Rumour Mark Blake?

• Thread starter Thread starter fpm84

How about our first rounder for Blake?
Fair trade as we get a young developing ruckman and you guys get a decent pick which enables you to build after your current dynasty.
I'm a Blake supporter but holy shit I would do that trade in a heart beat. Pick #10 could nab us someone like Luke Parker and that would totally be worth it.

you're kidding right? Byrnes was once constantly bagged on this site. Stokes, Ling, and Lonergan have copped more than enough hatred at times.

Blake is a good to excellent tap ruckman, as for his personality I don't know him so I cannot answer that but I do recall Jimmy Bartel saying in an article earlier this year that everyone in the team gets along fine. He also went on to say how "fans" often want to talk negatively about "certain players" and that really cheeses him off.

I find it laughable that anonymous people can sit back and judge a blokes personality when they don't even know him.

Hmm I dunno I reckon the Blake hate is a bit worse than the others. Anyway if we didn't hide behind keyboards throwing baseless accusations out about people's personalities what else would we talk about! In fact CM I heard from a bloke who went to school with this other bloke , that you don't tip well...

:confused:

Where did I say I love Blake?
How do you know Blake forced the club to trade King?
How could you possibly believe that Blake could tell Thompson, Balme, Cook et al how to run the club?
How do you know it was Blake who sent the SMS?

I forgot - you don't answer questions. :p

Just for good measure: have you figured out which grand final Blake didn't attend yet or were you just talking sh1t? I just want to know. I honestly want to respect you and your opinion but you're not helping me with your personal attacks.

Besides, my thoughts on Mumford still stand. He put himself ahead of the club. He should be owning the ruck at Geelong now with Ottens and we would be unbeatable. But the prick walked out for money, opportunity, whatever and wasn't prepared to wait, put in the hard work and sacrifice like so many other great players in our team, past and present. For this I do not respect Mumford and he can rot in Sydney for all I care.

It's strange but you sound like an annoying prat on Cats Claw who practically owns the place and bullies everyone into submission with inane, stupid and endless posts. Only a few brave souls stand up to him, JubJub being one of them.

It has been made clear that the SMS was sent from the Blake camp.
It has also been made clear that King had a contract that was pulled because of Blake.
It was clear in 07 that Blake was sulking over his non appearance in the GF team. His daddy clearly showed that he believes the individual is more important than the team. The fact that Blake was towelled up did not stress him.

How do you Know what the situation was with Mumford. You seem to dismiss the Blake situation by questioning every statement made, but are happy to make copious statements anti Mummy.

You and JubJUb are so brave. But maybe you are just dillusional.
I have never posted on Cats Claw, but i like your back handed insult (good work for someone who complains about personal insults). What you clearly illustrate is the same behavioural traits that are an issue for Blake. It tends to lend itself to the conclusion that you may be one and the same, or an associate of the Blake.

Can you explain why it would be beneficial to carry someone who can just tap, and players will not use in general play and does not assirt himself in the field.

How about our first rounder for Blake?
Fair trade as we get a young developing ruckman and you guys get a decent pick which enables you to build after your current dynasty.
You are talking about Blake aren't you? I just need to check that we are talking about the same guy here. Are you honestly proposing to send your first pick to Geelong for Mark Blake?

You guys have Hille and Ryder, who go better than alright in the ruck. Why would you want a spud like Blake?
Maybe the thought process here is it releases Ryder and/or Hille who are both good around the ground. I can see Ryder playing as a mobile CHB or CHF/FF and Hille could easily play FF.

I'm still coming to grips with the offer of their first pick however...and I like Blake as a ruckman.

I'm a Blake supporter but holy shit I would do that trade in a heart beat. Pick #10 could nab us someone like Luke Parker and that would totally be worth it.
I'm with ya here...we need to find out if matty has any pull whatsoever within the Essendon footy club. They are a stange bunch out at Windy Hill...a mate of mine is an Essendon supporter and for years he has stated he'd happily trade a second round pick for Byrnes.....years, even way back when all us Geelong "supporters" were bagging Byrnes endlessly.

Hmm I dunno I reckon the Blake hate is a bit worse than the others. Anyway if we didn't hide behind keyboards throwing baseless accusations out about people's personalities what else would we talk about! In fact CM I heard from a bloke who went to school with this other bloke , that you don't tip well...
It is not hate, it is simply comments made towards a player who does not bleed blue and white.

