Roast Mark Robinson

• Thread starter Thread starter pieman85

Myself, I don't know how a win against the Tigers can make this issue go away, but no doubt it would make us all feel a lot better.

It's nice that you are in accord with FuManchu's frustrations. So are a lot of other people, including myself. But those frustrations haven't been the point of contention in this thread.

The implications of illicit drugs in sport probably needs another thread. Having said that, I'm not of the view that dabbling in drugs is fatal to elite performance, and plenty of footballers and other athletes are testament to that. Others will disagree. Some will say that Collingwood players doing some drugs in the off-season is evidence that Buckley's cultural change has come to nought. I disagree with that, but let's take it to another thread. The potential for illicit drugs to be cut/laced with elements of PEDs is my real concern, because it now seems that one frolic might lead to a lot more pain than anticipated. It reminds me of AIDS, and how it took a while for people to adjust to and accept the fact that an otherwise innocuous act could have sinister and more ongoing ramifications. But again, maybe take it to another thread.

Agreed JB

Like you said this might be the wrong thread for it but what scares me the most for our players (and my kids) is the synthetic drugs coming out of China.
I watched a story from 60 minutes a few months back and it is frightening what they are making and selling to Australia and the effects they are having.
If the dealers are cutting the Coke (allegedly) with Clen then what stops them from cutting the drugs with the synthetic drugs? This is the reason I am shaking my head at the stupidity of our players........especially after the two boys got done.

The sad truth for me is I don't think the players are going to change.

Ok, so let's assume 7 is the number, or 5 or 3 or 1. Let's talk about the implications for Collingwood of 1,3,5,7,9 or 11 idiots on our list who didn't give a shit they were going to be hair tested.

Now many think Collingwood was singled out. But was Gold Coast singled out last year in light of Harley Bennell?

Were St Kilda or Essendon singled out in light of Carlisle?

Were Collingwood singled out last year when 2 players copped to PEDs based on their explanation of illicit drug use?

Was Hawthorn singled out when Tuck got done for 3 strikes?

Or is it just the case, any information regarding illicit drug use is going to get media attention no matter who the club is and how it happens? And if Robbo is fed information about a specific club, is he singling out that club or just running with a story he feels is from an impeccable source?

Since we are discussing facts:
Harvey Bennell/Jake Carlisle - photograph on front page of newspapers - I would suggest that is evidence and proven as was subsequently admitted by players.
Tuck - again, club doctor, Hawthorn confirmed and I would suggest his case was very different.

Essendon saga? Well enough has been said about that.

So I would suggest you try again to justify a story although I do not doubt have a great deal of truth, no supporting evidence but guesses about numbers and clubs so lets go with the biggest club and make the story about them because they already have two known drug cheats potentially on their list.

He lacks credibility and I have no idea what your motif is in continually defending Robinson in publishing a story based on 'sources' and only mentioning one club.

If you go back to his original article, there was very little written about the problem, the majority of the article was about Collingwood, Pert and Eddie which is why I don't give Robinson any leave pass on this story. Could have been a great story, one for the young players to take heed from, directed to the AFL and with their head in the sand attitude, what lessons have been learned etc. At that point he could have mentioned the two Collingwood players or quoted a doctor regarding affects etc. But no he is a gutter journalist.

You want to get on the bandwagon about something, well get on Eddie's bandwagon, I am still waiting for the joint press conference with the AFL that was due to be held the next day. I don't want to hear from Buckley, I want to hear from Eddie, Pert and the AFL.

Robinson is a poor example of journalism, he is a doofus who writes to a target audience who actually pay to read him :eek:. Fortunately not me.

BOOOM Barrett has said what everyone in the footy world is thinking!

Barret FWIW has more integrity than robbo - quite often he is on the money when he reports - i.e. treloar to pies in may 2015.

Robbo and HS have taken the approach of hijacking issues or events in afl and providing unnessecary on going commenrary. See supplements saga.

