 4 and 3 goals respectivley. He has been a bit nervous with his knees but after a couple weeks off I think he can really start to push hard and become the dominant forward we have long been after. Can't see him being traded. Maybe McDougall but I wouldn't trade him either....you can have Zack Beeck :)

I mentioned it on another thread this morning I think the Dogs would be keen on Gardiner as a key forward working 30m out of goals.

At the moment Cox has taken over the ruck position at West Coast, he has had problems in his private life, the John Ralph article in the Sunday Sun eluded to the fact that the Dogs were getting their salary cap in order to entice a key forward hence we are not looking out for a key forward at the fringes at another club. With the Eagles finishing on top an early pick is all it might take (our first pick) to get him over.

I think its a possibilty worth exploring.

The bloke is a 6 foot + girl, he is not the answer. Fair dinkum, I know we need to find a solution to our forward line woes but some of the suggestions of late have been straight from the Jako, James, Wills book!

Surely we are not that desparate that we are willing to take absolutley anything, and get bent over in the process?

SonOfScray said:
The bloke is a 6 foot + girl, he is not the answer. Fair dinkum, I know we need to find a solution to our forward line woes but some of the suggestions of late have been straight from the Jako, James, Wills book!

Surely we are not that desparate that we are willing to take absolutley anything, and get bent over in the process?

No way should we chase Gardnier, he's injured more than fit nowadays and I still have memories of him having a sook after Kretiuk and Southern "roughed" him up in the last game at the Western Oval. :cool:

SonOfScray said:

Gardiner is in a different league to these players.
If we want a non speculative Key position forward that may want to move he is worth an inquiry at the very least. He can take a contestant mark and he is a big body something we lack.

I would be preapred to give up a first round pick which at the moment looks like pick 8 to 10.

Dog 36 said:
If we want a non speculative Key position forward that may want to move he is worth an inquiry at the very least. He can take a contestant mark and he is a big body something we lack.

I would be preapred to give up a first round pick which at the moment looks like pick 8 to 10.

I would sooner have Whitnall and I don't want him either!!

Dog 36 said:

fair call, we are not talking about an old player here, injuries would be a question mark, but i am sure the dogs will look into all that.

lachy said:
I would sooner have Whitnall and I don't want him either!!

If we had a free pick we would take many others ahead of these two but as you go looking for a key forward you might find one thats not your first or second choice but is the one thats prepared to move at the right price and will offer what you are after.

I say the midfield is fine, we have some young talls (Walsh, Morgan,Williams and Wight) they will come on but in the mean time why not go after the best key and big forward that is most likely to be enticed and prepared to move even if it costs us an early draft pick.

I rate Gardiner highly, and if he was injury free, he would be a fantastic pickup. Imagine Darcy, Gardiner and Grant in the same forward line.
If he wasn't injured he would definitely be playing for WCE.
The problem is he has recurrent hamstring problems which means he plays 2 or 3 games, does a hammy, and is out for 5. Unless this can be fixed (as Buckley's seems to have been fixed) I wouldn't be in favour of getting Gardiner.

He's a great player. Tall, good leap, strong mark, big body. Can kick a goal too and is a physical player. Would be GREAT in our side and we should definitely see what WCE would be asking for him.

However, the injury thing IS a problem but if we can't get McDougall or someone better, I'd be willing to take that risk.

Whitnal over Gardiner? You're kidding yourself. Whitnal is not worth my signature.

How old is Gardiner, though?

Would take Whitnall at 25 with our midfield. A risk granted. But nothing like Gardner. The bloke is bad news and injury prone. Jade's knees look like new compared to this bloke. My fondest memory is this bloke getting hammered at the whitten oval. Don't ruin it by giving him the red, white and blue. No way.

bulldogtragic said:
Would take Whitnall at 25 with our midfield. A risk granted. But nothing like Gardner. The bloke is bad news and injury prone. Jade's knees look like new compared to this bloke. My fondest memory is this bloke getting hammered at the whitten oval. Don't ruin it by giving him the red, white and blue. No way.

Whitnal? What do you see him? He's useless. Slow. When on a good opponent, does nothing. I mean hell - Jade Rawlings beat him when we played Carlton. That HAS to tell you something.

Gardiner is a good player. Yeah he's had injuries but I'd rather run a risk on him than take Whitnal and be destined for another dud. So what if we roughed gardiner up years ago. Time changes. We need a big strong guy who can mark and kick, he fits the description. They have to at least look at him and see if his injuries are more likely to keep coming back.

