Markfs Media Watch

From the link, I get to a know a lot about Graham, but learn nothing about the Collingwood football club. Surviving car crashes seems to be the one and only message. We live in a country which has an obsession with avoiding road trauma despite the fact that very few people are killed on our roads. The death rate from car accidents was three times higher back in the early 70's.

Graham seems to me to be little more than an educational toy, probably the precursor to the introduction of even more draconian measures to further reduce the road toll. I expected him to be wearing a Collingwood jumper and beanie, but instead he seems to be wearing a slightly ill-fitting layer of greyish skin.

Why has the club aligned itself with this somewhat unsightly creature rather than promoting what it should do best - produce great footballers who promote the skills and excitement of the game and the joy of belonging to our football club? Is there some other ad featuring Graham and Collingwood footballers? This link doesn't make any reference to the club.

Graham will certainly not be receiving an invite to dinner at my place. He looks dull and is most likely devoid of decent conversation. If he in any way, shape or form represents Collingwood in 2016, then perhaps it's time to switch my allegiance.

The Graham message is open to debate. I agree with what you're saying about the relationship between Graham and the club. Buckley and Moore walking up to Graham and speaking in hushed serious tones does nothing for the club. I know some will disagree.

Once again, I still think this whole thing could do with a little humour....why not make Graham someone sitting in the outer in a Collingwood jumper?? He could be sucking - literally - on a beer..... asked by another member if he was going to drive home. "no worries mate, I'm built for crashes"....

It's a government initiative of course so they cant use humour in their advertising. It's against the law. It might offend.

The Hawks ad you refer to is clever, annoyingly so, and entertaining. You are right, it promotes the positive things about the Hawks. Getting Luke Hodge to talk about himself cant have been difficult either. I cant recall the last time we had an ad like that, if ever. And lets not mention the shampoo ad.

Graham, on the other hand, is a bit challenging. I'm not so sure he is a gimmick. He's more impenetrable. He makes me feel uncomfortable, wanting to both look and look away. While I understand the message - to survive a car crash we need to be built like Graham - I dont understand the physiology of that. What does Graham have that makes him tougher than us? The ad is a bit obtuse, for me anyway, maybe also for its target audience (males 18-25)? I dont know.

Watching Fox Footy, I just hate the endless betting ads.

I'm sure you understand this now after your research but Graham doesnt have a neck and his head is protected by a ton of skin. We have a hospital over here in WA - Shenton Park - which is full of people who are paras or quads from car and bike crashes. A large ball perched on top of a body is not the best design strategy for a human that might be in a car that comes to a sudden stop from 100kph......the head is not immune to rules of inertia

The Graham message is open to debate. I agree with what you're saying about the relationship between Graham and the club. Buckley and Moore walking up to Graham and speaking in hushed serious tones does nothing for the club. I know some will disagree.

Once again, I still think this whole thing could do with a little humour....why not make Graham someone sitting in the outer in a Collingwood jumper?? He could be sucking - literally - on a beer..... asked by another member if he was going to drive home. "no worries mate, I'm built for crashes"....

It's a government initiative of course so they cant use humour in their advertising. It's against the law. It might offend.
I didn't even see Buckley and Moore. I saw nothing Collingwood in the link to which I was directed. Just Graham and a few other talking heads.

i just watched the 360 with mike sheahan and his daughter...

Head of footy at the heraldsun for 20 odd years ...chief writer ...etc etc.... says that he cant stand collingwood.... everyone laughs..

All I can say is thank god Mike is soooooooooooooo objective and can separate his loathing of collingwood from all the columns that he wrote about the club over the years.... now let me tell you about the time i met santa claus

Why haven't I seen this thread before. Its great! I am now subscribed if that was possible.

There will be a slight lull in the media reporting on the Pies as they have other bright & shiny things to look at like finals and Juddy's bald nut. But they will be back they always are, they are addicted to black and white headlines.

