Marcus Drum

• Thread starter Thread starter Kong

Your a hard man PO Corey's 28 years old,if he can get over the knee there's a bit of footy left in him.
Just remind me how old's Pods again?

dead right ypo....Pure has fallen into the "28 is old" trap. What can you expect from these young "whippersnappers"....Many players play some of their best footy during the 25-30 period and I agree with your comment on Joel Corey....he's just been around so long that people think he's old. 28 is NOT old...hard bodies and experience are invaluable....and I dont hear too many calling for Adam Goodes, Simon Black, Nick Riewoldt or Aaron Sandilands ( all over 28 yo ) to give it away just yet...I could name many more as well....

If his knee has recovered and I have no doubt Joel will be doing the hard yards in the gym, he has at least two good years left in him....he was brought back way too early last year IMO.

I saw Joel at the car wash the other day. I was going to ask him how his knee was going but I tend to let them be when I see any of them out in public. He was not limping and moving freely while walking if that helps.;)

Your a hard man PO Corey's 28 years old,if he can get over the knee there's a bit of footy left in him.
Just remind me how old's Pods again?

Corey not sure of his future with the knee. In any case he's not a key defender which is what I'm talking about, so it isn't relevant to this particular discussion. We have plenty of general defenders but not enough key defenders.

I know Pods is 29 and that's why I've advocated he should play if he's the best option but we need develop young KPF's for the future. The same thing applies at the other end of the ground. The alternative is 'Scarlett can play for another couple of years so we don't have to worry about developing a KPB'...of course we do.

Corey not sure of his future with the knee. In any case he's not a key defender which is what I'm talking about, so it isn't relevant to this particular discussion. We have plenty of general defenders but not enough key defenders.

I understand Corey isn't a key defender reason being he's not big enough I'm simple pointing out he's bigger than Drum,who you seem to insist is big enough to be a key defender.What am I missing here:confused:

I don't think it's just about height it's a number of other factors. After all Gillies is only 192 but he's clearly a key defender isn't he?

Corey wasn't recruited as a key defender and has basically never played this role at AFL level whereas Drum has done, and was probably recruited for that role that's all.

Not to mention my argument about young players for the future etc.

Corey wasn't recruited as a key defender and has basically never played this role at AFL level whereas Drum has done, and was probably recruited for that role that's all.

Yep, I could see Corey doing the Ian Nankervis and slotting into a back pocket.

But KPP? No way

It's not can you see Corey as a KPP rabbi can you see Drum as a KPP thats the question.

Has anyone had a good look at Drum play? I haven't, got no idea about him...apparently a high rated defender but has got a long way to go to even remotely establish himself amongst our A grade defense...

Hopefully he can step up, but i don't see him getting ahead of Lonergan or Taylor for a key position post. I think West is still in the mix for playing a more defensive orientated ruck role. I think Drum has got a big season of VFL in front of him.

Taylor, not a chance. Lonergan, easily if Drum can maintain a fitness base, has a strong preseason and performs in the NAB cup and/or VFL. That said though, Drum is smaller (190cm i believe) so it may not come down to Lonergan v Drum but probably Milburn v Drum.

Here's hoping that Drum finally gets the opportunity to match the potential he showed at Freo and the faith that Wells and Balme have showed in him, with his performances at the Cats.

After the tumultuous end of season we have had - if we had someone like Drum come good for us - it would be great. We do need a few new faces over the next 2 seasons and I am hoping that he was a top 10 draft pick for a reason. And that reason becomes more obvious in the coming season.

Corey's strength has been his tank; in the past he's been able to just keep running for an entire game, and rack up huge numbers. If his knee is now cactus for that purpose and he has to alter his game, I'm not convinced that his kicking is precise enough to play permanently out of defence. He's a weapon handball, yes - but he is prone to more than the occasional worm-burner which may work against him in a tight situation.

Taylor, not a chance. Lonergan, easily if Drum can maintain a fitness base, has a strong preseason and performs in the NAB cup and/or VFL. That said though, Drum is smaller (190cm i believe) so it may not come down to Lonergan v Drum but probably Milburn v Drum.

Here's hoping that Drum finally gets the opportunity to match the potential he showed at Freo and the faith that Wells and Balme have showed in him, with his performances at the Cats.
Dockers didn't use him much but played him as a floating tall in the backline , similar to how they play Silvagni now.
I see Drum more in the Milburn/ Harley role rather than a KPD - he can play on talls and smalls and seems to read the play well.

Dockers didn't use him much but played him as a floating tall in the backline , similar to how they play Silvagni now.
I see Drum more in the Milburn/ Harley role rather than a KPD - he can play on talls and smalls and seems to read the play well.

No offense but what evidence have you that he can play any position? He failed to make a fairly weak Freo side at the time and I would hardly see him being mentioned in the same breath as Milburn or Harley. To here talk of him replacing Lonergan is just ludicrous....Lonners did a job for us last year, he played true CHB and played on the bigger bodies (Cloke being an example)....he filled that role very admirably too, especially a few times when Taylor was getting beaten. Long way to go and a lot of people to impress before we can talk of Drum in any capacity.