There is a gang of CM, VeeDubs and Casey Cat who will defend this bloke regardless of attitude and performance.

It's strange but you sound like an annoying prat on Cats Claw who practically owns the place and bullies everyone into submission with inane, stupid and endless posts. Only a few brave souls stand up to him, JubJub being one of them.

the fundamental problem with CC right there.

As for Blake, what else can be said? He really needs to be a presence around the ground. So many ruckmen now are versatile and put themselves into the play, you really can't carry a tap-and-nothing-else guy anymore. Even Ottens has a second and third effort, and he's the most clunky runner in the team.

Have to disagree. Cant see where we lost on trading Steven King. Maybe we see different stats but Steven hasnt set the world on fire at St Kilda and was struggling to hold his place earlier this year.. His body is also breaking down and I doubt he will be playing again next year.

Blake hasnt been consistent but has played some good games and has been wonderfully resilient. He plays week after week and has generally played his role. Yes, I agree he needs to do more around the ground in most games, and it would be good to see him taking contested grabs and kicking goals.

Blake was much more effective than Steven King in last years GF. Some have short memories.

I have seen player ratings a while back for King and Blake and King's are higher. On finalratings, I think. I was talking 2008-2009. If you want to talk about 2010, then they have both come unstuck. King is gone now, and I doubt Blake will get into the finals except for injury.

Blake only came in when Mumford was tired late last year, so he was struggling last year too. Blake was playing beter in the reserves last year than he is this year. He has gone backwards. But he played well in the ruck in the GF for his ability and really contributed to our win.

Blake doesn't need to do more around the ground. What you see with Blake today is what you get. Right now is as much as he will ever do around the ground. He is 25, and this as good as it gets for him. He plays like his dad, but back then it was acceptable. Not now, though under Bomber.

If Blake was going to come good we would have seen very positive signs by now at 25. As it is he is back in the reserves and not improving in the areas they want him to. Its like flogging a dead horse. I actually feel for the guy.

People were saying because his father matured into his body late that Blake would do the same and would get to a point were he was doing a lot of good things other than tap work

But there really aren't many signs of Blake being able to take a mark around the ground or take a big mark in the F50 and kick a goal and as RHS says that he is 25 now

Blake only came in when Mumford was tired late last year, so he was struggling last year too. Blake was playing beter in the reserves last year than he is this year. He has gone backwards. But he played well in the ruck in the GF for his ability and really contributed to our win.

Blake did not replace Mumford - Ottens replaced Mumford

Have to disagree. Cant see where we lost on trading Steven King. Maybe we see different stats but Steven hasnt set the world on fire at St Kilda and was struggling to hold his place earlier this year.. His body is also breaking down and I doubt he will be playing again next year.

Blake hasnt been consistent but has played some good games and has been wonderfully resilient. He plays week after week and has generally played his role. Yes, I agree he needs to do more around the ground in most games, and it would be good to see him taking contested grabs and kicking goals.

Blake was much more effective than Steven King in last years GF. Some have short memories.

It's the principle not the outcome. I was very upset at the time when Blake intimated he had offers from Richmond and St Kilda, among others, and would walk if King stayed, but I also agreed with the decision the club made, because pragmatically King had a couple of years left, in fact given his injury history even that was uncertain, whereas Blake was durable and had at least 7-8 years left. That doesn't mean I agree with Blake spitting the dummy like that, after all, if King was pretty much past it, why should he care if King stayed? He should be able to beat him back into the VFL, much as the Saints ruckmen are now doing.

I just find it laughable that everyone has a crack at Mummy for being disloyal and chasing the cash, while conveniently overlooking Blake's past when it comes to loyalty. Pretty contradictory if you ask me.

As for the onfield stuff, I reckon he should play ahead of Hawkins this year, but that's a separate argument.

It's this kind of thread that stopped me from posting on Cats Claw - where pointing out a flaw in someone's post degenerates into a personal war. Moderators, I apologize for my part in this and this will be my last word on the matter. So here goes:

It has been made clear that the SMS was sent from the Blake camp.

It's clear you've changed it from being from Blake to being from the Blake camp. That's called "back pedalling".

It has also been made clear that King had a contract that was pulled because of Blake.

It's clear that Blake was offered a decent contract to go (to the Saints or others) which he turned down. He stayed at Geelong for less, but highly likely more than what Geelong originally offered him. The club made the decision to up the ante to keep him. Clearly the club's decision left no room for King. Blake is not responsible for how the club manages the playing list.

