FTA-TV Masterchef Australia

Okay, I will take your word for that, having tasted neither myself.

I acknowledge that the pigs head may be an acquired taste and a lot of people would like it, but IMO it still looks revolting being served on a plate. The judges are always going on about presentation, so I can't see how this giant pigs head being stuck on a plate is very appetising. And then when Chris sticks the knife into the head you can hear part of the cheekbone break.At this point in time I have lost my appetite.

I agree with you that Chris is ahead of the others as a chef by a long way. He would have to majorly stuff up to lose it. But I still think I will try Julies homestyle restaurant or Andre's Italian resturant before I give Chris's Beer Restaurant a try.

Mate that isnt the cheekbone breaking, that is the crispy skin, which is what you want when you eat pork. Supposedly the cheek is one of the best bits of the pig to eat.

Its amazing how people think its disgusting to eat the head when you are willing to eat other body parts, its all the same animal!! No difference in eating the belly than the cheek

And then when Chris sticks the knife into the head you can hear part of the cheekbone break.At this point in time I have lost my appetite.

Wasn't that just the crackling?

But yeah, not something I'd be interested in eating either.....

I don't know what you guys are on about. That pig head looked fantastic to me, what about it is so off putting?

Fair enough, a big pigs head on a plate doesn't do a lot for me, but each to their own.

As I said before, its a personal taste thing. For me, a pigs head is something you would eat when you are lost in the jungle for 40 days, starved and malnourished and you are found dying by lost civilisation of pygmies, who cut off a pigs head and give it to you to eat. And even then I would have second thoughts about eating it. I certainly wouldn't order it in a restaurant and have this giant head sitting on a plate.

Its amazing how people think its disgusting to eat the head when you are willing to eat other body parts, its all the same animal!! No difference in eating the belly than the cheek

Its all about presentation though. A steak on a plate looks a lot more appetising to me than a giant pigs head on a plate.

It's like in China where they have this chain of penis restaurants that serve nothing than animals penises. There is no way that I would eat there. It would be repulsive to have this big Ox's penis sitting on a plate. But to other people, it tastes great and is a delicacy.

It is all about presentation and imagery. Well, that is my opinion anyway.

Good episode last night, really separated the real deal from the pretenders.

Sam was a complete joke again last night and it really is a blight on the show that someone with his severely limited talent and food knowledge can make is so far. He is clueless about everything, serves up food he thinks is good but is always average at best (inedible at worst), and continues to make the most elementary mistakes every week.

He is like an uncoordinated kid who daydreams of kicking the winning goal in an AFL grand final... but lacks the skills and intelligence to even play in the local firsts team. ATM he is not even ready to cook counter meals at a pub, disgrace he has made it this far at the expense of others who actually have some talent (ie Justine).

Julie is a decent recipe cook but the food she created and dished up last night was dinner party fare. Also showed her naivety by serving up a hideously expensive entree followed by a stingy and boring main.

Andre has really come into his own recently, and as his confidence has grown so has the quality of his food. He made some howlers at the beginning of the show trying to be too ambitious, but IMO his menu last night justifies his place. I'd definitely pay money to eat good food like that if he ever opens a restaurant. I also like his sharp focus and goals... he knows what he wants and is prepared to work his arse off to get it (ie in Italy).

Chris' menu obviously not for everyone, but I thought it was brilliant. For those who have not tried roasted pig cheek you have gotta give it a go, I reckon its the best part of the pig. Hope he gets a restaurant up and running, I'll definitely give it a go... foreign beer and rich rustic dishes FTW!

Something wrong if Chris doesn't win the show now.

Hey all jumped on this thread a bit late but have watched most of the series. Not sure if it has been discussed or not but i have a theory the show is a little bet set up.

I believe the producers of the show would of had to allow 2 contestants straight into the final week (by beating the celebrity chef) whilst not letting anyone else through regardless of how good the dishes were. Also only letting each contestant go up against the celebrity chef once, not two or three times.

Hey all jumped on this thread a bit late but have watched most of the series. Not sure if it has been discussed or not but i have a theory the show is a little bet set up.

I believe the producers of the show would of had to allow 2 contestants straight into the final week (by beating the celebrity chef) whilst not letting anyone else through regardless of how good the dishes were. Also only letting each contestant go up against the celebrity chef once, not two or three times.

I am not exactly sure what you mean but I was not surprised at all this weekend when I believe Chris cooked the better dish but they chose Andre as the winner. The would of chosen Andre to give him a chance to face the celebrity chef as Chris/Sam have already done it. I think whoever cooked the better meal out of Andre and Julie were going to be the winners on Sunday.

Chris' menu obviously not for everyone, but I thought it was brilliant. For those who have not tried roasted pig cheek you have gotta give it a go, I reckon its the best part of the pig. Hope he gets a restaurant up and running, I'll definitely give it a go... foreign beer and rich rustic dishes FTW!

I agree.

It's certainly not food that i'd eat but i can appreciate the creativity and the excellence of his execution.

Also only letting each contestant go up against the celebrity chef once, not two or three times.

Justine did the celebrity challenge twice.

Why would the producers want 2 contestants already in the final week ? Surely it would be much more interesting from a television perspective to have 6 contestants left this week with at least one (possibly 2) elimination epsodes. As it stands this week has to be padded out because there is no real eliminaion aspect to it.

Also, if it was a set up then why did Justine get eliminated ????

She was easily one of the most popular contestants, was television friendly and suited the demographic of the people who watch the show.

Some people look too hard into these things.

It's certainly not food that i'd eat but i can appreciate the creativity and the excellence of his execution.