Tom Gillies, although disappointing last year will be next in line for a defensive post. What i would be interested in, is how Scott uses Mackie next year - there is always the temptation to put Mackie in a more attacking role....

I still have an inkling that Trent West will become a key defensive post player as well....just a hunch

No offense but what evidence have you that he can play any position? He failed to make a fairly weak Freo side at the time and I would hardly see him being mentioned in the same breath as Milburn or Harley. To here talk of him replacing Lonergan is just ludicrous....Lonners did a job for us last year, he played true CHB and played on the bigger bodies (Cloke being an example)....he filled that role very admirably too, especially a few times when Taylor was getting beaten. Long way to go and a lot of people to impress before we can talk of Drum in any capacity.

Tom Gillies, although disappointing last year will be next in line for a defensive post. What i would be interested in, is how Scott uses Mackie next year - there is always the temptation to put Mackie in a more attacking role....

I still have an inkling that Trent West will become a key defensive post player as well....just a hunch
Quite true - there is no evidence apart from a few games late with Freo in 2009 where he went OK. I was trying to clarify what role he would play not trying to sing his praises.
FWIW he never really got a go at the Dockers so the jury has to still be out on him.
Hopefully he can stay fit and justify his selection with us and provide solid competition for a defensive spot.

Has anyone had a good look at Drum play? I haven't, got no idea about him...apparently a high rated defender but has got a long way to go to even remotely establish himself amongst our A grade defense...

Hopefully he can step up, but i don't see him getting ahead of Lonergan or Taylor for a key position post. I think West is still in the mix for playing a more defensive orientated ruck role. I think Drum has got a big season of VFL in front of him.

Yes (I should've taped more of his footy if I had known he'd end up here), and he's got some ability, albeit that he's inconsistent. Actually was one of our better players in the pre season before he started the annus horribilus, and played a quite good practice match against Collingwood's forward line (Dawes and Anthony that day I think as I remember). He's certainly best in the Harley/Milburn role because he reads the play well and kicks the footy well, but he can go KPP if necessary (IMO that's not what we've recruited him for, but he could do that if we get injuries, I reckon long term he'll play that Milburn role) which I saw in the pre season. My point of course, which stands, is that Gillies isn't big either, and people have no problems calling him a key defender, so it is reasonable to consider Drum as one too. We'll get an idea of whether the coaching staff think so based on what role he plays in the VFL practice matches. Kid certainly needs to lift mentally and injury wise and become more consistent too, but given he was riddled by injuries and never got a fair go at Freo, I don't think it's wise to write him off yet.

With the new ruck rule, we cannot afford to throw West anywhere else, at least until Vardy is ready for AFL. Long term he may end up KPP but he will play a lot of footy as the second ruck next year.

Obviously Drum, or Gillies, won't get ahead of Taylor...but we need them both to progress for two reasons. One, Scarlett and Milburn will get injured at times with their age, so we will need fill ins for them.

Secondly, as Partridge and others have alluded to, our backline would be better off, in terms of not being so slow and repeatedly turning the ball over, if we could replace Lonergan with someone who can actually use the football. Drum on what I have seen, among other things, is a very good kick and uses the ball smart, so does Gillies. This is not to say Lonergan should automatically be gotten rid of, he's got to have equal opportunity and it needs to be based on form, but if either of the other two can get their defensive form to Lonergan's level, then they should be in because they offer more offensively. That is my hope anyway.

I don't know which Tom Lonergan you were watching this year, but for all the over-praise of Taylor that goes on there seems to be some unfair criticism of Lonners. I specifically recall Collingwood Rnd 19 and Prelim finals where i was sitting in the lower section of the MCG at half forward and saw Taylor get comprehensively beaten by Cloke 3 times in the first quarter before Lonners was able to sit back and occupy the true defensive role.

I think Lonners is very important to our structure. He has definitely continued to improve and in my opinion gives us the more Matthew Egan type player we have craved since the heyday's of 2007. Taylor has certainly been a gun CHB, but he is best when he allows himself to float a little and attack....lets not forget that he does get beaten sometimes by the bigger bodies, his greatest successes have come against Riewoldt in the wet, but Riewoldt on a fine day is a different task alltogether.

I like the balance that Lonnergan and Taylor provide, especially with Scarlo still in the side....Gillies and Drum have the possibility of slotting in their somewhere too....especially if we see a repeat of the Josh Hunt/Stephen Milne incidents of the 2nd quarter of the qualifying final!!!

I specifically recall Collingwood Rnd 19 and Prelim finals where i was sitting in the lower section of the MCG at half forward and saw Taylor get comprehensively beaten by Cloke 3 times in the first quarter before Lonners was able to sit back and occupy the true defensive role.

rose coloured glasses me thinks, whilst taylor did start on cloke in the rnd 19 game lonergan played on him in the prelim.

I like the balance that Lonnergan and Taylor provide, especially with Scarlo still in the side....Gillies and Drum have the possibility of slotting in their somewhere too....especially if we see a repeat of the Josh Hunt/Stephen Milne incidents of the 2nd quarter of the qualifying final!!!

We'll have to agree to disagree, as I think with these three in the side the team is extremely unbalanced. Lonergan has shown he can only play a key post, and playing three key defenders instead of two just makes us top heavy and slow. As evidenced in the finals.