It was clear in 07 that Blake was sulking over his non appearance in the GF team.

So you've backed down from your statement that he didn't appear at the 2007 GF? :thumbsu:

You're now accusing him of sulking? And this makes him a bad person? Or bad to have around the club? He'd played 22 of 24 games up to that point and had only missed 2 to give King a run - not because he was dropped. If he wasn't hurting you'd have to question his sanity or desire to succeed at the highest level. Talk about picking on the most irrelevant things. :rolleyes:

His daddy clearly showed that he believes the individual is more important than the team. The fact that Blake was towelled up did not stress him.

I'm struggling to see the relevance of the first sentence. While no one (least of all me) denies that Blake was awful in the 2007 Preliminary Final up until that point he had a good year. It was his worst performance and he paid the price. Whether he got stage fright or not I don't know - but I do know he was good all year and one very bad performance cost him a premiership.

How do you Know what the situation was with Mumford. You seem to dismiss the Blake situation by questioning every statement made, but are happy to make copious statements anti Mummy.

And I notice you haven't denied any of them. Would you care to argue my view that Mumford is a w***er for walking out on the club? I wish he was still here helping us to more flags but he chose not to after the club did everything for him and told him he was required. That wasn't good enough for him so he left. When Blake was put in the same situation in 2007 he stayed. A person like Blake is far more loyal, far more a Geelong type of person than Mumford will ever be.

You and JubJUb are so brave. But maybe you are just dillusional.

Please - flattery will get you nowhere. JubJub as way braver than I and I'm sure I've had a go at him in the past about needing to get a life. He practically lives on these forums.

I have never posted on Cats Claw, but i like your back handed insult (good work for someone who complains about personal insults).

Truly, the irony of my posts was not lost on me. Is the irony of your continual bleating lost on you?

Anyway, right from the start you insulted where I live and since then you haven't let up. I wanted to hold you accountable to an obviously stupid statement that Blake didn't attend the 2007 GF because he was dropped. Clearly, you didn't like that and haven't let up on being called out since. Just admit you were wrong and move on. Or perhaps you have already? I can't tell.

What you clearly illustrate is the same behavioural traits that are an issue for Blake. It tends to lend itself to the conclusion that you may be one and the same, or an associate of the Blake.

This is just simply bizarre! :p You're a psychiatrist now? Talk about ROFLMAO at you.

For the record, I have had nothing to do with Blake EVER, nor have I ever had any association with any of his family or friends. I have no connection with any player at the club although my brother, who lives in Geelong, is friends with a senior player (not Blake! :p) and I sometimes I get tidbits of information.

Can you explain why it would be beneficial to carry someone who can just tap, and players will not use in general play and does not assirt himself in the field.

At last a genuine discussion point :thumbsu:

Truth is, it wouldn't be beneficial to the team. Thank God Blake does contribute to the team more than just taps but I'm firmly one of those who would love to see more - perhaps average 15-20 possessions a week, lay a couple of tackles and a few bumps. In fact, not every ruckman does that, not even Mumford or Ottens but it would be nice if Blake got close to it more often than not. Having said that, we're getting far less value - both in terms of possessions and hit outs - out of Hawkins at the moment. He's not the answer in the ruck and it's the emergence of Pods that has forced the coaches to try and find a role for Hawkins. Blake has motored along for the last 3 years - our most successful in history - giving our players good first use of the ball on regular occasions. He even showed signs of improvement this year in terms of possessions and hard ball gets (I vaguely recall him being 2nd to Ablett for contested possession one game) and Thompson was talking Blake up. Something happened before the swans game to annoy Bomber - maybe, I don't really know and I haven't heard anything.

Please - flattery will get you nowhere. JubJub as way braver than I and I'm sure I've had a go at him in the past about needing to get a life. He practically lives on these forums.

Hey don't drag me into your pissing contest [which you're winning ;)] with _Me_

King may be past his prime, but most ratings I've seen have him better performed since then than Blake. So we lost on that deal.

What ratings?

They signed up Blake, and I remember there was a big hoo hah about him leaving. I remember the dark glasses he was wearing and the displeased smirk he carried around during the grand final, it made him look like he was at a funeral. It was easy to see he was more than a little pissed.

Wouldn't you be? Play every game then miss the most important for a guy who was repeatedly dropped throughout the season. Yes, King was okay on the day, but he made little difference. We'd have pumped Port by 100+ with Blakey. The way people criticise him you would think he's the first player to be upset at missing a GF. Maybe you should have a chat with Derek Kickett one day.