So you would not have eaten the entree or the dessert?

What if the pork cheek was presented a different way (ie already carved out of the roast), would you have eaten it then?

Amazes me that people won't eat something like a beautifully roasted pork cheek, but will happily go for crap like cheap sausages and chicken nuggets... which contain FAR more disgusting animal by products.

Processed meat products are primarily made up of the "nose to tail" offcuts, the worst of the worst. Yet the same people that would proclaim the roast pork head to be disgusting are actually eating "pluck and bung" (esophagus and anus) on a regular basis.

Hilarious! :D

I thought the duck neck sausages looked bloody fantastic, I would have loved to have tried all of Chris' foods. Chris and Andre clearly ahead now, with Chris in front of Andre.

And agreed with you Likka, Chris' dream restaurant sounds awesome to me.

What if the pork cheek was presented a different way (ie already carved out of the roast), would you have eaten it then?

Amazes me that people won't eat something like a beautifully roasted pork cheek, but will happily go for crap like cheap sausages and chicken nuggets... which contain FAR more disgusting animal by products.

Processed meat products are primarily made up of the "nose to tail" offcuts, the worst of the worst. Yet the same people that would proclaim the roast pork head to be disgusting are actually eating "pluck and bung" (esophagus and anus) on a regular basis.

Kills me to agree with a pies supporter, but the pig cheek looked great

I'd definitely eat the dessert (it seems like a great idea and looked awesome), but not the entree, no.

All three of his dishes looked amazing, but the entree and main just aren't foods i'd be comfortable eating.

Nope.
It's not the fact it comes from the pigs face, it's the fact that it's got a fairly high fat content.
Like with pork belly, the layer of fat is just unappealing to me.

I've always had a weird phobia about the fat in meat (i find it quite disgusting) so i tend to only eat very lean cuts.

I haven't had a 'cheap sausage' or a chicken nugget since i was a kid.

I've probably knowingly eaten processed meat two or three times in the last five years, so you're preaching to the converted.

I'm getting better at trying new and different foods, but i don't think i'll ever really be comfortable eating foods with high levels of fat like pork belly.

Why would the producers want 2 contestants already in the final week ? Surely it would be much more interesting from a television perspective to have 6 contestants left this week with at least one (possibly 2) elimination epsodes. As it stands this week has to be padded out because there is no real eliminaion aspect to it.

Also, if it was a set up then why did Justine get eliminated ????

She was easily one of the most popular contestants, was television friendly and suited the demographic of the people who watch the show.

Some people look too hard into these things.

I am not saying they rig the compettition and already have a winner, i believe the elimainate the right person each time. I am saying the obviously want 2 people to go automatically go into the final week but they can't have everyone go to the final becuase then no one is left on the show in between.

Likka you make fair and logical points.

I am not a pork or pig fan, and similar to exhale, I am not a huge fan of fatty meat. The point I was making is that food is an individual choice. For me, a pigs head sitting on a plate looks absolutely grotesque. So my comment was more along an imagery line rather than a taste one. I have no doubt that the things Chris cooks are first class and that many people would love his food. I just don't find it appealing, but people might find andre's or other contestants not appealing.

Just an ignorant question though, is a pigs head usually served like that? A pigs head sitting on a plate? I had never seen it before, but I have never ordered it before, so I wouldn't know.

I am not saying they rig the compettition and already have a winner, i believe the elimainate the right person each time. I am saying the obviously want 2 people to go automatically go into the final week but they can't have everyone go to the final becuase then no one is left on the show in between.

The thing is that the ratings of the show are absolutely going gang busters at the moment, so it is in their best interests to drag it out for as long as possible. Whether that is the reason behind them bringing old contestants back, I am not sure.

Channel 10 ratings in general are pretty absymul, so masterchef is their star prize at the moment.

I always wonder if judges decisions are in part or whole influenced by audience interest. Critics say that the success of the show is largely been the outstanding casting of the initial 20 contestants. If the 20 contestants were as dull as dishwater, many of us many have tuned out long ago, rather than watching night after night.

The thing is that the ratings of the show are absolutely going gang busters at the moment, so it is in their best interests to drag it out for as long as possible. Whether that is the reason behind them bringing old contestants back, I am not sure.

Channel 10 ratings in general are pretty absymul, so masterchef is their star prize at the moment.

I always wonder if judges decisions are in part or whole influenced by audience interest. Critics say that the success of the show is largely been the outstanding casting of the initial 20 contestants. If the 20 contestants were as dull as dishwater, many of us many have tuned out long ago, rather than watching night after night.

well that obviously is taken into consideration when they pick the final 20.

Critics say that the success of the show is largely been the outstanding casting of the initial 20 contestants.

Don't agree with that. I think its the concept itself that has been fascinating, not the specific individuals. Over half of the contestants IMHO have been pretty much unlikeable tossers.

I think everything has been great. The concept has been first class, the hosts great and encouraging and the contestants interesting and representing a wide cross section of people.

It is an inspiring theme, because even if you don't like cooking, it is all about having a go at something you are passionate about and doing something you love in a career change. A lot of people would be inspired by this.

It is definately more beneficial and uplifting to people than big brother which features young bogans and losers lying around on a couch all day talking about inane rubbish. Masterchef has a wider audience as well. The age demographic would be varied I could imagine.

I am not a pork or pig fan, and similar to exhale, I am not a huge fan of fatty meat. The point I was making is that food is an individual choice. For me, a pigs head sitting on a plate looks absolutely grotesque.

That sums up me as well I've never been a fan of pork especially when there's a 1 inch layer of fat.