Mackenzie needs to go.

• Thread starter Thread starter Audacious

As I have stated in another thread, I remember when a young Glass was not exactly setting the AFL alight and he is easily one of the greatest backmen the Eagles have had. Give Mckenzie time, he is jus a young kid playing on established forwards such as Reiwoldt, Tredea... not an as easy job for anyone!

Clueless.

Simply put.

Eric is a required player, who can hold his head up high in 2009.

Stupid knee jerk thread, quite possibly the worst knee jerk thread this season....and that is saying something.

+1 You're Spot on!

To all you dildo w*nkers who talk shit about Masten, Ebert and McKenzie; get a life. Go and support Failmantle.

ur a knob imo our future CHB/FB and will lead our defence when Glassy retires. has shown more then Glass did in his first few years

I reckon McKenzie's been great this year. He does seem to be showing the signs of a young player who's had a tough year and is getting a bit tired. He will be all the better for the experience.

my only criticism of him is his urgency sometimes seems lacking, is obviously a cool customer but sometimes he's a bit too cool and finds himself in strife.

I'd be interested to know how many people on this board have actually ever played a competitive game of footy. The pressure of running full pace to get a loose ball and then make the right decision once you get it, with an opponent bearing down on you.

It's easy to be critical when you in your heated house in your nice comfy chair with a beer in hand.

I totally agree with you mate. It's so easy to point the finger at someone but please, oh please stop abusing OUR FUTURE. If anyone has played the game at a amateur league level, the heat on you to run all day and not to make mistakes is HUGE. Get out there on the field and come tell me what it's like before you start abusing one of our better defenders this year (not having a go at you Billboy; just the guy you quoted from :))

As many have said on here, to call for his dropping is just ridiculous. He is doing well and as was stated above, perhaps the season is taking its toll on a 21 yo body playing against the best one or two forwards week in week out.

In terms of his disposal by foot though, I think his confidence has been shot since that turnover in the Sydney game. He really looks shit scared of turning it over every time he goes to put it on his boot and just looks so awkward so he ends up turning it over. Its a vicious cycle now and he is just going to have to work his way through it.

I agree KS. I wouldn't be opposed to Mackenzie having a week off all football to freshen him up a bit. He's really in his first full season as a key defender and the season seems to be starting to wear him down a little bit.

In relation to his disposal and confidence, it's up to players like Hurn, Wirra and Nico to get across to him quickly so he has the handball option. It's also important that these players use the ball effectively to Mackenzie's opponent doesn't get a cheap kick from a turnover.

Mackenzie will be our FB/CHB for next 10 years, all things being equal.

so you want to delist our most promising key defensive player??

He's been very good defensively this year. he's skills have taken a massive confidence hit i reckon after that turnover against sydney. i reckon he's a faar better kick than he believes he is, but everytime he kicks it he looks like he is second guessing himself.

anyway, saying stuff like stop persting with him, it's embarrasing, or "hopefully delisted next year" is just plain redicolous.

The only thing i've got against mackenzie is that turnover against sydney that cost us the game other than that he's a gun

I agree KS. I wouldn't be opposed to Mackenzie having a week off all football to freshen him up a bit. He's really in his first full season as a key defender and the season seems to be starting to wear him down a little bit.

In relation to his disposal and confidence, it's up to players like Hurn, Wirra and Nico to get across to him quickly so he has the handball option. It's also important that these players use the ball effectively to Mackenzie's opponent doesn't get a cheap kick from a turnover.

Mackenzie will be our FB/CHB for next 10 years, all things being equal.

I tend to think that we should not be cottonwooling his disposal by foot. From memory he wasn't a terrible kick in the past (i.e. before that Sydney game). I actually like seeing him continue to look to dispose by foot, he needs to keep doing it and sort his confidence out. Better to do it in this season and next when a turnover really isn't going to have a massive impact on us winning/losing. The last thing we want is for him to lose all confidence in his kicking and become too one dimensional in terms of disposal. That would be detrimental to his overall development as teams will work out he only wants to handball and he'll be in a lot more trouble once that happens.

^^^ I agree with Kamakaze

i reckon MacKenzie's problem with kicking is all confidence related. He appears hesitant every time he kicks the ball which is his biggest problem. There's not really much wrong with his technique, and i don't ever really remember him having too many problems with his kicking prior to the sydney game.

hey ill admit i havent watched him really closely but from what i have seen i thought he was one of the more promising young defenders in the AFL

I tend to think that we should not be cottonwooling his disposal by foot. From memory he wasn't a terrible kick in the past (i.e. before that Sydney game). I actually like seeing him continue to look to dispose by foot, he needs to keep doing it and sort his confidence out.

That's a fair point.

ok so maybe i overracted a tad..

:thumbsu::thumbsu: at least you admitted it. :D Calling for his dropping was perhaps a bit over the top.

I actually think its turned out to be an interesting thread. Certainly the insights of many posters has been pretty good, particularly on the fact that he may be starting to fatigue a bit.

Can't believe some of the dribble in this thread.
People are very quick to jump on players nowdays,
just because a player may have a few bad games "he needs to go" .. ridiculous!!

Mackenzie has been a shining light down back this year,
with Jones and Wilkes hardly playing he has stood very tall as with glassy!

I think we will have a very good defence next year,
most likely Wirra will retire (can't believe the ridiculous comment earlier in the thread bagging wirra out!!, you cant be a true wce fan byron_c??)

But with brett jones, wilkes, glass, mackenzie and hopefully waters that is a pretty solid defence for out list! Also names such as Spanger who is improving!