As a suggestion I think it would be great to keep track of the number of times that an opposition player is linked to Collingwood with no sources. All the "I understand that..." or "I believe that..." "Its reported that.." "Sources close to the club suggest...". Some sort of ticker that keeps count would be appreciated. I find often a pattern appears....someone "reports" it the rest pick up the story and in the end no one is accountable by the end when said report is clearly wrong. My other ambition is to create a fabricated lead that the media picks up and see how far it can run, could be fun.

Why haven't I seen this thread before. Its great! I am now subscribed if that was possible.

There will be a slight lull in the media reporting on the Pies as they have other bright & shiny things to look at like finals and Juddy's bald nut. But they will be back they always are, they are addicted to black and white headlines.

As a suggestion I think it would be great to keep track of the number of times that an opposition player is linked to Collingwood with no sources. All the "I understand that..." or "I believe that..." "Its reported that.." "Sources close to the club suggest...". Some sort of ticker that keeps count would be appreciated. I find often a pattern appears....someone "reports" it the rest pick up the story and in the end no one is accountable by the end when said report is clearly wrong. My other ambition is to create a fabricated lead that the media picks up and see how far it can run, could be fun.

well thanks for the enthusiasm. I'm pretty happy with how the thread has turned out so far.

I'm not sure who is providing that ticker that you're talking about. You're welcome to put together something. I'm happy to write about suggestions put to me. Some people have done that. I dont get paid for this and I'm not interviewing for a job on an AFL blogging site so I might say that the topic doesnt interest me or I mightnt agree with it. I actually put my nick in the title to warn people who dont like me or my type of writing. If you have a theory, post away...

Actually Juddy is an interesting case. A self-proclaimed no-bullshit zone, and I actually thought he said that he was going to ride off into the sunset post footy. Now I notice he's back. I can only think that his attention-seeking wife wants to attend the next brownlow... eh? I am thinking that she has reserved the marital privileges until he got a job in the media....anyway, his deadpan aura is not a great match for tv stations which seem to thrive on BIG personalities...

Whenever I am out of this country, wandering the vibrant streets of an oriental city, dodging motorbikes on the footpaths, hanging precariously off the back of a packed songthaew, or even trying to sleep at 6 am through the musical cacophony emitted from an early morning wedding, I think less than fondly of how over-regulated this country has become. Not to mention the cost of everything here - I can't count the number of European backpackers who claim that Australia is the most expensive country in the world.

As you say, there is also a distinct lack of humour attached to so many government promoted campaigns. As far as the road toll is concerned, the government is constantly trying to squeeze an extra life or two out of the yearly total, determined that deaths should decrease year by year, perhaps to the point where not a single yearly fatality is recorded. This is despite population growth, more cars and trucks, more roads and freeways and vehicles designed to disintegrate on impact but leave the occupants unharmed. A 100 km restriction becomes 90, then 80, 80 drops to 70 then 60. Confused motorists, frustrated at now going nowhere fast, contribute outrageously high sums of money to the state coffers, as cameras and coppers, like anglers focused on a reef full of fish in a food frenzy, haul in budget-financing loads of miscreant motorists.

If you are going to link road safety and Grahams with an AFL club, which sponsorship frequently does, then surely a bit of light hearted humour could be employed to deflect from the severity of the underlying message. People tune out to deadly serious warnings delivered via the media, but a fun version of Graham, even your irresponsible B&W Graham in the outer, built especially to withstand the horrors of road trauma, is preferable to the dull earnest sincerity of a typical government initiated advertisement.

Which brings me to why I like your posts Markfs. I like having to guess whether a poster is serious or speaking tongue in cheek, or even if their message lies somewhere in between. You have always been like a breath of fresh air to me in this forum and I am glad that you have decided to rival the likes of TradeDraft and set up a little enclave of your own. I shall seek refuge here whenever the discussion elsewhere becomes too serious, success orientated or just plain dull.