I got the distinct feeling that there is a lot of entitlement in Blake's makeup. I recall the reports that there was a few post grand final functions he stayed away from in '07. Then eventually after all that he signed. Almost straight away King was offered a Clayton's contract they then withdrew before King could say yes or no and off he gets sent to the Saints. King shouldn't complain, though. He gets two premierships in a week at Catland, and then the Saints won the pre-season one in 09 (or was it 08). And Blake should consider himself very lucky. The only loser is the Geelong footy team.

King did actually knock back the 1-year deal. He wanted a two-year deal.

I fail to see how we've lost out in the deal. King has been very average while Blake has been serviceable and played a superior game to both St. Kilda ruckman in last years premiership.

Where was that article that said Blake was tapping at 10.5% last year whilst Mumford was going around 5%.

Mumford just taps to his feet and tackles the oncoming player. Nothing special.

I can't even read this thread.

I reckon there would be one over on the bomber forum re: sacking knights every week ( never look )

But another thread that does no good and needs locking.

Time to stand up winty

It's this kind of thread that stopped me from posting on Cats Claw - where pointing out a flaw in someone's post degenerates into a personal war. Moderators, I apologize for my part in this and this will be my last word on the matter. So here goes:
Righto, I am so pissed with what goes on but lack the fortitude to cease.

It's clear you've changed it from being from Blake to being from the Blake camp. That's called "back pedalling".

Righto, the SMS came from Blake or his immediate family. Still piss poor. But i assume you believe it would have been ok.

It's clear that Blake was offered a decent contract to go (to the Saints or others) which he turned down. He stayed at Geelong for less, but highly likely more than what Geelong originally offered him. The club made the decision to up the ante to keep him. Clearly the club's decision left no room for King. Blake is not responsible for how the club manages the playing list.

NO NO NO you keep on missing the point. King's contract was withdrawn as the Blake camp had delivered GFC an offer he goes or i go. Blake was too piss poor to battle for position. He was paid overs by Geelong for his ability at the time.

So you've backed down from your statement that he didn't appear at the 2007 GF? :thumbsu:
GF, he did not play. Do i need to spell it out to you.
You're now accusing him of sulking? And this makes him a bad person? Or bad to have around the club? He'd played 22 of 24 games up to that point and had only missed 2 to give King a run - not because he was dropped. If he wasn't hurting you'd have to question his sanity or desire to succeed at the highest level. Talk about picking on the most irrelevant things. :rolleyes:

Stokes clearly showed what a team player is. King had also served the club well for an extended period, during tough times, and was a former captain. He showed he was selfish. He performances in late 07 were getting worse and worse.

I'm struggling to see the relevance of the first sentence. While no one (least of all me) denies that Blake was awful in the 2007 Preliminary Final up until that point he had a good year. It was his worst performance and he paid the price. Whether he got stage fright or not I don't know - but I do know he was good all year and one very bad performance cost him a premiership.

Wrong again, he had been ok. Let ius not rewrite history.

And I notice you haven't denied any of them. Would you care to argue my view that Mumford is a w***er for walking out on the club? I wish he was still here helping us to more flags but he chose not to after the club did everything for him and told him he was required. That wasn't good enough for him so he left. When Blake was put in the same situation in 2007 he stayed. A person like Blake is far more loyal, far more a Geelong type of person than Mumford will ever be.

Mumford was different. He did not demand Geelong trade Blake or he walks. He knew where he stood, and it took a massive offer from Sydney to walk, but he did not hold the club to ransom. He was not SMSing anyone, and his daddy kept his nose out of it. Fundamental differences.

Relevance, if you two are made for each other who cares. Get a room.

Truly, the irony of my posts was not lost on me. Is the irony of your continual bleating lost on you?

Mate have many tickets on yourself. Stay in Casey.

Anyway, right from the start you insulted where I live and since then you haven't let up. I wanted to hold you accountable to an obviously stupid statement that Blake didn't attend the 2007 GF because he was dropped. Clearly, you didn't like that and haven't let up on being called out since. Just admit you were wrong and move on. Or perhaps you have already? I can't tell.

Does it hurt a tad princess. You are in casey for a reason.

This is just simply bizarre! :p You're a psychiatrist now? Talk about ROFLMAO at you.

