Opinion Mark Blake

Blake was useless tonight in the ruck but West!

Everytime i seen him in a ruck contest he'd be getting over powered by either Lade or Brogan or getting bumped out of the contest.
It was his debut match and he was against good ruckman in Lade or Brogan but I still think he's still got some developing to do yet and toughening up.

oh gee, Blake has a year and a half on him. He showed more tonight with his immaturity than blake did being our "no1" Id reckon West will overtake him by years end.

I was disappointed, but he is still young. He was up against the best ruck combo in the game.

West was very good on debut.

Cue Achilles coming in and bagging the shit out of Blake. Or does he save that for Bay13?

no need

Blake clearly illustrated why he was dropped for the gf
king should have been kept as he would have been useful and added size to the contest

as for byrnes, seeya later sooner rather than later

and tenace, should have been traded to collingwood when they wanted him

rooke will come in asap

hunt is on precarious terms, carved up too often

varcoe needs to be given a better go

and west will have a long term career as he can play as a tall around the ground

and as for not recruiting thommo, tonight should why he was so needed with egan out

and that is it

blake you should be dropped, but you can call sen and sook

no need

Blake clearly illustrated why he was dropped for the gf
king should have been kept as he would have been useful and added size to the contest

as for byrnes, seeya later sooner rather than later

and tenace, should have been traded to collingwood when they wanted him

rooke will come in asap

hunt is on precarious terms, carved up too often

varcoe needs to be given a better go

and west will have a long term career as he can play as a tall around the ground

and as for not recruiting thommo, tonight should why he was so needed with egan out

and that is it

blake you should be dropped, but you can call sen and sook

It was when Hunt went off that Port started to get the better of us.

You are really bitter even though we just won the flag.

It was when Hunt went off that Port started to get the better of us.

You are really bitter even though we just won the flag.

nope weak links can kill you

and blake can not influence a game

need a ruckman that can

and he is a sooky sooky lala

I think letting king go was a mistake, I know blake is younger but has he got potential ? im not sure , if i had to say yes or know I would say no.

my dad was talking to his mate that works at the club today who was talking up a ruckman who is on our list and hasnt played yet and my dad cant remember his name, wasnt west or simpson, do we have a 5th ruckman ?
also why did we trade steven king of for nothing to our biggest contender for the premiership ? know they have a good ruck department and kosi can play up forward.

We also have Mumford, interesting story, came over from TAS.

We also have Mumford, interesting story, came over from TAS.[/quote

we seriously need to look at giving 1 of west,simpson and mumford a go.I think that west is a bit undersized and I cant say I know much about Mumford. I say give simpson a crack a bloke that size should be able to win his fair share of hit outs.

Has blake done anything to suggest he will be good ? I would love for him to prove me wrong but i have my doubts

I think letting king go was a mistake, I know blake is younger but has he got potential ? im not sure , if i had to say yes or know I would say no.

my dad was talking to his mate that works at the club today who was talking up a ruckman who is on our list and hasnt played yet and my dad cant remember his name, wasnt west or simpson, do we have a 5th ruckman ?
also why did we trade steven king of for nothing to our biggest contender for the premiership ? know they have a good ruck department and kosi can play up forward.

Its called a salary cap

Why do we put up with Mark Blake? I have never seen anything to suggest that he will be a decent player. He cannot jump, he's not overly tall and he's got skills that would look ordinary in an Auskick game. Tonight, he actually backed himself on a number of occasions, and showed once and for all that he can't handle it. I used to enjoy watching him only because I felt sorry for him.

The love that Geelong supporters have for Blake is similar to the love that people have for a 3 legged dog. There are plenty of young ruckmen with more potential than Blake, and I don't see why we continue with him. I wonder if his parents are paying the Geelong FC to keep him on the list.
I also think that getting rid of King in favour of this bloke was a mistake, especially when we got nothing.

Rant over.

We have some great prospects. Not to mention one of the best in the league in Ottens.

I can see West overtaking Blake this year. Mumford and Simpson could be promising also.

Both of Blake and West were just outbustled by a bigger and stronger, more experienced ruck duo in the end. I thought Blake started out okay, but neither of them had any influence in the ruck by the second half. The mids did well to keep the clearances pretty even.

Lots of improvement left in Blake - he's still just too unco, and West simply is not strong enough yet. He moves well, though, which is nice to see.

Fair go to Blake, it's one game against one of the better ruck combinations. And a heap of pressure on him too. No doubt he needs improvement but he is meant to be our second ruckman. He had a good year last year and he'll improve. He'll never be an Ottens, but does Bomber expect him to be.

Just seems very harsh at this stage of the season to be tearing him apart.

Why do we put up with Mark Blake?

Cause he's the 2nd best second string ruck in the league at hitouts, if that makes sense. Blake was 11th for averaged hitouts, Otto 6th, which means the only ruck combo that averaged more was Jolly/Everitt.

Why did you quote me? Your comment was irrelevant.

And "sooky sooky lala"? You still in primary school?

no i cried to sen
i was crying on tv
i was not willing to be part of the celebrations
i demanded that king go, otherwise i would leave

sooky sooky lala

Why do we put up with Mark Blake? I have never seen anything to suggest that he will be a decent player. He cannot jump, he's not overly tall and he's got skills that would look ordinary in an Auskick game. Tonight, he actually backed himself on a number of occasions, and showed once and for all that he can't handle it. I used to enjoy watching him only because I felt sorry for him.

The love that Geelong supporters have for Blake is similar to the love that people have for a 3 legged dog. There are plenty of young ruckmen with more potential than Blake, and I don't see why we continue with him. I wonder if his parents are paying the Geelong FC to keep him on the list.
I also think that getting rid of King in favour of this bloke was a mistake, especially when we got nothing.

Rant over.

and blake brought this on himself

he was dropped for good reason

and after last night, king would have the biggest smile on his face

blake needs his contract halved

pathetic sook

he makes street look like an awesome athlete

I think everyone's being harsh on Blake. True, last night wasn't his best effort, but consider this

- It was his first game as our "number one ruckman". He's clearly better as a back-up ruckman, as someone else has suggested in this thread.
- He was up against one of the best ruck duos in the league in Brogan and Lade, who have a combined tally of 298 games (Lade 196 and Brogan 102). Blake's played 34.

If he plays like that against a team like Carlton with no ruckmen whatsoever, then I can understand the criticism, but it's the first round of the season, and he just happened to come up against a more seasoned ruck duo.

I'm with Winty ^^^^ here. Blake is not our numnber 1 ruckman and he couldn't have come up against a better ruck duo. It's almost the most inexperienced ruck duo vs the most experienced and best ruck duo. Having said that i'm still not convinced with Blake yet.

To all those who complain about letting King go, get over it. As much as I liked him when he was at his peak, he will never be the same player again and good on the Saints for having the two most injury prone ruckman in the league.

Its only round 1 for crying out loud.