Match ups against Port

• Thread starter Thread starter Cats!!

I'd actually be very tempted to play Egan on Tredrea. Port will continue to play Tredrea predominantly out at full-forward, but Egan seems the logical match-up for him. He'll hold his own out body-on-body.

Scarlett on White.

Ebert to be taken by anyone of Rooke (if fit), DJ, or even Mackie.

Oh, and I'm surprised no one has mentioned Peter Burgoyne. Shaun's had a tough year thus far, but Peter is really picking his game up. He's a (if not 'the') main man, as far as I'm concerned.

GeeCat....spot on....Shaun does seem to get all the attention at present at he's struggling massively at the moment. Peter on the other hand players well week after week. For what its worth I would say Peter is by far our most productive & constructive playmaker.

Cant wait for the game, hopefully we can play alot better than we did against Sydney and give you guys a real good test. You guys are flying at present, super footy.

GeeCat....spot on....Shaun does seem to get all the attention at present at he's struggling massively at the moment. Peter on the other hand players well week after week. For what its worth I would say Peter is by far our most productive & constructive playmaker.

Cant wait for the game, hopefully we can play alot better than we did against Sydney and give you guys a real good test. You guys are flying at present, super footy.

It should be a great game, I agree. Port v Geelong games have been good for about 3 years now (although I think we've won them them all).

Passing up on Peter Burgoyne will be our loss if that happens. See you there (perhaps... I'll be there for the first time ever).

It should be a great game, I agree. Port v Geelong games have been good for about 3 years now (although I think we've won them them all).

Passing up on Peter Burgoyne will be our loss if that happens. See you there (perhaps... I'll be there for the first time ever).

Yeah the games have been good over the last few years...i think you guys have won the last three which we are hoping wont continue past Sunday evening :D

Can tell you this though the media and Port sites have given a fair few players a huge serve after Sundays piss poor effort against Sydney and just seeing a few of the players speak to the media over the last couple of days i can promise that it wont be a poor effort this week! So with a touch of luck the great clashes we have had of late will continue and make your trip worth the cost.

Hope you enjoy your time if you do come over (win, lose or draw).

Can anyone tell me how Selwood is going? Havent seen alot of your games over here and I thought we were going to draft him last year with pick 5, another Geelong lad (Travis Boak) we ended up going for and he could possibly get his first game this week.

Yeah the games have been good over the last few years...i think you guys have won the last three which we are hoping wont continue past Sunday evening :D

Can tell you this though the media and Port sites have given a fair few players a huge serve after Sundays piss poor effort against Sydney and just seeing a few of the players speak to the media over the last couple of days i can promise that it wont be a poor effort this week! So with a touch of luck the great clashes we have had of late will continue and make your trip worth the cost.

Hope you enjoy your time if you do come over (win, lose or draw).

Can anyone tell me how Selwood is going? Havent seen alot of your games over here and I thought we were going to draft him last year with pick 5, another Geelong lad (Travis Boak) we ended up going for and he could possibly get his first game this week.

I expect Port to be very competitive and fired up. Thanks, I'm really looking forward to going over. Haven't been to Adelaide for about 15 years.

Selwood has been great. Won the rising-star nom a few weeks ago and has played nearly every game. He has great ball sense and courage and is a real asset to the team. At this stage he has been a better pickup than Boak, but only time will tell.

B: Toby Thurstans, Darryl Wakelin, Brad Symes
F: Gary Ablett – Cameron Mooney – Travis Varcoe
HB: Dom Cassisi, Chad Cornes, Michael Pettigrew
HF:Paul Chapman – Nathan Ablett – Steve Johnson
C: Steven Salopek, Shaun Burgoyne, Nathan Lonie
C: David Wojcinski – Jimmy Bartel – James Kelly
HF: David Rodan, Damon White, Danyle Pearce
HB: Darren Milburn – Matthew Egan – David Johnson
F: Daniel Motlop, Warren Tredrea, Brett Ebert
B: Andrew Mackie – Matthew Scarlett – Corey Enright
Foll: Brendon Lade, Kane Cornes, Peter Burgoyne
Foll: Brad Ottens – Joel Corey – Cameron Ling
Interchange: Greg Bentley, Matt Thomas, Dean Brogan, Josh Mahoney
Int: Harley, Mark Blake, Mathew Stokes, Kane Tenace

out: selwood, rooke, Hunt
in Chapman, Harley, Mackie

Man I am glad I a not a selector this week. Tough choices will be made.

Can't see Thurstans picking up G Ablett. Would expect Symes or Surjan to get that job.