The_Bulldogs_Bite said:
He's a great player. Tall, good leap, strong mark, big body. Can kick a goal too and is a physical player. Would be GREAT in our side and we should definitely see what WCE would be asking for him.

However, the injury thing IS a problem but if we can't get McDougall or someone better, I'd be willing to take that risk.

Whitnal over Gardiner? You're kidding yourself. Whitnal is not worth my signature.

How old is Gardiner, though?

He's 26.

I think one of the things that people tend to overlook about Gardiner and frankly, why I hope to christ we don't trade him is just how common it is for kpps to have relatively poor seasons after coming back from recos.

For example, compare Darren Gaspar in 04 and 05- any team willing to throw a late first round pick or a good average player at Richmond could have gotten an AA calibre FB on the cheap last year, and I think the same could be said for Gardiner if we're stupid enough to offload him. His best is brilliant, he's been pretty good this year when not injured, he's still got close to half a decade of footy left in him, and will almost certainly improve a year after his knee reco. Given that he'd go cheaper now than at any other time his career, all that makes me hope like crazy we hang onto him.

The off-field stuff is pretty much the only thing I can see that could conceivably cause him to be traded, and if thats a case, I guess its just a judgment call both from us and any clubs looking at trading for him as to what they are and aren't prepared to accept.

Mead said:
He's 26.

I think one of the things that people tend to overlook about Gardiner and frankly, why I hope to christ we don't trade him is just how common it is for kpps to have relatively poor seasons after coming back from recos.

For example, compare Darren Gaspar in 04 and 05- any team willing to throw a late first round pick or a good average player at Richmond could have gotten an AA calibre FB on the cheap last year, and I think the same could be said for Gardiner if we're stupid enough to offload him. His best is brilliant, he's been pretty good this year when not injured, he's still got close to half a decade of footy left in him, and will almost certainly improve a year after his knee reco. Given that he'd go cheaper now than at any other time his career, all that makes me hope like crazy we hang onto him.

The off-field stuff is pretty much the only thing I can see that could conceivably cause him to be traded, and if thats a case, I guess its just a judgment call both from us and any clubs looking at trading for him as to what they are and aren't prepared to accept.
Good post.

I think some on here are under estimating the quality of Gardiner.Before he started getting regular injuries he was close to the best ruckmen in the competition and then when Cox came along he did show some signs of being a more than capable forward.If he can stay injury free then he is one of the better big men in the comp.

The_Bulldogs_Bite said:
Whitnal? What do you see him? He's useless. Slow. When on a good opponent, does nothing. I mean hell - Jade Rawlings beat him when we played Carlton. That HAS to tell you something.

Gardiner is a good player. Yeah he's had injuries but I'd rather run a risk on him than take Whitnal and be destined for another dud. So what if we roughed gardiner up years ago. Time changes. We need a big strong guy who can mark and kick, he fits the description. They have to at least look at him and see if his injuries are more likely to keep coming back.
I see potential in Whitnall. I'm not saying get him at all costs. I mean 2 weeks ago i was dead against it. But now, if we can get him cheaply - and that is the factor that drives this opinion and hope - that with our midfield and rocket eade, he could get back to his form of about 3 years ago. When this bloke had a gun midfield he was the dominant CHF behind Carey. Now the midfield's gone away its not happening and he hasn't really responded to Pagan.

So, what I see him in is a gamble. Yes i agree it's a gamble. But for the right price he could be our Saverio Rocca. Like Sav when he went to North everyone wrote him off. But Lance has played GREAT footy before. Which means he can do it again with the right coach and midfield. I'm not get him at any cost, but if we are offered him for a good trade in scott's and rocket's eyes then we should take him and see what happens. I feel he'll come good after leaving the enviroment he's gone stale in. Like what Hall did in going to Sydney. To me, it's worth a punt for the right price.

That's what I see in Lance.

+ves:
hes fat :) (got a tradition to uphold)
hes smart in leading etc.
I dont remember him being a bad kick for goal, so lets say hes average at least?
disposal in terms of goal assists is quite good

-ves
hes fat
no pack marks
defensively questionable
softish
not too tall

I think hes probably just more of the same - is he really that different in temperament or ability to bowden?

how does he compare to say, Pods, who would be a lot cheaper to pick up?

Between Sandown, Caulfield, Moonee Valley, Flemington and the occassional trip to the Meadows he'd struggle to find time for footy down in melbourne!