Malcolm should do everyone a favor and Sack Austinn Jones

• Thread starter Thread starter Turlough

Turlough

He is the most laziest, arrogant and stuck up player and St.kilda apparently and isn't a good influence on teh players. The Saints tried to trade Aussie to Geelong 2 years ago, but thankfully the Cats were smart enough to realize that a bad chock doesn't change his ways at a new club. if it was me, i would have kept Tony Brown and delisted Aussie Jones or perhaps i am being too harsh

I'd have to agree with you
Aussie hasnt done anything for a long time and he's definitely gotta be on his last life at the Saints

He has had his 15 minutes of fame
wink.gif

Yeah, Tony Brown is pretty stiff in my opinion. The Saints have been stifled by players who think that they are bigger than the club. Best weed them out, and if Aussie is one of them, then SEEYA LATER!!

blighty has austinn jones in his sights at the moment. he has already told him to get fair dinkum or piss off and fair enough to. it is disapointing to see a bloke that has a heap of talent squander it with a poor attitude. i wonder if he knows that most blokes would give their left knacker to play league footy. if only we could put an old wise head onto his young shoulders to make him realise how lucky he really is. aussie wont be the last player to squander all his opportunities because of the piss.

fortunately he has a season to turn things around. last year he showed glimpses of his best. maybe blighty can instill some discipline into him. i hope so because aussie running down the wing and kicking either foot from fifty is an exciting sight for saints supporters.

Firstly, Tony Brown was not stiff at all. He had underachieved for a few years and did not deserve to retain his place on the list. He is playing for Port in the SANFL this year and I wish him all the best.

As for Aussie Jones, we all know he is on his last chance. Blight has a history of singling out players and bringing the best out of them. Wisely in my opinion, he has put him on notice in the public eye. He gave Aus the opportunity to either walk away from the club or lift his workrate and make the most of his last chance. I'm prepared to give him a go this year. If he isn't good enough, I'm pleased that we have the depth to cover him.

Besides, none of us really know about the drinking habits of Aussie Jones. As someone who knows nothing about the inner sanctum of the St Kilda Football Club Turlough, I don't think you know how lazy, arrogant or stuck up he is.

And in regards to him having his 15 seconds of game, I can think of players from every team who could be included in the same category. Including Richmond.

------------------
Fortius Quo Fidelius - Strength Through Loyalty

Its a pity Austinn lost his pace because that was his advantage. I used to deal with his father through work.

He stated in 1998 that the fitness coach had bulked him up too much and he was starting to get injured. This was because he could not acclerate out of trouble .

I agree with him its a shame that he couldent become one of the greats of the game but I personaly think he has done well to stay at the club for the last 2 years. But I dont think that he will get picked up if he was to be put up for trade. Maybe he could go back to Beacy they would pay him enough. Plus it's closer to the Berwick pub for him. Only stooging.

As for the comment that he has had his 15min of fame . He was probably the best for the Saints in the 1997 grand final. Grand finals of the modern era last over two hours these days just to let you know Richmondfan#1 that means the the entire Richmond list of the last 19 years has those 15min's safely in the fame bank. (Except the drug taker he used his up in that tearfull/pathetic display.)

Go the Skull !!!
J.I.T.C
THE DOC..

Originally posted by sainter:

And in regards to him having his 15 seconds of game, I can think of players from every team who could be included in the same category. Including Richmond.

OK Sainter, humour me!!!

Who do you think has outstayed his welcome at the Tigers?

I'll open the batting with Nick Daffy. Has shown he has the ability but has underpeformed the past few seasons. (Note: His preseason form - for what it is worth - has been pretty good).

Nonetheless, he has been way overpaid for the level of performances he has provided and would want to repay that this year of could find himself gone!

------------------
TigerFury.net - Independant Richmond Tigers website

Unlike most of you, I think that Aussie has a ton of talent, and in a different environment could probably prove it. He obviously has problems with discipline, but I personally wouldn't mind him down at bomberland. A lot of essendon fans may disagree with me there, but I think with a new bunch of blokes (who are very disciplined and dedicated) he might pull his head in. On the other hand you could argue that one bad apple.....

Originally posted by sainter:

Settle down sainter, i was joking. He had about 5 years of fame
smile.gif

Blight is not the sort of coach to put up with too much nonsense from players.

i dont think either of Jones or Charles will last beyond 5 rounds.

I notice that the Saints have 3 Rookies in their squad today. Perhaps the replacements have already been determined!!

Joey

Originally posted by CJH:
OK Sainter, humour me!!!

Who do you think has outstayed his welcome at the Tigers?

I'll open the batting with Nick Daffy. Has shown he has the ability but has underpeformed the past few seasons. (Note: His preseason form - for what it is worth - has been pretty good).

Nonetheless, he has been way overpaid for the level of performances he has provided and would want to repay that this year of could find himself gone!

cjh, i'll humour you

its hard for any richmond player to have had 15 minutes of fame considering they are the worst performed side over the last 20 years. having said that consider these names daffy, bourke, broderick, gale, knights, holland and torney.

Completely agree with you there TD!

I'd have him at Geelong anyday as well, and I reckon that's exactly what he needs, a change in scenery, Mitchell White, Mal Michael and Jarrod Molloy will be testament to that this season.

Aussie is one of those rare talents that shouldn't be wasted. He has proven he has what it takes at the top level. Perhaps he does enjoy a drink, perhaps he is stuck up and just perhaps he is one of those players that doesn't take well to criticism or being told what to do, when he knows in his mind exactly what should be done.

Gary Ablett was exactly the same, he hated being told what to do, and when you left him to his own game, he would be at his best. Don't get me wrong, Aussie is no Gary Ablett, during and let's hope once his career is over. Aussie does have one thing that Ablett lacks, a brain, and what's more he knows how to best use it.

In his 6 years at Geelong, Blight only uttered one sentence to Ablett, at the start of 1993 he said "Gary, it's time to slow down, how would you like to play full forward?" he would go on to kick 120+ goals in 16 games.

Blight can get into the physche of players, if he thinks Aussie is not going to succeed at StKilda he will offer him as a trade, I'm sure there will be a number of clubs lining up for his services.

He has to step up this year or he is gone. I am surpirised he has lasted this long. Its a shame because a few years ago he was so good.

gocatsgo & TD

I think the chance that he could indeed re-prove that he is a good afl player at another club is one of the main reasons we still have him. Clearly he has talent, so it's better for us to persevere for another season than to give him up either cheaply of for free & run the risk of him haunting us for years to come.

I think it is pretty pointless to be slagging him off at the moment, yeh, fair enough he's on notice, but the bloody season hasn't even begun.

I certainly hope he has a good year, then if the powers that be decide that he can go, at least they'll have a chance to trade for him rather than just throw him on the scrapheap.

Obviously my mob want & need to improve. We have to get the utmost out of all our players, if that means that we have to work harder to develop certain individuals than others, so be it. There are heaps of people who work for footy clubs in numerous off-field roles, I want ours to prove their worth by harnessing the talent of not just Jones, but Everitt, Hall & Charles.