Also have a read of matty pavlich's article on the AFLPA's website. The bloke is spot on.

What a load of shit sport media has become over the last 5-6 years. ******* crap!!!
Agree. The big one for me was HS coverage on the Lyon/Brownless issue. From a news perspective, this incident should have been summed up in two articles:

Lyon will not be hosting The Footy Show due to a fallout with Brownless.

Rebecca Maddern will now be hosting in Lyon's place.

But HS took the incident and turned it into the trashy tabloid story, with every man and his dog weighing in. The first week that story broke, HS had 11 articles (not up to 11) on it!
11 news articles from the same publication on a guy in a relationship with his mate's ex!
Kind of summed up their threshold of integrity for me.

Mark Robinson's mere existence is an affront to humanity.

that is all.
Unfair, he does deserve to exist, as a constant reminder for the need to use contraceptives when appropriate.

He's a standing (staggering, stumbling) insult, but an inspiration for the very same reason. It is baffling that someone who can't write and who has child-like grasp on the game is a senior football writer for a major publication, but this perversion of the natural order also inspires so many thousands that their own half-baked thoughts on the game will become a source of status, cash and salvation. For this, he deserves to exist. Thanks Robbo.

He is an expression of a growing phenomenon. In our current individual obsessed world, we have become convinced in the innate superiority of the unschooled everyman over the expert. Facts no longer matter, learning no longer matters, process and ethics no longer matters, all that matters is the individual opinion. Robbo is the quintessential everyman, the defiantly untutored, unapologetically biased, guy down the pub who appeals to the innate belief amongst those without the ability or dare I say it discipline to actually learn anything about a topic and whose loudness grows in direct proportion to their alcohol consumption and ignorance.

These people are not interested in facts, indeed anyone bringing up inconvenient facts is likely to be seen as a member of the "elite", "vested interests", the hated ones responsible for all that is bad, or worse, part of the conspiracy themselves. All they are interested is someone in the public eye willing to parrot their own spittle laden prejudices.

Given the changes in demographics of consumption relating to traditional media, its likely his type will become more dominant not less. Because these people are the only ones still reading the HS and its ilk as if it means anything.

He is an expression of a growing phenomenon. In our current individual obsessed world, we have become convinced in the innate superiority of the unschooled everyman over the expert. Facts no longer matter, learning no longer matters, process and ethics no longer matters, all that matters is the individual opinion. Robbo is the quintessential everyman, the defiantly untutored, unapologetically biased, guy down the pub who appeals to the innate belief amongst those without the ability or dare I say it discipline to actually learn anything about a topic and whose loudness grows in direct proportion to their alcohol consumption and ignorance.

These people are not interested in facts, indeed anyone bringing up inconvenient facts is likely to be seen as a member of the "elite", "vested interests", the hated ones responsible for all that is bad, or worse, part of the conspiracy themselves. All they are interested is someone in the public eye willing to parrot their own spittle laden prejudices.

Given the changes in demographics of consumption relating to traditional media, its likely his type will become more dominant not less. Because these people are the only ones still reading the HS and its ilk as if it means anything.

Wow. thats a big LIKE from me.

So when can we start suing these media clowns for blatent errors and deceitful reporting. it damages our brand so they can sell papers or get clicks (yes regretfully I did click).

Todays headline in news.com.au:

upload_2016-3-31_12-46-12.png

WTF! It has nothing to do with Collingwood or the AFL. Yet it is tagged as Collingwood. Are we now selling drugs to the NRL? We may as well do so as the media are painting us this way so lets make a buck out of it. If not lets sue the crap out of them and make a buck from it.

