Opinion Major changes for 2023

• Thread starter Thread starter The Dr

Good post, and noticed the ribbing/sledging a bit more too. On G&G they regularly made a few lowbrow comments about people's games. Nothing too mean but after all the chat last year about being more positive it was noticeable how quickly it came back.

There was a nice moment in last years granny where Riv cooked something and Lever gave him a tap on the shoulder and said “mate, we need you switched on”. I loved that. Watching us now out boys are just ripping into each-other all over the field. I love that too but it stops being effective if a) it’s all you do and b) the player giving the serve is having a mare, which has often been the case.

I’m a big believer in culture being a vital component to success, just my opinion and I might be wrong but I don’t think it’s good sign when players are berrating each-other on field.

There was a nice moment in last years granny where Riv cooked something and Lever gave him a tap on the shoulder and said “mate, we need you switched on”. I loved that. Watching us now are boys are just ripping into eachother all over the field. I love that too but it stops being effective if a) it’s all you do and b) the player giving the serve is having a mare, which has often been the case.

I’m a big believer in culture being a vital component to success, just my opinion and I might be wrong but I don’t think it’s good sign when players are berrating eachother on field.

Yeah I think there is a difference between berating and just being a campaigner. Spargo toasting Brown last week I had no issues with as what Brown did was stupid as ****, but sometimes blokes seems to just straight being pricks.

I'm still really dark on Max and how arrogant he is with ball in hand. Who the **** is pulling him up on this? It isn't acceptable at all.

I've noticed plenty of gentle ribbing this year which seemed a little opposed to that
A lot of that on the podcast. Mostly from Gawn not Brayshaw. I think Max will look back on this season with a lot of regret.

Good post, and noticed the ribbing/sledging a bit more too. On G&G they regularly made a few lowbrow comments about people's games. Nothing too mean but after all the chat last year about being more positive it was noticeable how quickly it came back.
I don't know that we're significantly less fit than other teams, but think our method is very taxing and wastes energy. We had a few good bursts over the season, however winning contested footy constantly is a grind. Building your whole game around that means you're going to get banged up and run out of gas eventually.
We had a lot more injuries this year compared to last, and I don't think we managed them as well as we could/should have. Lots of niggles that never went away for key players.
Just saw this. Yep, correct. Especially given all the comments post GF were about how ‘we don’t say to Lever after a good game “well who did you play on” ‘

Kidding right? We had a blessed injury run all year.
I wouldn’t say blessed. No ACLs but most of our players were injured. More concerned about match fitness than injuries anyway

Spargo toasting Brown last week I had no issues with
Happened right next to me that one. Clearly heard Spargo say: “Danster was right about you Benny! Every single post!”

Get rid of Brown, trade Jackson for whatever we can get and see if we can get a mid who can kick somewhere. List is ok

I agree the list is fine, the team that got eliminated is virtually the same that won the premiership less than a year ago. As plenty have mentioned some are way down on output and we need to start to look at refreshing our best 22.

Just saw this. Yep, correct. Especially given all the comments post GF were about how ‘we don’t say to Lever after a good game “well who did you play on” ‘
Pissed me off after we beat Carlton and in the interview Trac was having a jab at Levers kick in the winning play that hit his boot a bit awkwardly.

Get everyone down to sorrento for another campfire heart to heart. Been creeping in way too much this season.

No Vanders no Melbourne.

Heart and soul bloke.

Also, to add another thread to the veil, it says a bit about our other leaders that it takes a battler like Vanders to pipe up with the idea that ragging on how your teammates play, even in jest, mightn't be great for morale.

Retire/Delist/Trade: Ben Brown, L.Jackson, TMac, Rosman, Oskar Baker, Mitch Brown, Kade Chandler.
In: Grundy, 2x First rounds picks.

Retire/Delist/Trade: Ben Brown, L.Jackson, TMac, Rosman, Oskar Baker, Mitch Brown, Kade Chandler.
In: Grundy, 2x First rounds picks.

You have to move on a minimum 3 guys from your list for draft picks, they're not going to cut TMac especially when hes contracted. Brown is also contracted so they'd have to come to an agreement, however you're right that Baker and M Brown are definitely gone and Rosman is on thin ice with his injury.

but what's the point in keeping Brown if he's never going to play next year?

Yeah let's cut a bloke we are paying anyway and will be in our cap. Seems normal.

Club has to convince him to retire early and take a payout. If Brown wants to he can play VFL all year and still get whatever his contract says he is entitled to. Clubs don't just rip up contracts and pay guys out these days.

Yeah let's cut a bloke we are paying anyway and will be in our cap. Seems normal.
ok, let's work through this:
Option A: we don't cut him, he plays 0 games, we pay him 650k (or whatever he is on)
Option B: We cut him, he obviously plays 0 games, we pay him 650k (or whatever he is on) and it allows an extra list spot.

*Obviously, it'd be foolish and highly unlikely for Brown to retire and lose out on free money.

What am I missing?

schmuttt

ok, let's work through this:
Option A: we don't cut him, he plays 0 games, we pay him 650k (or whatever he is on)
Option B: We cut him, he obviously plays 0 games, we pay him 650k (or whatever he is on) and it allows an extra list spot.

*Obviously, it'd be foolish and highly unlikely for Brown to retire and lose out on free money.

What am I missing?

schmuttt
You'd be better off keeping him as depth than paying him plus whoever takes up his list spot. Plenty of spuds on the list who are out of contract to cut first.

Ben Brown is never depth. He offers nothing to this club. I'm not even convinced he is vfl calibre in my honest opinion.

Cool. We won't be sacking him for an extra list spot we can't even afford to fill.

you reckon a rookie contract is worth that much? Surely, it's not that much. Time to move on with Ben. He's already stalled JVR's development enough.
What are you talking about? Rookies aren't on the senior list.

sorry, by rookie I mean, new kid. like from the draft. or a promoted rookie onto our senior list.
I can see your point if the recruiters have someone in mind they think can be a better prospect and that's the only way to put them on the list. But even in that scenario I reckon they'd sooner dump Weideman who is contracted on way less money anyway.

They're not going to sack contracted players for a player in the 5th round that the recruiters have no hope for.