Rumour Marc Murphy upset/targeted ?

Look, if we live in a perfectly world, these footballers would just play the game and not try to rile others up. You are perfectly right and I'm guilty of thinking certain topics can't be the subject of sledging and others can. I guess it'll never be stamped out because it is so heavily reliant on the reaction. So much racism was overlooked during the football of yesteryear because the victims innocently copped it. AFL is a reactionary sport - if 10 more players come out and have the same reaction and say that it is causing them mental health issues then such sledging will be stamped out.

Look it is a combative game and nobody expects players to be silent. But there are many other competitive areas in life.

Shout and yell all you like. Sledge for Australia. Just if you go out of your way to personally insult someone else and personally target someone you can expect a reaction back. The reaction may not be of your choosing. Live by the sword die by the sword. Tough shit for Carlise (if he did sledge) just like it was for Selwood years a go orback in the 80s the players who abused the Krakours or the Dees player Chris Lewis bit after copping it for years.

Footballers targeting women on and off the football field is still considered perfectly fine by some in our highly evolved civilisation, in fact, reacting to this makes you a coward.

No it makes him weak as piss.

Was he offended? Insulted? Who gives a shit? **** off with your hurt feelings you sobbing infant.

Nothing actually happens. Murphy doesn't go home and find his wife being picketed in the street for being loose.

Harden the **** up you pathetic excuse for a captain.

Carlisle wouldn't do it wwhen walking down the street, so why do it on a football field?
I'm guessing he doesn't tackle people walking down the street either.

What a ridiculous, hyperbolic reaction to something that happens in every football game ever played.

Look it is a combative game and nobody expects players to be silent. But there are many other competitive areas in life.

Shout and yell all you like. Sledge for Australia. Just if you go out of your way to personally insult someone else and personally target someone you can expect a reaction back. The reaction may not be of your choosing. Live by the sword die by the sword. Tough shit for Carlise (if he did sledge) just like it was for Selwood years a go orback in the 80s the players who abused the Krakours or the Dees player Chris Lewis bit after copping it for years.

Carlisle's not complaining. Don't know where you get that from...Murphy sooked to his team mgt and they spread a story via the media and now he doesn't even have the guts to take it further. St Kilda have said nothing. Saints fans booed Murphy and were quite entitled to do so. Saints players ragdolled him and good on them.

Its like footy culture as some weird unwritten rule book as what constitutes fair abuse and what is off limits. It is bizarre.
Society has an unwritten rule book.

What reality are you living in where football would/should be any different?

funny on SEN Gary Lyon and Tim Watson saying some things should be off bounds...

ironic or hypocrisy or false dichotomy cos both.

players like shagging, they wont be the first who have screwed mated girlfriends and wives. so if it is true or not about whitten, about west, and carey, and others, the overarching narrative is boys live thru their groins, and the females engage and enable their groins. its a funny interpretation of freedom. medusala

Love how those guys rewrite history.

Yes the game needed to be cleaned up and for most part they support it but at the same time they have completely re positioned their character and image. To protect their brand. At least Carey is honest and doesn't pretend to be someone else.

As to the shagging thing. So what? It is his private life. If I go up and insult someone or berate them about their lives in the street or at work I'm out of order. Why on a football field?

St Kilda nuffies on their board trying to claim Murphy spat on Carlisle and they're all buying into it :$:$:$

as opposed to the salty blue baggers wallowing in a loss claiming a great injustice about a supposed sledge when they dont even know what was said

It's clear what happened. Look at the carey rumour on this board

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

thats the bizarre thing. murphy isnt one to get so worked up. he's usually very measured and if anything far too reserved. for him to over-react like that and if it was the carey thing being referred too, does that confirm said rumour?

64 - 48 tackle count on the weekend. Carlton were cracking in harder than St Kilda were.

That often happens when you lose the contested ball count, clearances, and disposal count.

So no, Carlton were not 'cracking in harder than St Kilda'.

What's to defend? What did he do?

The flip side is what outcome do the nancy boys want from this episode? Carlisle to be suspended? Carlisle to apologise to a offended Murphy? Carlisle to apologise to Murphy's missus?

What exactly is the point of all this whinging other than to defend Murphy's gutless action?

