Malcolm Blight to Coach St.Kilda ?

geelong4eva

Apr 19, 2000
australia
Following Wayne Brittain's decision to sign for 3 years with Carlton, I have heard that St.Kilda led by the new administration is making a last minute pitch for ol Mal to take over the coaching reins at st.kilda, and my mail (eddie speak here !) is that if he lands the job, he's going to steal a couple of players from across the border (not Shaun Rehn) with him to St.Kilda. The Latest whisper is that Brendon Lade will be playing for St.kilda no matter what next year, and Aussie Jones is finished at St.kilda (if malcolm indeed is appointed coach)

Blight is on record as saying the only two clubs he would be interested in coaching would be Sydney or Brisbane.

He wouldn't coach the Saints in a million years - he is still pissed off at the way they treated his old mate Stan Alves in 1998 and he has been a strident critic of Saint Kilda in the media several times this season alone.

The Saints are looking at people like Brian Royal, Darren Crocker and Greg Hutchison - those kinds of guys.

On Austinn Jones - get rid of him I say, I reckon he would have been the most dissapointing player on their list since 1997. It's a measure of the guys selfishness and unprofessionalism that he has gone AWOL since the club resigned him on very lucrative terms in 97.

What do you reckon sainter ?

Crocker would be great... but experience may count against him...

Didn't Blight say "you would have to be an idiot to coach St Kilda" or something like that, in the middle of the year.

eek.gif
biggrin.gif
eek.gif
biggrin.gif
eek.gif
biggrin.gif
eek.gif

Can't see Blight coaching Saints for reasons stated above.

Here in Adelaide it's been said the Carlton boys were very keen on Malcolm, but I can't see Blighty coaching within a million miles of Elliot, lol.

Also, people here are saying how disappointed we'd be if Blighty coaches ANYWHERE next year, after saying he was burnt out in 1999. Maybe after a year or two it would be more acceptable.

I am fully aware that Blighty made those infamous comments about St.Kilda a few months ago, but i can distinctly remember Blight giving the Adelaide Crows a bake during 1996 and he coached them the next year ! No since Plympton and most of the board which sacked Stan Alves is gone, I think Blighty has every reason to coach st.kilda. Imagine if he got up and managed to coach the Saints to a couple of Grand Final appearances (like with Geelong and Adelaide) History will regard him as the greatest coach of all time. This might be biased, but i believe that Malcolm Blight is the greatest Coach to have coached the game in the last 50 years at least, and St.Kilda would be stupid not to go after him.

We have definitely chased Blight and while he declined, he has assisted in our search for a coach. Apparently it was at his direction that we do everything in our power to attract Wallace or Pagan to St Kilda.

Bloodstained Angel, as for Aussie Jones I think he took his first step forward as a player since 1997. I think he is worth persisting with, and has played a lot better since Neil Roberts has acted a mentor to him. It depends on the new coach. I do agree with you that he has been disappointing and last year has to be his last year unless he improves drastically.

I have heard the Lade rumour too and I would be very happy with him. There is no doubt we need another ruckman to work with Spider and I think somoene like Lade has enormous potential. News from our forum is that we will trade one (or even both) of the Wakelins back to Port.

But first things first, we need a coach! With trading starting Monday, it is getting far too late. That is why I have no doubt that if Brian Royal is not appointed coach, it has to come from Essendon and that means a Mark Harvey or even a Robert Shaw or Terry Daniher.

Let's hope it is Choco Royal!
biggrin.gif

The Malcolm Blight discussion brought back some memories from either last year or 1998 on the Footy Show where they tried to 'Get Blight' - does anyone remember whatever happened to that, did he ever do an Interview with Sam and Eddie?

I remember there were specific items to entice him, one was a Nagano 1998 Winter Olympics C7 jumper - anyone remember the rest?

I don't know why, but I just cn't imagine Malcolm Blight coaching StKilda.

The difference to Adelaide and Geelong is that both sides had both underachieved with the talent at there disposal. (not saying that StKilda haven't) Blight took over both sides who were chock full of talent and at their peak, but were still out of the finals. He got them to Grand Finals in his first year because he got the most out of the masses of talent he had to work with.

ie Geelong - Ablett, Couch, Hocking, Bairstow, Stoneham (at peak), Brownless (yes, he was a very good footballer)

Adelaide - Bickley, Jarman, McLeod, Robram, Smart, Hart, etc

At StKilda, they are actively re-building a side which only 3 years ago were at there peak. I reckon it will take 2 or 3 years before they will make the finals again, no matter who coaches them. I don't think Malcolm Blight wants that sought of challenge at this stage in his life.

As for Aussie. I have to say that he is one of my favourite players in the league. I'd hate to see the AFL lose someone as talented as he is. Despite his troubles, he is only 23 and I believe the best kick, either foot, on the run in the competition, he just has to get it a bit more. He is a cult hero at StKilda and I reckon that most Saint fans would hate to see him go, especially if he plays well for another club.

I understand he has signed a 2 year deal at StKilda, so if they don't trade him, they will stick with him for another 2 year, I'm sure of it.

Having said that, if he was traded to Geelong, I'd take him any day. Our midfield, while young and quick, lacks the ability to kick. Someone with a bit of experience would be invaluble, especially now that Hocking and Kilpatrick are coming to the end of their careers.

To GoEagle: I'm pretty sure The Footy Show thing with Blighty stopped because of Malcolm's threat of legal action.

He did do an interview after one of the Grand Finals and Sam looked a bit sheepish in the presence of the Messiah! lol.

Drakey,

Why aren't I surprised that you hate Robert Shaw?
biggrin.gif

I do agree with you, it would be ANOTHER step backwards by our board to hire him. Apparently he has been an excellent assistant coach for Essendon, providing heaps of info on opposition teams. But as a senior coach, no thanks!

Lade would be a great acquistion and from all reports Porter and Alessio are trade material. All would be welcomed at St Kilda, bearing in mind that they would most probably alternate between ruck/forward line with Spider Everitt.

As for losing the Wakelins, I would hate to lose either of them. But like a lot of twins, I think it would be almost impossible to get rid of one without the other following. We found this out with the Gowans twins last year who are now playing in the SANFL. Darryl is our Vice-Captain while Shane was out for most of the year injured. They are old Port Adelaide boys and while I would love to keep them, they are good trade bait and we HAVE to make some tough decisions.

Malcolm Blight to Coach St.Kilda ?