Mark Johnson

• Thread starter Thread starter Cisco Kid

Not sure about MJ. I thought the game went past him this year and he was a liability.

From all reports he is testing better now than when he was 25 but the game has changed a fair bit since then.

I think Bradley will be a pretty good player for you guys roaming as a third forward though.

As a second west australian club i wish you guys all the best. I honestly do. But the decisions your club makes and the fact that a majority of dockers supporters seem to be OK with them baffles me.

Your club is not in a premiership window. It just isn't.
It might have escaped you but we made the prelim final in 2006. To say we are not in a premiership window is just the usual sort of arrogance we expect from Eagles supporters.

We had shocker of a 2007 but it's amazing that has more merit for next season than does making the prelim in 2006.

Seriously guys why worry about debating with someone who would barely know his Varse Felix from a football.

Now thats just not true is it?

Why would you just start with a lie?

Actually for someone who has been on here for what a month I swear nearly ................

..................now troll off to your bridge or i may press search again (for those who think I am being selective - search some of Bozo's posts ....he is so far from being right I think I will call him Che)

Brilliant post Moo.:thumbsu::D:thumbsu:

Maybe too brilliant, unfortunately we might not see 15_yearold_member again thus missing out on more comedy gold!

I'm sure after missing out on the 8 last year, Bomber Thompson marked this year as a 'rebuilding' year.

Rebuilding/premiership window is all bullsh*t. Try your best every year and things will happen.

RoFL
Moo...
that biatch slap you gave 15yearmemeber is pretty close to post of the year. You pwned very hard. Top work, good sir.;)

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Too easy mate.

I must also put a word in for Underdog - his posts are OK by me. Honest discussion is fine, trolls are not.

Of course... Keysor and a few other weagles are always welcome for at least they do not troll, as are all supporters from any team who want to drop by and not act like ********s.

Can I add, I want to use a term from one of my all time favourite video games - that you indeed scored a:

Flawless Victory.... Fatality

With that 15yearmember retort.. I was staggered at how wrong that clown was and what he actually typed. You summed up everything rather well and I think you really spoke the Purple Horde on that one :):thumbsu:

You would see me but unfortunately one of your thin-skinned moderators removed my reply and gave me an infraction. Some clubs boards are not mature enough to handle criticism or alternative opinions from outside sources and have a paranoid inferiority complex. I never object to posts from opp posters on our boards as long as they keep it clean but each to their own and it takes a lot for them to get banned, unlike on here. I would be happy to debate this further but since i would be doing so with one hand tied behind my back by your moderators there is no point. It's easy to "nail" somebody when you take away their right of rebuttal and use selective quotes out on context and time period. It's about as brave as bragging about beating somebody up when they are tied up and restrained in a straight jacket, at the end of the day. But enjoy your cheap thrill, by all means.

But i will make a few quick points about the ridiculousness and inaccuracy of Moo's post, as i am sure that is all i will be allowed. If i started winning the argument i would get banned, i'm sure. Moo should be a journalist for a current affair with his editing skills and selective quoting.

- We didn't trade Cousins, he was delisted.
- We didn't choose to trade Judd and were forced into trading and so getting less than market value, which we did, is not through any misjudgement of our admin. We didn't trade him for underperformers and downhill skiers just because they are WA players and blokes that made AA 5 years ago but have done nothing since. We got 3 good young players for him because we value youth and are no short sighted compulsive traders. And we may still come out in front. There is a fair chance what we get out Masten, Kennedy and Notte > than what Judd will produce in next 120 games.
- Sampi got overlooked by every club in the draft on sat and can't even complete a training session at AFL level at the moment and so probably won't be playing anywhere other than the eagles.
- I said that we were still in premiership mode before Cousins got sacked, which we were, not 5 mins ago. Selective quoting there.
- Making a preliminary final for one year and completely missing the finals on either side of it does not mean you are in a premiership window.
- Hawthorn and Richmond made one prelim final each 6-8 years ago and look what hapenned there. Take off the rose coloured glasses and look at the age of your list and how many, or how few depending on how you want to look at it, good young players you have playing well in the WAFL each week to come in to the side.
- Every game you put into old players 2nd tier players like Soloman, Tarrant and Johnson is a game you could have invested in a young player. And they occupy spots on your list. So they are costing you something.
- When are you mob going to stop crying and using the old "you got more than concessions than us" whinge? Our concessions were 20 years ago so they are hardly relevent to the current day. I reckon you will still be pulling that one out to excuse poor performance in another 100 years, Port got the same conecessions as you and they won a flag and could have won a couple. And given how poorly you used the concessions you did get i think it is debatable how much difference more would have made. How many Chris Grooms and Todd Ridleys does one club need to win a flag?