For the record, I have had nothing to do with Blake EVER, nor have I ever had any association with any of his family or friends. I have no connection with any player at the club although my brother, who lives in Geelong, is friends with a senior player (not Blake! :p) and I sometimes I get tidbits of information.

wow , relevance.

At last a genuine discussion point :thumbsu:

Truth is, it wouldn't be beneficial to the team. Thank God Blake does contribute to the team more than just taps but I'm firmly one of those who would love to see more - perhaps average 15-20 possessions a week, lay a couple of tackles and a few bumps. In fact, not every ruckman does that, not even Mumford or Ottens but it would be nice if Blake got close to it more often than not. Having said that, we're getting far less value - both in terms of possessions and hit outs - out of Hawkins at the moment. He's not the answer in the ruck and it's the emergence of Pods that has forced the coaches to try and find a role for Hawkins. Blake has motored along for the last 3 years - our most successful in history - giving our players good first use of the ball on regular occasions. He even showed signs of improvement this year in terms of possessions and hard ball gets (I vaguely recall him being 2nd to Ablett for contested possession one game) and Thompson was talking Blake up. Something happened before the swans game to annoy Bomber - maybe, I don't really know and I haven't heard anything.
Blake has been ordinary all year. He does not contribute enough, and players avoid involving him. The mids love bein able to use Hawkins in link ups, as to avoiding Blake. The mids did well last week with Hawk in the ruck. I vaguely recall that Blake played ok in one game.

Anyway, as i will not hear from you again, i am not sure why i responded. As you would not go back on your word. Maybe you might SMS me.

I can't even read this thread.

I reckon there would be one over on the bomber forum re: sacking knights every week ( never look )

But another thread that does no good and needs locking.

Time to stand up winty

Ditto

It is not hate, it is simply comments made towards a player who does not bleed blue and white.

There is a gang of CM, VeeDubs and Casey Cat who will defend this bloke regardless of attitude and performance.
I would strongly argue that Blake had 1 appalling performance, vs Crows. Every other game this year that I've seen, which is all of them, he's been serviceable at worst. Maybe his games against Sandilands and Kreuzer were average. His game vs Pies was instrumental in us winning, and I'm sure his post 1/2 time goal vs Mummy kickstarted that 2nd 1/2 runaway.

Even the comments all year on BF have suggested he's improved. Now that Ottens and Hawkins are available, Blake gets the chop with some BS excuse that he needs to do the team thing to bet back in. All season he's been supported by the coach, now that there are options, Blake is out. He is in reality our only true ruckman. Ottens is essentially a failed forward who has done some good work in the ruck but has the resilience of wet tissues. Hawkins simply is not a ruckman. Bomber is doing his best to prove that. He again has done some useful ruck-roving, but his fragile feet can't withstand the stresses that long term ruck work offers.

Blake has been pretty harshly treated, but if it fires him into action for a more assertive and aggressive finals campaign, we'll call it a master stroke. This BS about his supposed attitude, because he shows his disappointment about being rather harshly dropped, is just that. Have any MC talked about his attitude? Would we have kept him if he was not of worthy character? Isn't that what Bomber says is critical in his player selection?

As far as supporting him despite his form and attitude therefore, I rest my case. In fact , the hate messages here for guys like Blake, Lonergan, Byrnes is despicable. I recall clearly sitting in front of some alleged Cat fans at Hawks game who spent the whole match groaning and cursing every time Varcoe got the ball. Embarrassing. Varcoe now is clearly in our BEST 5 players.

Where was that article that said Blake was tapping at 10.5% last year whilst Mumford was going around 5%.

Mumford just taps to his feet and tackles the oncoming player. Nothing special.
2010 Champion Data Prospectus.

Bwhahahahaha :eek::D:D

Lovely revision of history there, pity it's not true.

But thanks anyway for trying Rod Blake would be proud.

Blake has been pretty harshly treated, but if it fires him into action for a more assertive and aggressive finals campaign, we'll call it a master stroke. This BS about his supposed attitude, because he shows his disappointment about being rather harshly dropped, is just that. Have any MC talked about his attitude? Would we have kept him if he was not of worthy character? Isn't that what Bomber says is critical in his player selection?

Well yes, after all Bomber said "he needs to decide whether he WANTS to play our way". The bolded bit implies that whatever issue is between the coach and Bomber, as well as it being about performance issues, the coach has some issues with his attitude too. Whether he's right or not is another matter.