A Warrior named Lica

Feb 5, 2005
afl member
Hey folks,
I am a big fan of Mark Coughlan, and TRULY believe that you are on the money with him ( Only wish he was a Pie! :rolleyes: )
Two things: How is his fitness presently (I believe he had OP last Year?)
and what would you expect his output to be in 05? Anywhere near 03?

Thanks for your opinion.

hard to say mate, the club has been less than forthcoming with his condition right from the start...

hopefully hes over it and will be right for rnd 1 :cool:

Thanks mate.
Yeah, well...the reason I asked is that I put a bit of money on you guys on the TAB (top 8) but reckon that cogs has a fair input into the midfield.

If Kane Johnson, NG Brown and Coughlan are up and about, you guys will be hard to beat in the clearances.

Coughlan is pivotal to all this IMHO.

He deserves a good year.

PS You guys will flog us on Friday. Sadly.

Hi Warrior! Nice of you to visit our board.

I don't receive a whole lot of info on the Tigers or individual players, but from what I can gather he should be okay for round 1. Someone could clarify this. He probably won't return to his 03 form immediately, but it shouldn't be too far away! He's looking quite muscly and fit, about over his OP. This Friday night he won't play the whole game though, but it will be good to see him in action again.

Major key to our side because we don't have any other players capable of consistently winning the ball in close. We have plenty of blokes who are good with it if someone else can win it for them, but without the likes of Cogs, they all suffer badly (see 2004).

That said, I don't want to see him rushed back like he was last year, I'd rather wait a few more weeks if that's what it takes to get him healthy.

If he can get fit enough, it'll take him time to get back to 2003 form, he's very talented but hasn't played much footy for quite a while now so we'll have to be patient with him.

It was OP right?
What I dont understand is why did the coaching panel play him in the last few games of 2004?
It must be worse than thought?
I agree with you guys re: hard ball gets. He is awesome in this area.

Any chance of a trade for ANY cloke or shaw ;)

As far as i'm concerned i just want to see him uninjured for the whole year. I don't care if he gets 10 touches a game. This year will be a write off in terms of results anyway. We need him peaking by 2006 and onwards.

i was under the impression he wasnt going to be risked in the wizard cup this week? at least thats what TW was saying a few weeks back..

if he is in fact named to play then obviously he is well on the way back :) theres no way TW would be unnecessarily risking him at this stage

Probably correct TigerT. I hope for the boys sake and the clubs sake you are right. Oh...and for my hard earned money that is on you guys for the 8 and cogs for a top 3 Brownlow finish!

Thanks mate

Warrior if your fishing for info of wether you should get him for your fantasy footy team,I reccomend you don't.No doubt he s going to be a great player and a big possesion getter,but not in 2005.

He will be eased into the season and play off the bench and forward for a fair while yet.Assuming he has no serious flair ups ,hopefully by mid season he will start playing in the midfield.

2006 will be his year.

A Warrior named Lica said:
It was OP right?
What I dont understand is why did the coaching panel play him in the last few games of 2004?
It must be worse than thought?
I agree with you guys re: hard ball gets. He is awesome in this area.

Any chance of a trade for ANY cloke or shaw ;)

He has 'pubic instability' which is different to OP.

As for playing him at the end of 2004, one of the worst moves made by a coach, ever. His injury requires plenty of rest to get over, those games meant nothing, it still boils my blood that they played him.

Thanks Jezz. Yeah, it was a ridiculous move playin him wasnt it?
What is Pubic Instability? Is it worse than OP? If so, my dough is Goooone!

Nah, Evo, not into the FF. More into the $$$$ on the tab.

According to TW yesterday he will play half a game this weekend ( didnt say if in the Wiz Cup or not).

He will be eased back into it, and he will not be spending 99% game time in the middle like he did in '03.

He will play some time in the middle, some time on hff and some pine time. It's the only way for him now. Sad but true.

Frawley ran him into the ground in '03.

tigerT said:
i was under the impression he wasnt going to be risked in the wizard cup this week? at least thats what TW was saying a few weeks back..

if he is in fact named to play then obviously he is well on the way back :) theres no way TW would be unnecessarily risking him at this stage

Wallace has confirmed he will play a quarter or half of the Friday match to get him towards match fitness for round 1.

Once again if everybody could please say a prayer or two for Coughlan to have an injury free season, it would be appreciated :)

kretchy said:
Sounds like he'll be built up by a quarter each week. 1 in the intra-club last week 2 this week in the Wiz or at Coburg (Do they have any trials this week?) then 3 quarters the next.

could be a possibilty, dont see why not!

coughlan will be really good in the stoppages because of his extra muscle. he will add much needed grunt. c'mon cogs, lets have a biggie.

Mark Coughlan