And that is probably as much as i am allowed to say on here. If you want to "nail" me further and produce more "comedy gold" moments we will have to move the discussion to Bay 13, which you are probably too afraid to do as it is a lot easier to "nail" a person who can't post back, isn't it Moo?

It might have escaped you but we made the prelim final in 2006. To say we are not in a premiership window is just the usual sort of arrogance we expect from Eagles supporters.

We had shocker of a 2007 but it's amazing that has more merit for next season than does making the prelim in 2006.

Might be because 2007 is more recent than 2006, and you didn't make the finals in 2005 either..

You would see me but unfortunately one of your thin-skinned moderators removed my reply and gave me an infraction. Some clubs boards are not mature enough to handle criticism or alternative opinions from outside sources and have a paranoid inferiority complex. I never object to posts from opp posters on our boards as long as they keep it clean but each to their own and it takes a lot for them to get banned, unlike on here. I would be happy to debate this further but since i would be doing so with one hand tied behind my back by your moderators there is no point. It's easy to "nail" somebody when you take away their right of rebuttal and use selective quotes out on context and time period. It's about as brave as bragging about beating somebody up when they are tied up and restrained in a straight jacket, at the end of the day. But enjoy your cheap thrill, by all means.

But i will make a few quick points about the ridiculousness and inaccuracy of Moo's post, as i am sure that is all i will be allowed. If i started winning the argument i would get banned, i'm sure. Moo should be a journalist for a current affair with his editing skills and selective quoting.

- We didn't choose to trade Judd and were forced into trading and so getting less than market value, which we did, is not through any misjudgement of our admin. We didn't trade him for underperformers and downhill skiers just because they are WA players and blokes that made AA 5 years ago but have done nothing since. We got 3 good young players for him because we value youth and are no short sighted compulsive traders. And we may still come out in front. There is a fair chance what we get out Masten, Kennedy and Notte > than what Judd will produce in next 120 games.
- Sampi got overlooked by every club in the draft on sat and can't even complete a training session at AFL level at the moment and so probably won't be playing anywhere other than the eagles.
- I said that we were still in premiership mode before Cousins got sacked, which we were, not 5 mins ago. Selective quoting there.
- Making a preliminary final for one year and completely missing the finals on either side of it does not mean you are in a premiership window.
- Hawthorn and Richmond made one prelim final each 6-8 years ago and look what hapenned there. Take off the rose coloured glasses and look at the age of your list and how many, or how few depending on how you want to look at it, good young players you have playing well in the WAFL each week to come in to the side.
- Every game you put into old players 2nd tier players like Soloman, Tarrant and Johnson is a game you could have invested in a young player. And they occupy spots on your list. So they are costing you something.
- When are you mob going to stop crying and using the old "you got more than concessions than us" whinge? Our concessions were 20 years ago so they are hardly relevent to the current day. I reckon you will still be pulling that one out to excuse poor performance in another 100 years, Port got the same conecessions as you and they won a flag and could have won a couple. And given how poorly you used the concessions you did get i think it is debatable how much difference more would have made. How many Chris Grooms and Todd Ridleys does one club need to win a flag?

