Making the story, telling the story

jonbe54

Sep 18, 2009
Rural paradise
In the last 20 years or so our 'wonderful' media have had a modus operandi of creating a story and running with it.

The latest rash of rubbish stories about Collingwood injuries smacks of just this sort of manipulation. Think about it for a moment, having built up this 'huge mass of Collingwood pre-season injuries' they can now follow one or another of several scenarios that they have already generated depending upon which circumstances eventuate.

1. Pies win first few games

Collingwood triumph over injury woes.

2. Pies have mixed success

Collingwood struggling through injury woes

3. Pies lose first few games

New coach Buckley is under pressure due to early injury woes - is he pushing the players too hard???

Whatever happens in the early part of the season they now have plenty of material to work with due to their pre-season bullshit reportage. :(

In the last 20 years or so our 'wonderful' media have had a modus operandi of creating a story and running with it.

The latest rash of rubbish stories about Collingwood injuries smacks of just this sort of manipulation. Think about it for a moment, having built up this 'huge mass of Collingwood pre-season injuries' they can now follow one or another of several scenarios that they have already generated depending upon which circumstances eventuate.

1. Pies win first few games

Collingwood triumph over injury woes.

2. Pies have mixed success

Collingwood struggling through injury woes

3. Pies lose first few games

New coach Buckley is under pressure due to early injury woes - is he pushing the players too hard???

Whatever happens in the early part of the season they now have plenty of material to work with due to their pre-season bullshit reportage. :(

We do have more injuries than would be usual. I wouldn't really blame the media for what they are doing, they are just telling us who gets hurt. I would rather know this than not know this.

Didak
Johnson
Elliott
Clarke
Krakouer (unavailable)
Reid
Brown
O'Brien
Dawes (although I haven't seen this anywhere)
J Thomas

Why would you waste time get aggravated by the media?

We do have more injuries than would be usual. I wouldn't really blame the media for what they are doing, they are just telling us who gets hurt. I would rather know this than not know this.

Didak
Johnson
Elliott
Clarke
Krakouer (unavailable)
Reid
Brown
O'Brien
Dawes (although I haven't seen this anywhere)
J Thomas

Why would you waste time get aggravated by the media?
Jelly who'se getting aggravated??? The media are clowns who deserve to be treated as the ENTERTAINERS they are. Hard news in this country is a thing of the past because the media are intent on building a story rather than simply reporting it.

As for large amount of - injuries??? My idea of an injury is a hammy or dislocated shoulder. Most of these aren't injuries they are niggles, but its Collingwood and the media knows they can build a season length mini series around it:rolleyes::D

Jonbe
Thumbs up and absolutely spot on mate,all these injuries although only minor
are pushed down our throat with absolute joy by our enemies be they in the media or other clubs and their fans.

Agree completely with your assertion that they are not only reporting the news they are fabricating it as well ie Dawes supposed injury.

All clubs have injury worries and it would be nice for a change if the focus were on someone else but experience has shown that won,t be case,so go the Pies and F--- the lot of them.

Thanks for this thread mate my thought exactly:thumbsu: and lets get the footy started FFS.

Yep the media fabricates...tells lies......taps phones.....and makes a fortune doing it. Nuthin new about that, nor is it personal. Only difference between pies and other clubs is our popularity in melbourne and nationally.

For me the only question is how the club and individuals deal with it. Eddie, Bucks and Maxie have got to be a winning combination: mick struggled and last year made a mess of it I reckon.

I still think we should have drafted Fev. Finding out where Fev urinated last would be far more entertaining than rumours and fabricated injuries

Collingwood sells and the media know this. If someone like Nathan Grima from North Melbourne had a calf strain it would probably be reported at the end of a training report. Harry O'Brien cuts his finger and gets 2 stitches and it gets it's own article.

I guess it's also 1 negative from the club being so open with the media.

The media bosses must be chuckling to themselves over their brandies and cigars. They can run with variations of these injuries and the likely outcomes for months.

If we somehow have a poor start to the season it will be hung around Bux head for "training them too hard" - I can see the headlinies now.

I dunno, I got the sense that the Magak Daw issue got more coverage than the Krakouer issue and although different circumstances they're comparable in terms of being human interest stories. (I could be wrong about this, I live in the AFL media vacuum that is Sydney so relying on internet coverage)

But remember, it's not just the media bosses who are clucking over their brandies and cigars - so would Eddie, Gary and our promotions department. Hightened media attention to our injuries translates to increased brand value. And that translates to increased sponsorship value and likely also increased membership.

The injuries themselves are bad, but the media attention to them isn't.

I dunno, I got the sense that the Magak Daw issue got more coverage than the Krakouer issue and although different circumstances they're comparable in terms of being human interest stories. (I could be wrong about this, I live in the AFL media vacuum that is Sydney so relying on internet coverage)

But remember, it's not just the media bosses who are clucking over their brandies and cigars - so would Eddie, Gary and our promotions department. Hightened media attention to our injuries translates to increased brand value. And that translates to increased sponsorship value and likely also increased membership.

The injuries themselves are bad, but the media attention to them isn't.
Spooner
A little bit of positive spin now and again would not go astray now we only seem to be making the news for negative things,and as this thread suggests there are people out there ATM who are doing a bit of both and for me it is wearing a little thin.

Spooner all I want mate is a little good as well the bad that is not too much to ask,consistency is all I ask.

Thanks mate .

Holy f**k guys, I just heard on SEN, they interrupted the WHOLE station for this, but Scott Pendlebury just stubbed his toe.

They're not sure how this will affect his finals campaign, but he's plummeted from Brownlow favouritism to a rank outsider.

Alex will be on 9 news tonight before the footy telling her side of the story. Apparently there was a rare brand of really really hard bitumen involved. Apparently it was developed in Europe so they're tracking down the manufacturer and prepping court documents as we speak.

Holy f**k guys, I just heard on SEN, they interrupted the WHOLE station for this, but Scott Pendlebury just stubbed his toe.

They're not sure how this will affect his finals campaign, but he's plummeted from Brownlow favouritism to a rank outsider.

Alex will be on 9 news tonight before the footy telling her side of the story. Apparently there was a rare brand of really really hard bitumen involved. Apparently it was developed in Europe so they're tracking down the manufacturer and prepping court documents as we speak.

Oh no! Was it to his preferred or non preferred side? The club will obviously send him over to Arizona for recovery. The lad is still young, so there's a good chance he'll be back by mid season and will be in top form in time for the finals.

Even an injury as serious as that shouldn't affect our season too much.

Spooner
A little bit of positive spin now and again would not go astray now we only seem to be making the news for negative things,and as this thread suggests there are people out there ATM who are doing a bit of both and for me it is wearing a little thin.

Spooner all I want mate is a little good as well the bad that is not too much to ask,consistency is all I ask.

Thanks mate .

Unfortunately, good news stories generally don't rate as well as bad news stories. Doesn't matter if you're talking about Collingwood or Boat People. Just look at the attention a good news story gets on here versus a bad news story. The worse the news, the greater the number of reads and replies. It's just human nature.

Anyway, the real news will start coming round 1 when we get into the real footy - and that's when I want the news to be good.

Oh no! Was it to his preferred or non preferred side? The club will obviously send him over to Arizona for recovery. The lad is still young, so there's a good chance he'll be back by mid season and will be in top form in time for the finals.

Even an injury as serious as that shouldn't affect our season too much.

Apparently an injury that severe means he can't fly, so they're sending him to Frankston for high destitude training.

Making the story, telling the story