I find being "lectured" by fooballers, any sportsman or women in fact, about something so far removed from their actuall skillset and/or sphere of expertise simply drives young people to ignore the message.

The whole concept of "sportspeople as models" makes me cringe.
It's unrealistic.
Ad agencies ****in love it though. they make a squiiilion..

I find being "lectured" by fooballers, any sportsman or women in fact, about something so far removed from their actuall skillset and/or sphere of expertise simply drives young people to ignore the message.

The whole concept of "sportspeople as models" makes me cringe.
It's unrealistic.
Ad agencies ****in love it though. they make a squiiilion..

well its true .. I remember in my young days the commercials on tv used to give the simple message. Things have changed since we've become more sophisticated.

I really wondered why Channel 7 decided to use Tim Watson for the Sydney GWS game today. I suppose I would have to admit to be surprised that he continues to be employed by that station, but that's another question.

Tim appears to be suffering from depression. I suppose a stint at coaching st. Kilda will do that to anyone and Tim never really recovered. Ross Lyon obviously recognised the signs and got out once he realised what was happening to him, although it's arguable that the next few years at the Dockers will put him into a convalescent home.....but back to Tim. Tim's state of depression doesn't make for happy viewing. The situation is aggravated when the team that he is supporting is losing the game. Obviously, he finds Sydney quite attractive and he didn't like it when GWS started winning the game. Does the retirement of Dennis Cometti mean that we're going to see more of this bore?

I thought someone had told me that Tim was taking a 12 month sabbatical and going overseas to work out if he really wants to continue in the media...maybe I just dreamt that...oh well

ok we can return to regular programming now...

Ah Tim Watson. How can any Pie supporter forget his ranting to day we towelled up Essendon after a horrific start?

2011, mid to late season Pies down by 30/40, Watson is as chirpy as they come. However, things turn around and the Pies come charging back to end up flogging Essendon. From the moment we drew even, Tim Watson starts banging on about the bad rules of the game and insisting Leigh Matthews, co-commentator and rules committeeman, "fix these rules". Just about every comment from Watson from that time on had to do with the rules being shite. The meltdown was trade talk thread worthy.

The Fox coverage of the Eagles Bulldogs game gives a reminder of just how easily the ground shifts .... and just how quickly things can change.

Before the game the Beagles were on a roll. Everything had come together. They had overcome the slight inconvenience of losing their main star in the midfield - Nic Nat - and had jetted to joint flag favouritism built on their "potent" forwardline and the resurgent "Weagles Web". The impact of the Web was incredible not only on how it humbled the best of "potent" forward lines but also how it raised the legend of the mythical expert called Gerard Healy who had named the web last year, ensuring that it gained the lifetime imprimatur of the fox footy gang.... lifetime meaning that it was hailed until it failed. With recent successes it was raised back from the death by Fox, and reinstated at the feet of the god supremo Healyus Maximus.

Meanwhile, the Bulldogs had been shepherded back to their previous incarnation as a battling western suburb team - much admired and loved but sadly lacking in anything that might cause any problems to the mythical Web.

"Who is going to score the goals?"....as the panel collectively shrugged their shoulders and sighed. Healyus Maximus looked down at the panel and nodded in agreement. It was going to be predictable night but there will always be next year for the Bullies.

Three hours later and the Web had been unravelled. The "potent" Beagles forward line had demonstrated all the short comings that the Fox crew had previously known about - of course they did - and had previously ignored - any expert worth his god status would have ignored them.

The Bullies had actually kicked quite a few goals but in way that no self-respecting Fox expert would have considered pre-game - the team had actually had multiple goal kickers. While Fox Footy gods can refer to a team having multi-goal kickers, it really is a useless concept for a bunch of experts to talk about because it provides so little to talk about.

So the Fox footy experts gods end up the night with egg on their collective faces? Yes?

No. of course not. Lets go through all those predictions. Kennedy to kick 5 goals. Ha ha ha.... Weagles web to strangle Bullies to 5 goals....Ha ha ha.... Luke Beveridge to tear his hair out and actually end up with a better haircut?? Ha ha ha...

There ...... all fixed.... copious laughing at predictions which were only meant to be fun and in no way reflective of any level of "expertness". At any rate, the Fox crew knew that the Beagles web would be breached... they knew that the famous Bulldog swarm would emerge victorious. Gerard is already working on getting a name for that swarm which is gong to raise it to mythical status...

And now for the next game... change to the Friday night crew

I think Graeme Allan has introduced his first change and it involves recruiting. Some might think that he changed the emphasis from developing players to recruiting ready-made players like Wells, del Santo and Maric...

But I think the supposed change is just a smoke screen. In the past, when the Pies have targeted particular players, the media has ended up making the process look like a circus. I think Gubby is getting the club to inquire about anyone ...anyone....and announce it to the world in an open manner. Yes, we're interested in Maric... yes we will get Wells, del Santo. I wouldnt be surprised if we make a bid for Boomer. But I wonder if we will recruit any of them.

The media has reacted by saying that Collingwood is after everyone. I would have thought that this sort of atmosphere is a good one for hiding the actual deals...

I might be wrong but I'm interested to see how it pans out...

I just watched the presentations on the collingwood site.

Buckley made a pretty good case for improvement. Some of the figures that he put forward were pretty convincing. Of course, the old addage says that there are statistics and then there are lies. I wouldnt go as far as saying that Bucks is lying. I'm just not sure if the stats show that we are improving. I suppose the proof of the pudding is next year.

Derek, on the other hand, was a disaster. He produces figures that show that we are turning over the list more than any other club. This is a good thing???? Couldnt it also be an indication of bad recruiting?

Then he says that every team in the bottom half of the ladder is young and inexperienced..... just like us.... and the teams in the eight are older and more experienced......EXCEPT for the Western Bulldogs. So what does this show? The recruiting and development people at the Pies are no better than any other club ...EXCEPT for WB? I dont know about you but the recruiting and development people at the western bulldogs are getting more and more attractive as he speaks.

btw. Is Derek developing a type of Columbo manner as he goes along. For the youngsters search the net for tv program named Columbo....Peter Falk.... a tv detective ...vague ...unsophisticated... clumsy. Of course, Columbo had a razor sharp brain..... I wonder

I would have liked to see the questions too but I suppose that mightnt have reflected too positively on the club...

I know I've commented on this before and I dont want to start repeating myself but I dont agree with the Collingwood site's approach to trade rumours.

"Suns keen to sign up Magpies ruckman
The Age – 14/9/16

Sam McClure
Gold Coast are in the box seat to secure Collingwood’s Jarrod Witts after coach Rodney Eade prioritised the acquisition of a ruckman during the trade period."

It seems to pretty indirect way for the club to "inform" its members. The other thing is what part the Collingwood media is playing in this. Is it cheering Eade along or is it playing only a reporting role? Some people might say that it is only listing what is said in the papers, but I've never seen it report the news when Eddie was copping it for what he said and other negative stuff. If Jarrod Witts hasnt been told that he isnt needed, then he must start seriously considering his options if he reads stuff like this on the Official Collingwood site.

I wont say anymore about this as I've stated my case and I'll leave it there...

I know I've commented on this before and I dont want to start repeating myself but I dont agree with the Collingwood site's approach to trade rumours.

"Suns keen to sign up Magpies ruckman
The Age – 14/9/16

Sam McClure
Gold Coast are in the box seat to secure Collingwood’s Jarrod Witts after coach Rodney Eade prioritised the acquisition of a ruckman during the trade period."

It seems to pretty indirect way for the club to "inform" its members. The other thing is what part the Collingwood media is playing in this. Is it cheering Eade along or is it playing only a reporting role? Some people might say that it is only listing what is said in the papers, but I've never seen it report the news when Eddie was copping it for what he said and other negative stuff. If Jarrod Witts hasnt been told that he isnt needed, then he must start seriously considering his options if he reads stuff like this on the Official Collingwood site.

