Make or Break 2017

• Thread starter Thread starter Tambo

What evidence do you have it hasnt?

Check the vibe around the draftees the last two years read all the positive stuff about markov macca menadue short and even graham and Rioli...

This I will say - and I do hold highish hopes for Markov and Rioli in particular - but all the 'vibe' or 'noise' being generated over our youngsters is coming from:
1. Our coach;
2. Our club;
3. Our supporters.
I don't hear opposition fans raving about out guys.

If you are prepared to make ad hoc statements then back them up . I think based on seven years of data and our development I'm not holding my breath as I recall reading simple bs like this seven years ago and we finished 13th after all of this.
Haha youre a laugh.

I liked your ad hoc statement when you declared we'd be making a huge financial loss btw. ;)

This I will say - and I do hold highish hopes for Markov and Rioli in particular - but all the 'vibe' or 'noise' being generated over our youngsters is coming from:
1. Our coach;
2. Our club;
3. Our supporters.
I don't hear opposition fans raving about out guys.
Yes im going with our supports feel currently. And the vast majority are pretty optimistic that menadue mcintosh drummon rioli markov have played good games and look to have a future.

Haha youre a laugh.

I liked your ad hoc statement when you declared we'd be making a huge financial loss btw. ;)
Aaaghhh you again misunderstood / misread the post. Lose up to two million in revenue was stated. Which from my calculations it was about right. :eek::)

Your calculator is broken. The clubs released the the figure remember;)
Go back and read the thread and before so ensure you learn the difference between revenue and profit. Another forum actually claims that the RFC lost 3 mil in revenue which shows I was being conservative.

:$;)

Edit: claims arent facts. The figures were released by the club and it all blew up in your faces. They didnt lose 2mil.

I know what revenue and profit it. You should learn about exaggeration.

You don't really understand financials do you TI? You can't lose revenue. It is what it is.
Profit is what's left after expenses are deducted from income (revenue).
As they say in the classics - You can bank profit but you can't bank revenue.

You don't really understand financials do you TI? You can't lose revenue. It is what it is.
Profit is what's left after expenses are deducted from income (revenue).
As they say in the classics - You can bank profit but you can't bank revenue.
Nice line,but I do understand as I just can't comprehend why we continue to blow such opportunities.

I hope Nathan Broad can get up.
I thought he could have transitioned better than he did last year.
Looked lost and rushed.
Hoping he can show a big jump in improvement this year.

He showed some good skills and composure in the WAFL where he played 20 games in 2015.
Played a bit like a floating defender and had good disposal by foot. Was hoping for some of that in 2016 but it didn't shine through.

Jake Batchelor and Taylor Hunt have limitations, but they can be plugged into a situation and do a serviceable job.
Of the pair, I think Hunt is the keeper. We all know about the appalling turnovers, but he does pretty decent work on an opponent, can find a bit of the ball himself and has a level of discipline that most on your list could only dream of. Bench, emergency or VFL team leader - like him or not - he serves a useful purpose.

Jake Batchelor and Taylor Hunt have limitations, but they can be plugged into a situation and do a serviceable job.
Of the pair, I think Hunt is the keeper. We all know about the appalling turnovers, but he does pretty decent work on an opponent, can find a bit of the ball himself and has a level of discipline that most on your list could only dream of. Bench, emergency or VFL team leader - like him or not - he serves a useful purpose.

THAT'S it in a nutshell, turnover merchant who can actually stick to an opponent and even shut one down, which you need if you are going to have creative half back flankers like Houli and whoever Dimma has earmarked this year (BEllis or CEllis) who aren't going to shutdown their guy!

Absolute duds mate

I don't get what the big knock on Elton is. He played the last two games last year and played well. Had 7 marks and presented well in the Saints game.

Yes he hasn't had much of a go, but he's been moved around heaps in the VFL like Griffiths was, but once settled as a forward towards the end of the year he started to show something

We've been culling for 7 years. I think we've turned the list over more than any club in that time.
Another myth the three peat hawks have probably turned over more players than us in the last 7 yrs.
Only the dogs turned over less than us this yr and thats only because Yarran pulled out.

As for the op it is awfully light on for names and candidates.We could easily turn over half the list without losing too much and most of them would be 23 yr olds plus.

Another myth the three peat hawks have probably turned over more players than us in the last 7 yrs.
Only the dogs turned over less than us this yr and thats only because Yarran pulled out.

As for the op it is awfully light on for names and candidates.We could easily turn over half the list without losing too much and most of them would be 23 yr olds plus.
I think you need quality on your list to start with to effectively turn your list over and or be successful.
Hawks can afford to trade out some good players and their success makes the attractive to free agents.
Look at GWS, they just keep turning over players as they have huge depth to trade with.
We have to give up one of our few top players in Lids to get extra picks.

Yes im going with our supports feel currently. And the vast majority are pretty optimistic that menadue mcintosh drummon rioli markov have played good games and look to have a future.
I would disagree with this. I find it is only on footy sites like this one that the majority are overly optimistic. Most tiger supporters i have come across away from footy forums are pretty brutal in their assesments of us.

I'm so concerned about this season that I will take a win against Carlton as a positive and a 10 Goal loss to GWS as a win.
All these names that are poping up in this thread is frightening , mainly bc they are all on our list. I wish the Big Bash would roll on through the Winter

I'm so concerned about this season that I will take a win against Carlton as a positive and a 10 Goal loss to GWS as a win.
All these names that are poping up in this thread is frightening , mainly bc they are all on our list. I wish the Big Bash would roll on through the Winter

lol overreaction much?

I expect us to beat Carlton comfortably and at least get close to GWS.

If you aren't expecting us to be able to beat Carlton, and accept a 10 goal loss to GWS...dare I say you are... ACCEPTING MEDIOCRITY???? :P ;)

lol overreaction much?

I expect us to beat Carlton comfortably and at least get close to GWS.

If you aren't expecting us to be able to beat Carlton, and accept a 10 goal loss to GWS...dare I say you are... ACCEPTING MEDIOCRITY???? :p ;)
Believe me mate I will be taking any win as a bonus and every loss to powerhouse teams by under 10goals as a positive. Our list has more holes than a block of Swisse Cheese as the middle aged players that are supposed to take next step all have IFS attached to their names. I will be happy to see the younger untried generation getting games before most of them in hope of fast tracking them for a better future.