Mark Johnson?

No he wouldn't.
Past it, well and truly.

We will see if he is past it next year when he fronts up for Port. I would say that he has a good couple of years left in him and if he was still contracted at Essendon he would not have been moved on. But then again you seem to have a good knowledge on him so i assume you watch him play often and are well informed to make such decisions :cool:

Smart around the goals and still probably a very good footballer but at 29 and with such a young list if we were take a player this age I'd probably prefer Cousins. He has much stronger leadership qualities and is a champion footballer albeit with plenty of baggage.

Johnson is nothing more then a small forward nowadays. We have plenty already.

Do you guys think your culture needs a bit of a high :-) or something why you would want cousins is beyond me, great player but he is like the black widow.

Get kids and more kids keep rebuilding and it will pay off big time in the very near future.

We will see if he is past it next year when he fronts up for Port. I would say that he has a good couple of years left in him and if he was still contracted at Essendon he would not have been moved on. But then again you seem to have a good knowledge on him so i assume you watch him play often and are well informed to make such decisions :cool:
Thanks Mark, but you werent even getting games consistently at Essendon even when Sheedy loved playing guys in ther late 20's with no future

Do you guys think your culture needs a bit of a high :-) or something why you would want cousins is beyond me, great player but he is like the black widow.

Get kids and more kids keep rebuilding and it will pay off big time in the very near future.

Actually we took a wa player last year with drug issues and turned him straight, one of top recruits of the year if i recall correctly. What says we cant do it again. Granted that other recruit was alot younger, but still.

Cousins will be somewhat of a stopgap. Short term, he will prevent us finishing bottom 4 next year, saving wallace's ass allowing him to complete his 5 year plan. He mightnt directly bring membership dollars but the skills he will add to our team and our subsequent improvement will help us get over 30,000 members again next year.

Cousins also has, I would figure, 3 years of top quality footy left in him.

This means his last year of quality footy would be 2010.

At this point he would hypothetically be surrounded by a young gun midfield of Foley, Tambling, Polo, Deledio, Raines who would all be up to about 100 games and 24ish, aswell has Shane Edwards, Jake King, Daniel Connors and Cotchin who would all be around 50 games, and then several experienced mids in Tuck who would be approaching 150 and Coughlan who would be around the same mark. For mine, his role is not just as a stop gap but also as a key player for 2010-11.

Christ it is funny 29 year old Cousins on the gear can possibly play for another 3-4 years yet 29 year old Johnson who as far as any of us knows has never been on drugs is too old, too slow and not worth the risk. Me thinks too many people here have got caught up in the name that is Cousins rather than what he actually brings to the table.
I don't want either of them. They bring nothing to the table for a team that is supposedly rebuilding through youth.

That was my point, according to some 29 year old Cousins seems to be a great get if we can pick him up, yet 29 year old Johnson is a used up hack who adds nothing to the list.

Might get shot down for this but if Bradley was available in the PSD then I would rather we took him. I think if he was given a spot to settle in and play week after week he could turn into a very handy player. Odds on though he goes to Freo in the National draft.

Actually we took a wa player last year with drug issues and turned him straight, one of top recruits of the year if i recall correctly. What says we cant do it again. Granted that other recruit was alot younger, but still.

Cousins will be somewhat of a stopgap. Short term, he will prevent us finishing bottom 4 next year, saving wallace's ass allowing him to complete his 5 year plan. He mightnt directly bring membership dollars but the skills he will add to our team and our subsequent improvement will help us get over 30,000 members again next year.

At this point he would hypothetically be surrounded by a young gun midfield of Foley, Tambling, Polo, Deledio, Raines who would all be up to about 100 games and 24ish, aswell has Shane Edwards, Jake King, Daniel Connors and Cotchin who would all be around 50 games, and then several experienced mids in Tuck who would be approaching 150 and Coughlan who would be around the same mark. For mine, his role is not just as a stop gap but also as a key player for 2010-11.

Even with Cousins you will still finish bottom 4. Just like Carlton will still finish bottom 4 next yeat with Judd. If you had of said bottom 2 that might be more realistic but you dont have the list (even with Cousins) to finish outside of the bottom 4.

Thanks Mark, but you werent even getting games consistently at Essendon even when Sheedy loved playing guys in ther late 20's with no future

Mark Johnson has missed only 2 games in the last 3 seasons.

Mark Johnson has missed a total of 6 games in the last 8 seasons.

He has been dropped 2 times in 8 years due to form.

He has played 179 career matches out of a possible 185.

If you ask me he has been played very consistantly and in fact not many players would have such a record for 'getting games consistently'

You have really displayed your great insight and knowledge of players from opposition clubs.....

Nice call there.....:thumbsu:

Who was the top recruit you got last season with drug problems?

Even with Cousins you will still finish bottom 4. Just like Carlton will still finish bottom 4 next yeat with Judd. If you had of said bottom 2 that might be more realistic but you dont have the list (even with Cousins) to finish outside of the bottom 4.

Bottom 2??? But thats impossible as Essondog and Carltank will fight it out for the spoon..:p

Christ it is funny 29 year old Cousins on the gear can possibly play for another 3-4 years yet 29 year old Johnson who as far as any of us knows has never been on drugs is too old, too slow and not worth the risk. Me thinks too many people here have got caught up in the name that is Cousins rather than what he actually brings to the table.

I reckon they're both too old.

We should take the best Under 25-er that's out of contract, whether he be 18 or 25.

Mark Johnson has missed only 2 games in the last 3 seasons.

Mark Johnson has missed a total of 6 games in the last 8 seasons.

He has been dropped 2 times in 8 years due to form.

He has played 179 career matches out of a possible 185.

If you ask me he has been played very consistantly and in fact not many players would have such a record for 'getting games consistently'

You have really displayed your great insight and knowledge of players from opposition clubs.....

Nice call there.....:thumbsu:

All this and yet he can't get a game with the team who has the worst list in the competition.....essendon. Says a lot.

Just get cousins if he in the PSD please. No more trying to reinvent the wheel and not going for the ****ing bleeding obvious tigers. ;)

I just don't understand why, Cogga. I think he's past it mate. If it was a 25 year old Ben Cousins I'd trade my first born for him, but surely he's of little value to the Tigers of 2008-2012?

Convince me.

I just don't understand why, Cogga. I think he's past it mate. If it was a 25 year old Ben Cousins I'd trade my first born for him, but surely he's of little value to the Tigers of 2008-2012?

Convince me.

surely he is of immense value 2008, 2009 2010, and 2011, like Browny is to the likes of Pettifer, according to many here. You cant just look at the score board vvalue dude. the kids playing side by side him on the field and having him on their side, would be a quantum leap in their development, well IMO anyway. ;)

Convince me.

Let me have a go.

Why did Wallace/Miller draft Kent Kingsley, Mark Graham and Patrick Bowden when their best days were behind them?

Is Cousins not an infinetely better player than all 3 put together?

When it comes to the PSD, you go for the best available player. Age shouldnt be a criteria. That's what the national draft is for- Picking up the next generation of players. PSD is geared around making short term gains.

The only question regarding Cousins is himself. Is he motivated enough to want to prove a lot of people wrong, and can he stay off the gear?

On playing matters alone, Cousins is worth 4-5 goals a game to our current side.

lol at people thinking a 29 year old Cousins is the same as a 29 year old Johnson:rolleyes:
Not actually comparing Cousins to Johnson in terms of skills more the fact that both are 29 yet 1 is deemed too old for a young side rebuilding and the other is deemed as having a possible 3-5 years left in the game and a great fit for a side that is rebuilding. That is what I have a problem understanding.