Manual or automatic?

• Thread starter Thread starter Jeremias

I'm in New York City now, but I don't drive as much because of the 24 hour subway, but I do have a new car now. Because of the recession, the deal was too good to refuse, and I'm lucky enough to have free secure undercover parking in my building. I own a brand new 2009 VW GTI turbo 6-speed manual.

dscn4709large.jpg
dscn4695large.jpg

Nice Ride. :thumbsu:

Thanks for the update. :)

I recall a few NYC-raised actors talk about how they had never driven until they had to for a part they were playing. Michael Imperioli said he had never driven until he was on The Sopranos and crashed a Lexus on his first day. :eek: Fortunately for him HBO had a spare one waiting. :) Lucy Liu grew up in Queens and mentioned not having driven until she had to for Charlie's Angels IIRC. They both seemed to imply that it was fairly common for a New Yorker to never have driven; there being no real need to. You mention this in your post. You have pals who also have lived in NYC their whole life who have never driven and have no intention of ever doing so?

That is Sirius XM I am seeing? What's it like?

does it matter? as long as you feel comfortable/safe driving whatever you drive thats the most improtant thing.

i own a manual but will drive auto rental cars because my gf likes auto.

I drive an auto and it give me the shits. It's responsiveness is poor and the ability to control the revs is shocking. Gimme a manual any day.

Autos are good for traffic jams cos you don't need to be changing from neutral to first to neutral every few seconds, but apart from that they not much use apart from being for lazy drivers. They cost more, they consume more petrol and they're not good for driving up hills where you need to control the revs more easily.

One of my pet hates. Male auto drivers. The exceptions being;

* If your current car is an auto and it was either handed down to you, its a work car or you won it.
* If you drive for a living and have to drive within a busy city or area daily.
* If you have been driving manual for 20+ years and feel like a change/can't be bothered anymore/your too old for it.
* If you really don't like driving at all and drive the type of car which demonstrates this.

If you are male (females too really, but most of them would fit into the 4th point), drive an auto, and don't meet one or more of these, you are a lesser human being. If you don't meet any of these, are male, drive an auto, and drive a Commodore, Falcon, any such car with skirts, spoilers etc, you are a try hard poser.

That's rubbish.

IMO there's no real reason to drive manual unless you need to for work.

I drive a manual but I accidentally voted for automatic. So now I'm worried about whether I'm co-ordinated enough to drive a manual after all.

I drive a manual (due to cost, but not fussed either way), but I can't help but LOL at the manual drivers that think and act like they're superior beings ...

Spot on! Driving manual is something anyone can learn over a weekend really.

It's not like we're talking about splitting the atom here.

Manual for me.

Have you got any statistics to disprove it?

More people than not drive Automatic cars and I'd say about 90% of people go for manual licenses.

Having finished school last year, I dealt with pretty much the whole year going for their tests, I'd say half went for manual licences.

Pretty much every girl got an auto.

Auto blows. All of my vehicles are manual apart from the car which is an auto.

I love manuals and being in control of a vehicle.

I have a heavy vehicle licence, got it in a non synchromesh gear box truck, so I can double clutch.

Big footy must be made up of kids if this thread is anything to go by ...lol at claims of manuals being safer ..i have both auto and manual and my preference is always for auto ..it is much easier, and more comfortable to drive.

Boy racers love manuals ..until they grow up.

lol at people driving manuals thinking they are top shit for driving them

seriously, how ****ing hard can it be to learn to drive manual? I know a lot of dumbarses that were able to learn to drive manual. Seriously, it would be a piss of piss for a guy to learn it quickly - it is by no means some form of achievement in my opinion.

I just drive auto coz the family had an auto car when i started to learn how to drive.

agree with blues man also.