And that is probably as much as i am allowed to say on here. If you want to "nail" me further and produce more "comedy gold" moments we will have to move the discussion to Bay 13, which you are probably too afraid to do as it is a lot easier to "nail" a person who can't post back, isn't it Moo?

bwahahahahhaehehehehehar
Please.. my ribs are hurting......
Your my new favourite Berlin slime.....
Methinks someone is a little sore because they had a flawless victory.... fatality scored against them.

Inferiority complex - pfffft please - You can't even hang on to your last two captains, one of which is a sacked junkie and the other bailed out because he didn't like the place. You knit-pick at the Purple Horde, however WC has imploded with the years of poor culture and win at all cost corporate mentality. So whatever - repeat to yourself whatever little mantra you need to to feel better about your club, if , but don't come here pontificating to us thinking that your bombing us with some home truths, which in reality is really all blue & gold slanted drivel that is keeping us amused. To be brutally honest, you haven't much idea of what your talking about with Fremantle. Your club totally lacks integrity, but hey - if it makes you feel better that you think the Purple Horde have some inferiioty complex regarding WC, or we are jealous or in awe if you guys then tell yourself that, becasue I can absolutely assure you we are not. It dosent bother me in the slightest.

Geez - it must irk you that a team you like to hang shit on can constantly dish it up to yours.......

As much as I like your posting persona, you are just displaying that you are one of the mill typical obsessed slime fans.
You might have missed whats going on because you label yourself to be in Berlin, but you should really.............. really have a look at the state of your own club and what a cesspool it's put itself in before you come in here and troll away.
You simply must go to www.dockerland.com and share you insight and wisdom with shane and his crew. They'd just love ya :thumbsu::D

However - please still come by - I'm a fan:p;)

The West Coast Obsession continues...

You talk about our moderators being thin-skinned... Ripper and Sabre are probably the most lenient moderators around. As soon as anything critical goes onto the West Coast board it is deleted and your gone.

And as for Moo's post. From where i'm sitting he is on the money. Not one of your comments had been correct since you have been on here. If you dont like getting criticised or banned then there is always a board called "West Coast Board"... try that one out

That audio of Mark Johnson on radio is awesome. I particularly like the last 20 seconds when he comments on how hard we are training in the preseason.

He is looking the fittest i have seen him. Had vision of him on the news last night riding the bike up and down one of the hills around town. Looked like gruelling stuff.

With Parker, Haddrill and even Rumble leaving I would of thought getting an experienced KP back was more important than Johnson. Grover and Mcpharlin are durable but even with them in team last year we got exposed by the Saints, Collingwood, Geelong and you can add Brisbane to that list now Bradshaw is available again.
The only positive arguments for Johnson seem to be he will add toughness (we have plenty of that already) and Soloman wasn't awful so Johnson might not be either. In reality Soloman didn't have a major effect. At the end of 06 we needed a ruckman (we still need another one) because of the doubts over Longmuir and a quality midfielder. Soloman just took the spot of Webster and while that was a minor upgrade it didn't have any effect because when we lost it was because of our midfield.
With the demise of Parker our defence became an issue as well. As I see it we lack a KP back, a specialist ruckman, a clearance midfielder to help out Hase and a dangerous small forward (maybe Mcgrath may fill this spot). Palmer (a rookie) helps the team immediately by giving us another running midfielder but Johnson and Bradley are just backups of players we already have. And if anyone suggests that Johnson will take the spot of Mcmanus they are delusional, Mcmanus has true toughness and commitment Johnson is a sniper looking for one last paycheck.

I have an unfashionable view but I think the old MJ could fit in quite nicely at the start of the season. None of the youngsters really put their hand up at WAFL level last year except Foster.

Schammer came back and was reasonable given how much he missed out on but he's slow and not much of a tackler. Why couldn;t the new guys get a game over him. And we were still trying to play an unfit Haselby and the results showed. I don't think we had a lot of depth in midfield. I would rather play a fit Johnson than an unfit Hasleby.

