Analysis Mason Cox

I don’t understand this thinking?

In the good old days, even Collingwood and Carlton players would have a beer with each other after the game.

It is important to be a good loser and also a gracious winner, or else you risk becoming a flog like David Warner.

They can be disappointed but still congratulate the opponent on a good game, even blokes who had been at each other all game need to be able to shake hands.

Nothing wrong with a quick laugh with a former team mate etc., a player doesn’t have to sook it up and storm of and sulk every time we lose to show they ‘feel’ the loss.

In the good old days the guys playing weren’t elite highly tuned performance athletes. And having a beer, laugh or chinwag out of sight is fine by me.

But when you’ve been shit for 6 years and just got pantsed by a team you should be beating, it would be wiser to shake you opponents hand, congratulate them and walk off and hopefully face the wrath of a, hopefully, seething coach.

I don’t want to sulking or tears, no need for it. But if I was coach and they were my players I’d want them in ASAP.

Not only does it look better to the members who are paying their hard earned and keeping the club ticking over, but, for me anyway, it’s shows that they want to get in address another stuff up as soon as possible.

If we had been consistently making finals over the past half decade I wouldn’t have this view, but seeBig as we’ve been shit for so long now, I want to see some signs that being a rabble is actually hurting the people representing our club, because, sure a shit, the members and supporters are hurting and feeling this. I know I am.

Buckley has already said he will come straight back in.
Lovely that’s ripper news. (Albeit I’m just saying that as a UF owner of his I’m sure he splits opinion on your board as an actual player)

Really?
That’s just shocking from the coach. Cox’s game was putrid. If he wasn’t suspended you would be hard pressed to select him in this weeks game.
Why the preferential treatment?
They have based a game plan around him all through the preseason-they won't chuck it in after one game.

Was stacks better tonight, had pretty sticky mitts and threw himself after opponents trying to put some pressure on. Well done Mason.
Big improvement. Got to wonder why the putrid effort last time out.
Everyone’s entitled to a poor game, but reality is we will mark Cox harder because he hasn’t come from the traditional route.
Still not sure we can build the game plan around him, as others have stated.

Big man got 9 disposals and 6 marks
Better output than last time.
Interesting that FF are examining the forward game plan as Cox and Reid being told not to lead to the ball.
If that’s the case, then his game is even better than expected as opportunities are limited.

Watching the game is sounded like at the start of the game it was bronx cheers but as he started clunking more and more of them they were cheers of joy.
Would like to hear what those and the ground thought.

Structurally he is important. You see how many defenders flock to him every time the ball goes in his area. At the very least he always brings the ball to ground creating opportunities for the smaller forwards.

Analysis Mason Cox