Mark Robinson

I like him.

Think he is on the best footballing talk show in the country right now.

Lets be honest here, it's only the sensitive ones who always jump to a journalists negative comments about the side they support. Don't like em, then don't listen to them. They aren't always going to impress you with their opinion but be a man about it and shrug it off. It really isnt the end of the world if someone thinks differently to what you do.

^This.

Robbo actually likes Collingwood. Loves watching them play. In the pre-season he did a piece on how he thinks Cloke is more valuable than Buddy.

He's blown his load over our midfield many times over the past 2 years. Before the first Collingwood vs Carlton game last year Maclure was arguing that Carlton had as many "A" grade midfielders as Collingwood and Robbo kept laughing in his face.

^This.

Robbo actually likes Collingwood. Loves watching them play. In the pre-season he did a piece on how he thinks Cloke is more valuable than Buddy.

He's blown his load over our midfield many times over the past 2 years. Before the first Collingwood vs Carlton game last year Maclure was arguing that Carlton had as many "A" grade midfielders as Collingwood and Robbo kept laughing in his face.

I was astonished to find out his age recently. 38? He looks 48. Someone doesn't mind the good life, that much is obvious.

I'm growing to like him too, and I actually prefer him on TV and radio to his print stuff, even though he overdoes the "good bloke" routine. Generally speaking I think he means what he says and you can tell he absolutely loves his footy. Completely lacking insight in terms of the mechanics of the game but that's not his job. And whatever bias he has as a Bombers supporter, he manages it far better than the likes of Walls, Lane, Carey and co. Their Collingwood loathing is all too obvious and difficult to stomach. When Tim Lane compliments Collingwood it's like he's spitting out poison.

Sometimes I completely disagree with Robbo. For example his reasoning for not playing footy on Good Friday is that he's a Catholic, but not a practicing one, but he went to Jerusalem once and it was great... wtf!

Anyway I think there are far worse in the media than Robbo.

It might just be me but i actually prefer robbo to gerard whately (spelling?). At least robbo seems genuine whereas gerard just seems really smug and pretentious. I also think gerard's bias towards the cats shows more than robbo's towards the bombers.

However without doubt, the worst media commentators towards collingwood are walls and Tim lane. Can't stand either of them

I dont mind him that much anymore, he is actually one of the best if not the best becuase he actually studies and follows the game more than any other journo. He studies games really well and always has a fair point to make. If he is writing negative articles about Collingwood then he has a good reason to and its not like he writes and talks crap about us everyday. Some people need to understand that negative articles arnt being targeted at Collingwood to ruin the club and make us look bad.

One thing that made Robbo look like a d**k was tipping us to finish last in 2006 and we finished 5th:eek::eek:

I'm a big fan of Robbo. Sure he makes bad calls, we all do, but you gotta admit he is passionate, different and so into footy.

One thing they all overlooked at 360 was the fact that had Dawes, Sinclair and others taken their chances we would have buried the Bumbers by 6-7 goals.

And if Daisy, Heater, Reid and others replaced some ofthe kids we would have smacked them.

It must be great for the club tho to get some massive big time big crowd experience into players like Sinclair and Ugle. They would be better for the experience.

Personally I think AFL360 is the best footy show on TV by far. I look fwd to it.

I don't get it? Where's this hate coming from, he's probably the least biased out of all the Journalists. He praises us more than he dogs us and he seems to really genuinely like most of our players. He's by far the best Journo on TV right now and the best on 360. Wheatley is a Geelong nuthugger and it unprofessionally shows at times, also he knows absolutely nothing about the game. King is an idiot he changes his opinions every week and follows the crowd, the definition of sheep. And Mcclure is a typical Carlton ****head. I mean seriously all he talked about on wednesday was how we aren't that good. He never once gave us credit for beating a GOOD Essendon with no Shaw, Thomas, Tarrant, Reid, Ball, Krakeour or Mccaffer.

He has to have his "outbursts" now more than ever as his masters have hidden his opinions behind a "paywall".

On the subject, has anyone paid up so they can read the HUN?

I have not visited the site for months.

I like Robbo, in fact I like the whole 360 team. Even Maclure who epitomised Carlton smugness as a player is balanced and has a few off centre opinions. I get suprised how often he has pushed up Collingwood in the last 2 years

Whats more I am really happy how we are being portrayed in the media at the moment. Its great if we fly under the radar for now, we are a monty for top 4. Carlton game apart the season hasn't gone a lot differently to what was expected prior to round 1 when we were flag favs with the bookies. Its because scribes struggle to look further back or forward more than a week or 2 that we are ranked where we are.

I am sure Bucks is enjoying external expectations being hosed down and I am sure internal expectations have changed little from the start of the year.

Flag 2012

I have the strangest feeling collingwood is not done yet.i think provided we keep winning and don't get any more injuries (fingers crossed)we are still in with a good chance.we seem very geelongesque to me at the moment.just taking it slow.we need to win this week and we need to win well for our %.so hopefully that happens.go pies

External expectations will never be hosed down. It's Grand Final or bust, everyone knows this. Buckley knew what he was getting into.

External expectations have been hosed down massively in the last month. Its almost as if the media and oppo supporters have assumed we have gone away for 2012 with a plan to regroup in 2013

Flag odds have drifted to $8.50. You can even get $3.50 about us finishing top 4. Incredible value for Collingwood who are usually under the odds due to those expectations. Its ideal for Buckley to have the lights pointed away for a while. We will be in it up to our necks this year and the weight of expectation will return later in the season but Bucks will enjoy it for a while now.

