- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Richmond
- Other Teams
- Melbourne Heart, Furies
Just going to comment on that crackers.
rofl @ peternorth.

rfctigerarmy said:Just going to comment on that crackers.
rofl @ peternorth.![]()

peternorth said:was waiting for someone to bring me up on that
busted!
FWIW I dont think im better than anyone else because of what i used to drive.
as for safe distance between cars, spot on what others have said. besides its allows you to overtake safely if theres a need to do so.
on reflection maybe i should learn to drive a manual because others say so.
crackers57 said:Besides I think you could pick up a '78 Merc. for about 5 grand.

Exactly my point! Some people can multi-task a lot better than others can, while others worry about changing gears because they need things to be very easy for them to be able to relax. I find it very relaxing to drive a 6-speed manual myself, and I don't worry about changing gears whatsoever because it just happens naturally to me without thinking about it at all.Cassius_Clay said:Incorrect. I have a manual license.
I want to relax while driving not worry about changing gears.
Manuals have better performance and are slightly more fuel efficient than autos. While you may save a couple of grand on new manual cars, used manuals hold their value well and are usually similar, if not higher, priced than used automatics.Papa G said:Most serious sports cars are manual. Manuals are much more fun to drive.
), the enjoyment factor of driving is gone, when you can't just cruise. KissStephanie said:Exactly my point! Some people can multi-task a lot better than others can, while others worry about changing gears because they need things to be very easy for them to be able to relax. I find it very relaxing to drive a 6-speed manual myself, and I don't worry about changing gears whatsoever because it just happens naturally to me without thinking about it at all.

guess_who said:Manual - nothing more frustrating than being stuck at lights on a relatively steep hill and having nob jocks pull up within 5 cms of my rear!
Why do you direct messages to me? Are you that desperate for a little attention? Are you still cut because I made you look foolish in a footy thread last season? No wonder you get banned from various boards here on BigFooty.ICan'tDressMyself said:Gee you pile loads of crap into one post to make it look respectable.
Nothing's changed Stephanie.![]()

KissStephanie said:Why do you direct messages to me? Are you that desperate for a little attention? Are you still cut because I made you look foolish in a footy thread last season? No wonder you get banned from various boards here on BigFooty.
It is relaxing for me to drive a 6-speed manual, and there is not any crap about it. Can you prove that it isn't? It is my opinion that some people need things to be very easy for them to be able to relax, while others can relax while multi-tasking, and this board is a place for opinions.
You're right...nothings changed, but if you'd like to change things starting right now by not directing anymore messages toward me, then that would be great! If you're that lonely, go and buy a dog.![]()
Oh and you didn't make a fool out of me on the Collingwood board, you were wrong
I had numerous PM's from Collingwood fans saying that you were talking ****

Cassius_Clay said:Auto.
Seriously who the **** would drive a manual car unless its a money issue?
....ahh what a waste!Unwritten_Law said:Have none of my fellow manual drivers heard of a handbrake?![]()
Alternatively you can hold your position with the clutch and accelerator although I think they left that one out of the driving manual for a reason...
If I lived in a big city and had to endure peak hour traffic I would buy myself an auto.
What are you on about? You may not use three paragraphs because you have no intention of sticking to a topic as your post shows. I do though, so then I used three paragraphsICan'tDressMyself said:Haha see what I mean? You didn't need 3 paragraphs to get your point across!
I did make a fool out of you on the Collingwood board, so of course you didn't receive "numerous PM's" at all, especially as people replied directly into the thread with their opinion of your ignorance, and that says a lot more of course.ICan'tDressMyself said:Oh and you didn't make a fool out of me on the Collingwood board, you were wrong. I had numerous PM's from Collingwood fans saying that you were talking ****.
PS. I have 2 dogs
It's easy to avoid rolling back, and better for the car to use a handbrake to start up a hill of course.Unwritten_Law said:Have none of my fellow manual drivers heard of a handbrake?![]()
Yes because 'riding the clutch' and keeping it partially engaged like that when not in use can prematurely wear the disc. It's best to not use the clutch at all except for changing gears.Unwritten_Law said:Alternatively you can hold your position with the clutch and accelerator although I think they left that one out of the driving manual for a reason...
I spend time in two busy American cities, and we drive on the 'wrong' side of the car and the 'wrong' side of the road here, but I still wouldn't drive an automatic!Unwritten_Law said:If I lived in a big city and had to endure peak hour traffic I would buy myself an auto.
KissStephanie said:What are you on about? You may not use three paragraphs because you have no intention of sticking to a topic as your post shows. I do though, so then I used three paragraphs
I did make a fool out of you on the Collingwood board, so of course you didn't receive "numerous PM's" at all
especially as people replied directly into the thread with their opinion of your ignorance, and that says a lot more of course. The fact that you're banned from various boards on BigFooty supports it too. Do you always get cut when you're made a fool of? I thought that you'd be used to it by now.
You do realise people who just read and don't post outweigh the people who read and DO post don't you? I had PM's from people I didn't know saying that you had no idea what you were talking about - and they were Collingwood fans! Your theory was ridiculous and many people saw that. If you have two dogs, then why are you so lonely for attention? Why do you message me directly? Craving human attention are you? Since you are going to continue this, and not stick to a topic of a thread, then I'm going to ban you as BigFooty has. You're on ignore now, so go and seek someone else for attention. Have a nice life now sunshine.![]()

volcboy said:Manual
They use less fuel
The gearboxes cost less to fix, or are easier to fix yourself
You have greater control over your vehicle (esp. with synchro)
They aren't 'dodgem cars' (with a 'go' and 'stop' pedal)
What the deuce? said:That parts not an issue for me (given that I am female) but I absolutely *hate* driving auto's. I've had both an auto car and a manual - which I currently drive. I much prefer the manual. I get bored driving auto's and like to be able to use the gears to slow down/speed up when I need to (no, I don't drive like a bogan or a hoon).
The few thousand dollar saving of buying a manual isn't an issue for me, but my next car will also be a manual.
To each their own.![]()
ICanDressMyself said:Auto.
Why would I want to manually move a stick around? There's so many things I can do with that other hand like eat a burger, put my arm out the window, slap my passenger etc
A few of my mates drive manuals basically beacuse they think it pulls the chicksand that it's more fun...
![]()
KissStephanie said:My 'new' car is a used 2004 GTi VR6 R32 all-wheel drive, and they were only released in a close-ratio 6-speed manual, and because of other factors and specs, I think it's quicker than a DSG. However, speed isn't an important factor to me, but a traditional clutch is though.
Just buy a regular Golf and save a pile of $$$$$.
).
Any other ideas?