News Mark Blicavs

• Thread starter Thread starter proboy

From what I saw as a player he is well short still....but his development is certainly something to take notice of. Definitely needs more muscle if he is to take a ruck position....gets out bodied most if time.

Just wondering what his options would be if he was not forced to play ruck?

I reckon that's a great point because I saw him play forward last season and he'd looked more than comfortable as opposed to rucking due to the significant bulk difference against the opposition ruck.

He actually dominated one quarter in particular, was marking everything and kicked 2.1 and looked like a natural footballer and no project player.
He's being forced to play ruck at the moment but credit where it's due, he's learning very fast.

How would he go on a wing? Put him out wide and let him run up and down. If his hands are strong would be a hard match up as he could run all day. Would his disposal be good enough?

I'm all for thinking outside the square. However, that one is a tad too rich for even me at this stage of his career.

Why?......Cause he's 198cm?

Scott as good as said tonight that they don't see him as a ruckman, but he didn't say what they do see him as.
He did point out that there has never been an AFL footballer of 198cm who can run like him.

I think this is exactly where he'll end up in the future although he's probably more suited forward at the moment. Wing or high half forward who can run hard to get to contests both ways. The thing that's impressed me most actually is his hands in close. He's actually a really good handballer which is a surprise for such a big bloke who hasn't played much.

I think any position where he can take advantage of his marking prowess and fitness without giving the opposition a chance to get him isolated 1 on 1 would be a good option. Something like the wing or 3rd tall forward would work well in future.

Adam Goodes is 194cm... just saying is all.

At Chris Scott’s post game press conference he had this to say.

“Along with a number of our younger quicker players who have not played a lot of AFL football, he (Blicavs) just gives us another dimension. We are a long way from deciding what our best look is in there, but there is some chance that he is a part of that, even when our big guys come back.”

When asked about his running power Scott replied

“I am not one for big statements, but there has never been a 198cm AFL player who can run like him.”

http://www.geelongcats.com.au/video/2013-03-15/chris-scott-postmatch-nab-rd4.workstation

after what I read last night.... " get him up here.. i wanna boof him"

Then I woke up...

But seriously... thought he did a great job for game 7. He'd no Otto, or West, or HMac, or hell even an AFL ruckman.
What he is however is a very talented, fit young bloke with some great physical metrics and a determination to learn and get better that are beginning to translate into what is required to play AFL.

And he might be our best hope in Rd 1.... So right here right now, Im all for him. If he keeps going and playing well, I would luv to see him getting used as the gut running player example instead of Reiwoldt.

GO Catters

Scott as good as said tonight that they don't see him as a ruckman, but he didn't say what they do see him as.
He did point out that there has never been an AFL footballer of 198cm who can run like him.

He'd know, chance is we've got a freak on our hands, 15 diposals so I heard.
We've got to do something with this guy.

Really at 7 or so games , I doubt anyone really knows where he will play long term.
Logically ,what does he offer:

Stamina , yeah he has a bit but whats his sprint speed like? With such a great tank , would be wasted playing away from where he can run

Leap , apparently took a nice mark or two yesterday , must have a bit. Are we talking a possible Taylor marking ability? Probably not , but if he could out mark the type of opponents he will get he is ahead of the game.

Kicking skills , whats his altitude , accuracy , and most importantly his vision like with the ball in his hands.

Of course his in-play judgement will improve the more he plays although he must be reasonable now , but this area of the game may determine his ability to play certain areas.

Could be an interesting match up on HFF , used to run deep in D and run forward with the ball. The Reiwoldt type of running that can break most defenders.

The guy has the tank, all he needs really is to develop the skills. He's certainly not the worst kick I've ever seen and as mentioned his hands are surprisingly quick. I wouldn't bulk him up too much and handicap his biggest asset. Put him on a wing or a flank and assign him to take ruck work around the ground, given a year or two he could be a real asset.

I’m not sure about using a winger to ruck around the ground.

To get the most out of a winger you need to be a good reader of the game and hit targets. Not sure Blitz is either at present. The wing might be a consideration when he improves in those areas but not now for mine.

No doubt his basketball background has helped with his reflexes, clean hands and ability to make the right decision in traffic.
As far as I know, he doesn't have a basketball background, unless it's genetic (both his parents played basketball for Australia). Footy until under-14s, and then athletics after that.

He definitely played some basketball growing up mate.

I’m not sure about using a winger to ruck around the ground.

To get the most out of a winger you need to be a good reader of the game and hit targets. Not sure Blitz is either at present. The wing might be a consideration when he improves in those areas but not now for mine.
Hopefully soon we'll have the luxury of not making him ruck at all. His learning curve seems quite steep right now but he's shown every indication that he can master the intricacies of the game. I am optimistic.

Really at 7 or so games , I doubt anyone really knows where he will play long term.
Logically ,what does he offer:

Stamina , yeah he has a bit but whats his sprint speed like? With such a great tank , would be wasted playing away from where he can run

Leap , apparently took a nice mark or two yesterday , must have a bit. Are we talking a possible Taylor marking ability? Probably not , but if he could out mark the type of opponents he will get he is ahead of the game.

Kicking skills , whats his altitude , accuracy , and most importantly his vision like with the ball in his hands.

Of course his in-play judgement will improve the more he plays although he must be reasonable now , but this area of the game may determine his ability to play certain areas.

Could be an interesting match up on HFF , used to run deep in D and run forward with the ball. The Reiwoldt type of running that can break most defenders.

Exactly what I was referring to above TC... that continual presenting and running up field and the chase in defensive pressure. A long way from it but with that ability to run like that.... the skill decline from fatigue would be lessened.

Lots to like in early days..

GO Catters

Hopefully soon we'll have the luxury of not making him ruck at all. His learning curve seems quite steep right now but he's shown every indication that he can master the intricacies of the game. I am optimistic.

That's about it, as Scott put it, he can bring an added dimension, wing or flanks would be ideal mixed with isolated ruck duties.
It would be a luxury.

This guy was doing 1.53 min for 800m and 8min 20 sec for 3 Kms. That's the fastest in the afl by a long way. That's 7 m a sec over 800 m and 6 m per sec over 3 Kms. So he has the speed and endurance to play anywhere. It's interesting that SC and DT have him positioned as a midfielder. Must be something in that.

Not sure what you mean by that Turbo.

The shape . low and long ... high and short. Think how Harry kicks that raking left , a real wind cutter on the run. A penetrating kick with low altitude can catch defenders out, the high bomb just kills forwards...