K Cornes will pick up Bartel. Ling I'd expect to tag S Burgoyne. That's one tag for you and one tag for us. I reckon the rest might be fairly free flowing.

Ling I'd expect to tag S Burgoyne. That's one tag for you and one tag for us. I reckon the rest might be fairly free flowing.

I think Ling might go with P Burgoyne. He's been in better form lately. I would put Corey on S Burgoyne and just tell him to play his natural game...

Might be worth a try but as soon as S. Burgoyne starts dominating get the Linga on him straight away. I still think that P Burgoyne is no where near as damaging with the football though.

You're probably right there. Interesting dilemma.
Tag the more talented player or the one who's in better form?
If Chad Cornes plays in the middle Lingy might go to him instead...

Harley on Tredders would be a great match up. Drag Tredders up the ground = less effective. Worked a treat when Rutten has played on him. Tredders is very effective directly in front of goals on a one on one contest - has lost distance in his kick and mobility through his knee injury though. Ebert may cause trouble - he's a very talented player. Mooney on Chad Cornes would be good to see. Chad picks up heaps of possessions by playing the loose man. in defence If Mooney niggled him early on and didn't let Chad get under his skin - Cam should get the upper hand - provided he stays focussed.

Don't under-estimate Stokes and Harley - both local boys = good knowledge of the park.

Best of luck for a good game on the weekend. May the best team come away with the points.

I reckon you don't tag S Burgoyne at your own peril. Apart from last couple of weeks was averaging 20 possessions whilst being heavily tagged. If you don't tag him he will run riot.

firstly, scarlett on ebert is a waste of resources. ebert is an up n down player, can be dangerous overhead but on the whole i think scarlo would be better on the likes of treadrea who is working himself back into it. as mentioned previously i think hunt or egan could easily beat ebert.
also what is everyones opinions about the ruck contest??? for me its the biggest test for our dynamic duo otto and blakey up against the damaging lade and brogan. thoughts? w lade in my dreamers and after having a poor week last week he is prob due to bounce back and might be potentially damaging...???

Well, Brogan apparently isn't pulling up all to well after last week. DeLuca may yet have to replace him in the ruck, alongside Lade.

Certainly makes life a tad easier for both Otto and Blakey.

Why?

In all seriousness, Kane Cornes is roughly the Port equivalent to our Linger. Runs his arse off all day, a fantastic stopper, but his disposal and decision-making skills are too often too woeful (ie dumb football). On his day his playmaking will need careful attention, but as far as his form is going this year, there are greater concerns within the Power midfielder that require Ling's attention than K.Cornes. Both the Burgoyne's would be starters.

And a Ling-S.Burgoyne matchup doesn't bother me all that much as far as pace is concerned. The last few weeks guys like Godfrey and Kirk (no speed demons themselves) have stuck to S.Burgoyne like gloves, and worked him to the ground. Granted, alot of that has had to do with Burgoyne's own work-rate (I watched the Sydney game, and Shaun did very little to suggest to anyone watching that he was at least trying to work himself into the game), but the potential for Ling to get the job done is evidently there.

Very good summation of Port's situation. On Chad - he lines up at chb but will only stay there is all our other tall defensive options (i.e Thrustans, Pettigrew, Waklin) fail.

You would be better off considering as a mid-fielder.

Very good summation of Port's situation. On Chad - he lines up at chb but will only stay there is all our other tall defensive options (i.e Thrustans, Pettigrew, Waklin) fail.

You would be better off considering as a mid-fielder.

Dasher to the rescue!

Peter does not have Shaun's strength - either in his ability to break tackles, his kicking penetration, nor in the mental department. Peter is still a good player though.

I think our biggest concern will be the match up on Ebert,we have always had problems with mid sized forwards e.g. Williams, Robertson . He is their leading goal kicker and is not to be under estimated.

Havent thought about him too much , been too busy looking at the midfield and Cornes & co , Thanks for making my day Sarah

Depends which Ebert comes to play on Sunday. Aside from last week, he's been pretty average (and inconsistent) since the return of Tredrea (who really has done nothing much either) - perhaps they just haven't figured out who to play together yet.

Anyway, I'd be more inclined to stick Scarlett on Ebert than Tredders (but in any case, I'd look to someone like Rooke beforehand). Deadset, this isn't the Tredrea of old we're talking about here. The fact that their midfield will now look to an outnumbered Ebert-esque option ahead of backing Tredrea one-on-one these days speaks volumes about where he's at currently (not so much a knock on his ability but the level at which his body is currently allowing him to play at). Given that, and the level at which Egan is playing at currently, I'd be more than happy sticking #19 on Tredrea.