So I think a pick 55 who can win 10-20 possies a week and play defensively from an interchange role and do it from their first day at the club is a big win. I think we need to put on midfield pressure to tighten our defence. OMJ will at least do this.

Aside from his attack on the ball, the thing I loved about Solomon last year was he knew what to do with the ball when he had it in his hands. He could size up situations and kick the ball to advantage etc. I thought that was Sheedy's coaching. I expect MJ to be similar.

I have an unfashionable view but I think the old MJ could fit in quite nicely at the start of the season. None of the youngsters really put their hand up at WAFL level last year except Foster.

Schammer came back and was reasonable given how much he missed out on but he's slow and not much of a tackler. Why couldn;t the new guys get a game over him. And we were still trying to play an unfit Haselby and the results showed. I don't think we had a lot of depth in midfield. I would rather play a fit Johnson than an unfit Hasleby.

So I think a pick 55 who can win 10-20 possies a week and play defensively from an interchange role and do it from their first day at the club is a big win. I think we need to put on midfield pressure to tighten our defence. OMJ will at least do this.

Aside from his attack on the ball, the thing I loved about Solomon last year was he knew what to do with the ball when he had it in his hands. He could size up situations and kick the ball to advantage etc. I thought that was Sheedy's coaching. I expect MJ to be similar.

I hope you're right Doc.

In reality Soloman didn't have a major effect.
...except for the home game against Adelaide where he was simply awesome and won the game for us.
Soloman just took the spot of Webster and while that was a minor upgrade it didn't have any effect because when we lost it was because of our midfield.
I think Solomon was a lot more important than that. You have to remember for the first 6 or so games last year Connolly wasn't playing Bell as a true midfielder. And then there was no Black, Peake, Schammer who provide a fair bit of forward thrust though the midfield.

Really the more I think about it, 2007 was just a horrible year for the club and I reckon we should just write it off in a simlar vein to Geelong's 2006.

"He has been training with the kangaroos and actually won their 3km time trial, his fitness is the best he has ever been at."

Great to know he can run fast and he's fit ... for now, but at 29 he's on borrowed time.

I honestly hope he goes well, but Im dubious about his selection. All I hope is he doesnt fall into the same class as the Fabian Francis selection some years ago.

Brad Bootsma is another name who comes to mind. Another "mature age" player who didnt quite make the cut.

Really the more I think about it, 2007 was just a horrible year for the club and I reckon we should just write it off in a simlar vein to Geelong's 2006.
I agree there is a lot of likeness between us and Geelong in 06 but last year Geelong found players to step up for them in key areas.
Egan became a defender that you could rely on to play on stars like Pav and Brown, which also released Scarlett and Harley. With Mooney, Steve Johnson, Ottens and Stokes they had a versatile and dangerous forward line not relying on 1 player to kick all the goals. They also had 3 ruckman to choose from not just 2.
The biggest change came in the midfield. Before they were criticized for being one paced and having too many players of the same style (sound familar), then last year Ablett and Bartel became elite midfielders which allowed Ling and Corey to play their natural roles.
They had a key thing called balance something which I don't think we have. Our defence can be exposed Brad Johnson and Gehrig murdered us last year. We are a Sandilands or Warnock injury away from having Bradley in the ruck which will be exploited by teams like Sydney and Port. Our midfield has too many average players in it and apart from Bell who is in his last year and Palmer in his 1st we don't have enough quality midfielders which is why Haselby get exposed, too many slow defensive midfielders around him which is the perfect description for Mark Johnson.
Our foward line with Murphy hopefully finding a spot and Farmer playing more often is the only area of the field I have confidence in.
Papering over the cracks when you have major structural problems never works.

Im not sayimg Armfield directly im saying a kid thats been in the WAFL a couple of years i dont have time to go through each WAFL list but just take a pick anyone would have been better for the club... I dont think the recruiting stafff would have even had a say on MJ go and ask them who else they would have picked if they could have picked someone from the WAFL .... The only reason MJ got picked up is because of his Essendon connection...

