Malthouse blames umpires......AGAIN!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Gouldy

Of course it swung that game. :rolleyes:
Give me a friggin' break.

Why not look at how many down hill skiiers Collingwood have in their best 22, and when the whips are cracking, they go missing - every single time.

You guys need more blokes like Marty Clarke and Heath Shaw, blokes who put their nuts on the line, week in, week out.
pity for him... this week his nuts were being severely squirrel gripped by the one and only gibbs

is there a sign in your bag that reads:

Rnd 4
Carlton 6.0 10.2 12.6 17.9 (111)
Collingwood 3.4 6.6 7.9 13.10 (88)

Rnd 12
Carlton 2.7 3.10 9.13 17.17 (119)
Collingwood 1.4 5.8 9.13 12.17 (89)

:rolleyes:

Guh, the umpiring was sh*t all day, for both Carlton and Collingwood, although I do admit, there were some absolute shockers that we got rewarded for.

Still, Malthouse needs to learn to take it on the chin and take his aggression out on the players verbally, not through the media.

:thumbsd:

Nah come off it mate, Mick is WELL within his rights to complain about the umpiring today.

They changed the game and completely swung it in your favour in the third quarter. That free kick in the goal square against Wakelin.. You gotta be kidding me, that was just disgraceful... And that was the turning point in the match I reckon.

At that point it was about 15-13 frees and by the end of the quarter it was something like 21-15.. And yer, from that point, just about every umpiring decision went your way, for example the Medhurst one cost us a goal, Fevola tripped O'Brien in the goalsquare and then kicked the goal and a free was not given etc etc.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not blaming the umpires for our loss, we should have won the match anyway when we were getting on top - we missed about 7 or 8 easy shots that we should've kicked in the third quarter which cost us dearly.. But yer I'm just saying Mick is well within his rights to be complaining about that horrible umpiring today, it did play a big role in the final result.

That free kick was clearly there, he was slung to the ground after he kicked it, something which the umpires have been tough on outlawing all year..

I just said I'm not blaming them :rolleyes: It's our own fault that we didn't convert our chances when we should have.

Read bold in first quote - you sure you are not blaming them lol

And yes, you're right, Swan was tackled in time to stop him, HOWEVER, he was slung down AFTER he got rid of it, meaning it is a free kick to him even if he didn't correctly dispose of it. It's a free kick 10 times outta 10 man.

Slung my arse - he had no idea why he got free!

What a bunch of sooks.:D
Your club will never win another premiership with Mick at the Helm.
Too many excuses and complaining, not taking ownership of your loss much like Mark Williams at Port.

As a supporter I would be pretty embarrassed at those comments.

Blues were just too good for you today, outclassed you in all areas of the ground.

Did you enjoy your spanking?

(By the way I picked carlton by 40...pretty close:):thumbsu:) And anymore pics of the pies sooking? Their a crack up lol

lica_mick,0.jpg
[/quote]

Of course it swung that game. :rolleyes:
Give me a friggin' break.

Why not look at how many down hill skiiers Collingwood have in their best 22, and when the whips are cracking, they go missing - every single time.

You guys need more blokes like Marty Clarke and Heath Shaw, blokes who put their nuts on the line, week in, week out.
Well it did swing the game didn't it... That Fisher free kick was huge, it put you guys within 2 goals if I remember correctly. To me it was the turning point in the match.. It gave your boys confidence and they just went on a run from there.

But you're right, some of our players were quite disappointing today. You should add Medhurst to that list though.. He's one of our guys who puts in every single thing he's got every match.

Well it did swing the game didn't it... That Fisher free kick was huge, it put you guys within 2 goals if I remember correctly. To me it was the turning point in the match.. It gave your boys confidence and they just went on a run from there.

But you're right, some of our players were quite disappointing today. You should add Medhurst to that list though.. He's one of our guys who puts in every single thing he's got every match.

We should have been about 6 goals up at quarter time and were spanking your mob all over the ground, dont give me that crap that 1 decision turned the game around, give me a break.

You were well and truly beaten, now go eat some humble pie.

recipe_apple_pie_16_large.jpg

And yes at least Medhurst showed a bit, albeit a very limited amount.

Every time the pies loose he's blaming something trying to divert attention from his side performance,iam sick of it.Just take it on the chin,when your not good enough..your not good enough!

The umpiring was crap both ways,it prob worked out 50:50 in the end!

Medhurst did play well today, to my frustration.
Would have been one of your best.

I find it incredibly hard to believe that one free kick could change the course of a game. We were coming, and I do believe that Collingwood simply ran out of legs in the last quarter - that, and Judd really stood up in that last quarter.

choker-1.jpg

This is one of the reasons why the Collingwood Football Club continues to disappoint. As a club they have always been prepared to blame crucial losses on anyone but themselves . In 1979 it was the boundary umpire's fault. In 2002 & 2003, it was the AFL's fault for allowing salary cap concessions to the Lions and today it was the umpires' fault.

Unfortunately, the media & their supporters, allow them to get away with this constant deflection, instead of seeking answers to why they keep coming up short. Will anyone ask why Malthouse continues to think he can make a KP defender out of Harry O? Or why Wakelin is still getting a game? Or why Bryan is getting a game ahead of Cam Wood, who was traded for a 1st round pick? Instead of 'fawning' over the occasional bit of Thomas brilliance, how about asking why this kid doesn't have the stamina to play 4 quarters of football. When is Josh Fraser going to be held more accountable? We have seen question marks over the performances of Murphy & Gibbs, by some in the media, particularly last year & even at times this year, yet Fraser, who is now in his 9th season of AFL football, continues to go under the radar.

Despite the media's love affair with Collingwood & the constant over-rating of the playing list by its supporters, the fact is, this Collingwood team is very similar to Collingwood teams of the late '70s & early '80s. Short on talent, but able to 'scrap' well, often enough, to make the 8. When they come up against a team that 'scraps' as well, but also has a handful of A-graders eg Judd, Fev, Murphy, they continue to be found wanting.

Today was yet another reality check for the Collingwood Football Club. Will they learn anything from it? Not if Malthouse continues to blame everyone else but himself & the players for losses like today's loss.

the original contact was to the shoulder/chest and then murphy ducked

but the point of the thread is that, ok the umpiring was poor both ways, but really... we won by 5 goals. mick blaming the umpires is poor form

Murphy is his own worst enemy when it comes to not getting these frees. He continually tries to sucker the umpire by contorting his body or throwing his head back... he's gotten away with it for a couple of seasons, but now the umpires are on to it, and are now less likely to give him frees. Before you take potshots at Lloyd or Thomas, take a look at Murph first.

I have to agree with this. The problem he's now facing is that he's getting hit high and not getting free kicks because of this.

Has anyone bothered to watch the press conference.... I take it no...

You all just take one persons word and run with it for 5 pages, how bout you do some research.

"I think you make an excuse for the side, if that's the case, and it takes too much away from how good Carlton was," he said, when asked if his players are lethargic.

"I'm not embarrassed to say they were better than us. We were flogged around the stoppages and they went forward and kicked goals.

"We were murdered in the contested ball, in the hard-ball gets. I thought they were very good, which you'd expect given the personnel they've got there.

"We couldn't match them, and that's disappointing." - MM

"We were murdered in the contested ball, in the hard-ball gets. I thought they were very good, which you'd expect given the personnel they've got there."

Read: "I'm totally awesome but my players are just not good enough."