External expectations have been hosed down massively in the last month. Its almost as if the media and oppo supporters have assumed we have gone away for 2012 with a plan to regroup in 2013

Flag odds have drifted to $8.50. You can even get $3.50 about us finishing top 4. Incredible value for Collingwood who are usually under the odds due to those expectations. Its ideal for Buckley to have the lights pointed away for a while. We will be in it up to our necks this year and the weight of expectation will return later in the season but Bucks will enjoy it for a while now.

The pies will strike at the right time, trust me! im happy to fly low key at the moment while Carlscum takes the media heat away :thumbsu:

I have the strangest feeling collingwood is not done yet.i think provided we keep winning and don't get any more injuries (fingers crossed)we are still in with a good chance.we seem very geelongesque to me at the moment.just taking it slow.we need to win this week and we need to win well for our %.so hopefully that happens.go pies

Little bit off topic but i am happy with where we are at. The only injury that will really hurt us in the big games is ball as we have no replacement. However that may mean we have to tweak our tactics a bit.

this years comp is one of the most even ever at the top half so we will just have to make sure we peak come finals.

Sorry if this is in wrong thread.

I agree that it was a good win by Collingwood.

However, Essendon had equally important players missing.
--> Dempsey
--> McVeigh (should retire)
--> Hille
--> Myers (should delist)
--> NLM
--> Winderlich
--> Hurley

I'm sorry, but that list is just rubbish.

Collingwood played on Anzac Day with 5 All-Australians sitting in the stands. Essendon were missing the above list of journeymen + Hurley.

Thomas, Ball, Tarrant, Didak, Reid are All-Australians. Throw in Premiership stars of the calibre of Shaw, in addition to high quality players like Macaffer and Krakouer and our list is a little bit more significant than most.

Essendon don't even have 5 All-Australians, let alone 5 of them sitting in the stands watching.

I'm sorry, but that list is just rubbish.

Collingwood played on Anzac Day with 5 All-Australians sitting in the stands. Essendon were missing the above list of journeymen + Hurley.

Thomas, Ball, Tarrant, Didak, Reid are All-Australians. Throw in Premiership stars of the calibre of Shaw, in addition to high quality players like Macaffer and Krakouer and our list is a little bit more significant than most.

Essendon don't even have 5 All-Australians, let alone 5 of them sitting in the stands watching.

All Australian status is just a token thing bestowed automatically on few players from the top 4 teams.
It doesn't necessarily mean that any of these players are any good.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

External expectations will never be hosed down. It's Grand Final or bust, everyone knows this. Buckley knew what he was getting into.
You obviously have not been taking much notice of our season so far and external expectation,s of us,external expectation = opposition supporters and where they think we are at and they think were s---house and were gawn but that does not mean we are.

I know from reading your posts you are an MM supporter but he has gone now and you have to get over it,bye the bye mate Buckley did know what he was letting himself in for and if he did,nt there are always people like you to remind him.

I think the mods should charge journos for online access to our board for them to pinch our rumours.

Trav Cloke article is some type of payback for this thread is it you stupid fat pig.

I now have a new found respect for Robbo. Yes, his article about Trav I'm not going to support because I'm a pies supporter.
However, I tweeted to him today basically calling him a flog and he replied to me with a private message, instead of getting hooked in a public slag-match.

He said:

"Do you not understand. I talk to people. Don't read club forums. Not being a smart arse but that's not how it works from our end... I wrote my story at 2pm!"

Now, this may not seem to you guys as a big deal. But, imagine how many people he has abusing him each day? He took the time to respond to my tweet. Furthermore, I tweeted back (as it wouldn't allow me to PM him) that if that was true that I'm glad the HS go about it the right way and that, again, if what he was saying was true then the story was leaked to someone before 7pm - which is well before the HS releases it's headlines. I proceeded to apologize for one of my tweets which had labelled him as an "absolute joke"...
He replied (through PM again) with "all good".

Now, on top of that he also followed me on twitter - after all that. And he is being followed by 25,000 and follows only around 750. 750 is obviously still heaps, but why follow me for no reason?

I am merely judging his character on that, and I appreciated his responses.

I now have a new found respect for Robbo. Yes, his article about Trav I'm not going to support because I'm a pies supporter.
However, I tweeted to him today basically calling him a flog and he replied to me with a private message, instead of getting hooked in a public slag-match.

He said:

"Do you not understand. I talk to people. Don't read club forums. Not being a smart arse but that's not how it works from our end... I wrote my story at 2pm!"

Now, this may not seem to you guys as a big deal. But, imagine how many people he has abusing him each day? He took the time to respond to my tweet. Furthermore, I tweeted back (as it wouldn't allow me to PM him) that if that was true that I'm glad the HS go about it the right way and that, again, if what he was saying was true then the story was leaked to someone before 7pm - which is well before the HS releases it's headlines. I proceeded to apologize for one of my tweets which had labelled him as an "absolute joke"...

Now, on top of that he also followed me on twitter - after all that. And he is being followed by 25,000 and follows only around 750. 750 is obviously still heaps, but why follow me for no reason?

funny.

I never said anything harsh to him at all, just tweeted something in general that the HS wouldn't know what a player is worth, only list managers would.

He blocked me and sent me an abusive PM.

This was last year.

He said:

Grooming you to acquire more info from BF.:D

Mark Robinson