Auto all the way, Manual=more effort for no reward. Manual car 'elitists' can get a tad annoying too. Somehow think they are superior because they have to pull a stick while driving in the city. W***ers;)

2008 VW Golf GTI, Auto DSG with paddleshifters on the wheel if you want manual, way easier to use than you would think.

I didnt have a choice of manual or auto when getting the car as i got it 2nd hand, but I do prefer the auto, and the stats for the GTI seem to point toward the auto DSG being faster than the manual, so i'm not losing out on much, as if i want to shift I'll just use the paddles on the wheel :)

lol at people driving manuals thinking they are top shit for driving them

seriously, how ****ing hard can it be to learn to drive manual? I know a lot of dumbarses that were able to learn to drive manual. Seriously, it would be a piss of piss for a guy to learn it quickly - it is by no means some form of achievement in my opinion.

I just drive auto coz the family had an auto car when i started to learn how to drive.

agree with blues man also.

Not everyone can learn over the weekened, and if it were easy you would be driving one too. Its not something you just learn, your either born with the skill or not. Its like an ugly person trying to be good looking, you were born an un-co, don't be jelous of us who weren't.

Auto all the way, Manual=more effort for no reward. Manual car 'elitists' can get a tad annoying too. Somehow think they are superior because they have to pull a stick while driving in the city. W***ers;)

This is another example its not 'more effort' its just second nature. And as for thinking we are superior, of course we do, not everyone has the skills we do. Infact most don't...

if it were easy you would be driving one too. Its not something you just learn, your either born with the skill or not. Its like an ugly person trying to be good looking

My god.

And as for thinking we are superior, of course we do, not everyone has the skills we do. Infact most don't...

...my god.

I drive a truck for a living so I like to think I'm not some ******ed braindead lazy bogan or whatever these "manual elitists" think auto drivers are, but if I had the choice I'll always take the auto car.

Not everyone can learn over the weekened, and if it were easy you would be driving one too. Its not something you just learn, your either born with the skill or not.

If it were easy I would be driving one too?

How about this? You can fork out the money to pay for a manual car for me, and I will gladly get a manual license the day you pay for my car.

I'm a student, I drive the family car, which just so happens to be auto - your first sentence could not be more wrong.

As for the second sentence, that is so laughable that I won't bother to address it properly.

actually

hahahahahaha

'you were eitherborn with the skill or not'

wait

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHHAAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA

I cannot respect your intelligence if you whoelheartedly believe that statement.

Sure some people cannot drive manual as they don't have the skill, but to suggest that it's either/or.... good one :thumbsu::thumbsu::p:D

Not everyone can learn over the weekened, and if it were easy you would be driving one too. Its not something you just learn, your either born with the skill or not. Its like an ugly person trying to be good looking, you were born an un-co, don't be jelous of us who weren't.

Surely this is a joke...

That's like saying brushing your teeth is not something you just learn, you were either born with the skill or not.

Do all the manual elitists realise that once upon a time, not too long ago, EVERYONE had to drive a manual? People didnt start driving auto because they suddenly lost the "skill" to drive manual.

A mate of mine recently bought a late model S2000 which was auto. He brought it over to a mate's house one poker night and a few of the guys came out to see it. When some of them realised it was an auto they started laughing and bagging this bloke. I think you were there... Unbelieveable...

That's like saying brushing your teeth is not something you just learn, you were either born with the skill or not.

Isn't this true though? Collingwood fans are obviously not born with it. :D

This is another example its not 'more effort' its just second nature. And as for thinking we are superior, of course we do, not everyone has the skills we do. Infact most don't...

Congratulations for winning the award for least informed post on BigFooty.

One of my pet hates. Male auto drivers. The exceptions being;

* If your current car is an auto and it was either handed down to you, its a work car or you won it.
* If you drive for a living and have to drive within a busy city or area daily.
* If you have been driving manual for 20+ years and feel like a change/can't be bothered anymore/your too old for it.
* If you really don't like driving at all and drive the type of car which demonstrates this.

If you are male (females too really, but most of them would fit into the 4th point), drive an auto, and don't meet one or more of these, you are a lesser human being. If you don't meet any of these, are male, drive an auto, and drive a Commodore, Falcon, any such car with skirts, spoilers etc, you are a try hard poser.

I agree 100%:thumbsu: