Mark Williams

THIS IS SHIT.

I would have rather had Burgoyne than Williams.

In fact, we were on track to getting him, until we traded pick 16 to Hawthorn, which allowed them to get the upper hand in securing him at the club.

If we hadn't traded pick 16 to Hawthorn, the Hawks would not have had a satisfying proposition and thus Burgoyne would have been left to us... and we could have played hard ball!

Now instead of Burgoyne, we have to put up with Williams.

Shit trade.

Absolute shit. :thumbsd:

No no no no no. It is not a Burgoyne vs Williams comparison. It is a comparison of:
- Burgoyne + picks 26, 42, 58 and 74.
OR
- Williams + picks 10, 24, 26 and 33.
OR
- Picks 10, 16, 26 and 42

Burgoyne only would've been left to us if we could do a better deal than Hawthorn, which is pick 10 and 16. We couldn't play hard ball, because Port would just go back to Hawthorn unless we could offer a better proposition than them, which is at least pick 10 and a good player, but probably would have been 10 and 16.

I would rather one second pick slide eight places up (with another pick sliding 9 spots down) than lose our first two picks. I reckon we did pretty good out of this all.

No no no no no. It is not a Burgoyne vs Williams comparison. It is a comparison of:
- Burgoyne + picks 26, 42, 58 and 74.
OR
- Williams + picks 10, 24, 26 and 33.
OR
- Picks 10, 16, 26 and 42

Burgoyne only would've been left to us if we could do a better deal than Hawthorn, which is pick 10 and 16. We couldn't play hard ball, because Port would just go back to Hawthorn unless we could offer a better proposition than them, which is at least pick 10 and a good player, but probably would have been 10 and 16.

I would rather one second pick slide eight places than lose our first two picks. I reckon we did pretty good out of this all.

Why the hell do you have the username Nighthawk? :rolleyes:

The Lions supporters said the same thing when we got Cupido, look how that turned out. I was one of the few Bombers who wasn't happy with that decision either, I have a sixth sense about these things. ;)

Don't really get the comparison, Cupido was all x-factor and no substance, Williams doesn't have as much x-factor but has way more substance. Will be a good 3rd forward option for us. while Neagle and Gumbleton ease into being the main targets.

FWIW, I can't really see the down side of this trade, we might get better players at 24 and 33 than we did 16.

Im really sad to see him go, but im also happy to see him move onto another club instead of only being able to play at half of his ability down at Hawthorn. A lot of people say he has a bad attitude and is a show off etc but trust me he really isn't at all, he's been a great role model down at Hawthorn and has taken a lot of the youngsters under his arm, Cyril Rioli idolises him and i'd imagine he'd be very upset he's now gone.

Some people have to understand that Williams may not have been angry, but he was upset to have been pushed aside for two players coming up through the ranks, Roughead and Franklin. Williams always stuck around and gave it his all but to an extent the club couldn't really give him what he deserved since he was once our leading forward and im sure he saw no light at the end on the tunnel. Not to mention we also have Dowler, Thorp as well.

Yes he has had some troubles with his knees, but a lot of players have. Lloyd has had plenty of injury problems in the past. He's passed his medical, he's basically had a whole year off to get his body right to go.

I think he's going to cause absolute havoc in your forward line, he's a magician. Very quick off the mark and he has one of the best leeds going around and not to mention he has one of the straightest kicks i've seen, pin point accuracy. As many of you saw he and Dew were two of the best on field in the Grand final for us, really turned the game on its head when Franklin and Roughead couldn't make a big impact, just goes to show players like him with experience can come out to play in the big games.

Arghhhh :( so long Willo, all the best mate!

Also, people who are a little "bitter" about not getting Burgoyne, he was never yours to get, who knows if he may have slipped to you last moment? You now have a player who will serve you very well. You almost have scored him for nothing, decreased pick 16 to 24... That's pretty fricking good if you ask me. He's going to kick 30-50 goals a year for you. Well done!

This entire trade from an Essendon perspective depends on Williams' knees. If he can get back to his best form then I will be rapt. Will add some reliability and stability to a bit of an unknown forwardline next season and beyond....hopefully.

And Jay Nash, thanks for trying your best.

I can't believe all of the negativity on here regarding this trade.

Williams is a PROVEN GOAL KICKER. We don't have any of those at the moment so it is an absolute no brainer to get him. The price we paid was decent especially considering that this is a weak draft.

He will also be a great role model for the likes of Jetta, Dempsey et al.

Also for those going on about his 'bad character'. Does Reimers have bad character? Does Hurley?

No.

If his knees are ok (and I'm assuming he would've passed an intense medicial) then he will be exactly what we need.

I'm pretty happy to be honest with how this week has gone for us.

The Lions supporters said the same thing when we got Cupido, look how that turned out. I was one of the few Bombers who wasn't happy with that decision either, I have a sixth sense about these things. ;)

My 6th sense tells me that the player we would have drafted at 16 was terrible, and we'll get a better one at 24.

Sounds about as realistic as yours.

Get over the Cupido comparisons, Williams is a proven player, Cupido wasn't.
Fwiw, I'd be happy with a 40goals return in Williams first year.

THIS IS SHIT.

I would have rather had Burgoyne than Williams.

In fact, we were on track to getting him, until we traded pick 16 to Hawthorn, which allowed them to get the upper hand in securing him at the club.

If we hadn't traded pick 16 to Hawthorn, the Hawks would not have had a satisfying proposition and thus Burgoyne would have been left to us... and we could have played hard ball!

Now instead of Burgoyne, we have to put up with Williams.

Shit trade.

Absolute shit. :thumbsd:

Never in the running for Burgoyne once he specified he wanted to go to Hawthorn. Hawthorn or nothing.

I expected better from you Cake.:thumbsd:

Great pick up by the club.

The guy is an extremely talented footballer - and very consistent goal returns.

He has kicked 60 goals twice in his career to date, to put that in perspective Lucas managed 60 twice in his career, with his best 67. He kicked 47 whilst being a definite 3rd string option in a premiership season - and was a key reason they ended up winning the 2 biggest games of the season. That's a proven finals performer - the only other one we have on the list is Fletcher.

He is also a proven "accomplice" - he can still perform whilst have zero effect on us developing key forwards in Neagle/Gumby/Hurley and anyone else.

He is quick, footskills as good as any and If Robson is happy with his medical situation, that is good enough for me.

We have effectively got in a player who is of better quality over his career than Lovett (lets get real here) and younger, yet still upgraded 3rd and 4th rounders to 2nd rounders, and upgraded our own 2nd round pick as well.

Welcome Williams - at the moment our best forward by a country mile. Let's not overrate our own here. And secondly, our forwardline was by far our achiles heel last season - this is a sure fire sign the whole forwardline is in line for a major revamp - that can only be a good thing.

40 was Ports, 42 was Essendons, 56 was Ports and 33 was Geelongs.

Also, remember that Monfries will now get a second string small defender on him, WINNER!!!

Actually, we have both Hurley and Williams who could be key forwards and Monfries makes three good forwards which will stretch the oppositions defence. I does give Knights options up front.

Been looking on here for ages but never posted so hello to all bomber fans. As a die hard Essendon supporter i am really rapt to see Willo at Bomberland, as my wife is a Hawks fan i have been to many Hawks games in the past two years including the 2008 finals as well as many Bombers games and i very confident that Willo will be a huge bonus to our forward line a very smart footballer and a great kick for goals.

If his knee is ok Williams is a very good pick up, and at the price of giving up 8 spots in the draft he has come very cheap. We have a very young forwardline, Williams experience will come in very handy and it will be good to have a small forward who is a reliable kick.

I think we will win out of this trade. We get Williams for effectively for moving eight spots down in the draft. We may end up getting the same player we were after anyway plus picking up a goalkicker we badly needed next year.

If Willo's degenerative knee holds up he will be a very good player for you guys.

I still cannot believe you guys forked out pick 16 though. :eek:

He still had a year to run on his contract but with you guys offering him a three year deal it was no surprise he requested a trade.

Actually, we have both Hurley and Williams who could be key forwards and Monfries makes three good forwards which will stretch the oppositions defence. I does give Knights options up front.

Stretch, I hope you dont mean stretch in by the means of height?

Great pick up by the club.

The guy is an extremely talented footballer - and very consistent goal returns.

He has kicked 60 goals twice in his career to date, to put that in perspective Lucas managed 60 twice in his career, with his best 67. He kicked 47 whilst being a definite 3rd string option in a premiership season - and was a key reason they ended up winning the 2 biggest games of the season. That's a proven finals performer - the only other one we have on the list is Fletcher.

He is also a proven "accomplice" - he can still perform whilst have zero effect on us developing key forwards in Neagle/Gumby/Hurley and anyone else.

He is quick, footskills as good as any and If Robson is happy with his medical situation, that is good enough for me.

We have effectively got in a player who is of better quality over his career than Lovett (lets get real here) and younger, yet still upgraded 3rd and 4th rounders to 2nd rounders, and upgraded our own 2nd round pick as well.

Welcome Williams - at the moment our best forward by a country mile. Let's not overrate our own here. And secondly, our forwardline was by far our achiles heel last season - this is a sure fire sign the whole forwardline is in line for a major revamp - that can only be a good thing.

Bingo, and a great post.

Don't listen to some of the doubters, who have obviously seen very little of Willow and are going by his 'reputation' rather than his footballing ability.

You've just pulled off a ridiculous recruiting coup. The guy will kick 3 goals a game in your outfit. No doubt in my mind.

I'm gutted that we're losing him, actually. Big game players, 60+ goal kickers, and 6'1 guys that can carry an entire forward line don't grow on trees.

If his knee holds up, and it is a question over him, this will be a good trade. He's worked with Buddy and Roughead for a few years, and could well show teach our young boys a thing or two from that experience.

If he gets on the park regularly, I reckon he's good for a couple of goals a game, which isn't too bad.

A few years ago I would have been spitting chips. I didnt like him in his early years at the Hawks. Cocky, arrogant and not a team oriented player.

His last 2 years have been different. He has become more of a work horse than a show pony and tends to direct his goal celebrations to the team more.

I dont think we would of taken him if his knee was not good enough for him to play out at least 18 games a season. As a rule (apart from Richmond) footy clubs are not stupid and do not make these descisions lightly.

Good pick up and should give our forward line some much needed stability and the young blokes someone to look to for guidance.

To any half arsed supporter who threatens to tear up thier membership...you are the scum of the earth and not a true Bomber.

Bring on 2010!! I think we will see some awesome footy from the boys next year.

Welcome to the best footy club in the land Williams. We expect only your best and nothing less will do.

Coming round to this trade but several parts about it trouble me. If Williams is our best forward by a country mile why did we let Lloyd go without a fight?. He is only one of the best FF's in the history of the game!! The trade is a bit of a slap in the face to Lloydy, an icon of the club. And instead of offering pick 16, why didnt they throw up pick 10 and ask Port for an upgrade to their pick 8? Thats reasonable as the entire Burgoyne deal was contingent on another high pick ending up at Port. They would have still ended up with picks 9,10 and 16. Like i said, coming round to this deal and dont think we paid overs as massively as i first thought, but we could have got a higher first rounder out of it.

Williams is a PROVEN GOAL KICKER. We don't have any of those at the moment so it is an absolute no brainer to get him. The price we paid was decent especially considering that this is a weak draft.

If this is a weak draft then stocking up picks 20+ would make your argument go in never ending loop.

I would have rather have kept pick 16 and used that on another mid/small crumbing forward and kept faith in the likes of Neagle, Gumbleton, Daniher, Hurley, Hille, Ryder all playing forward.

Secondly we help the Hawks out to secure Burgoyne. There's two aspects to trading. Make your club better and do your best to stifle the others.

If this is a weak draft then stocking up picks 20+ would make your argument go in never ending loop.

I would have rather have kept pick 16 and used that on another mid/small crumbing forward and kept faith in the likes of Neagle, Gumbleton, Daniher, Hurley, Hille, Ryder all playing forward.

Secondly we help the Hawks out to secure Burgoyne. There's two aspects to trading. Make your club better and do your best to stifle the others.

I think the draft is thin going into 3rd and 4th rounds but I've heard alot of recruiters saying that teams will still be able to pick up good players going into the early 30's.

I would think we could still pick up a reasonably good small forward with one of our second round picks.

In saying this, there is still 3 hrs to go in trade week so anything is still possible.