I wont say anymore about this as I've stated my case and I'll leave it there...
I noticed that they seem to be curating anything and everything. I did read that Witts is known to be seeking other options

Bill Davoren's performance sparked my interest when I saw it last night.

Whatever you say about him, he put together a pretty good show. He refers to a consistent set of figures which he has maintained since he arrived.
The fitness figures are impressive enough. Just from my observation, I thought Brody Grundy was pretty impressive with his fitness. I remember Davoren referring to the likelihood of soft tissue injuries in the early stages and that happened. The fact that they have reduced reflects well on what he said. The trauma figures did indicate where the trouble was this year.

The club's efforts to research solutions looked like they were trying to find answers. I get the feeling that they might have made mistakes with guys like Elliott but people are human arent they?

In contrast to Derek Hine, he seemed organised and confident, although you never know whether he is taking something to artificially improve his confidence - just kidding Bill. It does make me wonder if Derek thinks he's halfway out the door. He looked a little off-balance.

I got the impression that Davorem was not impressed with the criticism that he was getting from the "faithful". A couple of times, i had the feeling that he was shaping up for a rumble. Maybe these guys do look at social media..... although he made a point of totally dismissing it.

He says that he's doing all the work. I'm just hoping that he gets a little more luck next year...

I noticed that they seem to be curating anything and everything. I did read that Witts is known to be seeking other options

He would be crazy if he didnt. I just dont like the club's official media appearing to cheer from the sidelines - unless they get sarah allen reading the rumours in a cheerleaders outfit...

I
I really wondered why Channel 7 decided to use Tim Watson for the Sydney GWS game today. I suppose I would have to admit to be surprised that he continues to be employed by that station, but that's another question.

Tim appears to be suffering from depression. I suppose a stint at coaching st. Kilda will do that to anyone and Tim never really recovered. Ross Lyon obviously recognised the signs and got out once he realised what was happening to him, although it's arguable that the next few years at the Dockers will put him into a convalescent home.....but back to Tim. Tim's state of depression doesn't make for happy viewing. The situation is aggravated when the team that he is supporting is losing the game. Obviously, he finds Sydney quite attractive and he didn't like it when GWS started winning the game. Does the retirement of Dennis Cometti mean that we're going to see more of this bore?

I thought someone had told me that Tim was taking a 12 month sabbatical and going overseas to work out if he really wants to continue in the media...maybe I just dreamt that...oh well

ok we can return to regular programming now...
I lolled.
Tim finds it impossible to be unbiased when commentating.
I rememebr him having a bit of a rant about Eddie and his "alleged" bias and I thought heck you you black kettle in a pot bastard.

I

I lolled.
Tim finds it impossible to be unbiased when commentating.
I rememebr him having a bit of a rant about Eddie and his "alleged" bias and I though *** you you black kettle in a pot bastard.

It's not just because of his bias. He seems to be suffering from depression. I always feel like I'm group therapy watching him.... or an AA meeting or something similar. He might be going through a grumpy old man stage.... male menopause.... maybe his wife has left him and run off with a sports psychologist who dabbles in Viagra and other drugs...

I'm not sure what it is but I never enjoy games when he's involved. Can We get him drug tested and put away somewhere?

It's not just because of his bias. He seems to be suffering from depression. I always feel like I'm group therapy watching him.... or an AA meeting or something similar. He might be going through a grumpy old man stage.... male menopause.... maybe his wife has left him and run off with a sports psychologist who dabbles in Viagra and other drugs...

I'm not sure what it is but I never enjoy games when he's involved. Can We get him drug tested and put away somewhere?
I thought his comments were priceless when he started calling the Giants win some sort of triumph for the greatest conman of all time Kevin Sheedy

Tim has always had the ability to look at all the facts and then weave them into a narrative that doesn't resemble the truth....

Markfs Media Watch