The comparison is not a Untried v Untried ( Alah Kruezer v Palmer) its a Tried and past it now to a give a wafl kid or other younger player a go to build a reputation ... Matty Priddis ?? THATS MY POINT

You don't think that perhaps the senior coach, the list manager and the recruiting guy would have had a quick chat about it all before the draft? They would have looked at who was available at pick 56 and they obviously decided that MJ offered more value in their opinions. In all reality though, who cares what the recruiting guys wanted - it's Harvey's head on the line when it comes to selections like Johnson - if he wants him, he should have him.

Go back through the draft history and see how many guys who go on to have a good career (not just a game or two, I'm talking 50+ games, if not 100+) that are picked that late - the odds are against you. The WAFL kids will get their opportunity on the rookie list. That's why it was created.

I do think Nisbett should be sacked and so do a lot of eagles members and fans. We admit our mistakes, take responsibility and take action. Your club takes 10 years or longer to acknowledge when people are not doing their jobs properly. You have had the same recruiting manger since you started despite all the bad decisions and trades he has participated in. I have not heard one docker supporter say that they think that Schwab should have to answer for all the bad decisions that have hapenned on his watch i.e. croad, headland and tarrant trades, continuing to back a moron like Connolly for 8 years. And you might want to settle Farmer and Tarrant down down first before you start talking about culture probs.

You were more advanced in the rebuilding phase than us when Connolly took over, have had better draft picks every year since and should have had a premiership window faster than us. What hapenned? If you are going to "plot your own path to success" you are taking a long time about it.

We are talking about places on a club list, of which you only have 38 or so to give and therefore can't afford to waste on 30 year old delistees from other clubs who happen to be mates with the coach, not employment in the clubs admin like recruitment and ass coaching. Does woosha go trading trading draft picks and giving up spots on our list to over-the-hill hacks who have been delisted from carlton?

BTW, our recruitment dept and coaching panel are 10 times better performed than yours.

We don't really need to worry about our backyard because we won a flag a season ago and have made the finals 15 years out of the last 17 (as opposed to you - 2 out of 15) and have the second youngest list in the comp and are still a finals side so therefore will probably be in the finals for the next 5 years as we get better and more expierienced. We have more good players than we can fit into our side and have players gunning it in the WAFL every week. Your club barely has anybody outside it's best 25 that can even make a WAFL side.

Wow, I thought you'd done pretty bad to only get one thing right in your first post, obviously that was a fluke.

You admit your mistakes, take responsibility and take action - gee, that's been working really well with Cousins, Chick, Gardiner, Kerr, Embley etc.

Connolly had 6 years, not 8, - he started in 2002, but with your exceptional knowledge of Fremantle I'm sure you knew that already. I'm not quite sure that winning 2 games in a season is a solid foundation for rebuilding though?

As for taking our time, well, they do say that patience is a virtue.

So it's ok for mates to get jobs at the club, so long as it's not on the playing list. Thanks for clearing that up, I'll let Harvs know and I'm sure we won't do it again.

Nah, nothing to worry about down at your club. There's no internal investigation, there's no AFL lead investigation, your captain didn't abandon you and your previous captain hasn't just been sacked and banned from the game for 12 months. Everything is just hunky dory down at west coast. Whatever gets you through the night mate. :rolleyes:

Thing is Bender - we never say it.... it's them who bang on about winning derbies meaning winning premierships. :confused:

I just don't get it... considering they have a few of the "real thing" (*), you'd think they'd understand this very simple concept, wouldn't you? :rolleyes:

Here's one for all the weagle trolls here:

Derbies are not Grand Finals.

Get that into your heads - and then kindly bugger off. :)

(underdog I don't consider you a troll... well most of the time anyway... ;)

Ummm Pavlich wrote an article in the paper clearly stating that the last derby was Freo's grand final.

Back to you.