49ers, Mavericks, Canucks,Cubs
Why didnt the eagles trade this guy again
Would have been a win win instead he sits playing in the wafl
Has performed well as a tap ruckman and i still wouldnt be too upset
if we got him for a 4th rounder purely so him and gus could ruck while
Vickery spends large chunks developing his body as a forward.
I dont want Vickery as a permanent ruckman this early into his career

We offered a 3rd round they wanted a 2nd round (which is stupid)
You would think now they have got Nic Nat they would be looking to offload and would have to take bargain basement prices for a bloke thats played in the WAFL for a year

No thanks

I'm sick of trading picks for players. Bar Morton, and to a lesser extent Simmonds, it simply hasn't worked since our 2001 prelim final.

Vickery has come on much better then I expected. We still have Pattison playing at Coburg and even Browne who could fill the void. From what I have seen this year I would say it's highly unlikely we will play finals next year so we just need to get more games into Vicks, Browne and Graham

No. THen there would have been no space on the list for one of Browne/Nahas/Gilligan if we did it last year.

And by doing it this year I think we're over supplied with ruckmen since Vickery and Graham are learning the craft just fine and Browne is not a non-factor at Coburg.

Draft kids please.

i think your right about drafting kids we would probably be able to get him psd if his out of contract but if it was a nothing trade similar to stkilda for king i wouldnt be too upset, I like patto but ruckman take a long time to get their bodies right for rucking, i wouldnt mind seaby as protection for these guys and a big body to lay blocks for our onballers.
4th round or higher i wouldnt be upset

JON for Seaby...

Not the dumbest idea if you think about it. Both getting similiar game time, both surplus to requirements, but have potential to develop with a fresh start.

schulz for seaby would be nice

hahahah dosent get a game because his teams rebuilding and their number 2 pick needs gametime ahhahahah

anyway

schulz for a 4th rounder
4th rounder for seaby to keep vickery away from too much ruck work
i wouldnt be upset

if we end up geting a PP and trade any of ur first 4 picks for this guy or anyone I will fair dinkum spew up!

pick 93 maybe but even the i'm inclined to say no finals next season, let graham, vickery, patto and Browne continue to develop.

If we could trade a player like Pettifer or Jon or to a lesser extent Schultz who will all most likely be delisted anyway, I would be fine with it.

This would allow Vickery to play FF while he grows into his body, Browne needs a couple of years in the magoos and Patto isn't a ruckman in my opinion and really this year isnt even a senior player in any position.

I'd be happy to get him for pick 70 or later + a very low, performance based wage.

Has played 100 games of servicable footy.
Has only just turned 25...still young for a ruckman.
He is actually a decent player, but he has Dean Cox and a flashy young drawcard to contend with. If West Coast were playing to win, Seaby would be the #2 ruck when cox was in the side and #1 when he wasnt, not naita.
He is physically developed and would take the pressure off Vickery (allowing him to develop as a forward/ruck).
He will provide Graham with some competition for the #1 Ruck.
We are set to lose around 1000 games of experience by the end of this year with Pettifer (113), Brown (213), Simmonds (188), Bowden (264) and Johnson (220) all likely to go, and Richo, Cousins, McMahon, Polak, Coughlan and Schulz also all possible departures with experience. Seaby will add experience, and not just games wise but finals experience.

Now, some may argue that he may hold back the development of a youngster. BUT shouldn't the young guys be made to earn their game and strive for excellence? We have a shocking culture of gifting games to players with talent in the hope they will improve their work rates (see Pettifer). Did Cox get gifted games? He had to first earn his spot (took about 4 years mind you), and then fight for the #1 spot against the more than capable gardiner AND seaby, who was rated higher than Cox. If one or two of Graham/Browne/Patto/Vickery can't force their way into the ruck ahead of Seaby...given say, 2-3 years from now, then they don't deserve to be on the list.

I think next year is the year we have 1 last crack at the finals whilst Richo and Benny are still around, and we aren't going to do that with Angus Graham as our only real ruckman.

Seaby will add experience, and not just games wise but finals experience.

Is that the finals experience where he got about 2 handballs in the GF and got carried to a premiership? He is a massive spud.

Goes back to the fact that he has been playing in the shadow of the greatest ruckman of at least this decade. I wonder if you have the TOG stats for that particular game? As a tap ruckman with very little versatility when he wasn't relieving Cox he was probably sitting on the bench. However, his lack of versatility isnt an issue for us. We have too many versatile ruckman types who can't get the actual ruckwork done!