He's a stain and no good at his job

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    119.6 KB · Views: 6
"He had two stubbies of VB, seventy-five glasses of Melbourne, five schooners of Crown, a saltshaker half-full of gin, and a whole galaxy of multi-colored shit, Midori, Curacao, Creme de menthe... Also, a quart of tequila, a quart of rum, a case of whisky, five boxes of eclairs filled with that disgusting mock creme crap, and a video of James Hird naked singing 'Happy Birthday Mister Chief Football Writer'. Not that he needed all that for one episode, but once you get locked into a serious binge, the tendency is to push it as far as you can. The only thing that really worried me was the James Hird pr0n. There is nothing in the world more helpless and irresponsible and depraved than a man in the depths of a Hird obsession, and I knew he'd get into that rotten stuff pretty soon."

"But as I watched him leave the Fox studio that night, I knew the truth. There he went, one of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, too preserved on pure alcohol to die, and too stupid to shut the **** up."

Gerard "Raoul Duke" Whateley, Fear and Loathing on 360.

"He had two stubbies of VB, seventy-five glasses of Melbourne, five schooners of Crown, a saltshaker half-full of gin, and a whole galaxy of multi-colored shit, Midori, Curacao, Creme de menthe... Also, a quart of tequila, a quart of rum, a case of whisky, five boxes of eclairs filled with that disgusting mock creme crap, and a video of James Hird naked singing 'Happy Birthday Mister Chief Football Writer'. Not that he needed all that for one episode, but once you get locked into a serious binge, the tendency is to push it as far as you can. The only thing that really worried me was the James Hird pr0n. There is nothing in the world more helpless and irresponsible and depraved than a man in the depths of a Hird obsession, and I knew he'd get into that rotten stuff pretty soon."

"But as I watched him leave the Fox studio that night, I knew the truth. There he went, one of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, too preserved on pure alcohol to die, and too stupid to shut the **** up."

Gerard "Raoul Duke" Whateley, Fear and Loathing on 360.

Why are you tarnishing a great movie?

Barrett has another crack:
'...Also, less of the personal grandstanding of a certain journalist who wrote a story about Collingwood which he could not actually verify, and who then pathetically tried to moralise and say the story wasn’t about Collingwood despite him fully making it about Collingwood.
You can’t have it both ways, and that ham-fisted crack at a serious football issue was a real downer of the past week.'

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-03-31/a-second-helping-of-thrilling-footy-please

So when can we start suing these media clowns for blatent errors and deceitful reporting. it damages our brand so they can sell papers or get clicks (yes regretfully I did click).

Todays headline in news.com.au:

View attachment 230437

WTF! It has nothing to do with Collingwood or the AFL. Yet it is tagged as Collingwood. Are we now selling drugs to the NRL? We may as well do so as the media are painting us this way so lets make a buck out of it. If not lets sue the crap out of them and make a buck from it.
Take that, AFL, we now have a more lucrative revenue stream than the pokies!

He did have the right to print it, but he doesn't have the right to defend the fact that he printed it. Robbo deserves every bit of criticism he has received for this.

But Barrett came out Monday night saying he agreed with his right to print the story in spite of his concerns about the issue of numbers.
Being within his rights doesn't make it the appropriate course of action. How popular did Adam Goodes' decision to exercise his right to point out a 13-year-old girl in the crowd for ejection from the game make him?

Agree. The big one for me was HS coverage on the Lyon/Brownless issue. From a news perspective, this incident should have been summed up in two articles:

Lyon will not be hosting The Footy Show due to a fallout with Brownless.

Rebecca Maddern will now be hosting in Lyon's place.

But HS took the incident and turned it into the trashy tabloid story, with every man and his dog weighing in. The first week that story broke, HS had 11 articles (not up to 11) on it!
11 news articles from the same publication on a guy in a relationship with his mate's ex!
Kind of summed up their threshold of integrity for me.

Yep, Lyon and Brownless' issued was none of your business, I'm proud to say that's about as far as I followed. You have my respect Jasper :thumbsu:

Thank you

Love the Barrett quotes coming out, I give it 2 weeks before he says something and everyone on here calls him a oxygen waster again!