Toast Making Their Mark

Will you be watching?

• Yes, I have Prime Video & will watch

• Possibly get a 30 day free trial & watch

• Use Amazon or have a Prime Video account but not interested

• Don't use Amazon or Prime Video & not interested

Results are only viewable after voting.

Naive question here but can someone explain the different roles the CEO and President play at a footy club?

Peggy O'Neal seemed like she did sweet f**K all compared to Gale
President is the volunteer role usually you don't get paid it's not like America. As President of the Board you have the most power out of the Board members.. You employ the CEO who works for the club & gets paid & does the heavy lifting day to day works with GM of Football who both usually reports to the board members about matters regarding the football club & football department CEO is usually in most cases the more public role. In Making Their Mark you clearly see Brendon Gale on video conference calls with the President & Board.

Like with the AFL Gillon McLachlan is pretty much the face of the AFL he gets paid a huge money you barely see or hear from the Chairman/President

5 episodes in and in my opinion GWS are in serious strife. They are seriously devoid of leadership. I guess that maybe this is in front of a camera, but Coniglio is just not a leader at all. He always look on edge, upset and is not inspiring at all. Cameron just looks like a extremely poor motivator as well.

I wouldn’t be thrilled watching that if I was a GWS fan. You look at the contrast between how Dimma speaks and it’s like night and day. Dew looks like a ripper too.

5 episodes in and in my opinion GWS are in serious strife. They are seriously devoid of leadership. I guess that maybe this is in front of a camera, but Coniglio is just not a leader at all. He always look on edge, upset and is not inspiring at all. Cameron just looks like a extremely poor motivator as well.

I wouldn’t be thrilled watching that if I was a GWS fan. You look at the contrast between how Dimma speaks and it’s like night and day. Dew looks like a ripper too.
I don't get why they took the Captaincy off Phil Davis? they make a GF under his leadership maybe thought Coniglio would be a better leader than he actually is you don't fully till you have job & pressure of being captain obviously signing a huge contract has pressure too.

I guess the concern is that it was part of the incentive to remain at the Giants. It’s just speculation on my end but that’s what my inkling towards the situation is.

I reckon there's a good chance they might've won a premiership by now with a good coach.

Think he’ll grow into the role, but he doesn’t seem to have a great mentor in Cameron.

Don’t rate him at all after this.

Yeah, I got pretty tired of Cameron's "come here lad, let me tell you a story" schtick.

Naive question here but can someone explain the different roles the CEO and President play at a footy club?

Peggy O'Neal seemed like she did sweet f**K all compared to Gale
President sits on the board and runs them to decide on strategy etc. CEO runs the day-to-day.

Tbh, I don't think many presidents are as visible on the grounds as Peggy is. Don't think she really needs to, she probably just likes being around.

Sloane and Betts come across as particularly likeable, as does Stewie Dew. I liked Leon Cameron more before watching this.

President is the volunteer role usually you don't get paid it's not like America. As President of the Board you have the most power out of the Board members.. You employ the CEO who works for the club & gets paid & does the heavy lifting day to day works with GM of Football who both usually reports to the board members about matters regarding the football club & football department CEO is usually in most cases the more public role. In Making Their Mark you clearly see Brendon Gale on video conference calls with the President & Board.

Like with the AFL Gillon McLachlan is pretty much the face of the AFL he gets paid a huge money you barely see or hear from the Chairman/President

President sits on the board and runs them to decide on strategy etc. CEO runs the day-to-day.

Tbh, I don't think many presidents are as visible on the grounds as Peggy is. Don't think she really needs to, she probably just likes being around.

Cheers team makes more sense to me now 👍

"All you guys sitting here are the leaders of the group"
Everyone's standing.
Twice he said sitting. Nobody was sitting.

That was just one of many eye roll moments from him.

"All you guys sitting here are the leaders of the group"
Everyone's standing.
Twice he said sitting. Nobody was sitting.

That was just one of many eye roll moments from him.
hmmm...are you referring to this?

if so, well...just a figure of speech, no biggie, imo
or could be another occasion, I don't have photographic memory.

3 episodes in...finding it all a bit Meh to be honest.

Eddie Betts the one with personality and kind of gives it some value. Love him.

Sloane, NicNat and even Coniglio all seem like really good people, but they’re boring.

And I don’t really get the Peggy O’Neal and Gale focus with Richmond. Adds nothing.

Not exactly hating many of the individuals, but just seems like it would be better just following one club around, like Year Of The Dogs.

I really liked ‘The Test’ so was keen for this but not impressed.

Each to their own I guess.
The series was suppose to follow Peggy O'Neal as it followed the others all the way through. However, when Covid hit and she remained in Melbourne it shifted focus to Brendon Gale. Then, as Benny was back and forth between Qld and Vic, it incorporated Hardwick into the picture. I can agree the insight into Peggy was not overly enlightening, but I thought the CEO perspective Gale brought was very good.

I thought both were good - you can see enough to know that Peggy is a strong leader at the very high level, and Gale is living it day to day.

watching Freo vs GWS today can't help thinking...that Leap of Faith just fizzled out to.....nothing....i'd imagine there's tons more material for it but must have been so drab that besides the intro by Cogs, then ONE showing of it with Heater...then.....Nada after that......NADA....i can't remember seeing anyone else doing it.

Watching the Cogs scenes are almost unbearable. The bloke sounds like he's about to burst into tears every time he speaks. A bloody good player, but not much of a leader.

His self esteem seems incredibly low and I don't think even he believes the things he says.

Watching the Cogs scenes are almost unbearable. The bloke sounds like he's about to burst into tears every time he speaks. A bloody good player, but not much of a leader.

His self esteem seems incredibly low and I don't think even he believes the things he says.
was very cringey. Like the lawyer in the castle trying to plead his case

Toast Making Their Mark