Patto is the obvious one, but then theres:
Polak, who is also a utility
Vickery, who looks like he may be more valuable up forward than in the ruck at least for the next couple of years.
Simmonds, who is a failed KPF who converted himself into an undersized around the ground ruckman.
Putt, who is a giant but can't ruck for shyte.

We need a guy who can win more than 10 hitouts! We are putting our midfield under constant pressure to shark opposition ruckmen...we are never going to succeed until we get a genuine ruckman, and while graham may eventually hold down that position, seaby is a reasonable option to "stem the flow" until these guys develop, and will be at a bargain basement price.

Why didnt the eagles trade this guy again

Cox has played injured for a long time now, it was only a matter of time before he succumbed, NicNat was likely to have niggles - as he has.

They decided a third rounder last draft wasn't worth losing their ruck insurance. Fair enough.

funny to listen to guys who call patto graham browne simmonds all spuds
than say we should get seaby because his a spud, than whinge in games about not having a ruckman

funny to listen to guys who call patto graham browne simmonds all spuds
than say we should get seaby because his a spud, than whinge in games about not having a ruckman

Are you talking about me? You must be making up lies because I've never whinged in a game about not having a ruckman. I think Graham has come along way since the start of the season, Vickery is doing very well and Browne is developing in the 2's. We don't need Spudby.

id rather mumford from cats, good versatile ruckman and behind ottens/blake

doubt cats would accept anything for it though with there squad and ever injured ottens.

Seaby has announced that he wants a trade, I'm not saying we should trade for him, but if we could pick him up with a pick in the 5th round plus I wouldn't mind snapping him up. Would allow us to play Vickery as a forward with Post moving to CHB and have Graham, Seaby and Browne play as the rucks.

Just remember Seaby is a 26 year old who stands 200cm and weighs in at 100kgs with 100 games to his name. Would address a few problems for us at a cheap price if we could pull this off.

Seaby has announced that he wants a trade, I'm not saying we should trade for him, but if we could pick him up with a pick in the 5th round plus I wouldn't mind snapping him up. Would allow us to play Vickery as a forward with Post moving to CHB and have Graham, Seaby and Browne play as the rucks.

Just remember Seaby is a 26 year old who stands 200cm and weighs in at 100kgs with 100 games to his name. Would address a few problems for us at a cheap price if we could pull this off.

trade schulz for a 4th round and get him with that pick

If you could swap some deadwood like schulz then no worries ...

... but in general , no more stop gaps .

Would fair dinkum spew if we traded picks for this guy ... look at blokes like conners and where they came form ...

Seaby has announced that he wants a trade...[w]ould address a few problems for us at a cheap price if we could pull this off.

Have to be a deal like the Saints got King for (very late pick), or - far more likely - a player swap. We generally have a good trade relationship with the WCE, so might have an edge there.

Having said that, we certainly won't be his only suitors because the ruck stocks across the AFL as a whole are abysmal ATM. I'm sure half a dozen clubs minimum would have loved to have him on their list this year, and not just for depth purposes. He'll probably be the most discussed player (as in by the most number of sides) during trade week.

I can see a use for him RT...but I suspect we'll be outbidded and that's OK...he's far from essential to our short or long term needs.

Have to be a deal like the Saints got King for (very late pick), or - far more likely - a player swap. We generally have a good trade relationship with the WCE, so might have an edge there.

Having said that, we certainly won't be his only suitors because the ruck stocks across the AFL as a whole are abysmal ATM. I'm sure half a dozen clubs minimum would have loved to have him on their list this year, and not just for depth purposes. He'll probably be the most discussed player (as in by the most number of sides) during trade week.

I can see a use for him RT...but I suspect we'll be outbidded and that's OK...he's far from essential to our short or long term needs.

:)Sure have Rayzor...who else would take guys like Breman, Blurton, Jackson and Humm off their hands????

Just because he's tall doesn't mean he's any good. Have you even seen Seaby play, RT? One of the worst players going around in the AFL. You wonder why they play a 5th gamer over him. West Coast fans are begging for any team at all to take this spud off their hands, literally begging. We will once again be the laughing stock of the AFL if we pick him up.

Straight swap for JON, nothing more. I thought people would've learned that trading for shit players is one of the reasons why we're in this mess. Why don't we just develop our own for once FFS!!!!!!!!!!