Make this the Mundy Thread

Re: David Mundy will not be heading to the Gold Coast

David Mundy is the sort of guy who looked like his heart wasn't into it from the outset as he has a laconic gate like the other bloke we need to get rid of Barlow :rolleyes:.
His year this year has been nothing short of brilliant. Yes brilliant not good or very good. Has moved into equal 3rd position for my mvp at Freo along with Mc Pharlin behind Sandi (by a distance) and not far behind Pav at all by my estimation. Freo will move heaven and earth to keep him and so they should.
And Memerios get a new act mate. All of the players we couldn't rely on over the last decade will finally be gone by this Xmas. Deal with it mate, whinge about politics or something. David Mundy was not and never be on the trade table as far as Freo are concerned. Thank god Mark Harvey and Chris Bond don't drink from your pond mate.:confused:

Re: Is Mundy signing bigger then Pav?

on wires...

AFL:Dockers close in on Mundy's signature

Fremantle are confident they have done enough to persuade star
midfielder DAVID MUNDY to re-sign with the AFL club.
Several Victorian clubs and Gold Coast are said to be interested
in MUNDY after the 25-year-old's standout season for the Dockers.
Defender CHRIS TARRANT has already told the Dockers he will be
returning to Melbourne, but Fremantle football operations manager
CHRIS BOND says he thinks MUNDY wants to stay at the club.
AAP RTV jsc/dfb

Mike Sheehan just said on Foxtel's On the Couch that he thinks Mundy will request a trade home but that Freo should call his bluff. He thinks that Essendon won't be able to come up with a suitable trade forcing Mundy to choose between Fremantle and The Gold Coast.

Can't understand that he wants to go home. His little sister moved to Perth earlier this year.

Well if she moved to Perth what's stopping her moving back? She could be the impetus for all of it. Comes over, starts getting depressed because she hates it in Perth, puts pressure on Mundy to move home because the family needs him, etc. If you ever moved out of your parents house you would probably have a deeper understanding of this.

Mike Sheehan just said on Foxtel's On the Couch that he thinks Mundy will request a trade home but that Freo should call his bluff. He thinks that Essendon won't be able to come up with a suitable trade forcing Mundy to choose between Fremantle and The Gold Coast.

Yeah but he also called him Daniel Mundy so I think I'll take his knowledgeable opinion with a rather large grain of salt.

He also scoffed when Healy mentioned that Taz had been in AA form earlier this year. What Mike Sheahan doesn't know about Freo could fill an olympic sized swimming pool 10 times over.

What Esti Said. He knows nothing. Just taking wild guesses and disguising it as informed opinion. Fair dinkum the longer I spend watching footy the more I realise how overrated and overpaid most of these pundits are.

David's younger sister, isn't so little.

Not to alarm anyone but she is probably moving back home regardless of the decision. Misses family and friends etc

Had been studying for the year while living with David.

The crucial thing is that he's been here for a while, has good friends at the club and is in a long term relationship with a Perth girl..

The last time his contract finished the same thing happened. The media was convinced he was leaving as he hadn't signed, a few weeks after the season finished.

At the time we had a mass exodus of experienced players and looked destined for a few years at the bottom, yet he stayed..

He's a very humble and loyal guy

The crucial thing is that he's been here for a while, has good friends at the club and is in a long term relationship with a Perth girl..

If you look closely you can see the exact moment that Brades' heart breaks...

tumblr_kvq9j3Amx51qzccmno1_500.jpg

I don't think too much sleep should be lost over David Mundy.

Career so far ...

140 games

Average possessions per game = 17.9
Average tackles per game = 2.7
Average goals per game = 0.4
Number of 30+ possession games in career = 1
Career Brownlow Medal Votes = ZERO

This reminds me a lot of the Jade Rawlings situation in 2003.

Rawlings played a number of poor seasons for Hawthorn. Played half a good season in 2003 and then milked it for everything, putting a massive price on his head.

He then got his contract with the Western Bulldogs and went back to his ordinary ways.

I say trade him to a Melbourne/Geelong club and use the savings to get Chapman at $900,000pa.

I don't think too much sleep should be lost over David Mundy.

Career so far ...

140 games

Average possessions per game = 17.9
Average tackles per game = 2.7
Average goals per game = 0.4
Number of 30+ possession games in career = 1
Career Brownlow Medal Votes = ZERO

This reminds me a lot of the Jade Rawlings situation in 2003.

Rawlings played a number of poor seasons for Hawthorn. Played half a good season in 2003 and then milked it for everything, putting a massive price on his head.

He then got his contract with the Western Bulldogs and went back to his ordinary ways.

I say trade him to a Melbourne/Geelong club and use the savings to get Chapman at $900,000pa.

On that advice we should trade anyone that plays well leading up to a contract renewal if they don't have a career possession average over 20 or fail to attract the Brownlow votes. :rolleyes:

Camtimley = Memories in disguise.

Way to go. Lets get rid of a player as he hits his prime.

Garry Ablett Jnr's first 5 years he averaged 15 possessions a game. Cats should of sacked him while they had the chance.

Brendon Goddard's first 5 years - he averaged 16 possessions a game. Saints should of sacked him after 5 years also.

Alan Didak - first 7 years averaged 14 possessions a game. Pies should of got rid of him too?

Ryan Griffen - first 5 years averaged 17 possessions a game. Bulldogs should of got rid of him last year as well before his breakout year?

What a stupid argument. Mundy's first 5 years are virtually identical to the players above who all had their breakout year in their 5th/6th year as Mundy has done.

Make this the Mundy Thread