fugitive

Aug 3, 2002
Brisbane Lions
I would have to say that Mick Malthouse is the most uptight coach in the league he always looks tense & hardly ever smiles plus most of his comments tend to be stingy as if Eddie McGuire has got a throttle around his neck.

Similarly Mark Williams but even he smiles every now & then Does anyone agree??

Mick must have been pretty bloody tense at West Coast because he has lightened up about 1000 degrees since he went to Collingwood.

I agree that Mark Williams rates highly on the gruff scale.

Choco never smiles in the coaches box, but he's always jovial at the press conference after a win. This is when he drops most of his amusing comments.

Mick couldnt have picked two more tense places to coach.

WC in the early days when they had the whole state's expectation that, basically the WA state side, should win a flag or two.

Now at Collingwood, where every year the supporters have unrealistic expectations, and even the most mongrel-punt kicking, soft handed, busted knee, wonky shoulder, broken down player is seen as a demi god. Few groups of people have wanted something so much, to acheive so little. Thats why he doesnt smile.......and......

because his daughter is shagging the captain. ;)

Micks a comedian now compared to his personality while coaching WC. Poor old Mick........ only Matthews could beat the Colliwobbles.

Originally posted by grayham
Now at Collingwood, where every year the supporters have unrealistic expectations...
Our "unrealistic" expectation of making the finals this year was surpassed.

...even the most mongrel-punt kicking...busted knee...broken down player is seen as a demi god.
Sounds very much like a player that was traded by Sydney to Collingwood. He has a right to a Demi-God status.

because his daughter is shagging the captain. ;)
The wink doesn't make you any less of a troll.

I have a few problems with this thread:

first off, is it really a problem though that he is tight?? he took us to 2 flags and 10 consecutive finals series, and has made significant imporvement in his time at the pies.

WC in the early days when they had the whole state's expectation that, basically the WA state side, should win a flag or two.

Which is what we did, so the expectation was justified.

Few groups of people have wanted something so much, to acheive so little.

How have we achieved so little?? 2 flags and 10 finals appearances in a row is pretty good achievement if you ask me!!

Originally posted by FIGJAM
The wink doesn't make you any less of a troll.

why is everyone that doesn't say Collingwood are the greatest team of all-time (which they aren't) considered to be a troll :rolleyes:

Originally posted by hourn

How have we achieved so little?? 2 flags and 10 finals appearances in a row is pretty good achievement if you ask me!!

I was talking about Collingwood there. He has coached at two clubs with enourmous expectations, but so far has delivered at only one - WC.

Originally posted by stefoid
I agree. Mark Williams is a pompos self-satisified twat when his side wins and grumpy sook when they loose.
Now don't hold back, say what you really think.

I think MM is so lose now compared to how he was in West that he is almost average for a coach now. He is very intense at times but the ones that aren't are no good. He was just a grumpy, defensive pain in the arse when at West Coast. I think Eddie has made sure he understands a little more about marketing now he is at Collingwood.

why is everyone that doesn't say Collingwood are the greatest team of all-time (which they aren't) considered to be a troll :rolleyes:
Re read the post. He was making a liablist claim about MM's daughter. Why is that you assume he was being an unreasonable Collingwood supporter?

we dont expect non-pie fans to do so hourn. the remark was a slur on Christi and Bucks that has been going around for months(and indeed years with players and wives names changed every season to suit ***** stirrers). its a pathetic attempt to appear witty.

Collingwood did reasonably well this year which warranted that Malthouse could have relaxed a bit..but even after making the grand final he looked so grim sitting on the couch on the last episode of talking footy & looked angry when Matthews interrupted him after talking aimlessly about the salary cap.

I just get the feeling that as soon as he arrived at Collingwood he inherited that Collingwood attitude that the whole world is against them.

I just get the feeling that as soon as he arrived at Collingwood he inherited that Collingwood attitude that the whole world is against them. [/B][/QUOTE]

He is very perceptive then :)

amortiser

When Mick Malthouse first arrived at Collingwood i was a bit scared of him coz he comes across as a real strict scary mean type of man but to my surprise when i went over to say gday to him he was such a nice man signing a poster for me and even put his arm round me for a photograph!

I think Leigh Mathews is a prick to meet in person and comes across as quite cranky all the time in the media now however i do respect a lot of his footballing opinions!

Malthouse most uptight??