Did Murphy make contact with Carlisle - No.
All he did was give him a spray when he was lying on the ground. Big bloody deal.

Society has an unwritten rule book.

What reality are you living in where football would/should be any different?

I very much agree. However the reason we have laws and a court system is you can't expect everyone to subscribe to and necessarily respect unwritten rules.

So what might be laughed off by one might be offensive to others.

If Carlisle dished out a personal sledge like that, then he has to cop it back. If you dish it out then you have to be prepared to take it.
Just on Carlisle, he's been pretty poor this year. I forgot he was even playing as he's been barely sighted since he was last seen during Round 1 chasing Jesse Hogan's shadow :drunk:

i dont think anyone has any issue with a player sledging them back

the issue is that murphy only gave it back to carlisle, when he was injured and unresponsive lying in the recovery position

if you're gonna give it back atleast make sure the bloke is looking you in the eye when you do it

speaks volumes about murphy and basically validates all of the criticism he has received over the years that he's far too soft and weak to be captain

Did you say that when Jobe cried?

Actually I saved my abuse for the fat tubs of shit in the Perth crowd.

Murphy might be a perfectly decent human being (I've never met him, don't know).

He's been a good to very good player for most of his career - but he's also a whiny little pissant not fit to lick the boots of many a Carlton captain of years past.

Love how those guys rewrite history.

Yes the game needed to be cleaned up and for most part they support it but at the same time they have completely re positioned their character and image. To protect their brand. At least Carey is honest and doesn't pretend to be someone else.

As to the shagging thing. So what? It is his private life. If I go up and insult someone or berate them about their lives in the street or at work I'm out of order. Why on a football field?

Yeh but if someone did that to you on the street, you would either ignore him, laugh it off and move on with you life or you would deck the bloke. You wouldn't wait around until he got whacked by someone else and then talk shit to him when hes lying on the ground in what looks like serious trouble.

I very much agree. However the reason we have laws and a court system is you can't expect everyone to subscribe to and necessarily respect unwritten rules.

So what might be laughed off by one might be offensive to others.

And do you honestly give a ****?

How did we seriously get to a point where potentially causing offense is a hot topic...

You miss the point, soft players don't tackle. You might understand that if you'd ever played a game of football.

Awwwwww look at you, internet hero.

How do you know I've never played a game of football.

And this comment was even more pathetic than the last.

Teams that are completely outplayed often lose the tackle count - mainly because winning teams aren't chasing their opponents as often.

Actually I saved my abuse for the fat tubs of shit in the Perth crowd.

Murphy might be a perfectly decent human being (I've never met him, don't know).

He's been a good to very good player for most of his career - but he's also a whiny little pissant not fit to lick the boots of many a Carlton captain of years past.

Ohhh right, so when Jobe is soft as **** you abuse those who make him cry. I'm getting a contradiction style vibe going on here.

Murphy's no Goddard when it comes to being a whiny pissant I think we can all agree.

You miss the point, soft players don't tackle. You might understand that if you'd ever played a game of football.

You did really well. So strong and brave. All those tackles. A great win for the mighty blues. Following in the big footsteps of your Captain. Actually, that would be a good description of your captain.

Ohhh right, so when Jobe is soft as **** you abuse those who make him cry. I'm getting a contradiction style vibe going on here.

Murphy's no Goddard when it comes to being a whiny pissant I think we can all agree.

Murphy is also no Goddard when it comes to being a player.

For some reason my perfectly on topic and relevant post was deleted.

When this kind of incident (player abusing an injured player on the ground) occurred before was there this much furore.

Haven't included the name this time

please tell me you're not referring to the clay smith incident where monty went up to wish him well?

Read some absolute crap about this. Two flogs, Carlisle and allegedly Carey create a shit storm over somebody else's private life..........ordinary humans. If you ran around and HARASSED somebody at work like that you would be fired in two seconds. The football field is Marc Murphy's workplace and a few complete jerks need to step into the 21st century.

If the football field is Murphy's workplace he should be sacked. Did nothing for the last qtr but sook. Captaincy should be stripped. Frogmarched off the field to the blissful boos from Saints fans.

Rumour Marc Murphy upset/targeted ?