M1 protest

• Thread starter Thread starter play on

Round the f*ck-knuckles up and gas 'em ....

I hope they get "physical" and the coppers shoot a few (they won't up here in Qld, but the Vic cops might!). A few less dickheads in this world will go a long way.

Which protest is this? I haven't heard about anyother protest. The last I heard the next one will be in a few months. How badly will this affect normal people going about their normal buissness?

-----------------------
Play on says the umpire
-----------------------

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes:
I was in the city today getting my braces taken off when the protesters started. The whole lot of them are Dole bludging hippies.

People swore at them, gave them the finger, someone even through a glass bottle at them(cops just started laughing).

But i must say that they are winning. The Nike factory outlet put barriers up, some McDonalds stores were closed, and they disrupted traffic.

But i hate the lot of them :( All are a bunch of hypocrites.

My uni is next to the nike shop, the did nothing this year, just wrote shit on the ground with chalk, usual stuff like Capitalist Pis, Nazi Slogans and the usual swastika's are a must at any protest.

As usual the Union members were there most appeared to be tradesman just talking to each other whilst one bitch was screaming over the pa in front of the intersection of the Bourke St Mall and Swanston St. She sounded like a feral pig being sleaughted I could not decipher one word she spoke. One old drunk guy was walking around just laughing and pointing at her and screaming jibberish.

They have moved along now leaving used baners and shit strewn over the road. Who knows how far the bludgers can be bothered to walk next to though. But my guess is the rest of them are heading to the stock exchange.

It is unbelievable. On October 3-5 Melbourne will hold some Buisness forum. Around 600 buisness and goverment leaders including 15 heads of goverment are expected to attend. Won't that be fun. The protesters will be out in force because the leaders will be talking about global buisness trade and other issues.

-----------------------
Play on says the umpire
-----------------------

Originally posted by collingwood_joffa:
Well people i dont give a rats arse wot you say cause im leavin for the protest right now
why....
I care about our putrid enviroment
I care about the worlds forrest being demolished.
I care about people in third world countries living in poverty.Whilst the western world squanders millions on crap.
If that is my crime well thucken shoot me now you pack of selfish self centred bastards.

JOFFA
Maybe you should check who the Collingwood Sponsors are to see if they are some are the corporate giants your protesting against.

Then you could protest out the front of Vic Park.

------------------
"Kick the bloody thing"

I'll bet some of this 'Rent-a-crowd' are regulars at a McDonalds Restaurant and they probably wear Nike shoes or clothes.
We know they wouldn't have stocks because they would more likely spend their money on Grog & Drugs. :rolleyes:

------------------
"Kick the bloody thing"

We had a debate about this in Business Management (year 12) today and here is some things we came up with:
FOR:
*Provides Jobs - Worldwide (millions)
*Reduces prices (at least in theory)
*Increases competition
*Gives the consumer choice
*Provides Investment in Australia
*Infrastructure - Provides local people with jobs building the infrastructure for these companies.

ANTI:
* Potential for exploitation of third world companies
* Profits returned to overseas "parent" company
* The companies are foreign owned
* Ownership of own resources - for example if Shell had taken over Woodside then Shell would own the leases on the resources which were formerly Australian owned!!

There ya go!

We had a debate about this in Business Management (year 12) today and here is some things we came up with:
FOR:
*Provides Jobs - Worldwide (millions)
*Reduces prices (at least in theory)
*Increases competition
*Gives the consumer choice
*Provides Investment in Australia
*Infrastructure - Provides local people with jobs building the infrastructure for these companies.

ANTI:
* Potential for exploitation of third world companies
* Profits returned to overseas "parent" company
* The companies are foreign owned
* Ownership of own resources - for example if Shell had taken over Woodside then Shell would own the leases on the resources which were formerly Australian owned!!

There ya go!

Joffa

Thats the absolutely first time I have heard ANY M1 or S11 supporter actually be able to string together a few words to explain what they are about and it actually made sense. Well done.

Now, if you really beleive those things then tell me,

What sort of car do you drive?
What brand of shoes do you wear?
Who ultimately pays your wage?
Who made the computer you are using right now?
What about the windows program you are using?
Who ultimately owns the brewery where you get your favourite beer?

If you really beleive we will be better off without these multinationalists then please explain to me where I will work when they are gone.
Please explain how our economy will survive when they are gone.
Please explain to my children why they will have no career when they leave school.
Please explain to my children why all these empty buildings have been deserted in the middle of our cities.

I could go on.

I do not beleive these global companies are the saviours of the Earth, but they are here and they will not go away. If you look say 50 years into the future, and the ideals of the M1 protesters are achieved, what will our life be like? I need to know this answer.

I do not support globalisation but I do not see a maintainable alternative. I am yet to hear one realistic theory from an M1 or S11 supporter as to an alternative society.

Please give me one!!!!

Originally posted by mud n blood:
Round the f*ck-knuckles up and gas 'em ....

I hope they get "physical" and the coppers shoot a few (they won't up here in Qld, but the Vic cops might!). A few less dickheads in this world will go a long way.

Well Said M n B.

What is the point of starting a business?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
To make money?

These companies that you are trying to shut down all started with a few businessmen who had an idea on how to make money. Then when they become sucessful, then all of a sudden, what they have done is a crime and must be shut down?

[This message has been edited by joshhem (edited 01 May 2001).]

Originally posted by joshhem:
What is the point of starting a business?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
?
To make money?

These companies that you are trying to shut down all started with a few businessmen who had an idea on how to make money. Then when they become sucessful, then all of a sudden, what they have done is a crime and must be shut down?

[This message has been edited by joshhem (edited 01 May 2001).]

Who said anything about shutting down businesses?

Originally posted by servo:

What sort of car do you drive?
What brand of shoes do you wear?
Who ultimately pays your wage?
Who made the computer you are using right now?
What about the windows program you are using?
Who ultimately owns the brewery where you get your favourite beer?

SERVO
You forgot one question for an M1 goon.
Which Centrelink office do they attend ? :D

------------------
"Kick the bloody thing"

yes what a load of rubbish !

if each of those hoons simply donated their time to a charity or something for a day they would achieve so much.

Instead they cause a whole heap of hassles to a whole heap of people.

I wonder if they sit back afterwards, light up another bong, and count how many people actually quit their job at the stock exchange as a result of their protest ? What did they actually achieve ? What was their message ? If you were the premier and woke up this morning and decided that you were going to act on what the protestors wanted....what would you actually do ? Shut down all the McDonald's stores (and raise youth unemployment by 20% ?) ban Nike ? (and give Adidas a free leg up ?) what do they actually want.

I seems like a whole lot of people with nothing to do ho decided to go and be like mummy and daddy in the 1960's and protest about something.....fashionable ("I haven't been to a good protest in ages")

ptw